Atchison, KS 
Jackson Park - 18 Share
Uploaded By: jace   (Taken 3/2009)
Park Entrance



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    9/6/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads, good signage, mix of short and long with plenty of hills and trees. Directions to the next hole when its not obvious.
Cons: A little rough on the back 9, fairways were nonexistent, tee pads are a little short, no benches or trashcans.

TEE PADS ARE IN

1    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: The tee pads on the front 18 are in. The first half of the course is short with the back 9 a little bit longer.
Cons: It's still pretty short. The course could use some retooling but it's a great course and could be an amazing course.
Other Thoughts: I still think the Kansas State Championships should be held here.

Always want to return!

5+    5/4/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: Robust
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 35.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting is a beautifully maintained small town city park on very hilly ground verging on the big valley of the Missouri River.
SITE/TERRAIN:
Quality of Land- 30/30 see description above.
Scenic Beauty- 20/30
Cleanliness- 15/15
COURSE DESIGN:
Variety- 25/30 Long/short, mostly technical, right/left. Only a few big open shots.
Obstacles/Shot Shaping- 30/30 Cool and challenging shots all over this course.
Decision-making/Risk-Reward- 20/30 Not a lot of route options on most holes, but disc and throw choices are tricky. Anhyzer or flick, overhand or not?
Signature holes- 30/30 Course is chock-full of interesting and fun holes. Hole 4: Through a gap in the foliage over a wooden bridge across some open ground with woods all along the right and over a row of tall brush to the pin. About 260 ft. so most experienced players can drive to the pin. No room for error, though. Hole 7: Short slight right shot to well-protected pin across small wooded draw. Harder than it looks. Hole 8: Most notorious hole on the course. 514 ft. down a narrow valley with steeply wooded slopes on both sides. Ribbon of concrete road snakes through. Locals play it all in bounds, which seems reasonable to me. See the photo in the slide show. Holes 13, 14: Both play from a hilltop across a valley to another hilltop with a landing zone dangerously close to a roll that will take you OB. Controlled shot-shaping will produce a bird. A blown shot might mean bogey. Hole 17: Sweet long gentle left-turning shot that follows the park road along a big curve. Heavy woods force you to follow the road. Stay low or you are in the trees. Throw the turn or you are over the road and OB. There is an 8' wide patch of lilies that parallels the road along the entire length of this hole. Very cool to play when they bloom. Hole 18: Long open shot across a large mowed fairway with the right edge defined by the left-turning sweep of the park road on the high ground. The left side of the fairway is probably 60 feet lower than the road. It's like playing inside a giant salad bowl.
Skill levels- 25/30 Probably a tough course for a novice but enough technical difficulty to challenge and entertain the seasoned player.
COURSE AMENITIES:
Baskets- 25/25 In good repair, properly installed, all there.
Signage- 10/15 not great but sufficient. Distances often wrong.
Tee pads: 20/30 New concrete pads this year. Sadly, too short.
COMFORT/CONVENIENCE:
Restrooms- 10/10 Seasonal, maintained by park.
Drinking Water- 10/10 Safe and drinkable, seasonal.
Course Navigation- 20/20 Relatively easy to navigate, map online at this website.
COURSE MAINTENANCE:
Grass and Brush- 40/50 Course is well maintained by the city of Atchison. Sometimes the grass gets a little long, particularly in the spring.
FUN FACTOR: 40/50 Subjective opinion of the reviewer. I love to play this course and can't wait to get back.
Cons: SITE/TERRAIN:
Dedicated use- 10/25 Course is in close proximity to picnic areas, trails and roads. Has not been a problem for me, so far. But, on a busy day this could be some trouble.
COURSE DESIGN:
Multiple Baskets/Tees: 0/30 As of this writing, I am unaware of alternate pin positions or secondary tee pads. Might be a bit boring if you are able to play the course regularly.
COURSE AMENITIES:
Benches- 0/5 There are no benches as of this writing.
Trash Cans- 0/5 Trash cans are scarce, particularly on the back 9 away from the picnic areas. Please be respectful and pack your trash out.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course gets 380/500 by my rating system. The website does not allow a 3.75 rating in a review, so I have to choose between 3.5 (very good) and 4.0 (excellent). I'm rounding up and giving it a 4.0.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and fun

5+    4/22/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: DamonMorgan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful trees and maintained grass
Open fairways on most of the course
Plenty of trash cans on the front 9
I like the bag holding hooks at each pad
Cons: Short tee pads
Overgrown brush
Difficult to read the signs
The signs are also marked with high pars (hole 10 says par 6)
Needs more trash cans on back 9
Needs benches throughout course
Need stairs between hole 10 pin and hole 11 tee pad
Other Thoughts: League nights are Tuesday at 6pm

There is a really fun 9 hole course in the same park!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + nice park
+ hole #4, hole #8
+ baskets seem fairly new or at least rarely used
+ sign posts with numbers are always appreciated
+plays mostly in the shade during summer
Cons: - no benches at all
- first 6 holes are short and boring, except 4
- 12 basket from 16 tee looks like the one you should be throwing at
- general confusion about which basket you are throwing at on 11,12,13,16
-some holes have no teepads
-signs arent great. distances seem wrong and lines are also wrong in several cases
Other Thoughts: plays like a mini Water Works.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice park

1    5/26/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- signs at tee boxes show par, distance and hole layout
- within a very nice and well maintained park
- has a nice variety of holes including both long & short holes, open & technical holes and left & right shots
- 18 holes
Cons:
- poison ivy
- many holes just have grass tee pads, the ones with concrete pads are too small
- only one tee location and one hole location
Other Thoughts:
My foursome lost three discs combined. We knew about where the discs went into to the foliage but we didn't dare go in after them because we saw too much poison ivy throughout the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent course

1    2/8/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 110  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything except good tee pads. Some of the holes have short tee pads. Baskets are mach 5s. Elevation is awesome on this course and distances are challenging. I played the first 7 holes and thought could be a simple course then i got to 8 and played road ob WHOA tough hole.
Cons: Teepads, the distance i would have to travel to play this course.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to play the 9 on the other side of the park and have a great 27 hole adventure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Varitey is the spice of life

1    11/24/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: redbirdfaninkc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great varitey of difficulty levels throughout course. Great scenery throughout. If you want some excersize, play this course.
Cons: By no fault of it's own, it's just too far away to play very often.
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to play here, do it!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 There’s Baskets in Them Thar Hills

1    3/26/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a quiet wooded park. This course has great elevation, moderate woods, some open holes, simple pin placements & greens, some OB, and really nice hole layouts. The first part of the course is short and somewhat technical and after about a third of the course is behind you, it develops into something really great. This course has some holes going from hilltop to hilltop. Hole #8 follows a road that S's twice and flows through a small valley. The signs were very helpful. Navigation isn't too bad, but a map would still be helpful. There is great parking and a bathroom here.
Cons: You can lose a disc on the first hole if your disc goes over the fence on the right. This is government property and you are not going to be able to go over there. Dirt and grass tees were somewhat worn, but they are not as bad as some I've played on. I do think cement tee pads would be helpful and not detract from the area. The tees currently have wood planks in the ground marking the front of the tees. This place isn't that dirty, but they do need some trashcans out on the course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was pretty good. There were a few holes I really enjoyed. If I was in the area I would certainly play this course again. Atchison has a good set up here. They have done well.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful Course

2-4    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an absolutely beautiful park that is moderately wooded throughout.

- Tee signage was fantastic. See photos for typical signage thru-out course. Some directional signage is also placed for the few hole transitions where needed. Course navigation was very easy even without a map.
- Incredible mix of elevation changes with 11 Down/6 Up/and 2 Flat.
- Course has a good variety of fairway types ranging from fairly open to scattered trees to wide corridors. Great mix throughout course and from hole to hole. See photos.
- Overall scenic beauty of course is really picturesque even without trees and flowers in bloom.
- Natural tees with treated wood lines that are engraved with hole # and length. I feel that concrete tees on this particular course would actually degrade from the park setting.
Cons: - Tees would seriously benefit from being leveled out. There were many holes where footing was difficult due to tee layout.
- Course would benefit greatly with more trash cans thru-out. There was quite a bit of plastic bottle/beer bottle trash scattered thru-out the course.
- There were a couple of holes that bordered a paved trail that were only a distraction to the course beauty.
- Course would also benefit from a second set of basket locations. It would get boring to play regularly since it is the only course in the area.
Other Thoughts: -Seasonal restrooms at main parking area.
- Has a nice playground/hiking trail and Pavilion for families.
- Wear hiking boots if you have them! This course has one of the best terrains I have played so far - it's a great work-out.

I really wish this course was a little closer to Kansas City. There is no doubt it would be heavily played on a regular basis! It is approximately an hour and a half from KC, but if you are traveling through KC and have the time, I would recommend this course over many in the KC area with few exceptions. It was a great play!!! There is also a nine hole course that overlooks the river located a short drive further up into the park. If you have the time, I would recommend playing this course first as a warm-up. Both courses can be played in 2 hours.

See detailed course review in links for more.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.