Lake Villa, IL 
Longwood Centre Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #4 (Taken 4/2011)
-- / 204ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 3rd Time's A Charm--NOT!

5+    7/25/2011   1/18/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since it's creation this course has been moved and changed 3 times now. The old saying thrid time's a charm is not true in the case of this course.

Park in the lot near the basketball/roller hockey rink. There is a pavillion near the parking lot. Your guess is as good as mine of where #1 tee is. The basket to #1 is down the path and tucked into the rough on the right side.

The course does have tee signs for holes 2 thru 8. I never found where #1 tee was.

The baskets are quality Mach 3's in really good shape.
Cons: I have no idea where tee #1 is. There is sign near the pavillion that has disc golf rules on it.

The tee pads suck. There really are none.

The course design is just plain dumb. Several holes you walk down a path. Play the hole. Walk back down the fairway to the path. Take the path to the next hole then repeat. It's one of the dumbest things i've seen yet!

The grass is pretty high. Several of the holes are short and dumb. Super thick rough and not fun to play.
Other Thoughts: I would avoid this course. It's a waste of time.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Incomplete course!

1    8/2/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Vareity in holes. There are some wide open rippers, a couple wooded holes (although too tight), and even a pond to carry. Some of the holes have a left to right and some right to left anywhere from a slight fade to a 120 degree dogleg and another 90 degree dogleg.

2) Gravel tee pads are better than dirt, but they need the weeds sprayed out of them.

3) Nice baskets (although only 7 were in the ground)

Cons: 1) 2 baskets were missing when I played so obviously theft is a problem for this course.

2) Two wooded holes are simply TOO tight. I am a pretty good played but they are ridiculous and could use some trimming back on the sides and maybe a little higher ceiling too! They are basically carved out of Buckthorn.

3) Unsure of where to go because the holes are so close together. This wouldnt be a problem for anyone who hs played the course but this was my first time and I actually walked off the course I was so frustrated with not being able to figure out where #8 tee was and then I saw the forced carry of the pond on #9 coupled with the tight tight landing area required if you don't throw right at the basket on #9 and I said enough is enough.

4) Gravel tee pads need the weed killed in them so you know there the tees are.

5) Could use some signage on the tees for sure and a couple places to direct you where to go to the next tee.

6) 2 holes with 90-120 degree doglegs make the course seem like it wasn't well designed. I think the routing could have been much better.

7) Baskets on #1, #4, #5, #6, #7 are well placed on the side of the woods/shule, but they are all on the left side so all those holes are right to left hyzer shots, which gets a little repetetive.

8) Watch out for stumps on the two wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: I was disappointed in this course not only because two baskets were gone but it was so unclear as to the layout on other holes. The holes that are there arent that great and could certainly use some maintenance. It does look like the course and park are maybe slightly still under construction so maybe it will improve over time. I will probably not head back unless the layout changes entirely. It was stop #6 on my 8 course day so it left a lot to be desired since all the other courses were complete and in good shape and offered some ideal challenge.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Odd

1    6/14/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a small park with a pond. There is a nice mix of open space and wooded areas, and the course plays through both. There are two holes that play through very tightly wooded fairways. The rest of the holes play along the edge of the woods with tall grass on the open side.

The course design does a decent job of mixing up different lengths of holes, from short ace runs to holes that you can pull out a driver on. There is also a good mix of open shots, and shots through or around trees. The last hole plays across the pond, and is long enough that nearly all players will have to bail out to one side or the other (either works).
Cons: There are no signs on the course, so once you have found the tees, you have to scout out the hole to know where to throw. The tees are small gravel patches that offer fine footing, but are not quite big enough. Nearly all the baskets have the number plate facing away from the tee, so if you're not sure about where to shoot, you have to walk all the way past the hole to check the number.

I wish the course had more of a variety of shots required. All but two of the shots are straight ahead or a slight RHBH hyzer, and so the course doesn't really make you use many different shots. Most of the more open holes are short enough that they don't provide much challenge to a more experienced player.
Other Thoughts: This course is playable by beginners, though they will likely spend time searching for discs in the long grass or the woods. There is not a ton of challenge for more advanced players except on the last two holes, so most players would not want to play this one repeatedly.

If you are in the area, the last two holes make the course worth playing, though I wouldn't recommend driving way out of your way just to play this one. If you do play, follow the small path into the woods to the left after the first basket to find the second tee. The rest of the course isn't too hard to follow.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.