Disc Golf Store
Visalia, CA 
Perry Outback DGC Share
Uploaded By: Blackmon Hole #4 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wide Open And Long Enough For The Big Arms!

1    6/21/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: Art Mooney is a large, mostly flat, sprawling county park. The park has lots of scattered mature trees which provide most of the obstacles for the course.
I was lucky to hook up with a Pro player who was checking out the course for a future tournament event. Together, we managed to navigate through the course (Almost).

The course has nice large concrete tee pads. The baskets are older DGA models.

The course is mostly long. The length is the major challenge here although there are a couple of holes requiring accuracy off the pad. Because of the flatness and the trees, this is a great roller course.
# 3 or maybe 4 tees off a large mound of dirt giving you a nice off the tee downhill throw. But when we played, the basket was in a shorter position requiring more of a technical throw.
# 15 in the long position would definitely accuracy as you have to thread your tee off between two rows of double mando trees about halfway down the fairway. This hole is designed to give the Pro players a challenge.

I liked # 18 best. It was just a short (For this course) ACE run, probably 275', to a basket that was sitting on the tip of a little peninsula of land. About the only pretty hole on this course.
The shade of all these trees was a welcome sight on another scorching day here in the valley.
Cons: The length is probably a little too much for us Rec players. Because there is no underbrush, you are not punished for errant throws except for your score.
The navigation issues were a problem. Just finding the start was difficult. There are some long walkouts and we got lost after # 10 and ended up skipping 11-14.
I just didn't feel any "Wow" factor here. I wasn't bored but just felt that this course was a little bland and lacked any things that give a course personality, such as elevation, water, natural beauty or cleverly designed holes.
Other Thoughts: The course provides ample challenge for the better players just with it's length. It's open enough that us Rec players can play it without being terribly frustrated. I'm just not sure whether either group of players would be really excited about the experience that is Perry Outback DGC.


1    7/8/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really exceptional to have two great courses in the same park! The Championship course is a little more predictable than this one. The outback course has elevation changes, ravines, and some super long bombs (possibly rollers if the grass was shorter). This course wasn't busy at all which was nice in that I had no waiting but I also didn't know where I was going. Without the online map I would have been in trouble.

Tees and baskets are all great. Some really nice obstacles to get in your way to navigate past include the ravines and black fence around that new building. You will want to be careful around the ditch at 7, 8 and 18. It is pretty rough. They closed hole 7 when I was there by parking a white van on the teepad with a sign on it. I guess that is to keep people safe as there is a lot of rebar around the ravine that would be quite a liability to the park if someone got hurt. So be careful!
Cons: Tee signs need updated. There are newer, longer positions that I just couldn't spot from the tee so I just threw straight and hoped it was somewhere in the direction closest to straight :)

Not just a whole lot of birdie opportunities...there were a few around holes 7-11 so you better get them while you can. This isn't a big negative...just get ready to throw lots of long shots, which can get repetitive...although quite challenging to get your par on some holes.
Other Thoughts: When you come in the park, head to your right for this course. Finding hole #1 was a little bit challenging. It is right before you get to the little bridge on the left side of the road. Parking wasn't obvious...turns out you just park along the side of the road. It is $6 to get in the park. I don't think that is marked anywhere in the info on this course, unless I just missed it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better of the two

1    7/1/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a little tougher and more interesting than the other course in the park. It plays through a mostly flat area with a few minor elevation changes. A retention pond type area provides a couple shots with pins near slopes, and a tee on a mound offers a fun downhill shot. There are more technical shots on this side of the park, you will need to shape a few interesting lines to be successful here.

There is some nice distance variety, with some reachable holes and some bombers that require multiple shots. The nice turf makes for some fun roller opportunities, encouraged by the low ceilings in a few places. The park is nicely kept, the grass was mowed and there didn't seem to be any issues with trash or vandalism.
Cons: Navigation is tricky in some spots, check out the map available online. There are some longer walks with no directional signage. The tee signs are inconsistent, we just relied on the map for this as well. A few of the holes had sort of silly lines, making them play as tweener holes where most players will get the same score. There is no rough, so bad drives aren't punished at all. You can recover pretty easily throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course pretty long, though without too much undergrowth it's not terribly punitive. More experienced players will find this side more challenging and a little more interesting than the other course with slightly more emphasis on technical skills. This is a nice park, and together these courses are worth a stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

awesom course

2-4    7/24/2014   7/31/2013
Review By: mrcrazyscott
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love the technicality of the holes....not many are alike. They really put some thought into it
Cons: If you havent played it yet. It may be a bit hard to find the layout of the course....especially since the baskets are all grey lol
Other Thoughts: Ive uploaded a course map on the app called "udisc" hope that will help you :)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Outback is a good description

1    7/3/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 97  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great variety

2. Awesome tee off spots ( 2 on top of mounds)

3. lots of shade

4. Nice park

5. Lots of obstacles but not too much that you get frustrated

6. Bathrooms along the way and water fountains although all of them dont work

7. some sweet old very large trees

8. Not very crowded
Cons: 1. Hard to navitage in certain spots. Cant remember what hole exactly it is (9 i think) but you end near a barn then you have to go left along the sidewalk a very long way near bathrooms for the next tee.

2. Course sort of runs into houses a few different times

3. even though it was shady it was super hot when I played

4. Spots where discs can get stuck in trees

Other Thoughts: Very unique course. Overall alot of fun minus the difficulty to navigate on a few different holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Average... Definitely overrated

1    6/1/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: surefee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some sick bombs off what looks like man made mounds
Nice hole placement of cages on back nine; hiding behind trees
Lots of shade
Some nice obstacles such as creeks
No crowds
Cons: Not much help to figure out course
Some wide open holes on front 9
Hotttt in afternoons
Dew soaked grass in the mornings that make for slippery disk
People can get in the way
Other Thoughts: Overall good course just not a course that should be 4+ as it is just avg

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Best in the Valley!!!

5+    9/8/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: bryancole
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Now that the course is being maintained after the giant pond was built, I must say it is in fabulous shape. Elevation changes, water hazards and thick wooded areas make this course a challenge for all players. You get to use every disc in your bag. One hole sits atop a giant mound (how cool is that).
Cons: Very long. One hole plays over 700 ft at the farthest location. Make sure you do some push-ups before hand.

Water hazards can eat your plastic alive and you won't see them again.
Other Thoughts: I happen to like this course better than the Perry Championship course located at the front of the park. It it a lot more challenging and presents many different ways to think about what type of throw you should do.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Art Mooney Park, Perry Outback Course (long)

1    4/14/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: martinb
Played: 151  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Restrooms on the course, multiple pin placements, well maintained landscaping, course design. You do not have to pay to enter the park on Mondays and Thursdays.
Cons: Pay to enter park on Friday through Sunday. Closed on Tuesday and Wednesday. No alcohol.
Other Thoughts: This course is in the same park (Art Mooney), as the Perry Championship course which is a shorter version of the Outback course. The course plays in a well maintained park, with groomed grassy fairways, mature trees, shrubs and water hazards. The terrain is flat, with the exception of two holes (4 and 5), which they are terraforming as of 04-20-2010. Course design is excellent taking into account all aspect of foliage and man-made obstacles with some water hazards thrown into the mix. There is no interference from hole to hole with regard to one another. Hole length is long, relatively speaking with alternate pin placements to keep the locals from getting bored with the same course layout. The course plays from 6800 to 7800 feet in length. Not too many 300 foot drives to come by.
Course management and knowledge is important here. Unless you can bomb your drives over 500 feet you will need to place your drives down the fairways to maximize your approach shots to keep your score down. Dealing with trees plays a huge part in your shot selection. Rollers can dominate on half of this course if its not windy.
There is a long walk between pin 8 and teepad 9 so a map might be useful to get around the course. A pull/pushcart would be perfect for this course as it is very flat.
On a final note, the park is maintained by arborist Neil Pilegard who cares very much about disc golf so the condition of the course should always be at a premium. And there should not be any changes from year to year to the integrity of the course, unless it's a change for the better. Art Mooney Park has two of the best courses in the area, and should be on your list to play if you can stop by.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 In Consrtuction for #4 and #5

5+    2/13/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: Blackmon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is being upgraded literally, my friends it is getting some major evaluation changes. Holes #4 and #5 will never be the same again. A huge rechargining basin for water conservation is being dug by the county. All the open dirt field is gone and has been replaced with I would say a 140 yard by 100 yard pond. This is on #5, so What did they do with all the dirt? Well they have created two huge hills about 50ft in height. One will be the top of the hill tee box for the New #5 tee and the Other is the new 300' + drive down to #4. The Old #4 is under a mountain of dirt. There is a island in the lake off to the left side and in the way for the new long on #5 which be anywhere between 700' and 800' feet not sure but it is straight down the hile and then across the pound to the basket. #5 short placement is gone and will be added back in a new spot. Can't wait.
Cons: Construction through out the week, weekends open play. want to see the final product. Soon to be finished. Many opportunities for OB on #5 once water hits this pond. It will most likely tease those tha know they can throw that far but are you willing to risk your disk?
Other Thoughts: I am a local and I love this course within my top 10 now with the changes, from a list of about 30 or so that I have played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 got arm?

1    9/5/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: TheDrizzle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice scenic park setting, long and challenging holes, Easy to get from hole to hole, friendly local's.
Cons: Wicked OB, grass that can eat disc alive if you release it to low. Wind on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course ate me alive, can't wait to play it again though.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.