Visalia, CA 
Perry Outback DGC Share
Uploaded By: Blackmon Hole #4 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
Try this one out!

2-4    2/13/2015   2/22/2015
Review By: ProgFrog
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly long course, good variation in challenges. I have only been playing for under 2 years, so I cannot offer an "expert" opinion, but I have a decent skill level for an old guy. If entering Mooney Park off Mooney Blvd., drive to your right and toward the high transmission tower. Park on the road close to the tower, you will see the Perry Outback sign near the 1st tee. Holes 1,2,3 easy enough to find. I throw holes 4 & 5 off of two elevated positions (adjoining hills), #4 off the left side hill. Not sure if that's where you are SUPPOSED to throw from, but there are pads, but no tee markers to be found. If you print out a SITE MAP it will be helpful for you.

Tree challenges on many holes, as well as some holes having some pretty wide open areas to launch (#'s 2,3,5,14,15,16). Good mixture of distances, maybe a course favoring long throwers. Plenty of bathrooms in the area, and it is a pleasant park to play in. Well-kept grounds.
Cons: Can be a mystery trying to find #9 tee from the #8 basket, even with the map. #9 tee will be off to your left (from the #8 basket), alongside the road, right next to the bathroom, beyond the children's play area. #9 basket is a long hole, through a bunch of trees.

Some tee pads have no signs/markers at all (4,5,14), and I'm not certain that some of the distances on tee signs are accurate for the pin positions (but I could be wrong).
Other Thoughts: Now that I am a "local", I will be playing this course at least once/week, so maybe I can offer better info for you in the near future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better of the two

1    7/1/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a little tougher and more interesting than the other course in the park. It plays through a mostly flat area with a few minor elevation changes. A retention pond type area provides a couple shots with pins near slopes, and a tee on a mound offers a fun downhill shot. There are more technical shots on this side of the park, you will need to shape a few interesting lines to be successful here.

There is some nice distance variety, with some reachable holes and some bombers that require multiple shots. The nice turf makes for some fun roller opportunities, encouraged by the low ceilings in a few places. The park is nicely kept, the grass was mowed and there didn't seem to be any issues with trash or vandalism.
Cons: Navigation is tricky in some spots, check out the map available online. There are some longer walks with no directional signage. The tee signs are inconsistent, we just relied on the map for this as well. A few of the holes had sort of silly lines, making them play as tweener holes where most players will get the same score. There is no rough, so bad drives aren't punished at all. You can recover pretty easily throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course pretty long, though without too much undergrowth it's not terribly punitive. More experienced players will find this side more challenging and a little more interesting than the other course with slightly more emphasis on technical skills. This is a nice park, and together these courses are worth a stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Outback is a good description

1    7/3/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 104  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great variety

2. Awesome tee off spots ( 2 on top of mounds)

3. lots of shade

4. Nice park

5. Lots of obstacles but not too much that you get frustrated

6. Bathrooms along the way and water fountains although all of them dont work

7. some sweet old very large trees

8. Not very crowded
Cons: 1. Hard to navitage in certain spots. Cant remember what hole exactly it is (9 i think) but you end near a barn then you have to go left along the sidewalk a very long way near bathrooms for the next tee.

2. Course sort of runs into houses a few different times

3. even though it was shady it was super hot when I played

4. Spots where discs can get stuck in trees

Other Thoughts: Very unique course. Overall alot of fun minus the difficulty to navigate on a few different holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hole Tech Shot BATMAN

1    10/15/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging...which could be a con I suppose. It's big, it's got everything, and it was a BLAST! Great ammenadities, and a variety of different surfaces, dirt, mulch, rocks, grass, roads...it's like 4 courses in one.
Cons: Getting from hole to hole is going to be tough, it's such a large park that the distance from hole to hole is often far, and the direction can be undetectable.
Other Thoughts: Be prepared to be humbled. I threw 1 under on the regular Perry course, then threw 14 over on the Outback...it kicked my butt! Very technical, with lots of trees .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.