Visalia, CA 
Perry Outback DGC Share
Uploaded By: disctribution Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/8/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really exceptional to have two great courses in the same park! The Championship course is a little more predictable than this one. The outback course has elevation changes, ravines, and some super long bombs (possibly rollers if the grass was shorter). This course wasn't busy at all which was nice in that I had no waiting but I also didn't know where I was going. Without the online map I would have been in trouble.

Tees and baskets are all great. Some really nice obstacles to get in your way to navigate past include the ravines and black fence around that new building. You will want to be careful around the ditch at 7, 8 and 18. It is pretty rough. They closed hole 7 when I was there by parking a white van on the teepad with a sign on it. I guess that is to keep people safe as there is a lot of rebar around the ravine that would be quite a liability to the park if someone got hurt. So be careful!
Cons: Tee signs need updated. There are newer, longer positions that I just couldn't spot from the tee so I just threw straight and hoped it was somewhere in the direction closest to straight :)

Not just a whole lot of birdie opportunities...there were a few around holes 7-11 so you better get them while you can. This isn't a big negative...just get ready to throw lots of long shots, which can get repetitive...although quite challenging to get your par on some holes.
Other Thoughts: When you come in the park, head to your right for this course. Finding hole #1 was a little bit challenging. It is right before you get to the little bridge on the left side of the road. Parking wasn't obvious...turns out you just park along the side of the road. It is $6 to get in the park. I don't think that is marked anywhere in the info on this course, unless I just missed it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Art Mooney Park, Perry Outback Course (long)

1    4/14/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: martinb
Played: 149  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Restrooms on the course, multiple pin placements, well maintained landscaping, course design. You do not have to pay to enter the park on Mondays and Thursdays.
Cons: Pay to enter park on Friday through Sunday. Closed on Tuesday and Wednesday. No alcohol.
Other Thoughts: This course is in the same park (Art Mooney), as the Perry Championship course which is a shorter version of the Outback course. The course plays in a well maintained park, with groomed grassy fairways, mature trees, shrubs and water hazards. The terrain is flat, with the exception of two holes (4 and 5), which they are terraforming as of 04-20-2010. Course design is excellent taking into account all aspect of foliage and man-made obstacles with some water hazards thrown into the mix. There is no interference from hole to hole with regard to one another. Hole length is long, relatively speaking with alternate pin placements to keep the locals from getting bored with the same course layout. The course plays from 6800 to 7800 feet in length. Not too many 300 foot drives to come by.
Course management and knowledge is important here. Unless you can bomb your drives over 500 feet you will need to place your drives down the fairways to maximize your approach shots to keep your score down. Dealing with trees plays a huge part in your shot selection. Rollers can dominate on half of this course if its not windy.
There is a long walk between pin 8 and teepad 9 so a map might be useful to get around the course. A pull/pushcart would be perfect for this course as it is very flat.
On a final note, the park is maintained by arborist Neil Pilegard who cares very much about disc golf so the condition of the course should always be at a premium. And there should not be any changes from year to year to the integrity of the course, unless it's a change for the better. Art Mooney Park has two of the best courses in the area, and should be on your list to play if you can stop by.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 In Consrtuction for #4 and #5

5+    2/13/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: Blackmon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is being upgraded literally, my friends it is getting some major evaluation changes. Holes #4 and #5 will never be the same again. A huge rechargining basin for water conservation is being dug by the county. All the open dirt field is gone and has been replaced with I would say a 140 yard by 100 yard pond. This is on #5, so What did they do with all the dirt? Well they have created two huge hills about 50ft in height. One will be the top of the hill tee box for the New #5 tee and the Other is the new 300' + drive down to #4. The Old #4 is under a mountain of dirt. There is a island in the lake off to the left side and in the way for the new long on #5 which be anywhere between 700' and 800' feet not sure but it is straight down the hile and then across the pound to the basket. #5 short placement is gone and will be added back in a new spot. Can't wait.
Cons: Construction through out the week, weekends open play. want to see the final product. Soon to be finished. Many opportunities for OB on #5 once water hits this pond. It will most likely tease those tha know they can throw that far but are you willing to risk your disk?
Other Thoughts: I am a local and I love this course within my top 10 now with the changes, from a list of about 30 or so that I have played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 got arm?

1    9/5/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: TheDrizzle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice scenic park setting, long and challenging holes, Easy to get from hole to hole, friendly local's.
Cons: Wicked OB, grass that can eat disc alive if you release it to low. Wind on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course ate me alive, can't wait to play it again though.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Big throws needed

1    6/22/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is long. So you better bring your best drives for this course. Lots o distance leading to many times hidden baskets. A fair amount of water 4 holes play over or along the river there. Mapped out much better then the championship side.
Cons: There is some construction going on right now and a few pins are moved along with their tee pads. The signage has not been updated for this yet but just be on the lookout around hole 9.
Other Thoughts: You need some big drives to play under on this course. Do not feel discouraged if you throw way over on this course. I went from playing even on he front to +20 on this course. All in all if you come out for the championship side you HAVE to play to play this course. There aren't too many courses that have this kind of length for just 18. I will definately be back at this course before I go back home.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.