Madisonville, KY 
Madisonville City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ambroze  
Scenery Pic #2



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 One of the Best Courses out there!!

1    1/3/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: ambroze
Played: 158  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Scorecards, great tee pads, excellent signs & baskets, water shots, beautiful scenery and well-positioned pin placement. What else is there? This course has it all except for maybe a bunch of short easy holes. Hole #7 & #8 will definitely challenge any player if played from the Pro tee pad. This is a disc golfer's paradise for sure.
Cons: Honestly none to speak of directly against the course. I just wish it were closer to my house since I live over 100 miles away.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a new course to play and you want to be challenged but also struck by a gorgeous course, then this is the course for you. Bring your long arm because you'll need it considering the average hole length combined for the entire course is over 405 feet.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!!!!

1    11/16/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 8.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think this is my favorate course ever. It has large concrete teepads, nice signs, good baskets and is in a great park. This course is very long and has several true par 4's that require 2 good long shots to reach the basket. For a good disc golfer the signs are going to play pretty accurate (a pro would proabaly light it up though). The course has a large lake that comes into play on several holes and has one water carry that looked to be about 300ft. There are several holes in large mature woods that are completely clean. Just a bunch of huge trees. The course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. Most holes are atleast 350ft or much longer.
Cons: This course needs some alternate pin locations and possible a few more alternate pads for AMS to make it a 5.0. if you are a new player or don't throw very far it will be a challenge. I can't think of anything else to change other then it needs to be closer to me.
Other Thoughts: This is a long course so be prepared to throw a lot of hard drives. Ever hole looks different and has something new to offer. Just a great place to play.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/29/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: danamonp
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2008
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I have played many courses around the area of Madisonville and I still like this one better, the average hole is 400+ feet and two 600 feet courses trees to shoot around and a lake to shoot over if your good enough, I'm not so I take the alternate tee box there is two alternate tee boxes one is on hole 7 and the other is on hole 8 this course has 18 holes. On holes 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,14,15,16,17,18 are on one side of the park hole 1 is by the golf shop by the parking lot holes 10,11,12,13 are across the street in the woods.
Cons: lake on hole 7 and 8. Hole 10 should have been a par 5 600+ feet the park is the only place in madisonville that sales disk so bring enough disk.
Other Thoughts: the golf shop has drinks and snacks and disk for sale. THIS IS THE COURSE YOU MUST PLAY!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Like this course

1    4/21/2008   5/7/2008
Review By: tdortch
Played: 70  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course laid out around a city park and next to a golf course. I really liked the use of the terrain and natural obstacles. There are some long holes and some short holes (average hole length is 405' with 2 - 600 footers and one 580'). One goes directly over the huge pond and two or three of them go along the shore. There are alternate tees for the one over the pond and a long one that borders the pond. Not very many trees on this course, except for a little run of 3 holes that go back and forth thru the most heavily wooded part of the course on the back 9. Even those holes don't have a lot of trees. I would call it "slightly wooded" and "moderately hilly", instead of "mostly flat and moderately wooded" as it says up top there. Great course though.
Cons: I don't really have the distance to clear the water, so that was a con for me, but they had the alt. tee box for that. There were trees down from the ice storm, but that will be cleaned up soon as the tourney is coming up. There are a few baskets you can't see due to the hills.
Other Thoughts: They had scorecards even! Definitely recommend this course to anyone passing through.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.