Madisonville, KY 
Madisonville City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ambroze  
Scenery Pic #3



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course

2-4    7/13/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: NOStheBOSS
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many memorable holes. No gimmicks, great use of natural obstacles. Awesome water shots. Good mix of distance. Very challenging. Well maintained.

During the tournament, they had 6 temp holes set up as well, and these were all pretty good. I would like to see them make these holes permanent.
Cons: No major cons for this course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to let 'em fly!

1    3/5/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a fun challenge to consistently make long accurate drives and in several cases upshots. Madisonville DGC sits among a large multi-use park along with a couple lakes, a playground, baseball field, walking trail and golf course (doesn't come into play though). Near number one is a practice basket in a large area for some decent length putter shots. There's also a good course map and scorecards available at the first tee. All the pads are large and very grippy even when wet. The signs are accurate about tree, OB and water locations. This is very important as several of the drives are to hidden baskets that have some hidden water hazards. Madisonville is one of the most consistently long courses I've played in a while with only two holes less than 300 feet with multiple holes pushing 600 feet. The front nine plays closer to the lake with two (number 7 & 8) requiring long drives over water. Both of these holes have shorter alternate tee pads/drop zones as well. The back nine traverses a large moderately wooded ravine for several holes before heading back towards the lake near the end. A good portion of the holes play through large old growth trees with high ceilings (pines on front nine, oaks, etc. on back nine) with little to no underbrush throughout the course. Each hole utilizes elevation in some way, shape or form. These can range from extreme to very subtle with several playing across a large ravine. The ravine holes don't seem that long unless you hit a tree and end up at the bottom for your second shot. The elevation changes makes multiple holes play shorter than they are with the large descents. THe park also drains very well with few spots I saw with standing water (played it first while raining). All holes that have trees leave multiple routes to the basket so you're not confined to one line. That being said, you have to hit your lines otherwise you'll be scrambling to make par. This is great to practice different types of drives.
Cons: My only real main complaint about this course is that there are so many other things around it. The playground can be very busy and noisy on nice days and can be very distracting as its adjacent to 3's tee, 8's basket, 9's tee, 14's basket and 15's tee. Also the road that leads you through the park to the course runs right next to several holes and right behind number one's basket. Several of the holes had benches on which to rest while others didn't but there didn't appear to be any scheme to where they were placed. I'd have put one each after each of the 600 footers and other difficult holes. I felt like number one and 18 were tweener holes that are only included to make a full 18 hole course. Neither provided anywhere near the same kind of challenge as any of the other holes.
Other Thoughts: Madisonville shows how to make a fun course with a decently challenging design. The wind out there definitely adds another element to the round. It was a stiff breeze out there when I played and wouldn't surprise me if that was normal conditions for the course. I'd rate this course for mid-level amateur players and up to go out and be challenged to score well. Less skilled players will enjoy the lack of underbrush and inherent searching for discs but may be frustrated by the consistently long holes. I had read there is a pro shop near the course in the park but I didn't have the time to seek it out while I was there. Maybe next time I'll get to stop in for a few minutes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A must stop for western KY.

1    11/26/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: link_smitty42205
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was staying in KY over the Thanksgiving holiday and came on here to see what courses were around the area and this one jumped out at me from other reviews. Let me tell you, this course did not disappoint. It was worth the hour drive to play.
This course required a variety of shots if you wanted to play it well. It was a course primarily designed for RHBH throwers from what I could tell, and being that I throw that style, I loved that this course was very friendly for my style of play. A lot of opportunities for hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, S-Curves, you name it.

All of the holes are between about 280 to 600 ft long, with the average distance probably falling between 350 to 400 ft. If you can throw a consistent 300 foot drive, you will be able to play this course fairly well. The course is fairly open with opportunities to hit some trees on at least half of the holes. Therefore, it is a very fun course to just open up and give your drives all you can muster.

One of the major positives was the challenge of the water hazards. It only comes into play on about 4 holes, but I came close to the hazard on all of them. The lake was low when I played, which made it a bit friendlier, but when it is at its regular level I am sure it is rather intimidating.

Elevation was utilized well for multiple holes with the rolling hills and valleys to help compliment the water hazards. I love a course that has these challenges along with some distance, which is why this course was a joy to play for me.

I thought they utilized the land well for this course, and made the most out of what they had to work with.

The course was very well groomed and you could tell they took pride in its appearance.

Cons: A major con for me was that the signage, while being in good condition, did not direct you to the next tee pad. The map at the beginning of the course gives a great idea as to where all the holes are located and the general flow of the course, but unless you have a photographic memory, it will be hard to remember exactly the right direction to the next tee.

The lack in direction of the signs kind of made the flow a tad off. It flowed well for the most part. Much better than a lot of courses I have played, but there were a few spots that could be better. I am sure a lot of it had to do with the fact the tees were around other attractions and they had to make do with what they had available. (playground by tee pads 3, 9, and 16.)

As mentioned in other reviews, some overflow from some of the other attractions causes you to stay on your toes and not be too careless with your drives. I played in late November, so the activity in the park was minimal, but I am sure it is a different story in the summer. So be aware of other park users while playing.

Too many par 4's. This is a par 3 course in my eyes. Very reasonable to reach every pin in two good shots and finish with a solid putt.

If it weren't for holes 1 and 18, this course would have gotten a 4.5 from me. But they were let downs. Straight forward and were both very easy to park next to the pin with little room for error. 18 should be the the best hole on the course imo that ends your round "with a bang" so to speak...luckily the rest of the course makes up for it.

Other Thoughts: Overall, I thought this was a must stop if you are in the area and have the time. It won't disappoint. Its a very nice course and there is something to do there for the whole family. (regular golf course, tennis courts, playgrounds, etc.) Worth your time.

The course was in good shape and was very clean. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and really wish I lived closer to a course like this.

If you are looking for a course that is fairly open with some distance to the drives, while utilizing multiple hazards, this is a fun course to play. I wouldn't pass it up if I were you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid City Park Course

5+    11/17/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 91  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As you enter this city park, spying a few baskets and tees, you immediately realize the terrain and challenge: fairly open with large oak and pine over rolling hills and big water on the side. Well maintained with nice baskets, tees (a few alts), and signage, much of the course offers nice vistas of the lake and park. There's a pro shop / clubhouse and kiosk with map (be sure to review it so as not to get confused) and scorecards at the start.
This course provides a solid challenge for players of any level, having a good variety of shot shapes (little brush and openness also allows for some imaginative lines). All but two holes being under 300', and a couple up to 600', long drivers will enjoy this challenge, however there's a definite emphasis on the second shot with some excellent pin placements (water's edge, protected, hillsides). The 610' #7 with much of the fairway being over the water / edge and the pin within 20 of the bank is particularly good challenge (more so for RHBH). #8's tee within feet of water and the protected basket 410' across (some 360' over water) is quite good too; go long and land the peninsula or play the nearer peninsula with challenging approach? Nice! Holes 10 through 13 are seemingly more wooded and require some good technical ability as well as distance (an outbuilding for water coolers between holes 11 and 12 is a nice fixture). A few ace runs and plentiful birdie ops round out this rather challenging but quite fun-to-play picturesque course.
Cons: First and last holes are rather blase being open with mainly OB road, power pole/lines/torque cables and a few trees as obstacle. A single bench sits at #1. Although it's not in play, the playground area near the intersection of tees 3, 9, and 16 is somewhat congested. Teeing from #16 one could potentially grip-lock and throw at the restrooms building.
Other Thoughts: As far city parks go this is a solid pro caliber layout, utilizing the available land with great effect. I tend to favor more secluded, woodsy courses but being little more than an hour away I'd love to have this one closer to me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course

2-4    9/11/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is so much fun. It's always clean, with a great variety of shots, and never crowded. I've been twice now, in winter and summer, and have had a blast. I really wanted to link up with some locals, to see some of the lines that they tried, but had to play solo both times. There is excellent variety, lots of long throws, about a third of the course is wooded for some really technical shots. The course borders a ball golf course, and is well taken care of. There is a playground close as well, and you may run into some picknicking. Signs are tremendous, they give distance, and routes with landscape.
Cons: 10 par 4's? really? I played the entire course as a par 3 and still scored under par. There are some danger areas where you could throw into water because you can't see it, so make sure you know where you're throwing.
Other Thoughts: Must play for western Kentucky. This is the course to play if you have to pick between the west kentucky courses. (except for bowling green, of course)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 City Park Course at it's finest

1    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of city parks that build courses build them short, or build them on weak parts of their land. Not the Madisonville course. This course is lengthy, scenic, and smacks the water right at you. The elevation changes are amazing, as well as the tall mature trees. Midway through the course we discovered what at first appeared to be an outhouse, but actually was an enclosed Gatorade cooler with ICE COLD water! I dumped out my lukewarm water bottle and replaced it with that. Big props to that, as I've never seen anything like it. Big arms will love this course, as well as those that like to do technical courses. The beauty of this course is in itself the best part.
Cons: Hard to think of much. A little trick to find #9's teepad, but it was near both 3's and 16's right next to the playground. The playground, tho extremely close, never came into play thankfully. I guess the only other con I can think of is my pathetic game, but that's my own problem.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course as a destination course. The gorgeous, enormous sized city park makes for a great day of disc golf. Once you get through the lackluster #1 hole, it really falls into a great course. I only live about 45 minutes away from here, and I will be back to play very soon!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fantastic course

1    5/30/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 360  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As you are driving through the park before you get to the course, you can tell this would be a great place for dg. Rolling hills, well manicured, a lot of of big mature trees and little undergrowth. The course certainly does not disappoint as it uses all these features well.
-Most of the holes take advantage of the rolling hills and thus there are a lot of uphill and downhill holes and lots of holes with both downhill and uphill portions.
-Although I would call this a mostly open course, about a third of the holesplay in pretty dense mature city park woods, forcing you to choose a line through the trees and kind of make your own fairway.
-WATER, irretrievable water at that. 7 and 8 are the 2 monster overwater carry shots. Both great holes, both offer early but tough bailouts. The bailouts were more wooded (7) or hilly with a blind landing (8) and tougher to land than the carry shots IMO. There were also more deceiving water shots. 16 is a great example, a fairly large finger of water plays into the left fairway of the hole and will kill shots that fade back out (rhbh) which is kind of the deceiving part, because you can't see the finger from the tee what looks like a good shot could be wet. The hole then plays along the water's edge so the subsequent shots are also dangerous.
-The length of the course is also nice. It's long but not so long that it leaves people disgusted. The shots holes are set up in a way that most can reached in two shooting for a 3 with a 300' placed drive and a good upshot. This is my favorite kind of golf. Where you are rewarded for consistency rather than just big d or just accuracy.
--As mentioned before, the park is well maintained, grass was short and there was little undergrowth. There were minor trash issues but most courses have this.
--As great as this course was, it was DESERTED. A lot of people were in the park, just no other group was playing golf. Always a plus having no one pushing your pace or no one to wait for.
--Navigation was easy.
Cons: - the lack of the extras...No trash cans or benches, and the water fountains were turned off. It was kind of hot when we were there (mid 80s) This course doesn't have a ton of shade, so the lack of benches was pretty blaring, and the water being turned off was kind of ridiculous.
--Lack of forced lines, because the park is mostly open, I can't think of a single ohole were a line was forced. This is usually not a terrible thing and isn't a major con in any way, but most courses of this caliber have a couple holes that force lines, but the complete lack of it was noticeable.
-The major con for this course is the 2 throwaway holes 1 and 18, they were just lackluster. both straight shots with no obstacles, 1 shorter and 18 a bit longer.
Other Thoughts: I've added this course to my favorites because it is great. A lot of city park courses that have lacks don't utilize them or utilize them in a lackluster way. This course is not like that. It shoves the water in your face. The course has great variety and I would recommend it to any one except the extreme beginner. Even they'll have a great walk in the park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is scenic course in a beautiful and spacious city park. Course is played on gently rolling hills containing several isolated large trees with nicely manicured fairways. There is a lake in the middle of the park that comes into play on several holes, and as a bonus is almost always in view making for a very nice backdrop. (The pics on this site do not do the course justice, playing in the Spring or Summer just adds to the overall beauty.) As a whole, this course is very nice- it reminded me of the potential that all disc golf courses could be if they were viewed with the same importance of having nice land like what is used for ball golf. The city of Madisonville was very generous in dedicated this land for disc golf!

As always with HB courses, there is a large full color map at the kiosk by hole 1 with scorecards. (take note of after which holes the course crosses the road) Every hole has concrete tees, a nice detailed map of the hole, and the baskets are in excellent shape. There are a couple of holes that play really long over the water (only pros and the longest of arms will make it), but there are shorter amateur tees for these holes that still make the hole challenging, but make it more realistic for most players. Other than the lake, it is hard to lose a disc as there is not much rough.

This course makes good use of the land, with challenges coming from trees, elevation, and water hazards. One of the strengths of this course is the overall basket placement- they are extremely well placed making approach shots very important- on hills, behind trees, over the lake, on the edge of the lake, on peninsulas, etc. Those that like to throw the long bombs will enjoy this course as well, as there are several longer holes and not too many obstacles in the way giving you a chance to let them fly.

Beginners will like the relatively openness of this course to work on their game without fear of super thick disc eating rough, but this course is one that most advanced players will enjoy as it is longer and birdie opportunities are definitely earned, not gimmees, as there are only 2 holes under 300'.
Cons: Because of the openness in general you are not often forced to take any particular route of the tee, just the best way you can to throw it really far- backhand, forehand, rollers will work on almost every hole. There were a couple of holes that weren't at the level as the rest of the course. #1 and #18 come to mind as they were just open with little to no obstacles or special challenges. Even though each hole is somewhat different from the rest, the overall style of each hole is the same. (for example: not any tight/wooded/technical type holes or dogleg style holes of both left and right)
Other Thoughts: *Tip- Hole 1 starts on the far side of the baseball field near the golf course. The first big parking lot you come to looks like it is where you should start (there are restrooms here), but drive on around and turn right and you will see the kiosk. Navigation can be a little tricky at a couple of spots mainly because the course is relatively open and you can often see multiple tees and baskets at all times- don't assume what you see first and what is next.

I was not blown away by this course (not a 4.5-5.0), but it is definitely a nice and enjoyable top level course geared more towards advanced players and those with better than average distance.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    4/2/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Madisonville City Park is the home to a very challenging course. The layout is very long and the terrain is very conducive to disc golf. Tee signs were informative and seemed to be reasonably accurate with reported distances. Alternate tees are definitely a plus...especially because I cannot carry 325 feet of water. (probably more than that, but I am writing off of memory) It would have to take a perfect throw for me to clear that into a headwind. I think it is awesome that the shot is there for the Pros, but the alternate tee on that hole is just fine for me. There were a number of excellent holes with many posing different challenges based on the terrain and the wind.
Cons: There weren't any benches that I noticed throughout the course. It would have been nice to have a few scattered around. There was a lot of goose poop around. Holes #1 and #18 were really a let-down. In my opinion, these are two of the most important holes to any disc golf course. Hole #1 should always introduce you to the course. It can get you pumped up, or really bog you down. Hole #1 at Madisonville is weak...and I mean weak. Wide open, around 300 feet, no obstacles. Hole #18, should be the icing on the cake, or at least be difficult enough to give someone a chance to win or tie if they might be a stroke behind. If you are behind after 17...you lost. Deal with it. Because 18 is not going to challenge anybody. The course was very RHBH friendly. I may have thrown 2 anhyzers the whole round.
Other Thoughts: Madisonville City Park is an excellent disc golf course. There are a number of challenges including wind, terrain (blind shots, etc.), distance, and water. However, it is not necessary to be a skilled shot "shaper" to play this course well.

One of my favorite things about the course is that it is not located on "thrown-away" land. Too often, disc golf courses in city parks are stuck on the crappy tracts of land that cannot really be used for anything else. This is not the case at Madisonville. It is a wonderful piece of land for disc golf.

This course had the best layout I have ever seen with reference to playgrounds. There was a very nice, busy playground, but it was never in the line of fire. In fact, there is a slight ridge about 30 feet away from the playground that houses 3 different tee pads, for three different holes, going in three different directions. It was the "crossroads" of the course, I guess you might say.

In conclusion, Madisonville is a tough course, that will challenge most any disc golfer. It is worth driving out of your way to play this course. In my opinion, it will not disappoint.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A true gem in Western KY

1    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm trying to reflect on todays excursion to Madisonville DGC and just how much fun it was. This course truly has it all. The beautiful park setting, the nice mix of holes and a more than worthy challenge all combine to make this one of the absolute best courses in this region. Lots of big, mature hardwoods are utilized throughout much of the course. While most fairways are ample, it is the combination of placement and distance that make many of the holes challenging. It requires courage and a decent arm to step up and chuck one over the lake on 8. I did not feel like sacrificing any plastic to Poseidon so I opted for the alternate tees on both 7 & 8. Most of the holes are long enough to require a driver off of the tee for the average player. Several holes require that you keep your drive low as well or risk the snaggy branches of the hardwoods. Good variety of straight, left and right veering holes. Most of the straighter holes still require dodging at least a trunk or two. Very well maintained park with excellent amentities. Scorecards were available and there was a pro shop across the parking lot from tee #1. Restroom was clean as well. You can see the pride that the community has in this park and it is a true privelege to play here.
Cons: Alt tee signs would be nice. There were a few instances where I had to scout around a little to find the next tee but I'm really being picky here.
Other Thoughts: The one thing that sticks out in my mind is how much I would love to be able to play this course much more frequently. This is exactly the type of course that one could utilize to take their game to the next level. Kudos to all involved in the creation and maintenence of this exceptional course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.