Madisonville, KY 
Madisonville City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ambroze Hole #16
4 / 580ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Love this Course

5+    10/2/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: dmalexander
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open for big arms, great lay-out, and one of the best course around! A great mix of open holes and deceptively difficult skill shots. Good elevation changes and a few blind shots.
Cons: Need water fountains, trash cans and a few more benches.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 and 8 play big, but have alternate tees to make it a little more palatable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 44  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just a great mix of open and slightly wooded holes that challenge your arm as well as your mind. Beautiful scenery with the lake as not only the backdrop but using it as a hazard on several of the holes. Bathrooms after hole two as well as in the pro shop where you can buy a few Innova discs at a decent price. Waste baskets at many of the teepads as this place is clean to a T. Large teepads and arrows on the Innova baskets showing the next hole direction make this a wonderful experience worth the two hour drive from my house.
Cons: There wasn't benches at all of the holes and the throw on 7 does take you over lots of water. After hole 8 my shoes were soaked from retrieving my errant throws.
Other Thoughts: The alternate tees are'nt really alternate, they are drop zone tees so you are still throwing three from them even though on #8 it works out pretty good. Bring some new DX versions of your favorite discs as you are likely to loose one or two discs in the drink.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Might be the best course I have played

1    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Beautiful scenery with a lake as backdrop
2. Good variety of shots required
3. Lots of elevation change
4. Has long holes where you can throw bombs but they aren't completely open so the technical challenge is still there. Several par 4's.
5. Very well maintained with mown grass like on a ball golf course.
6. Shares a pro shop with a ball golf course with snacks and drinks and discs as well as a restroom.
7. A couple of holes play across the lake. One is directly across and the other requires an anhyzer over the lake that fades back to the right. But there are alternate tees.
Cons: Hard to think of any... There aren't many benches. And hole 18 is kind of lackluster. Just a long par 3 w/o any trees in the way. Would have been better if they tucked the basket into the line of trees on the left.
Other Thoughts: After hole 13 you have to cross the park road to play 14. All in all a terrific course. You can tell they take a lot of pride in it.

In general this is a long lightly wooded course. If you have played Lovers Lane in Bowling Green imagine what it would be like with a lot more trees, elevation and a lake. That's Madisonville.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: kdos
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a nice walk around the lake and through the woods. the front 9 and mostly open with a few holes that come close to water. hole 8 is a LONG shot across the lake. of course with an alt tee. the back 9 are a little more technical be around quite a few trees and the edge of the lake.
Cons: Water shot on hole 8 is very long. I can't make it. would not be a con if i could.
Other Thoughts: highly recommended if you take a trip to play courses around different states stop here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/23/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: caney44
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very beautiful course and well taken care of. Great place to take the whole family. It was very hard for me though, but I will love it even better when I learn how to trow a disc
Cons: Can think of any atm.
Other Thoughts: Only thing that upset me was I lost my first disc here in the water. Shame on me, shouldn't of trown it that way huh :)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful.........

1    6/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: bdamcat
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is just sexy that's all I can say. The lake is a really nice back drop to the course. It does come into play on a few holes. Nice concrete tees, signs, and baskets. There are nice enclosed bathrooms after hole 3 or 4 if I recall. They offer free score cards and pencils when available. Shares a clubhouse with the ball golf course that offers Innova brand items. And the woman working the club house is very nice too.
Cons: Honestly I can't recall one bad thing other than no signs on the alternate tee pads for the LONG water shot.
Other Thoughts: Really nice course that is one of my favorites. And will play a lot more in the future. I has a family atmosphere with a playground for the little ones if you have any.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Layout, Great Course.

1    4/11/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course in Madisonville is a very nice, well-designed and scenic 18-hole course located at a great little community park. I was very impressed with the layout of this course. The designer made great use of the land, elevations, and available resources to create a fun, challenging layout with a good mix of holes.

The proper essentials for a good course are all here, including a course layout sign located at the first tee. Large, level concrete tee pads, DISCatcher baskets that are practically brand new, and tee signs at each hole that accurately represent the layout, par, and length of each hole. Many of the baskets also had arrows marked on the yellow rim at the top to point the direction of the next hole, which was very helpful. There are several tee boxes that are somewhat close together, but the post for each tee sign had the hole number at the top which helped to identify the tee without having to look at the sign, nice feature. The course did flow well making one continuous loop from start to finish. The fairways were clearly defined and easy to follow. There was basically no excessive foliage or underbrush to speak of. Maintenance appeared to be very good at the course.

As mentioned earlier, the course makes great use of the moderate elevations throughout the park. There is a good mix of uphill and downhill shots both off the tee and on the approach. Several pins are located on the side of a hill, calling for a risk/reward decision on these putts. Risking a 30ft putt on the side of one of these hills could easy turn up and roll putting you at the base of the hill, putting back up for a 40+ft par save. There is a good variety in distances of the holes. The longer holes are mixed into the layout very well, so you aren't throwing a bunch of short or long holes back to back.

There are no real technical holes on the course, and only a couple of wide open holes. Just about every hole has some type of obstacle to navigate off of the tee or on the approach. Some holes are open enough to allow a player to choose their line off of the tee, others utilize the trees/water or general layout of the hole to force a specific line. The lake is used to create some very challenging and visually appealing holes. On two of the holes (7 & 8), I had to throw from the alternate tee box because I didn't have the length that would be required to clear the water. The alternate boxes still bring the water into play, but not a direct carry over the lake. Hole 7 was probably my favorite hole on the course with an amazing view from the tee and a very challenging layout that runs alongside the edge of the lake with several large trees to navigate.
Cons: There are a few things to mention here. The tee signs were accurate, and in good condition, but there was no way to know how much length is required to clear the lake on Hole 7 & 8. I throw around 280ft on average, and I certainly did not feel like I could clear the hazard. It would be nice if the distance to clear the hazard was noted on the signs for these holes. Also, the alternate tee pads on 7 & 8 did not have a sign (or nothing noted on the sign at the main box) to show the overall distance. Other than the alternate pads on the water holes, there is only one tee box and one pin placement for each hole. If you don't play the course very often, that is fine, but some alternate pin placements could really add a lot to the overall layout and design of the course.

There is a stage area used for concerts/performances located near hole 8's basket and 16's fairway. I'm just guessing here, but I'd say if there was an event at the stage, these holes would be closed. Also, the park was very busy, and some of the holes are located near parts of the park where other activities take place. There were people near the fairways throwing Frisbees, hitting baseballs, walking, kicking soccer balls/kickballs, etc. A couple of times there were some pedestrians in the line of fire, so just pay attention as you navigate. There are a couple of blind tee shots over a hill throwing into potential pedestrian traffic, just proceed with caution and make sure the coast is clear.

This last statement isn't a con, and does not affect the rating of this course at all, but there were still several large brush piles in the fairways from where downed trees/limbs were cut up from the ice storm. They have done a good job of cleaning up the course, and all holes were playable. It looks like they are almost finished, but the brush piles did alter a couple of my approach shots. This is only mentioned as a note for someone who doesn't play here regularly.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course provides a challenging layout for the recreational player with lots of visual appeal. The holes average around 400ft, so many of the holes for me were a drive, an approach and a putt with only a couple of baskets reachable from the tee. This really forced me to position my tee shots for the best angle of approach, and challenged my mid game to get close enough to the basket for the 3. For more experienced players who throw over 400ft, the course will not be as challenging, but still visually stimulating and fun to play. The park itself is very nice and also includes a 9-hole ball golf course (pro shop also sells/rents discs), tennis courts, swimming pool, volleyball, baseball, 2 fishing lakes and some nice playground equipment for the kids. All in all, a great course and great design.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best Courses out there!!

1    1/3/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: ambroze
Played: 129  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Scorecards, great tee pads, excellent signs & baskets, water shots, beautiful scenery and well-positioned pin placement. What else is there? This course has it all except for maybe a bunch of short easy holes. Hole #7 & #8 will definitely challenge any player if played from the Pro tee pad. This is a disc golfer's paradise for sure.
Cons: Honestly none to speak of directly against the course. I just wish it were closer to my house since I live over 100 miles away.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a new course to play and you want to be challenged but also struck by a gorgeous course, then this is the course for you. Bring your long arm because you'll need it considering the average hole length combined for the entire course is over 405 feet.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!!!!

1    11/16/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think this is my favorate course ever. It has large concrete teepads, nice signs, good baskets and is in a great park. This course is very long and has several true par 4's that require 2 good long shots to reach the basket. For a good disc golfer the signs are going to play pretty accurate (a pro would proabaly light it up though). The course has a large lake that comes into play on several holes and has one water carry that looked to be about 300ft. There are several holes in large mature woods that are completely clean. Just a bunch of huge trees. The course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. Most holes are atleast 350ft or much longer.
Cons: This course needs some alternate pin locations and possible a few more alternate pads for AMS to make it a 5.0. if you are a new player or don't throw very far it will be a challenge. I can't think of anything else to change other then it needs to be closer to me.
Other Thoughts: This is a long course so be prepared to throw a lot of hard drives. Ever hole looks different and has something new to offer. Just a great place to play.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/29/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: danamonp
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2008
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I have played many courses around the area of Madisonville and I still like this one better, the average hole is 400+ feet and two 600 feet courses trees to shoot around and a lake to shoot over if your good enough, I'm not so I take the alternate tee box there is two alternate tee boxes one is on hole 7 and the other is on hole 8 this course has 18 holes. On holes 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,14,15,16,17,18 are on one side of the park hole 1 is by the golf shop by the parking lot holes 10,11,12,13 are across the street in the woods.
Cons: lake on hole 7 and 8. Hole 10 should have been a par 5 600+ feet the park is the only place in madisonville that sales disk so bring enough disk.
Other Thoughts: the golf shop has drinks and snacks and disk for sale. THIS IS THE COURSE YOU MUST PLAY!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.