Neosho, MO 
Morse Park North Share
Uploaded By: bjflash Hole #10 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice but could be better

5+    9/27/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: RONALDOHUFF
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: - Variety, I had to throw several hazers, turnovers and even a few forearms
- Only course in the area with 3 par 4's, they are holes 12, 14, and 18.
- Some fun shots like hole 17 where you have to decide to go for it (throw over the creek) or play it safe (throw to the bank then go for basket)
- New tee pads
Cons: - Hardly any signs
- Holes 8-12 are in the middle of a camp ground that seems to attract several homeless people, even some who think tee pad 11 is their bed/personal parking spot
- park gets lots of use around holes 2-7 so watch out for people, especially the kids playing at the park
Other Thoughts: good course, its used in the four states open. There is some room for improvement but the city does a fairly good job maintaining it.

 Improvements being made

5+    8/25/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: DukeSilver79
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: New concrete slabs being laid, which will be a big plus. Most shots are fine for beginners and are not that tricky. A couple are more challenging.
Cons: Some of the signs that were there once upon a time have been removed, probably by vandals. Fortunately there are some "temporary" signs that are there from a tournament last summer.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully besides pouring new concrete, there will also be some new signs made. The baskets themselves are in good shape. You just don't always know where to go to next, but the new slabs take some of the guessing out.

Not Impressed

1    4/12/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: mmsciron
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.7 Years
Pros: All holes were short and easy for beginners.
Cons: Lots of cons to be honest: no hole markers, no real way to figure out where to go to next. Once we figured out the hole number was on a bright sticker, placed on the pole in the chains, it helped, but overall spent too much time trying to figure out where to tee off from and where to shoot. After 12 holes, we decided to end it, it became pretty frustrating to deal with.
Other Thoughts: With just a minimal amount of money, I think getting hole info would be beneficial for players.


1    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Stoney J
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course. Love the layout and obstacles'
Cons: The poorly marked tee pads are a killer and the temporary markers on some holes are useless.
Other Thoughts: Loved playing the course. It was a road trip stop so anything is fun. The hole markings are horrendous but all in all a great course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quite Good, But...

1    1/6/2013   1/6/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 48  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The overall layout of this course is great. It flows really well. Each tee-pad is near the last basket, but not close enough to be in the way. There is not ever confusion of which basket to shoot at when you are on the pad. There are some great shots and lines on this course. Distances range from 240 up to 600 something. This is a very long course for the 4 states region. The fairways never cross. Again, I can't say it enough but this course flows so very well.
Cons: All of these cons, except for one, can be fixed relatively easily. The first con is finding the first hole. There are so many random parking lots that it was hard to find where to park. This course needs a course map near the first tee, which would also help figuring out where to park. The course map is necessary as the tee-pads are just grass and the tee-signs are hard to see. When me and my friend went we spent way too much time finding where the next tee was on certain holes, generally because the sign was stolen or partially destroyed. So far, all of these are fixable cons. Getting tee-pads, having a course map, and having all the tee signs. The only unsolveable problem is how many times you need to cross a main road, including a highway. There are 4 total times you need to make this crossing. Overall these cons by themselves are not terrible, but for being there my first time and having to make up 2 tee-pads and being really confused about the initial hole, it really did affect my rating.
Other Thoughts: This course has really great potential. It offers distance and some really interesting lines. I had a lot of fun on this course. This should not be a par 65 like the main page on DGCR says. I shot a 55 and I am an intermediate player having a pretty good round. I wish I could give this a 3.5, but with the terrible navigation issues and the crossing of roads multiple times I had to bump it down half a point. I sure hope I can make it back again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

2-4    8/18/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: airman_miller
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of challenge shots! This course makes you think about your throws. Not as confusing layout as it first appears. Pins are actually marked!!!
Cons: They apparently move the pins from time to time, some upwards of 100 feet. It made it slightly aggravating as you cannot see the pins were moved until you throw where it used to be.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my favorite course in the local area that I have played.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open and Tricky

1    3/14/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: Farmer Maggot
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun course. It is set inside a winding river, which comes into play on several holes, an RV park, and alongside a railroad. Several roads around the RV park come into play, as does the railroad on one hole.

Good practice basket...always a plus.

I liked the cleanliness of the park and the safety. There was a child play area with a jungle gym/swing set in the middle of the course, but it does not come into play. Adds to the safety factor.

Some neat shots, like holes 3 (up against the river drop off Requires an anhyzer if your a righty...and it must be precise), hole 8 (has a road and a row of trees in front of the basket to contend with), and hole 17 (which is perched on a hill right in front of a creek...also tricky).

Decent course that will challenge the adv/pro to get beyond 6 to 8 down while providing the beginner with some openness to learn the game without losing discs.
Cons: No tee pads - big neg.
Although there are directional markers on each tee sign, there should also be markers on each basket. Just a small con...

....well...like the rest!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 some challenging, some boring

5+    9/2/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: PuttsMcGee
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course has a few really cool holes. probably unlike any you've played before. good baskets (mach 2s i think). there are a couple holes that have mandos which aren't completely obvious, so pay attention to the signs. if you play the mandos, those holes are more challenging. lots of lefty holes, compared to most courses. i like it, because its a tough course for me to score really well on. i always have trouble with a couple holes (i'm a lower level pro player) and it makes me want to go back and try to score better. several holes really make you think about disc selection, so its a good mental test. overall, a nice park and decently maintained. had a couple holes closed off for construction for a while, but they are open now.
Cons: dirt pads, some with awkward footing. on a nice day, you're going to have to avoid pedestrians. its a busy park. you have a cross a busy road a couple times. not so busy that you need to run, maybe just wait for a clearing. also plays near a camp ground, so sometimes there will be a tent/campers near your fairway. sometimes the grass gets a little high.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a fun course, and i play it regularly even though i have a higher rated course only 1 mile from me. i like a challenge, and this course provides that challenge if played the way it was designed (with mandos and OBs). if you need to work on your forehand (righty) this is the place to go. would be a LOT better with teepads.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Morse Park North...

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
Pros: This course is located in a very well established park in the north side of Neosho. Quite a few trees in the course, but most of them don't come into play. Lot's of fun holes to play. Hole 8 is wide open and straight until about 30 ft. in front of the basket, where there are about 10 trees blocking your line to the basket. Water comes into play several times, but it's easy to play it safe if you don't want to risk losing a disc. Tee pads are dirt, but they're the best dirt tee pads I've ever used. New tee signs help a lot with navigation. Chainstar baskets are really nice and are still in great condition.
Cons: Navigation is a little rough, but as I previously mentioned, the signs make it much easier. Tee pads are needed to make this course better than a 3. Terrain is very flat. There's hardly any holes with a hill, yet the surrounding area has plenty of hills. Not a good variety of shots. Tons of lefty/anhyzer shots. If your bag consists of mostly over stable discs(RHBH), then you're going to have a tough time with this course. Spots of the course looked like they could flood very easily. Hole 15 plays right next to the railroad tracks and it's easy to land a disc on the tracks. A walking trail cuts through the front 9 and the back 9 plays around a trailer park, so watch out for non-disc golfers. You have to cross a fairly large road twice, and a few holes play right by that road.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this a very good course for such a small town like Neosho. Lot's of fun holes, but not a very hard course. My favorite holes were 8 and 17. Wind was blowing very hard while I was playing which made the course a lot harder. Around 14 and 15, the ground was all dirt for some reason. There are currently two bulldozers on hole 16 that are directly in a RHBH line to the basket. If you live around Neosho, it's a must play, but if your just visiting, just head on down the road to Joplin (McClelland Park).

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

 Good course

5+    1/25/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: csheafer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of opportunity to work on lefty shots
Very good signs show flight path, distance and direction of next tee
Cons: You have to cross a major road twice
No tee pads
A couple of holes were not thought out very good.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, does not take long. This will be my home course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.