Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 315ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Bench at #8



Reviews: 151
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Mountain Course

5+    7/6/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: JoetoriousDGP
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The variance of shots on the course and amount of trees for a Colorado course with little to no underbrush make this an epic course. Plus the views and terrain changes are great! The tee pee is a great spot to take a break after hole 3 to catch your breath after the walk up the hill from holes 1 to 3.
Cons: A little hilly on a few holes that can cause you to search for a while for your disc if it rolls, but it also motivates you to make it a good shot on those few holes so not really a con, but a challenge of the course.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play, but worth the $5 for sure. It is not a beginners course, but intermediate to advanced players will love it. I still recommend it for beginners though due to low possibility of losing discs and no water hazard except for hole 21 which you can skip or lay up if you want to. My favorite course in Colorado so far, but haven't gotten out to many of the other mountain courses yet.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging mountain course

5+    8/16/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course design and this course will require a lot of shot making. A good mix of short ace holes and a few bomber holes. This used to be my favorite course and has potential to be even better than it already is.
Cons: The tee boxes are poorly maintained, who am I kidding they aren't maintained at all.

There's an often less than chipper ranger that will hunt you down for your $3, even if you've already paid he'll want to check.
Other Thoughts: A good course and the design is awesome. However, whoever is collecting the money on this course is NOT putting it back into the course.

I recommend going down the road to Bailey DGC or Mountain Meadows DGP. At both the fees are put directly back into the course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful and challenging

1    8/18/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: joeharker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: great mountain view
very well kept
excellent layout
clear where to find next tee
diverse challenges
from tree dodging, to open long bomb, to crazy elevation challenges
Cons: missing the fairway can cause some brutal rollers down the hills

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Conifer / Beaver Ranch

2-4    6/22/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of technical and challenging holes. You don't get a lot of heavily forested holes down in Denver, so this entire course is a treat.

Beautiful environment. Good signs. Benches at every hole. Really a quality experience.
Cons: In a few places, if you put a disc on edge, it might roll hundreds of feet down the mountain!

If had to choose a legitimate con, there were some uneven dirt tees that you could slip on.
Other Thoughts: This course was really fun. I checked it out on a weekday afternoon, and couldn't wait to bring my buddies up here to see it. A totally different experience than the courses in the city.

Some people might consider the steep climbs and occasionally difficult terrain a con, but I think it just adds to the experience. Bring good shoes.

Also, make sure to bring cash to pay for the required daily tags.

Both times I've played have been a blast. Highly recommended.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I like!

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: vagabond
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. You won't get bored. A lot of tight shots between trees, shots up hill, on side slopes etc. It honestly reminds me a lot of Hanson Hills, in Grayling Michigan which is another excellent course. The terrain and shot variety is very similar. Nice benches at every tee, and good signage.
Cons: Not really any cons to this course in my opinion.. Its not really a "mountain course" It is in the mountains, but its really just built around some hills.
Other Thoughts: Their is a ban on all outdoor burning in Colorado right now, yet I still saw a lot of cigarette butts along the course. WTF is wrong with smokers??

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Golf

1    1/27/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: rbnorris32
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Like Phantom Falls, this course was phenomenal. And again like PF, this is not the most difficult course, but it is very scenic and rugged. If you like hiking in addition to disc golf, play Beaver Ranch. All of the holes were fun and challenging. The signage was great and really helped with navigating the course.
Cons: Some of the holes were a little short. But after playing PF my arm was tired anyway.
Other Thoughts: Would give it a 4.25 if possible. I prefer this course over PF mainly because of the environment. I think they should both be played regularly though! On 1/27/12 there was snow on a majority of the course. It only affected the tee pads and in a couple of places it was deep and powdery (around hole 16 and 21). For the most part you disc will stay on top of the snow. Don't be a fair weather golfer and get out there!

7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

1    3/10/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: +Great course where you must decide to thread the needle, or go around. Or better yet, can't go around. You must throw straight
+Accuracy is rewarded
+it wasn't very crowded for us, and this course is so large even if their were more people would not have been a problem
+A scenic course and full of smells of pines
+2 600 ft+ holes.
Cons: - It kicked my butt, not a horrible thing. But, your calves will burn
- the .5 mile hike to hole 1, on the walk out I assure you it feels like a mile
Other Thoughts: I think it's worth the drive, one of the best i'v played on. Watch where your discs go, spent 30min looking for two discs... And tip.. DO NOT follow the road, we missed the first 3 holes walking up the road. once you cross the river, tee one is near a wooden bench..

We went and it was icy and hole one was covered in snow. Bring hiking boots, and lots of WATER! Do not skip water folks

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Made it up there finally

1    7/20/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course will be one of the most gorgeous courses you have ever seen,and if not I'm wish listing the course you know of thats better.Tocabaga's jungle in St.Petersburg Fl,and Sipipu in New Mex are the only others of such beauty.Actually the courses in the foothills west of Ft.Collins are pretty scenic as well but not quite as nice.
Cons: I wished the course would have been a bit tougher don't get me wrong there are some epic like holes(2-3).Shorter holes aren't too boring but why not stretch them out if you can.Playing in such a beautiful area I really wish the shorter holes were a bit tougher.
Other Thoughts: Definitely the better course in the Denver area since all the courses around there are so F'n easy to shoot par or under.As far as my scores go Sakuna Pines in the Black Forest is still harder but this course will make you throw more then a 65 thats for sure.21 holes

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Truly One of a Kind

5+    10/25/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: lburns13
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful Course. There are both long and short holes making an opportunity for good shots. the hills make it a lower and upper body workout. There's always the chance of seeing beautiful wildlife like deer, elk, fox, and bear.
Cons: If your not use to the altitude then it will be very tiring. the course is 8300+Ft.
Other Thoughts: On beautiful sunny days this course is brilliant with color. but its at its best near the end of september when the aspens are changing and the days are a little cooler. Playing when its cold, snowing, and 25 degrees is a real experience.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable.

2-4    6/12/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
10 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -The Great Hike to the course, up the hills, and over the mountain.
-The teepads that are good without concrete (it was dry when I played, so I don't know about rain)
-Obviously the elevation change is amazing. Few courses in the world have this good of elevation.
-diificulty. Challenges all skill levels depending on pin placement.
-hole 16
-practice basket in a wife open field.
Cons: -no concrete tees
-a couple holes had no good route to play the hole (in other words, a lack of risk/reward. It's only risk in some places. On other holes, it was just fairway and rough. There was no way to make up for a horrible shot with an excellent shot.
-too many straight holes.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course I have played yet. 16 was an awesome hole, as well as 14 or so. I didn't like the stump in front of the basket on 18 (I think it was that hole). It seemed like it would stop a good shot. But Overall, the course is amazing. Do play it if you get the chance, and don't forget to take some water and food.

10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.