Disc Golf Store
Conifer, CO
Beaver Ranch/Conifer Park Share
Uploaded By: andylibrande Hole #18 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 226ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 143
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
 Best Course I've played

1    11/30/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: JustinJStew
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Hooks for you bags on every hole, picture of where the pins are located, brooms for most of the tee pads.
Cons: Closely located zip line causes you to hear some screams, which may be mistaken for possible hole in ones.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing this course, paid $5 and was allowed to play multiple times in the same day. Great scenery, with awesome course design . Excited to play this course again when the snow is gone.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Course

5+    11/9/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: Dan13LP
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2014
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily one of the best courses I've ever played. If I lived closer, I'd play this course everyday. So, where do I begin!?
-Concrete tee pads on every hole, with great signage showing all possible pin locations and their distances. The signs have been updated with the hole new numbers for the new course layout (as of September 2013).
-There are bag hooks on every hole as well if you're so inclined to use them. There are also brooms on a lot of holes as well to clear off any loose debris on the tee pad.
-Lots of trash cans and recycling cans scattered throughout the course, which is huge, because this course is always super clean. People seem to respect it, and it doesn't hurt to have trash and recycling all over to discourage people from littering.
-There's a ton of logs/trees/brush, whatever you want to call it scattered on a lot of the steeper hills on this course, which prevents MOST long rolls down these hills. It can still happen, but most discs will get caught up in these natural barriers.
-All of the baskets are in great condition, and are moved frequently to keep the course fresh. The different locations also add a great deal of variety to the course as well. When they are in the long positions, the course plays MUCH harder and will offer up a challenge even to the most experienced player.
-The overall course design is fantastic. If really offers up a huge variety of shots that will force you to throw just about everything in your bag. There are some tight holes threw the woods, uphill and downhill shots, a few huge bombers (old 16 and 17), and everything else in between!
-There are only a few mandos on this course, but just like the signage on all of the holes, they are marked well, and easy to spot.
-The scenery in this location is absolutely amazing as well. Sitting right aruond 8,200 ft, there are great mountain views, beautiful patches of aspens, lots of pines, and the occasional deer here and there (the last several times I've been out, I've seen quite a few deer actually).
-There is now a putting course located near the "pro-shop" before you get the first tee. It's a good way to warm up for the round. You throw three discs on each hole, from three different lengths, 1 long, 1 medium, and 1 short. There are rules on how to score posted at the first hole.
-On the weekends there is a pro-shop that is open for business. They have just about anything you would need for your round: snacks, drinks, t-shirts, discs, etc...
-There's also a pretty cool lounge area around the pro-shop and putting course that has a bunch of comfy chairs and couches that are all covered by a pop-up tent. A great place to relax for a bit after a long round, or a good place to hang out if you're waiting on people to meet up with.
Cons: None. And I'm serious. This course is amazing!
Other Thoughts: The people who manage this course have really put a lot of TLC into it over the last year or so, and it has paid off. They took an already amazing course, and made it better!! I didn't think that was possible, but with the addition of concrete pads on each hole, and the introduction of the new holes (#1 and #2), this course is absolutely perfect. Beaver Ranch is $5 to play, and it's MORE than worth it. Every dime goes back into supporting the course. Yearly memberships are also available if you ask someone at the pro-shop or the main lodge, they should be able to help you out. Whether you live in Colorado, or are just out here visiting, this is an absolute MUST PLAY course for any disc golfer.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Top Notch

5+    8/8/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: blazo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Amazing Epic course. Love it. Watch the videos of it on youtube, you'll see...
Cons: None. If you can find cons on this course you are looking too hard for em.
Other Thoughts: A must-play before death course

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome mountain course

2-4    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, I loved the mountain scenery on this course. The view from the tee at hole 7 (previously 16) is awesome, with the next hole being an awesome BIG downhill shot. A couple of the holes play into some nice aspen stands. Tons of variety here in hole shape (left, right, up, down, long, and short), requiring you to be able to move the disc in every direction to score well here. Nice concrete tee pads on every hole with some of the best signs I have seen. Benches and trashcans at most tees, as well as brooms for sweeping off the tees. Multiple basket locations on almost every hole. There is a small river that comes into play on one of the holes, and makes for a fun change of pace from this mountain course. The new first hole is right next to a proshop in a trailer that has a selection of discs as well as drinks and snacks, and this is also where you pay the $5 daily fee to play the course. Between the parking and proshop is a new practice green area with multiple baskets (at least 4 or 5 in the ground as of 9/14/13 and two partially assembled baskets nearby that appeared close to going in to the ground as well).
Cons: None. The course has seen a lot of hard work lately to improve on its most common complaints, and those who did the hard work deserve credit. The "long" walk to the first tee is gone, and the tees are all concrete.
Other Thoughts: For those that have played here, the two new holes are #1 and #2, which leads in to the old course layout at old hole 12 as the new hole 3, and the course plays in its previous order from that point (there are currently stickers over all the hole numbers on tee signs to indicate the correct tee for the new layout - but baskets as of 9/14/13 are still numbered for the old layout). This course does get crowded on weekends, so prepare for a longer round. There is also potential for roll-aways here, and when they roll away, they can go a LONG way. Do not stop watching your disc when it hits the ground - keep an eye on it until it is at rest. I've had one shot (old hole 10, new hole 22) that has a blind landing area with a severe downslope just beyond the basket. I would have lost a disc here had a group on the next tee not told me that my disc had rolled all the way to the bottom of the hill, which is probably at least a hundred feet of elevation. They were nice enough to fetch my disc for me, which I would have never found without their help. This course is a serious workout with about 2.5 miles of walking and 800 feet in elevation gain (according to my GPS). If you are not a local, this course is at over 8000 feet, meaning you could be a little short of breath due to the elevation. Be careful on some of the sideslopes, as the loose scree can be slick, so watch your footing. This course is very well designed, and if you take your time, and don't let yourself get too worn out, the fun factor is hard to beat.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Denver Trip

1    6/14/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: DGTEXAS
Played: 63  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely amazing! The course is played on a mountain and is challenging, I highly reccommend playing this one if you are ever in the Denver area! There are some great views and wildlife in the area!
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: I should've packed a lighter bag, the walk from the parking lot was 1/2 a mile and the first 3 holes are straight up the mountain, bring plenty of water and pace yourself! After the third hole it was smooth sailing!

I'll definately be back!!!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf Heaven!

2-4    5/7/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: Mooser81
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a must for all disc golf players, whether you are a pro or simply a beginner! Bring your best hiking shoes, water and patience as the course begins straight up the mountain and is challenging from first to last!
Cons: That we didn't find it sooner
Other Thoughts: Do it! With many similar courses charging upwards of $20, this is well worth the challenge every time!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

My favorite course of all time!!

5+    4/20/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: ttuff
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2013
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is wonderful in nearly every way. Great design, great scenery, great maintenance, and well spaced so you don't notice the neighboring holes. This course takes several hours to play and includes a great deal of hiking and punishment for errant throws. Trash cans (seasonally) and benches at every tee box and wood-chip greens around many baskets. Go play this course today!
Cons: A great course and skilled advertising means that development is booming at Beaver Ranch. It's great that so many people are enjoying the area but the land managers seem to be struggling to properly manage that growth. There is a zipline popular with tourist and social groups that can often overcrowd the area and highlight the lack of permanent toilets or proper parking lots. The course is accessible from two locations (not officially) and many people start on the back half to save themselves the walk to hole one. This tends to cause massive backups and tee-box lines as these people squeeze themselves into the normal flow of play of groups that started at hole 1. Dogs have always been a wonderful addition to this course but the crowds of people can often lead to crowds of dogs and subsequent conflicts between dogs.
Crowded is the name of the game these days. Unfortunately, the area is not set up to handle the traffic properly so you can often find yourself frustrated with the park or with people around you. I think the Beaver ranch land managers are going to spend a lot of time thinking about these problems over the next couple years and I hope they can pursue long-term development and revenue planning rather than chasing the short-term payouts given by fad attractions (e.g. zipline, ropes course, alpine slide, etc.). This place is too wonderful, please don't let this become Heritage Square.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

My first love...

2-4    7/14/2012   1/29/2013
Review By: Dirty D
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -big up and down shots
-clean
-not crowded
-beautiful basket & benches
Cons: None - I need more oxygen cans next time
Other Thoughts: This was my 3rd time playing the course but 1st time playing completely. The course is beautiful and in great shape. Hole #17 is my favorite next time ill have to try Basket 'E' Why are you still reading this? Go Throw!

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Love them Mountains

1    10/15/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Amazing foothill/mountain scenery. Everywhere you look there are mountains, trees, rock structures. Fresh mountain air.
-Lots of elevation makes for a challenging round.
-Fast and challenging greens.
-Multiple pin positions on every hole. Up to 5 per hole.
-Some breathtaking downhill shots, it is fun to throw that far without too much effort.
-Its proximity to Magic Meadow, Phantom Falls, and Bailey. I don't know of a better destination.
-A perfect amount of trees/rough. This course takes awhile to play but it isn't because you are looking for discs.
-I liked the Disc In baskets. Similar to Innovas but the slanted top makes for more high shots going in.
-Working on concrete tees, the natural ones aren't bad either
-Signage is great. Has par, distance, and possible pin placements with a real picture of the hole.
-The course is really easy to find, near the town of Conifer.
-Benches on every hole, you might need to use them here and there.
-Maps and bathroom at parking lot.
-Foothill Flyers put a lot of work in here.
-Bag hangers keep your bags off the dusty mountain ground.
Cons: -If you're out of shape, this will be hard. Lots of hiking up and down hills at 8000+ feet.
-If you're not the best, this will get frustrating.
-There was at least one hole that I thought luck played more of a factor than skill in that pin position.
-The walk to the first tee isn't too bad but the course is long! They should make a parking lot closer to hole 1.
-Great courses can be crowded.
-I wouldn't mind a few more ace runs- I think there may have been a lot more in the shorter pin positions.
Other Thoughts: One of the main complaints I have seen against this course is the lack of longer holes/par 4s and 5s. When I played, all pins were in "C" position and some of the holes were pretty long. It was plenty challenging for me. This course is pay to play which I feel is a good thing but due to varying opinions on the topic I didn't put it into the pros or cons. This course keeps you interested and on your toes. It was a blast and I can't wait to get down and play it again.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

throwin plastic in the woods!

5+    0/0/0000   10/15/2012
Review By: ryanbutel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2012
4 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This course is My favorite course in Colorado a hands down must play! Its quite peaceful out in these mountains just relaxing and throwing some plastic. Wish I lived in Conifer just to play this course on a daily basis! The Tee pads are getting cemented!!! Which makes for better footing and grip also more consistant accurate and power throws. This is one of the more challenging couses in colorado which I love!!!
Cons: 3$ to play but who's complaining?
Other Thoughts: legit course! a must play

4 of 18 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.