Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #18
3 / 226ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 152
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
So glad I played

1    8/16/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: LeftyMcGee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Eveything. I have really only played wide open courses. This was such a great challenge. I'm a beginner/intermeduate player and this challenged me and the friends I played w on every shot. Great hike. Great course design and challenging layout. Never had to second guess or walk the hole to find the pin No litter. Friendly people. 1st time playing a mountain course, and I'm hooked!
Cons: It's a mountain course...I rolled over a 2 hour old new disk on hole 3 and it went down the hill and couldn't be found.
Other Thoughts: With a course of this caliber so close to denver (and the other great courses nearby that I've heard about) I'll definitely be burning the gas and spending a lot more time here!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Trees galore and elevation change to boot.

2-4    8/8/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: himPickle
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Complete signage, 23 concrete tee pads, lots of mulch spread out in wet areas makes walking the course pleasant, lots of trees to throw trough uphill tunnels and some open and long double mando holes. Great day of play by any ones standards. 9 hole putting game course at base will test the best. Try your hand at an ace run for $1 entry fee gets you two throws, and an ace gets you $40 pro shop credit. Friendly pro shop for food, beaver ranch stamped discs, all your disc golf essentials. Right off the main hwy 285s.
Cons: No night golf, Mountain Loins the size of small ponies have been spotted on the course around dusk.
Other Thoughts: This place is a must play, you will not be disappointed.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

JUST DO IT

5+    7/26/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: MIkeyMikeCO
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: JUst go play the course. It is worth every penny.
Cons: The only con I can think of is I wish my legs could handle playing 2 rounds back to back.
Other Thoughts: What a great course and full of all the stuff that make spaying for a course worth it. Just do it!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Course!

1    6/23/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This well maintained course has everything you could ever want from a mountain-based course. The layout was very well done; taking advantage of the intense elevation changes and the wonderful pine forest. It's also the only course in this little area of Colorado you don't need to book a tee time to play.

The key elements to the course are all in great shape: the cement teepads, the baskets, the manicured fairways. It's all good. Each teepad has incredible maps and pictures that show the multiple pin locations and the current pin location. Also there is a broom and bag hook at most, if not all of the holes.

The course is designed to challenge you on every hole, requiring many technical shots to be performed. Hopefully you're good with playing in some gusty winds, it can really tamper with your flights.

I suppose I should mention the scenery as well. You'll find yourself taking pictures or hanging out on one of the many benches just to take it in.

Also, there is what appears to be a fairly new feature at the pro shop: there is a 7 hole Putting course. There are rules explaining the game, but basically it's 3 putts at each basket from 3 different spots, each spot is worth different points. If you don't want to play for points, it makes for some excellent warm up putting before tackling the course.
Cons: VERY minor cons...

A couple holes had teepads/ fairways close to each other, but when I was there the course was fairly barren so it wasn't an issue.

Not really a con, but be mindful that you are playing on a mountain and there are a few holes with HIGH roll away factors. The second to last hole especially, the hillside is quite steep and if your disc gets rolling you might just want to kiss it bye-bye.
Other Thoughts: I have a few thoughts to share...

1) Wear good shoes! Preferably hiking shoes. This course is quite long and has TONS of climbs and descends to make. Which brings me to thought #2....

2) Take it slow and easy! This is not a course to rush through. Enjoy nature and take breaks if need be. Don't forget, you are playing a course that is at over 8000 FEET in elevation. Unless you live here and are acclimated, there is less oxygen and it will tire you out quicker.

3) BRING WATER! I drained almost 2 liters of water just playing one round, if it was any warmer I'd have been a thirsty dog.


I LOVED this course and will definitely be back on my next trip to Colorado. I would do nothing to change it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Comparison to Bailey

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Visiting from Illinois we had a chance to play Beaver Ranch and Bailey this week.
Here are some hints if you can only choose one to play.

First off they are both great courses. Two of the best I have ever played. In terms of the actual courses they are both a ton of fun and well designed and laid out. Bailey has more consistently longer holes, however, so much greater need to be able to drive longer distances. This was a bit frustrating for my wife who found herself skipping more holes just because they were so long. Both courses can be strenous with lots of uphill and downhill. You will find the need for lots of different types of shots and discs at both courses. Though it is possible to lose a disc, for the most part neither is so overgrown that even in errant disc cannot be found with a little searching. Both had holes that required accuracy but it was alway clear that there was a line to take to the whole (unlike some courses where you sometimes feel your only option is throw and pray it can find a way through). Both course are very worth the $5 donation and it is obvious those donations are going back into the courses to continue to make improvements. Both courses are in beuatiful locations with great scenery.

With that said, at this point Beaver Ranch would probably be the best choice. Beaver Creek has Concrete Tee pads (and even brooms if they need to be wiped off). It has benches at the start of the wholes. It has a disk shop at the beginning and relaxing chairs there to rest after you get through (you will need it especailly if you plan for a second go around). It has water to wash your hands. It has a little putting course. At this point Bailey has no one to welcome you, just a box for donations and a couple chairs out in the open. It has dirt tee pads. They are hoping to bring these improvements to the course in the coming year, however. The lack of these things did not decrease the fun or challange of the course for me (but if it is after a large rain the tee pads might not be so easy to use).
Cons: In terms of Beaver Ranch I cannot think of any except perhaps the following (though some will see this as just another opportunity to strategize to make sure shot lands short and flat. At both courses there are a few holes where even a "great shot" can turn out horrible after it roles a mile down the hill, but this is a much great danger at Beaver Ranch.
Other Thoughts: Another recommendation. If you are not as in shape make sure to get a map at the beginning of each course. Each course has an extreme downhill shot followed by a few holes where you have to climb all the way back up. If you refer to your map, however, these holes can be bypassed which will help save legs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course I've played

1    11/30/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: JustinJStew
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Hooks for you bags on every hole, picture of where the pins are located, brooms for most of the tee pads.
Cons: Closely located zip line causes you to hear some screams, which may be mistaken for possible hole in ones.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing this course, paid $5 and was allowed to play multiple times in the same day. Great scenery, with awesome course design . Excited to play this course again when the snow is gone.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Course

5+    11/9/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: Dan13LP
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2014
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily one of the best courses I've ever played. If I lived closer, I'd play this course everyday. So, where do I begin!?
-Concrete tee pads on every hole, with great signage showing all possible pin locations and their distances. The signs have been updated with the hole new numbers for the new course layout (as of September 2013).
-There are bag hooks on every hole as well if you're so inclined to use them. There are also brooms on a lot of holes as well to clear off any loose debris on the tee pad.
-Lots of trash cans and recycling cans scattered throughout the course, which is huge, because this course is always super clean. People seem to respect it, and it doesn't hurt to have trash and recycling all over to discourage people from littering.
-There's a ton of logs/trees/brush, whatever you want to call it scattered on a lot of the steeper hills on this course, which prevents MOST long rolls down these hills. It can still happen, but most discs will get caught up in these natural barriers.
-All of the baskets are in great condition, and are moved frequently to keep the course fresh. The different locations also add a great deal of variety to the course as well. When they are in the long positions, the course plays MUCH harder and will offer up a challenge even to the most experienced player.
-The overall course design is fantastic. If really offers up a huge variety of shots that will force you to throw just about everything in your bag. There are some tight holes threw the woods, uphill and downhill shots, a few huge bombers (old 16 and 17), and everything else in between!
-There are only a few mandos on this course, but just like the signage on all of the holes, they are marked well, and easy to spot.
-The scenery in this location is absolutely amazing as well. Sitting right aruond 8,200 ft, there are great mountain views, beautiful patches of aspens, lots of pines, and the occasional deer here and there (the last several times I've been out, I've seen quite a few deer actually).
-There is now a putting course located near the "pro-shop" before you get the first tee. It's a good way to warm up for the round. You throw three discs on each hole, from three different lengths, 1 long, 1 medium, and 1 short. There are rules on how to score posted at the first hole.
-On the weekends there is a pro-shop that is open for business. They have just about anything you would need for your round: snacks, drinks, t-shirts, discs, etc...
-There's also a pretty cool lounge area around the pro-shop and putting course that has a bunch of comfy chairs and couches that are all covered by a pop-up tent. A great place to relax for a bit after a long round, or a good place to hang out if you're waiting on people to meet up with.
Cons: None. And I'm serious. This course is amazing!
Other Thoughts: The people who manage this course have really put a lot of TLC into it over the last year or so, and it has paid off. They took an already amazing course, and made it better!! I didn't think that was possible, but with the addition of concrete pads on each hole, and the introduction of the new holes (#1 and #2), this course is absolutely perfect. Beaver Ranch is $5 to play, and it's MORE than worth it. Every dime goes back into supporting the course. Yearly memberships are also available if you ask someone at the pro-shop or the main lodge, they should be able to help you out. Whether you live in Colorado, or are just out here visiting, this is an absolute MUST PLAY course for any disc golfer.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Top Notch

5+    8/8/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: blazo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Amazing Epic course. Love it. Watch the videos of it on youtube, you'll see...
Cons: None. If you can find cons on this course you are looking too hard for em.
Other Thoughts: A must-play before death course

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome mountain course

2-4    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, I loved the mountain scenery on this course. The view from the tee at hole 7 (previously 16) is awesome, with the next hole being an awesome BIG downhill shot. A couple of the holes play into some nice aspen stands. Tons of variety here in hole shape (left, right, up, down, long, and short), requiring you to be able to move the disc in every direction to score well here. Nice concrete tee pads on every hole with some of the best signs I have seen. Benches and trashcans at most tees, as well as brooms for sweeping off the tees. Multiple basket locations on almost every hole. There is a small river that comes into play on one of the holes, and makes for a fun change of pace from this mountain course. The new first hole is right next to a proshop in a trailer that has a selection of discs as well as drinks and snacks, and this is also where you pay the $5 daily fee to play the course. Between the parking and proshop is a new practice green area with multiple baskets (at least 4 or 5 in the ground as of 9/14/13 and two partially assembled baskets nearby that appeared close to going in to the ground as well).
Cons: None. The course has seen a lot of hard work lately to improve on its most common complaints, and those who did the hard work deserve credit. The "long" walk to the first tee is gone, and the tees are all concrete.
Other Thoughts: For those that have played here, the two new holes are #1 and #2, which leads in to the old course layout at old hole 12 as the new hole 3, and the course plays in its previous order from that point (there are currently stickers over all the hole numbers on tee signs to indicate the correct tee for the new layout - but baskets as of 9/14/13 are still numbered for the old layout). This course does get crowded on weekends, so prepare for a longer round. There is also potential for roll-aways here, and when they roll away, they can go a LONG way. Do not stop watching your disc when it hits the ground - keep an eye on it until it is at rest. I've had one shot (old hole 10, new hole 22) that has a blind landing area with a severe downslope just beyond the basket. I would have lost a disc here had a group on the next tee not told me that my disc had rolled all the way to the bottom of the hill, which is probably at least a hundred feet of elevation. They were nice enough to fetch my disc for me, which I would have never found without their help. This course is a serious workout with about 2.5 miles of walking and 800 feet in elevation gain (according to my GPS). If you are not a local, this course is at over 8000 feet, meaning you could be a little short of breath due to the elevation. Be careful on some of the sideslopes, as the loose scree can be slick, so watch your footing. This course is very well designed, and if you take your time, and don't let yourself get too worn out, the fun factor is hard to beat.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Denver Trip

1    6/14/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: DGTEXAS
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely amazing! The course is played on a mountain and is challenging, I highly reccommend playing this one if you are ever in the Denver area! There are some great views and wildlife in the area!
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: I should've packed a lighter bag, the walk from the parking lot was 1/2 a mile and the first 3 holes are straight up the mountain, bring plenty of water and pace yourself! After the third hole it was smooth sailing!

I'll definately be back!!!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.