Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #1
3 / 165ft.   3 / 165ft.   3 / 154ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 169
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 17

1    11/7/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: iahebert
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing the course, and it was a blast. There was about an inch or two of snow throughout the course, but it didn't get in the way of playing. The teepads are *very* well kept, with very clear signage, bag hooks, and a broom at each one. The course offered several challenging and fun holes, not to mention some great views. The pro-shop at the beginning of the course has a solid selection of gear, and the staff is very helpful. Will ABSOLUTELY play again.
Cons: None to think of.
Other Thoughts: If you're hesitant to pay to play. Don't be. Your course fees go into supporting one of the best courses I've personally ever played. Great for novice and advanced players.

There is a lot (a LOT) of elevation change at an already high up course. If you're not used to the altitude (over 8k feet), bring lots of water and take it easy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

great local course

5+    9/8/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: reverendbacon
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: amazing views, great terrain, very challenging, great variation of skill needed for low score. great beginners course as well, lots of open fairways.
Cons: no bacon is available on the course, anywhere.... (unless i bring my own, then its not a con)

course pictures on here need to be updated. Hole 1 is not hole 1 as described in the pics, that is actually hole 13, if I recall correctly.
Other Thoughts: will play this course for many years to come

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

complete package

1    9/13/2015   9/13/2015
Review By: blazerico
Played: 213  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: everything about beaver is amazing, from the beautiful views to the technical golf. I was totally surprised and very happy to see a food truck on sight when I arrived. I think they plan on having alternating trucks in the future. There are a couple of long bomber shots, but most of them are reasonable and birdie-able. the pro shop had all the essentials, discs, food, swag, water. port-o-john available.
Cons: can't think of any
Other Thoughts: $8 is well spent on this experience. colorado is truly a destination for disc golf.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

a must play for all discers. simply amazing

1    9/4/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -gorgeous mountain views in the rockies
-every tee has a map with all pin locations easily marked and identified. Each post is marked with the current location by a bolt in the post next to the appropriate pin. Elevation of tees and each basket is listed. Brooms, benches, baghooks at every teebox.
-good mix of open bombers and tight line tee shots
-amazing elevation changes.
-putting course is a fun warm up. Never been to a course with a putting course. Offers different "tee shots" to each practice basket.
-great exercise
-several ace runs. Great risk/reward going at most baskets because of severe roll away potential
-23 holes is the perfect number. After 18 I wasnt ready to be done.
Cons: -i honestly sat here trying to think of a negative for several minutes and cant. I guess its not a good beginner course could be the only possibility of a con
Other Thoughts: Cost was $8 for a day pass, well worth price of admission. Lots of time and work go into this course.

I suggest taking your time and enjoying the scenery. This is a beautiful mountain course that is worth a lengthy drive to play

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

World Class

5+    8/23/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: Lightbringer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent views and environment in the mountains of Colorado.

Wide variety of shots from fairly open fairways, to steep uphills and downhills, to tightly wooded and technical shots.

Some truly memorable holes, including the famous bomb run on hole #17.

As with other mountain courses, it is difficult to lose a disc on most holes due to the lack of ground vegetation.

23 great holes.

Some of the best tees, markers and signage in Colorado.

During the summer and fall there is plenty of shade, and the elevation will make for a much cooler day than one spent in the city. The fall is especially nice; the convergence of comfortable weather and the changing colors of the aspen leaves make it one of the best times to visit the mountains.

The pro shop has every disc I want. KC Pro Glow Flat-Top Rocs. Star Teebirds and Valkyries. Judges. Wizards. These guys have great taste and you will see some excellent and possibly hard to find discs here. They are also very friendly and passionate about disc golf.

If you are looking for a longer course with a moderate hike involved, this is a great option. The middle few holes are pretty much straight uphill. You will get some decent exercise at this course.

The course is not hard to find or access and is only a short drive from Denver. There are a lot of excellent courses in the mountains, but some of them are much harder to get to.
Cons: At points you will be quite a hike away from any type of amenities like restrooms. If you're a male this isn't such a big deal but I can see being female and having to pee around the last half of the course being a pain. Make sure you are prepared with plenty if water.

Sometimes the course can be pretty crowded. It is very well known and popular. During the last time I played there, there was a traffic jam of about 7 groups by the time we got to the final hole. This problem is compounded by people who are unprepared for the physical nature of the course or people who play in large groups, especially with a bunch of children. Fortunately this isn't a problem as long as you have time to wait, because you still get to sit on the benches and just hang out in a beautiful area.

Due to the fact that the course is built all over a large hill, there is an EXCELLENT chance of being hit by stray noob hyzers. We were playing on one hole that cut across the slope, with the next hole directly above it playing in the opposite direction. Someone in the group ahead of us made a throw that faded hard to the left and sailed directly downhill and into my shin. Be very mindful of who is ahead and downhill of you.

Due to the physically demanding nature and difficulty of the course, it may not be the best course for families or brand new players. It does not instill confidence in new players to hit tree after tree all day. That being said, it is a great place to improve for anyone willing to stick with it.

Other Thoughts: Simply put, this is one of the best courses in Colorado. If you have only one opportunity to play a Colorado course you should give this one very serious consideration. It is representative of everything that mountain courses have to offer. Just make sure you are prepared with some good shoes, plenty of water and other refreshments, and all the tricks in your bag.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/26/2015   7/30/2015
Review By: ABosco26
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, well maintained. The views are unbelievable. Very easy to find the holes and tee boxes.

There is a variety of challenges, whether its distance, trees, water, change in elevation. This course does a great job of mixing it up and keeping it challenging.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Play this course. Well worth the $8 a day.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Epic Mountain Course

1    6/6/2015   7/8/2015
Review By: SteLaG
Played: 66  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gorgeous mountain course that pretty much has everything you could ask for in a disc golf course. Has lots of downhill bombs where you can really let your disc fly. Also has a good mix of technical holes that offer a lot of risk and reward. The course is really not too far from the Denver Metro Area and is well worth the trip.
Cons: They charge $8.00 for a day pass. The course is well worth the money, but I'm pretty sure it was only $5.00 previous years. As far as the course goes there are really no cons.
Other Thoughts: I'm hoping that they are charging more to put more money into the course. It did look like there was staff working on something in the woods I can only guess it would be more holes. It would be really nice if they bumped the number of holes up to 27.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very fun, worth your time

1    9/27/2014   6/22/2015
Review By: iconoclastes
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is one of 5 that I threw on a trip to Denver last year and it is a solid course that is absolutely worth your time.
*variable holes in terms of difficulty distance and technicality
*very fun
*pro shop at beginning
*very well maintained
*concrete pads
*many garbages and benches
Cons: *it's a hike, and not an easy one
*it's busy

Other Thoughts: While still better than most courses I play (in MN) but after throwing bucksnort and phantom falls, this one falls short. Had I thrown this one first my thoughts might be more encouraging, but don't let that fool you. This is a great course that I would love to throw again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1    5/26/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: lineenil
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beaver Ranch truly is the best of the best. Went there for vacation and was absolutely blown away. Mountain disc golf at it's best.

-An amazing pro shop. Bought a disc and a tee-shirt. Very cool.
-23 holes was the perfect amount. For an out of towner, I can't lie, I was starting to be short of breath from the altitude by the end of it. Seems like the land was used optimally and for the beast of a course it was, the extra 5 holes were perfect and did not feel tacked on at all.
-Would have paid the entrance fee just for the hike and views. Beautiful.
-Specifically holes 7 and 8 were spectacular. Very steep elevation drops allow for some absolutely bombs on a calm day. I almost threw my whole bag into those fields.
-Incredible design outside of those two holes as well. I found myself having load of fun on every hole, even if I was just hitting trees.
Cons: -Holes 13 and 14 were nothing more than a straight, steep hike back up the mountain. Understandable for the terrain, but annoyingly simple uphill shots non-the-less.
-Be ready for a hike as others have said. I was ready and excited for it, so not necessarily a con for me
-Not free, but again, not really a con. Entirely worth it- heck, buy some of their merch while you're at it! Fantastic course.
Other Thoughts: Can't say much bad. I only wish I lived in Colorado so I could play it more frequently. Loved the visit!!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

This course blows...

1    9/6/2014   5/26/2015
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My mind! haha see what I did there?!

Beaver ranch has just about everything that you need to enjoy a course not just for today but for years to come. Terrain change (dirt to grass and back e.g.) and elevation change are used frequently to make shot selection and disc placement more challenging and of course who doesn't enjoy a big downhill throw?!

Finding and playing the course is easy with directional markers guiding you along the way although most tee pads are close enough and pathways are defined enough that even without the next tee signs you would probably do alright.

Variety here is abundant between throwing up or on the side of the hill through semi tight wooded lines to the more open medium bomber big downhill throws that make this course so fun. Add to that the multiple pin placements on the course and you could play here several times and have a different experience/result each time.

I love the tee signs and the awesome wooden benches which are difficult to vandalize I think or maybe it's just too hard of a walk for vandals and they destroy things at ground level, who knows.

I love that the local club wasn't afraid to go against the grain and make this course 23 holes. So many times course designers try to get an exact number (usually 9,18 or 27) of holes in the course when the land provided does not allow for this while still having great holes. I'd rather have 23 awesome holes rather then cramming in 27 and losing something.

Zipline people (zipliners?) are crazy!
Cons: Multiple basket locations are great for mixing it up and keeping the course fresh and interesting for multiple skill levels but at the same time if you're coming in from out of town/state and likely will only play the course once you might feel like you missed something if you didn't get to play them all.

There isn't a hole out here that I didn't like and I think I would hard pressed to take any out but some variety in par would be great, unfortunately this would require removing holes and I don't think that would be a wise move.

Some people hate dirt pads I guess. I love natural pads, actually carpet is my favorite. Concrete is hard on my knees and ankles and is much more permanent and hard to remove, especially on the top or side of a mountain so I'm glad they stayed with dirt.
Other Thoughts: Just like Upshawt1979 said in his review I also took this trip with my dad. We played all of the awesome courses in the area. He is in his late 50's and weighs close to 300 pounds but was able to play Beaver Ranch, Phantom Falls, Bucksnort and Bailey on consecutive days, with proper hydration and resting of course. My point is stop whining about hills and get your butt up here and play!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 17

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.