Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 291ft.   3 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Teepee at hole #5



Reviews: 152
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 15 16
 Additional Info

2-4    2/5/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: ShazzyDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Each hole has a unique mountain related obstacle like trees, hills, and rough terrain. The mountain has legitimate challenges that make you think about your best strategy. I found working on various shot options before throwing the disc was helpful. The baskets are great, and in great shape. Tee boxes where clean and marked properly. All of the other reviews paint a good picture of the glory of Conifer Park. Please try this course, you will fall in love with it.
Cons: Works your cardio, so you may be using the abundant amount of benches available. Some tees can be hard to see from the baskets, so use the map to get in the proper direction. That is mostly due to the trees and seasonal snow fall.
Other Thoughts: Don't use discs that are rollers or tend to roll easily on the steep terrain baskets. You may be chasing your disc a long ways down the mountainside. Holes 10, and 11 for example can roll several extra feet from the basket. I threw a bad disc choice and went for a hike. My discs rolled with ease and built up speed down the incline. Also I would work on learning several different throwing techniques, and this will help with the trees.
Please support this course, it is amazing.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/23/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 4th stop on my Denver tour.....where to begin..
After walking down the icy trail I made to hole #1, absolutely the nicest tee set-up I've seen to date, custom log bench, snapshot photo signage with a disc golf basket shaped bag hook, then I look up and to see the first hole, holy sh#t, after a couple practice tomahawks one stayed up there. Once I made to #5, the course seemed to flatten out a bit. This course offers up-hill, down-hill, tight tree path and up-hill angled shots, as well as a few mandos; extra nice benches, signage and tee boxes throughout. Has to be one of the beautifulest courses out there. I enjoyed it so much I didn't want to leave, but my sea legs and lungs said it was time to go after 20 holes. If you're in the Denver area, don't miss out on the super sweet course, can't wait to go back to play this course after I play Paul's Phantom Falls course in Pine...
Cons: Didn't get to play it twice...
Other Thoughts: When throwing in snow and you have a good spot on where your disc went in at, go straight to it and never blink; or you'll be digging in the snow like I was. Denver/Conifer locals are good people, to help a southern Texan out on the disc golf slopes..

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Truly One of a Kind

5+    10/25/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: lburns13
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful Course. There are both long and short holes making an opportunity for good shots. the hills make it a lower and upper body workout. There's always the chance of seeing beautiful wildlife like deer, elk, fox, and bear.
Cons: If your not use to the altitude then it will be very tiring. the course is 8300+Ft.
Other Thoughts: On beautiful sunny days this course is brilliant with color. but its at its best near the end of september when the aspens are changing and the days are a little cooler. Playing when its cold, snowing, and 25 degrees is a real experience.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Mother of all courses

5+    10/25/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: shortstack
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Mostly the fairways are tight and unforgiving making for a degree of technique which is challenging but not overwhelming. There are a few exceptions which really let you "rip it". Also big natural tee-boxes and multiple possible pin locations on "every" hole.
Cons: Even living at this elevation the first few holes get you on the climb. For the most part straight-away fairways. Only a couple narrow S fairways and few "fading" ones.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course typically takes 2.5 hours to play with 3-4 people. There's a reason it's rated as a top course, you'll have to experience it for yourself.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable.

2-4    6/12/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.5 Years
10 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -The Great Hike to the course, up the hills, and over the mountain.
-The teepads that are good without concrete (it was dry when I played, so I don't know about rain)
-Obviously the elevation change is amazing. Few courses in the world have this good of elevation.
-diificulty. Challenges all skill levels depending on pin placement.
-hole 16
-practice basket in a wife open field.
Cons: -no concrete tees
-a couple holes had no good route to play the hole (in other words, a lack of risk/reward. It's only risk in some places. On other holes, it was just fairway and rough. There was no way to make up for a horrible shot with an excellent shot.
-too many straight holes.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course I have played yet. 16 was an awesome hole, as well as 14 or so. I didn't like the stump in front of the basket on 18 (I think it was that hole). It seemed like it would stop a good shot. But Overall, the course is amazing. Do play it if you get the chance, and don't forget to take some water and food.

10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

1    10/3/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course with tight fairways that challenge even the most experienced player, especially when the Pin locations are long. The fairways are tight but they all provide a clear path to the basket if you have a good shot. All of the tee pads are marked very well and all have a bench, which are well needed after some of the inclines. Great scenery with huge trees all around and steep inclines to remind you that you are in the heart of the Rockies!!
Cons: Hole 1 was a bit hard to find but only if you don't pay close attention to detail. Not necassarily a con if you follow direction. Not a good course for beginners to learn on but there are plenty of other courses for that.
Other Thoughts: I drove 90 miles to play this course and absolutely loved it. I would definitly make the drive again and can't wait to go back. I picked up a good friend, in Denver, along the way and we both truly enjoyed this course. It provides reward for good shots and huge penalties for bad shots, so bring your A game or you might find your self at the bottom up a steep hill, looking 200 feet up at the basket, after a nice Birdie shot! This course is easily the best course I have ever played. There are 20 holes so there is added playing time as well. If you are in the area I would highly recommend stopping in and playing it.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best Colorado courses!

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 5/24/2011
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in Conifer that offers a great challenge for any player. Large, natural teepads allow for comfortable drives out of the box. Every hole has a nice sign and post with hooks to hang your disc bag. Just about every hole is hilly and requires hitting a tight gap to reach the goal. This course poses a unique challenge that requires accuracy, but this makes it very enjoyable. Multiple pin locations give the course diversity and varying difficulty. Great location for a beautiful course, since it is far from populated cities and makes you want to go camping!
Cons: I am exhausted after a round here because of the steep hills throughout the course. This really isn't much of a con, for it makes a good hiking experience as well. There is not really any place to get water on the course, so bring your own.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course that any avid disc golfer would appreciate. I just wish it was closer to me so I could play it more often! One of my favorite courses.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutley Awesome!

1    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: hevyevie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery! Gorgeous mountainous terrain like no other! Very clean also. Not too challenging at the short pin location but could very easily be with several pin locations available. Great tee signage with actual pictures of where basket is/should be.
Cons: Holy hiking batman! It's said that it's a half mile walk to the first pin...I had a hard time believing that! More like a mile solid! And after that the first 3 holes go straight up 600 ft.! Not easy for a slacker living in MI and not used to the lack of oxygen! Natural tee pads but hardly a con since they are so well cared for.
Other Thoughts: I would love to have the opportunity to come back and play this fabulous course again in the future! Other than getting mixed up and not being able to find hole 1 for the first hour there it was a GREAT experience and would do it again ANY DAY! Expect a solid hiking session and plan accordingly!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing!

2-4    9/28/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: SkiBum
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Almost everything.
-Great layout
-Awesome baskets
-Signs, and bag holders
-Benches at most T boxes
Cons: Concrete T pads could be nice other than that its hard to think of ways to improve this course
Other Thoughts: Only wish this course was closer to home.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I don't deserve to live so close to this place!

1    9/17/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: gravitysesh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let's see:
- multiple pin placements on each hole and the guys who run the course are very active with changing pin placements.
-not as crowded as other popular front range courses.
- best pins/baskets I have ever seen! I think they are custom.
- signature hole 17 is epic!
- excellent mix of elevation, distance, and obstacles.
- great facilities and community.
- nice tee boxes with pictures and distances posted. They've done a lot to dig out the boxes, but natural material erodes and makes for some uneven and bumpy pads.
Cons: Some people complain about the half mile walk in. If you're that big of a slacker, Tiger Woods Golf on the Nintendo Wii has a disc golf mode. (It is actually kinda fun, but I will deny ever saying that if asked)

If they somehow improved the actual pad surface, this would be a 5 for sure! Don't get me wrong- they are actually pretty nice pads for natural, but that was from the sweat of those who volunteered to dig.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Colorado. I have played almost all public courses in the front range and all the lift-accessed courses I can think of. I hear some private courses come close, but I can't imagine what a better one looks like!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 15 16

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.