Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #16 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 175
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17 18
Must Play!!

5+    8/12/2016   10/9/2016
Review By: Sonofaveach
Played: 100  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great shot variety throughout 23 holes. You will need every shot in your bag. Plenty of tight holes and open fairways, and everything in between.

The scenery is stunning: you will rarely see anything manmade other than a zipline course and a couple houses nestled high in the alpine mountains.

Very friendly staff with a decent pro shop. I've had good luck having my plastic returned to the shop as well. There is much room for error on some of these VERY steep and slanted fairways!!

Multiple pin placement make for tons of variety throughout the course. You will never play the same course twice!!

The hike is great by itself, disc golf just improves the experience!! I took my woman out there the last time I had the pleasure of being in the Denver area and she absolutely loved it.

They have built and extended a sister course that primarily serves as a putter/midrange experience. It's a great way to prepare yourself for 23 holes of intense hiking!
Cons: This course is located on the east side of the Rocky Mountain range. It rains on and off almost constantly, which may increase the chance of slipping while traversing the terrain.

The price to play the course is constantly rising, but it's worth it!

Not much to add here.... This course leaves you wanting to come back again and again.

Other Thoughts: I first played this course in 2012, during which they were making changes and adding holes to both courses.

What they've done with the course since the first time I played is remarkable. They continue to impress every month or year I get to make it out, as I am from the KC area. Throughout the 93 courses in 13 states that I've had the pleasure of playing, this one takes the cake! If you are in the area, make the drive. You will NOT be disappointed.

If you have the time, make a day out of it and head down CO 285 and check out Bailey DGC for a similar, albeit less maintained, experience.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Alright Course When I went

1    9/6/2016   10/5/2016
Review By: TSmith
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Amazing downhill shots that make the up hill worth it.
Nice people running the shop.
Tough Course that will challenge all levels, a lot of risk reward shots.
Some nice scenery.
You can let loose with some long shots down hill.




Cons: A lot of loose gravel that can effect shots, normal for area.

The lines on all holes were not well defined. One hole in particular you could not get to the hole unless you pinball off of 5 birch trees, truly a waste of a nice hole.

Went there shortly after a tourney and the pins were not in their normal position, signage wasn't right on all holes.

First few holes are forgettable



Other Thoughts: Was first time in that terrain and elevation, definitely had an effect on the round.

A violent wind storm came in and the wind was something to fight against all day.

Would play again when I knew tourney pins were still in the ground.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nice

1    9/14/2016   9/14/2016
Review By: Mr72datsun
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - awesome property - nice fresh country air.
- bathrooms at the start and out on course
- pro shop with discs and snacks
- good signage
- I was very clear on where to throw on every single hole without needing to walk up the hole to see the basket.
- super easy navigation
- great variety of holes
- I liked the baskets.
- the little short course at the start is a very nice touch.
- low traffic
- good parking

Cons: - I can't throw very far uphill.
- in a perfect world, I'd like to have the tee pads longer on a few of the holes.
- overall no real complaints
Other Thoughts: Kudos to designers.
I really want to come back here on a disc golf vacation with some buddies. Great destination course. Along with others in the area.



3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great P2P Mountain Course

1    8/23/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: markmcc
Played: 166  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 4.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This well-maintained 23-hole course is built on a perfect plot of land for DG. Big hillsides covered with large pines and aspen, interspersed with openings and with a large grassy meadow at the base of the hill.

Distances from 150' - 500'+, with very tight wooded holes, moderately wooded holes, and just a couple that are wide open. Many of the holes offer different lines so RH/LH and BH/FH players will have choices.

Virtually all of the holes had uphill, downhill, or sidehill fairways. Hole 13 was such a steep uphill drive that landing without rolling seemed almost impossible. Many of the baskets are on steep enough ground that roll-away potential presents huge risk/reward on longish putts.

Most holes had two or three pin positions, and a couple had four. While some of the alt. positions moved the basket only left or right, most changed the hole length significantly. Hole 8 drove across a grassy valley to a basket placed just up the steep hill on the other side (Position B). The C and D positions place the basket father and farther up the opposite hillside to lofty heights that looked extremely challenging.

A couple of holes had amateur tee pads to eliminate a tight mando (Hole 17) or take a creek out of play (Hole 12).

Ample concrete teepads with good texture. Tee signs included a photo of the hole with each basket location shown, along with an aerial map view. There was a marker showing which position the basket was in. For a travelling disc golfer this was an easy course to play and navigate. Benches at every tee were welcome after some of the steep uphill walks.

The course starts at the check-in trailer where you pay your $10. They have a good selection of new and used discs, along with T-shirts, drinks, and food. The course attendant was friendly and helpful.

Some previous reviews mention a long walk out to Hole 1 and another long walk back at the finish. The current 23 hole layout begins and ends right behind the "pro shop", so course flow is good. Navigation was a snap as every tee sign indicates the direction to the next hole, and there are plenty of "next hole" arrows out on the course.
Cons: Towards the end of my round I started to feel a bit of repetition. I would approach a tee pad and wonder if I'd already played the hole. I guess that with 23 holes there is bound to be some similarity.

There are a few areas where adjacent fairways and baskets make things a little tight. With multiple groups playing you need to be aware of other players.

Plenty of steep bare ground around some of the baskets and on a few of the trails. Wear boots and watch your footing.
Other Thoughts: It is great to see a small Colorado community embrace Pay-to-Play disc golf with this excellent course. Hopefully this P2P model will show other communities that disc golf is a cost-effective activity.

There is a 20 hole putter course in the entrance area which is a great warm-up and plenty of fun.

There are a couple of porta-potties at the parking lot, and a couple of more out on the course. Nice to have those facilities available as this course takes 2+ hours to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course! A must play!

1    7/17/2016   7/20/2016
Review By: Javy818
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I drove from Denver to Conifer. The road was beautiful! Amazing mountain views and Red Rocks Amphitheater is along the way which is another destination I have always wanted to visit.

$10 to play. The lady in the stand was super nice and makes some GREAT trail mix. Plus she invites you to "eat with us later!".

I met up with some locals who let me tag along with them. Very important cause the course is very long and I had no idea where to go most of the time.

Every Tee pad has brooms, dog hooks and clear signs of where you are shooting.

Cons: Not enough trash cans.

Altitude sickness can sink in if you aren't used to it. Take in the views and hydrate!

Stable drivers are useless here.

Other Thoughts: Very clean course! The Bloom tournament was the day before and I didn't see any trash or graffiti on the course.

Only a 45 minute drive from Downtown Denver and it's a scenic drive.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    6/18/2016   7/6/2016
Review By: H.E. Pennypacker
Played: 68  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great views, challenging mix of technical and open shots. Be prepared for a great workout as well. Great pro shop with lots of discs and refreshments for sale.
Cons: Can get a little crowded on the weekends, but that's to be expected for such a great course relatively close to Denver.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    11/7/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: iahebert
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing the course, and it was a blast. There was about an inch or two of snow throughout the course, but it didn't get in the way of playing. The teepads are *very* well kept, with very clear signage, bag hooks, and a broom at each one. The course offered several challenging and fun holes, not to mention some great views. The pro-shop at the beginning of the course has a solid selection of gear, and the staff is very helpful. Will ABSOLUTELY play again.
Cons: None to think of.
Other Thoughts: If you're hesitant to pay to play. Don't be. Your course fees go into supporting one of the best courses I've personally ever played. Great for novice and advanced players.

There is a lot (a LOT) of elevation change at an already high up course. If you're not used to the altitude (over 8k feet), bring lots of water and take it easy.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

great local course

5+    9/8/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: reverendbacon
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: amazing views, great terrain, very challenging, great variation of skill needed for low score. great beginners course as well, lots of open fairways.
Cons: no bacon is available on the course, anywhere.... (unless i bring my own, then its not a con)

course pictures on here need to be updated. Hole 1 is not hole 1 as described in the pics, that is actually hole 13, if I recall correctly.
Other Thoughts: will play this course for many years to come

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

complete package

1    9/13/2015   9/13/2015
Review By: blazerico
Played: 234  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: everything about beaver is amazing, from the beautiful views to the technical golf. I was totally surprised and very happy to see a food truck on sight when I arrived. I think they plan on having alternating trucks in the future. There are a couple of long bomber shots, but most of them are reasonable and birdie-able. the pro shop had all the essentials, discs, food, swag, water. port-o-john available.
Cons: can't think of any
Other Thoughts: $8 is well spent on this experience. colorado is truly a destination for disc golf.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

a must play for all discers. simply amazing

1    9/4/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 71  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -gorgeous mountain views in the rockies
-every tee has a map with all pin locations easily marked and identified. Each post is marked with the current location by a bolt in the post next to the appropriate pin. Elevation of tees and each basket is listed. Brooms, benches, baghooks at every teebox.
-good mix of open bombers and tight line tee shots
-amazing elevation changes.
-putting course is a fun warm up. Never been to a course with a putting course. Offers different "tee shots" to each practice basket.
-great exercise
-several ace runs. Great risk/reward going at most baskets because of severe roll away potential
-23 holes is the perfect number. After 18 I wasnt ready to be done.
Cons: -i honestly sat here trying to think of a negative for several minutes and cant. I guess its not a good beginner course could be the only possibility of a con
Other Thoughts: Cost was $8 for a day pass, well worth price of admission. Lots of time and work go into this course.

I suggest taking your time and enjoying the scenery. This is a beautiful mountain course that is worth a lengthy drive to play

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17 18

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.