Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #10
3 / 273ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 154
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16
Comparison to Bailey

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Visiting from Illinois we had a chance to play Beaver Ranch and Bailey this week.
Here are some hints if you can only choose one to play.

First off they are both great courses. Two of the best I have ever played. In terms of the actual courses they are both a ton of fun and well designed and laid out. Bailey has more consistently longer holes, however, so much greater need to be able to drive longer distances. This was a bit frustrating for my wife who found herself skipping more holes just because they were so long. Both courses can be strenous with lots of uphill and downhill. You will find the need for lots of different types of shots and discs at both courses. Though it is possible to lose a disc, for the most part neither is so overgrown that even in errant disc cannot be found with a little searching. Both had holes that required accuracy but it was alway clear that there was a line to take to the whole (unlike some courses where you sometimes feel your only option is throw and pray it can find a way through). Both course are very worth the $5 donation and it is obvious those donations are going back into the courses to continue to make improvements. Both courses are in beuatiful locations with great scenery.

With that said, at this point Beaver Ranch would probably be the best choice. Beaver Creek has Concrete Tee pads (and even brooms if they need to be wiped off). It has benches at the start of the wholes. It has a disk shop at the beginning and relaxing chairs there to rest after you get through (you will need it especailly if you plan for a second go around). It has water to wash your hands. It has a little putting course. At this point Bailey has no one to welcome you, just a box for donations and a couple chairs out in the open. It has dirt tee pads. They are hoping to bring these improvements to the course in the coming year, however. The lack of these things did not decrease the fun or challange of the course for me (but if it is after a large rain the tee pads might not be so easy to use).
Cons: In terms of Beaver Ranch I cannot think of any except perhaps the following (though some will see this as just another opportunity to strategize to make sure shot lands short and flat. At both courses there are a few holes where even a "great shot" can turn out horrible after it roles a mile down the hill, but this is a much great danger at Beaver Ranch.
Other Thoughts: Another recommendation. If you are not as in shape make sure to get a map at the beginning of each course. Each course has an extreme downhill shot followed by a few holes where you have to climb all the way back up. If you refer to your map, however, these holes can be bypassed which will help save legs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course I've played

1    11/30/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: JustinJStew
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Hooks for you bags on every hole, picture of where the pins are located, brooms for most of the tee pads.
Cons: Closely located zip line causes you to hear some screams, which may be mistaken for possible hole in ones.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing this course, paid $5 and was allowed to play multiple times in the same day. Great scenery, with awesome course design . Excited to play this course again when the snow is gone.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely gorgeous

1    11/10/2013   11/25/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has been changed for the better; hole 1 is no longer a hike it starts off right behind the trailer. The 5$ fee is well worth it; you get what you pay for. Concrete tee pads are excellent and baskets are well maintained. Great variety of shots, you will use every disc in your bag. Very challenging course even to veterans. Tee pads and baskets are marked well and signage is very present. Quality baskets that catch pretty well; I had a 200' bounce out shot on hole three. Absolutely love this course. They have also set up a precision putting game right in the front of the course; fun little game to get you in shape for the course. Lots of hiking, exercise and beautiful views, would play here again whenever I get a chance.
Cons: This course has very little flaws, even the drive out there from denver is beautiful. The only con I can really think of is that there could be a lot traffic in the peak seasons; please watch out for other players in fairway. Some shots require you to traverse the steep hillside; don't shoot down the hill your disc will roll down.
Other Thoughts: This course is scenic and filled with wildlife; saw a bunch of deer when we played. Late in the season there were less people on the course but still had to wait at a few tee pads for other players to clear out. The fee is well worth it and supports the course, please don't sneak onto the course. Love this course, wish I lived in Denver so I could play here all the time. Please support this course, phantom falls, magic meadows, bucksnort as they are all the same group of guys trying to push the sport of DG. Enjoy!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Course

5+    11/9/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: Dan13LP
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2014
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily one of the best courses I've ever played. If I lived closer, I'd play this course everyday. So, where do I begin!?
-Concrete tee pads on every hole, with great signage showing all possible pin locations and their distances. The signs have been updated with the hole new numbers for the new course layout (as of September 2013).
-There are bag hooks on every hole as well if you're so inclined to use them. There are also brooms on a lot of holes as well to clear off any loose debris on the tee pad.
-Lots of trash cans and recycling cans scattered throughout the course, which is huge, because this course is always super clean. People seem to respect it, and it doesn't hurt to have trash and recycling all over to discourage people from littering.
-There's a ton of logs/trees/brush, whatever you want to call it scattered on a lot of the steeper hills on this course, which prevents MOST long rolls down these hills. It can still happen, but most discs will get caught up in these natural barriers.
-All of the baskets are in great condition, and are moved frequently to keep the course fresh. The different locations also add a great deal of variety to the course as well. When they are in the long positions, the course plays MUCH harder and will offer up a challenge even to the most experienced player.
-The overall course design is fantastic. If really offers up a huge variety of shots that will force you to throw just about everything in your bag. There are some tight holes threw the woods, uphill and downhill shots, a few huge bombers (old 16 and 17), and everything else in between!
-There are only a few mandos on this course, but just like the signage on all of the holes, they are marked well, and easy to spot.
-The scenery in this location is absolutely amazing as well. Sitting right aruond 8,200 ft, there are great mountain views, beautiful patches of aspens, lots of pines, and the occasional deer here and there (the last several times I've been out, I've seen quite a few deer actually).
-There is now a putting course located near the "pro-shop" before you get the first tee. It's a good way to warm up for the round. You throw three discs on each hole, from three different lengths, 1 long, 1 medium, and 1 short. There are rules on how to score posted at the first hole.
-On the weekends there is a pro-shop that is open for business. They have just about anything you would need for your round: snacks, drinks, t-shirts, discs, etc...
-There's also a pretty cool lounge area around the pro-shop and putting course that has a bunch of comfy chairs and couches that are all covered by a pop-up tent. A great place to relax for a bit after a long round, or a good place to hang out if you're waiting on people to meet up with.
Cons: None. And I'm serious. This course is amazing!
Other Thoughts: The people who manage this course have really put a lot of TLC into it over the last year or so, and it has paid off. They took an already amazing course, and made it better!! I didn't think that was possible, but with the addition of concrete pads on each hole, and the introduction of the new holes (#1 and #2), this course is absolutely perfect. Beaver Ranch is $5 to play, and it's MORE than worth it. Every dime goes back into supporting the course. Yearly memberships are also available if you ask someone at the pro-shop or the main lodge, they should be able to help you out. Whether you live in Colorado, or are just out here visiting, this is an absolute MUST PLAY course for any disc golfer.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Top Notch

5+    8/8/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: blazo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Amazing Epic course. Love it. Watch the videos of it on youtube, you'll see...
Cons: None. If you can find cons on this course you are looking too hard for em.
Other Thoughts: A must-play before death course

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome mountain course

2-4    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, I loved the mountain scenery on this course. The view from the tee at hole 7 (previously 16) is awesome, with the next hole being an awesome BIG downhill shot. A couple of the holes play into some nice aspen stands. Tons of variety here in hole shape (left, right, up, down, long, and short), requiring you to be able to move the disc in every direction to score well here. Nice concrete tee pads on every hole with some of the best signs I have seen. Benches and trashcans at most tees, as well as brooms for sweeping off the tees. Multiple basket locations on almost every hole. There is a small river that comes into play on one of the holes, and makes for a fun change of pace from this mountain course. The new first hole is right next to a proshop in a trailer that has a selection of discs as well as drinks and snacks, and this is also where you pay the $5 daily fee to play the course. Between the parking and proshop is a new practice green area with multiple baskets (at least 4 or 5 in the ground as of 9/14/13 and two partially assembled baskets nearby that appeared close to going in to the ground as well).
Cons: None. The course has seen a lot of hard work lately to improve on its most common complaints, and those who did the hard work deserve credit. The "long" walk to the first tee is gone, and the tees are all concrete.
Other Thoughts: For those that have played here, the two new holes are #1 and #2, which leads in to the old course layout at old hole 12 as the new hole 3, and the course plays in its previous order from that point (there are currently stickers over all the hole numbers on tee signs to indicate the correct tee for the new layout - but baskets as of 9/14/13 are still numbered for the old layout). This course does get crowded on weekends, so prepare for a longer round. There is also potential for roll-aways here, and when they roll away, they can go a LONG way. Do not stop watching your disc when it hits the ground - keep an eye on it until it is at rest. I've had one shot (old hole 10, new hole 22) that has a blind landing area with a severe downslope just beyond the basket. I would have lost a disc here had a group on the next tee not told me that my disc had rolled all the way to the bottom of the hill, which is probably at least a hundred feet of elevation. They were nice enough to fetch my disc for me, which I would have never found without their help. This course is a serious workout with about 2.5 miles of walking and 800 feet in elevation gain (according to my GPS). If you are not a local, this course is at over 8000 feet, meaning you could be a little short of breath due to the elevation. Be careful on some of the sideslopes, as the loose scree can be slick, so watch your footing. This course is very well designed, and if you take your time, and don't let yourself get too worn out, the fun factor is hard to beat.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Rocky Mountain Disc

1    8/31/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: Wook1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 21 strenuous yet rewarding and very satisfying holes of disc golf. Conifer is nestled up beyond the foothills and uses the very drastic elevation changes on almost every hole. If you drink 2 bottles of water regularly @ lower elevation bring an extra for conifer. This course can take it out of you if are not careful. I only had the one chance to play here so I can't comment much on development and improvement but while there concrete tees were in the process of being installed, I also heard they were planning on adding a hole or two prior to the 21 that I played, on the dirt access road to the course. Most holes have multiple pin positions, some even have more than one pin set on a hole so you can choose what layout you want to play.

From the start it's apparent this was going to be an intense round, the first two holes are straight up a hill/mountain. I'd recommend using the tomahawk thumb to get it up into the pocket without rolling back down. After the initial climb the course levels out and traverses a system of short ridges & valleys. On hole 5 I believe there is a really cool tepee/lean to made out of fallen branches and logs. This is where things open up a bit for the first time with a fun down-hill shot. After the next few holes play across a pretty steep slope with the downhill roll being a big factor in approach shots. 11-13 were fun but I definitely had and bad roll while flicking and had my beast sail down the mountain about 450+ ft (really wish I had my phone & udisc to get an exact measurement) climbed back up the mountain & had a quick rest also nice meeting the crew that was setting the new tees. Dedication right there, the tee for 11( I think) was being laid on a steep slope, prob 850 ft up the hill. 17 was one of my favorite holes, signage said there was 5 pin positions all together. Its a long "top of the world" shot the longer pin positions then go back up a steep incline. Compared to the earlier holes the last few are more on the mellow side especially 21 which is a fun "ace" hole over a small creek. I always like holes like this to end the round on a positive note

Didn't have enough time but they have some sick zip lines on the property not sure of price or availability but if I'd know beforehand I would have looked more into it/allotted some extra time
Cons: This is not a con but felt a note of caution is in order here. The rocky mountains are amazing natural features and at this course are used to their full extent. Come prepared, water is the #1 factor in this. I can't remember seeing a well pump head or fountain. If elevation changes and high altitude is a problem for you, TAKE IT SLOW & wear proper footwear rolling an ankle up there would not be fun. God forbid anything bad happens while out but accidents do occure and getting off the top of the mountain could be tricky.
Other Thoughts: When I played there was a long walk into the course (close to half mile) I wished there were holes on this walk and since then I guess they have installed a basket or two on the way out & supposedly made the parking area closer or in a different location

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Better than before.

1    9/5/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: JVonD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2014
1 Helpful / 33 Not
Pros: Close to camp grounds. Nice camp grounds. Nice benches. They moved the parking lot to a much nicer spot and updated a couple baskets. Much nicer than before and my new rating reflects that.
Cons: Coarse design is decent. Lots of hiking on sloping hill sides. No water shots besides a small trench on one basket. There's a few tee boxes to close to other fairways. The custom baskets are just ok.
Other Thoughts: This is a revised review since improvments were made. 3 is a good rating when comparing to all the coarses I've played, not just Colorado Mountain Coarses.

1 of 34 people found this review helpful.

nice

1    8/12/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: F. Howl
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2014
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: ˇNice mix of short and long holes
ˇNearly every hole has a defined line
ˇNo pedestrians
ˇMagical woodland setting.
Cons: ˇ The first few are a little too short, even with the steep elevated pins. If you smack a tree on the way up, an easy chip will give anyone a three.
ˇSome muddy uneven pads. In fact half were puddles when I played.
ˇThey need to put a hole or two on the walk up to the first hole. There's usually guy in the lot who let's you know there is a bit of a walk to get to the first hole.
Other Thoughts: Heard this course gets crowded. Went on a day it was supposed to rain and didn't, and it wasn't bad. If I lived in the area I'd play here quite a bit, not for the course layout, but for the beautiful setting. Love the holes out in the meadow area.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Different Type of Review

1    7/15/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Setting - Conifer, CO is an absolutely beautiful area. The terrain is exceptional for disc golf. Areas underneath trees are really cleared out well so lost discs will not be a major issue. The air is thin and crisp. It smells like pine trees. It's about as nice of a setting as there is for disc golf.

Design - It's simply a great design. There's no way to describe it better. Elevation is used well. Right, left, long, short ... it's all there.

Tee Signs and Navigation - Very easy to get through this course, even for a first-timer.
Cons: The major cons have already been stated in detail by others.

1) Some shaky natural tee pads still in use.
2) Extremely long walk to #1 and back to parking lot from #20.
Other Thoughts: I didn't put as much effort as I usually do into the pros and cons because I wanted to try something different in this section. Once a course has SO many reviews, it is boring to restate a lot of information. Having said that, I've had the privilege of playing some of the highest-ranked courses on this site, so I'll give you my opinion on how BR stacks up against them. Some will hate this method, but others may appreciate the additional information.

Flyboy: BR is not quite as "epic" as Flyboy. Having Kelly at Flyboy to escort you around is great. BR also really doesn't incorporate water hazards into the design.

Flip City: Flip City is one of my all-time favorite courses. If BR had concrete tees on every hole, it would be better than Flip. Again, just my opinion.

Highbridge Courses: BR compares the most to Granite Ridge in my opinion. They are very similar in terms of length and design. BR probably has slightly more elevation used in the design. Granite Ridge is the only 5.0 in my book at the Highbridge complex. With concrete tees, BR would be right beside Granite Ridge. Blueberry and Gold are great courses, but BR is better in my opinion due to maintenance, tee signs and other navigational issues.

Blue Ribbon Pines: BR is what Blue Ribbon Pines should be ... an amazing 20 hole course. Blue Ribbon Pines has a number of filler holes to go along with about 18 great holes. BR has trimmed the fat. There are no filler holes here. Tee signs are also much more informative.

Phantom Falls and Magic Meadows: Both are great courses, but I think BR is superior based on the amount of land available for use. BR is on a large plot of land and uses it very well. All of these courses should be played when in Colorado though.

In essence, Beaver Ranch is one of the Top 10 courses I've played...and I've played a few now. I don't throw around the famed "5.0" very often, but if Beaver Ranch had 20 concrete tee pads and something could be done to limit the need for a long hike to and from the course, this course would qualify as "Best of the Best". It's that good.

As far as traditional "Other Thoughts" for the review, the first 3 holes play significantly uphill. They will wear you out. After that point, the hike becomes much more bearable. For those not used to the elevation, take your time and bring a lot of water. Water will neutralize the effects of the thin air, so if you usually drink 2 nalgene bottles of water per round, pack a third.

I have heard the course can be crowded at times, but we played on a Monday evening and it was really pretty empty.

There is an extra hole, not sure if it's always used for tourneys or whatnot, but it plays over the small creek into an open field and functions as a closing hole. It's really easy and may make you feel better if you've had a tough round. Otherwise close with #20 which is a pretty awesome finishing hole...steep downhill through a tunnel and into a grove of trees. Very cool.

Also, for out-of-town disc golfers, pack a pair of long sleeves or light jacket if playing in the early evening. Even though you're only about 45 minutes outside of Denver, the temperature drop can be upwards of 20 degrees. I know we went in the middle of July and temps in the mountains were in the 50s. I'm sure the locals are used to the weather, but if you're traveling from afar, just be aware.

Beaver Ranch is an awesome course. It is definitely worth the trip to play, and not to be missed if you're in the Denver area.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center