Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #18
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 173
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17 18
Nice

1    9/14/2016   9/14/2016
Review By: Mr72datsun
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - awesome property - nice fresh country air.
- bathrooms at the start and out on course
- pro shop with discs and snacks
- good signage
- I was very clear on where to throw on every single hole without needing to walk up the hole to see the basket.
- super easy navigation
- great variety of holes
- I liked the baskets.
- the little short course at the start is a very nice touch.
- low traffic
- good parking

Cons: - I can't throw very far uphill.
- in a perfect world, I'd like to have the tee pads longer on a few of the holes.
- overall no real complaints
Other Thoughts: Kudos to designers.
I really want to come back here on a disc golf vacation with some buddies. Great destination course. Along with others in the area.



3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great P2P Mountain Course

1    8/23/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: markmcc
Played: 164  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 4.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This well-maintained 23-hole course is built on a perfect plot of land for DG. Big hillsides covered with large pines and aspen, interspersed with openings and with a large grassy meadow at the base of the hill.

Distances from 150' - 500'+, with very tight wooded holes, moderately wooded holes, and just a couple that are wide open. Many of the holes offer different lines so RH/LH and BH/FH players will have choices.

Virtually all of the holes had uphill, downhill, or sidehill fairways. Hole 13 was such a steep uphill drive that landing without rolling seemed almost impossible. Many of the baskets are on steep enough ground that roll-away potential presents huge risk/reward on longish putts.

Most holes had two or three pin positions, and a couple had four. While some of the alt. positions moved the basket only left or right, most changed the hole length significantly. Hole 8 drove across a grassy valley to a basket placed just up the steep hill on the other side (Position B). The C and D positions place the basket father and farther up the opposite hillside to lofty heights that looked extremely challenging.

A couple of holes had amateur tee pads to eliminate a tight mando (Hole 17) or take a creek out of play (Hole 12).

Ample concrete teepads with good texture. Tee signs included a photo of the hole with each basket location shown, along with an aerial map view. There was a marker showing which position the basket was in. For a travelling disc golfer this was an easy course to play and navigate. Benches at every tee were welcome after some of the steep uphill walks.

The course starts at the check-in trailer where you pay your $10. They have a good selection of new and used discs, along with T-shirts, drinks, and food. The course attendant was friendly and helpful.

Some previous reviews mention a long walk out to Hole 1 and another long walk back at the finish. The current 23 hole layout begins and ends right behind the "pro shop", so course flow is good. Navigation was a snap as every tee sign indicates the direction to the next hole, and there are plenty of "next hole" arrows out on the course.
Cons: Towards the end of my round I started to feel a bit of repetition. I would approach a tee pad and wonder if I'd already played the hole. I guess that with 23 holes there is bound to be some similarity.

There are a few areas where adjacent fairways and baskets make things a little tight. With multiple groups playing you need to be aware of other players.

Plenty of steep bare ground around some of the baskets and on a few of the trails. Wear boots and watch your footing.
Other Thoughts: It is great to see a small Colorado community embrace Pay-to-Play disc golf with this excellent course. Hopefully this P2P model will show other communities that disc golf is a cost-effective activity.

There is a 20 hole putter course in the entrance area which is a great warm-up and plenty of fun.

There are a couple of porta-potties at the parking lot, and a couple of more out on the course. Nice to have those facilities available as this course takes 2+ hours to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course! A must play!

1    7/17/2016   7/20/2016
Review By: Javy818
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I drove from Denver to Conifer. The road was beautiful! Amazing mountain views and Red Rocks Amphitheater is along the way which is another destination I have always wanted to visit.

$10 to play. The lady in the stand was super nice and makes some GREAT trail mix. Plus she invites you to "eat with us later!".

I met up with some locals who let me tag along with them. Very important cause the course is very long and I had no idea where to go most of the time.

Every Tee pad has brooms, dog hooks and clear signs of where you are shooting.

Cons: Not enough trash cans.

Altitude sickness can sink in if you aren't used to it. Take in the views and hydrate!

Stable drivers are useless here.

Other Thoughts: Very clean course! The Bloom tournament was the day before and I didn't see any trash or graffiti on the course.

Only a 45 minute drive from Downtown Denver and it's a scenic drive.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    6/18/2016   7/6/2016
Review By: H.E. Pennypacker
Played: 62  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great views, challenging mix of technical and open shots. Be prepared for a great workout as well. Great pro shop with lots of discs and refreshments for sale.
Cons: Can get a little crowded on the weekends, but that's to be expected for such a great course relatively close to Denver.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    11/7/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: iahebert
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing the course, and it was a blast. There was about an inch or two of snow throughout the course, but it didn't get in the way of playing. The teepads are *very* well kept, with very clear signage, bag hooks, and a broom at each one. The course offered several challenging and fun holes, not to mention some great views. The pro-shop at the beginning of the course has a solid selection of gear, and the staff is very helpful. Will ABSOLUTELY play again.
Cons: None to think of.
Other Thoughts: If you're hesitant to pay to play. Don't be. Your course fees go into supporting one of the best courses I've personally ever played. Great for novice and advanced players.

There is a lot (a LOT) of elevation change at an already high up course. If you're not used to the altitude (over 8k feet), bring lots of water and take it easy.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

great local course

5+    9/8/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: reverendbacon
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: amazing views, great terrain, very challenging, great variation of skill needed for low score. great beginners course as well, lots of open fairways.
Cons: no bacon is available on the course, anywhere.... (unless i bring my own, then its not a con)

course pictures on here need to be updated. Hole 1 is not hole 1 as described in the pics, that is actually hole 13, if I recall correctly.
Other Thoughts: will play this course for many years to come

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

complete package

1    9/13/2015   9/13/2015
Review By: blazerico
Played: 233  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: everything about beaver is amazing, from the beautiful views to the technical golf. I was totally surprised and very happy to see a food truck on sight when I arrived. I think they plan on having alternating trucks in the future. There are a couple of long bomber shots, but most of them are reasonable and birdie-able. the pro shop had all the essentials, discs, food, swag, water. port-o-john available.
Cons: can't think of any
Other Thoughts: $8 is well spent on this experience. colorado is truly a destination for disc golf.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

a must play for all discers. simply amazing

1    9/4/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 61  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -gorgeous mountain views in the rockies
-every tee has a map with all pin locations easily marked and identified. Each post is marked with the current location by a bolt in the post next to the appropriate pin. Elevation of tees and each basket is listed. Brooms, benches, baghooks at every teebox.
-good mix of open bombers and tight line tee shots
-amazing elevation changes.
-putting course is a fun warm up. Never been to a course with a putting course. Offers different "tee shots" to each practice basket.
-great exercise
-several ace runs. Great risk/reward going at most baskets because of severe roll away potential
-23 holes is the perfect number. After 18 I wasnt ready to be done.
Cons: -i honestly sat here trying to think of a negative for several minutes and cant. I guess its not a good beginner course could be the only possibility of a con
Other Thoughts: Cost was $8 for a day pass, well worth price of admission. Lots of time and work go into this course.

I suggest taking your time and enjoying the scenery. This is a beautiful mountain course that is worth a lengthy drive to play

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

World Class

5+    8/23/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: Lightbringer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent views and environment in the mountains of Colorado.

Wide variety of shots from fairly open fairways, to steep uphills and downhills, to tightly wooded and technical shots.

Some truly memorable holes, including the famous bomb run on hole #17.

As with other mountain courses, it is difficult to lose a disc on most holes due to the lack of ground vegetation.

23 great holes.

Some of the best tees, markers and signage in Colorado.

During the summer and fall there is plenty of shade, and the elevation will make for a much cooler day than one spent in the city. The fall is especially nice; the convergence of comfortable weather and the changing colors of the aspen leaves make it one of the best times to visit the mountains.

The pro shop has every disc I want. KC Pro Glow Flat-Top Rocs. Star Teebirds and Valkyries. Judges. Wizards. These guys have great taste and you will see some excellent and possibly hard to find discs here. They are also very friendly and passionate about disc golf.

If you are looking for a longer course with a moderate hike involved, this is a great option. The middle few holes are pretty much straight uphill. You will get some decent exercise at this course.

The course is not hard to find or access and is only a short drive from Denver. There are a lot of excellent courses in the mountains, but some of them are much harder to get to.
Cons: At points you will be quite a hike away from any type of amenities like restrooms. If you're a male this isn't such a big deal but I can see being female and having to pee around the last half of the course being a pain. Make sure you are prepared with plenty if water.

Sometimes the course can be pretty crowded. It is very well known and popular. During the last time I played there, there was a traffic jam of about 7 groups by the time we got to the final hole. This problem is compounded by people who are unprepared for the physical nature of the course or people who play in large groups, especially with a bunch of children. Fortunately this isn't a problem as long as you have time to wait, because you still get to sit on the benches and just hang out in a beautiful area.

Due to the fact that the course is built all over a large hill, there is an EXCELLENT chance of being hit by stray noob hyzers. We were playing on one hole that cut across the slope, with the next hole directly above it playing in the opposite direction. Someone in the group ahead of us made a throw that faded hard to the left and sailed directly downhill and into my shin. Be very mindful of who is ahead and downhill of you.

Due to the physically demanding nature and difficulty of the course, it may not be the best course for families or brand new players. It does not instill confidence in new players to hit tree after tree all day. That being said, it is a great place to improve for anyone willing to stick with it.

Other Thoughts: Simply put, this is one of the best courses in Colorado. If you have only one opportunity to play a Colorado course you should give this one very serious consideration. It is representative of everything that mountain courses have to offer. Just make sure you are prepared with some good shoes, plenty of water and other refreshments, and all the tricks in your bag.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great

1    7/26/2015   7/30/2015
Review By: ABosco26
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, well maintained. The views are unbelievable. Very easy to find the holes and tee boxes.

There is a variety of challenges, whether its distance, trees, water, change in elevation. This course does a great job of mixing it up and keeping it challenging.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Play this course. Well worth the $8 a day.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17 18

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.