Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 291ft.   3 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Teepee at hole #5



Reviews: 148
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
 Conifer Park

1    3/12/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: ghova
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in the mountains of Colorado. This course just feels right, there is a little bit of everything. The first hole warns you right away that it means business with a pin that is up a steep hill through a narrow fairway. It is not an extremely long course, but it is very fair. You will usually have a decent shot unless you go way off line into the woods. Overall it is a wonderful design using elevation, trees, and slopes to make all the holes uniquely challenging.
Cons: The course itself does not have any cons, and is by far the best i have ever played. There is a long walk to the first hole from the parking lot, but it goes by quickly due to excitement. There are no permanent signs yet, but i am sure that with enough donations there will be soon, and what they have now is perfectly adequate to know where to go and where to throw. Also the tee boxes were a little messy, this is probably due to it being so early in the season and they will probably dry up. I considered rating this a 4.5 until they put in concrete tee pads but on second thought that might take away from the overall charm of the course.
Other Thoughts: This course also has some of the coolest baskets i have ever played on. The top rim is angled in so occassionally a putt that would miss on a normal basket will find its way in. Saved me a stroke during the round. I had a smile on my face the whole round except when i was out of breath from the hikes this course takes you on. Be ready for a workout and one of the best disc golf experiences of your life. I cant wait to go play conifer park again.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: Fliker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2009
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Awesome mountain course, technical yet open and fun. You have watch the roll on the side on the slopes! Wind can be a factor on some holes where its open.
Cons: The walk to the 1st pin sucks, but the course is worth it.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for recreational players too

5+    2/20/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the nice thing about this course for recreational players is that you don't have to throw 600 feet to score. it forces you to work on control and approach strategy. many choices to make on this course - so it makes you a smarter player.

Its a serious workout - especially for a flatlander - so be prepared for the elevation and short steep hikes from one hole to another. Take your time and enjoy the views.

When you do score well you feel like you earned it. I am typically a bogie golfer - so when I get a round of 10 over - I am thrilled. Its all relative. You will enjoy this course no matter your skill level.
Cons: While I love it and live close by so am acclimated you must bring water, good shoes and a sense of humor. This is a physically demanding course. Especially for recreational players. Missing a shot will often mean a serious short hike down and back up.
Other Thoughts: If you are local and see a notice for a work day - come out and help. then when you play it again you will feel that much more a "part" of the whole Beaver Ranch Experience.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great technical elevation throws

2-4    3/15/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of technical shots come into play. Great elevation changes with amazing scenery. Unique baskets that are in mint condition. Multiple pin placements with well thought out long and short routes. Many holes have custom built benches that are in excellent shape. Beautiful all around mountain course.
Cons: I would like to see better tee pads other than dirt. This course is a solid 5 if the tee pads were concrete.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course with technical elevation shots. Bring some hiking shoes, water, and your trusty mid range. Keep an eye on your throws because discs tend to roll down hill. One round will take over 2 hours so give yourself some time to fly. There is a course map sign by the parking lot but be sure to print one out if it's your first time.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Around!

2-4    3/6/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: byoung39
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * The risk/reward at this course is off the charts. Throw accurately, and you are rewarded. Go off by a marginal degree, and you can take some extra strokes fast!
*Great variety of shots
*TRULY, you have to be on top of your game to play this course well.
* Mountain views are phenomenal!
* Very entertaining course with a lot of excercise, also!
Cons: * First three holes are a little bit too much alike... and all uphill. Rough way to start!
* No water in play
* Limited long, open shots
* Needs better/permanent hole signs, but the benches and baskets are awesome for a course that is not publically funded!
Other Thoughts: Come prepared for hiking! The 1/2 mile hike in is DEFINITELY worth it, but it is still a hike. Water is a must. There is only one hole that I thought really has some weaknesses in it. The different pin placements provide even more variety on a course that already uses most of the discs you have (especially midrange and approach shots!) I wish this course wasn't over an hour away, but I will still go there a couple of times a month because it is such an awesome course. This course makes me want to be better in every aspect of my game!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Does it really get much better?

2-4    11/20/2008   2/26/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.3 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great mountain course with easy access from the city. It is very difficult with tight shots through trees and many uphill throws. It demands respect from the beginning with possibly the hardest hole on on the very first tee. Straight uphill with a very narrow fairway between two walls of trees. Every hole requires a unique type of throw. This is a nature lover disc golfers paradise. Beaver Ranch Inc. who maintains the larger property, offers tent and cabin camping and lodge rentals, in addition to restroom facilities at holes 15/16.
Cons: Still getting updated on signage, pads etc... so bring course map.
Other Thoughts: I recommend primarily sticking to mid-range/multi-purpose discs on this course. (Roc/Buzz) The risk/reward factor for long range drivers is not worth it except on 5, 9, 16 and 17 which are simply fun holes to unleash on. You are better off 40 feet short with a longer unobstructed birdie shot than 15ft away with a wall of trees to get around. Plus, there is a better chance than not that your driver won't end up 15ft away when it is done rolling or hits the tree ten feet from the tee box.

Also, be sure to use mother nature to your advantage. There are a few holes where you can tightrope a drive directly at the basket and if you miss, the trees and slope of the mountain will stop the disc. On 16 and 17, be sure to throw a disc that plays well with the prevailing wind near the basket. The holes seem long with the trees in the way, but it is really an average course in regards to length considering many of the longer holes are downhill.

Bottom line, this is a treasure of a disc golf course. We need to ensure it stays that way. Figure out how much you spend on entertainment like going to a movie, concert etc... After you finish your round, consider how much more of a great experience you had playing this course, then dump a crap load of cash in the donation box on the way out.
If you truly love playing disc golf, that long walk back to the car will be full of stories of great shots, close calls, tired limbs and a sadness that you are walking in the wrong direction. .

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver Ranch

5+    1/5/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: discaholic
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is great. It will use every shot in your bag to maintain any chance of a par. I usually average +3-5 on the course. It has many tight shots, many open shots. It goes up hill and downhill. Bring good footwear when playing. The views are awesome. The course is marked pretty well. There are new signage coming soon. The facilities at Beaver Ranch are perfect for tournaments. There is a main lodge for groups, camping, restaraunts close by and easy access to the city. The flow of the course play is good also.
Cons: It is a slight hike to the 1st hole. The tee pads are dirt.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 can be a tough throw if a line is not followed. You need to bring a snack and water for sure.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Period

5+    1/8/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: DUrich
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2012
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A true mountain course where you *will* get a workout. The natural outdoor beauty is another plus. It will try every shot you have in your bag, so really stay focused on your game. Gotta think technically because of all of the trees. Its a special moment when you park that one shot next to the pin avoiding all of those obstacles. You can't play this course once, you'll want to come back for more knowing that you can improve somewhere rethinking that one contour on the course. My favorite course...period. Other attractions at Conifer Community Park include a playground, bark park, plenty of hiking trails and even overnight camping facilities. Not that remote, very close to Conifer - good food, gas and lodging.....plus its less that a half hour from the Denver metro area.
Cons: Yes hole #1 is a bit of a hike, but we also have the hole 12 access point. It could be a tough course to navigate in sandals, bring good footwear. I can play the course in a little over an hour and a half alone, but the average player needs to set aside at least 2. Pack in and out all of your trash, so that others can enjoy the natural wonders of Colorado. Concrete Tee pads are in the works and I'm sure another awesome event on the horizon.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking shoes/boots and some warmer gear in the off season. Food, snack and water is also a good idea. This is a small town Community Park - be thoughtful of others using all of the amenities that it has to offer. Often there are other great events and festivals. Also check out our annual tournaments as they are a great fundraiser for the course & park. Be sure to give back to the park/course with a simple donation placed in the box at the course trail entrances. Or you can pay the park caretaker Jon directly.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME DG COURSE

5+    3/30/2013   2/13/2009
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2013
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a true mtn. course. It will force you to use every disc in your bag. The downhills are crazy, and the uphills will bust your lungs. The new starting point by the main lodge, and the addition of the new hole #1, and #2 are a dream come true. No more long walk to get to hole #1. The new Destination Disc Pro-Shop, and Concession stand are an excellent bonus, and the DGer's lounge, fire-pit, and grill are such a cool addition to your DG day. Every tee pad has been re-done in concrete - WOW. This course is well worth the drive to conifer. Bring some cash for the pro-shop, concession stand, and to play, as this is a pay-for-play DG course (a steel at only $5 a day).
Cons:
Hole #1 updated (no walk)- Awesome!!
Concrete tee-pads - Awesome!!
Pro-Shop & Concession Stand - Awesome!!
DG Player "lounge", fire-pit, and grill - Awesome!!
Cons?? What Cons!!
Other Thoughts: This is a manditory Pay-For-Play course, if you "poach" you will be cought by the ranger and asked to leave. It's a steel at $5 per day, just pay it, and enjoy the course that so many have given so much to make possible. Please do NOT litter, and please do NOT be a DG poacher. You should allow 3 hours to play the course.
This area is a DG'ers paradise, you should also play the Phantom Falls DGC, Bucksnort DGC, Magic Meadows DGC, and the Bailey DGC, all within 14 miles of each other. This would be a excellent DG vacation with 5 awesome courses so close together.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course I've played...Hands Down!

5+    10/13/2008   2/13/2009
Review By: mbponiat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Think of every cool hole you've played on courses across the country.....now put them all on the same course! There are gripper n' ripper holes, tight holes, uphill holes, downhill holes, short, long, multiple tees on almost every hole. Also, it's a great workout, great scenery and very well maintained.
Cons: The only con I would say is that it is a mountain course, so you will get a workout. To me, I think this is a HUGE plus. Just bring water and a small snack and anyone young and old will enjoy this course.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been, get there and check it out. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy beautiful colorado while enjoying one of it's great sports, DG!

9 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.