Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: Usher Hole #1
3 / 213ft.   3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Stairs leading to #1 Fairway



Reviews: 155
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16
 Conifer / Beaver Ranch

2-4    6/22/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of technical and challenging holes. You don't get a lot of heavily forested holes down in Denver, so this entire course is a treat.

Beautiful environment. Good signs. Benches at every hole. Really a quality experience.
Cons: In a few places, if you put a disc on edge, it might roll hundreds of feet down the mountain!

If had to choose a legitimate con, there were some uneven dirt tees that you could slip on.
Other Thoughts: This course was really fun. I checked it out on a weekday afternoon, and couldn't wait to bring my buddies up here to see it. A totally different experience than the courses in the city.

Some people might consider the steep climbs and occasionally difficult terrain a con, but I think it just adds to the experience. Bring good shoes.

Also, make sure to bring cash to pay for the required daily tags.

Both times I've played have been a blast. Highly recommended.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A little hiking never hurt anyone

1    6/12/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: MapsFly
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find driving.
For a mountain course there is only a moderate chance of losing a disc.
Scenery is beautiful; most holes follow the broad ridgeline therefore, once you have climbed the ridge (holes 1-2), then the rest is less extreme hiking.
Good mix of hole length, elevation change, fairways, and pin placements.
Nice signage and benches which this course definitely needs to let players rest.
Cons: Tee pads: Natural tee pads; you need concrete to allow the full array of advanced and pro player shot possibilities; it is also a safety issue when grip is insufficient.
The Walk: Flat but long walk from parking lot to beginning and end of the course. Reduce non-course walking in the spirit of having fun and being at your best when playing disc golf. Throwing after a long walk and big uphill on #1 may cause some players not used to mountain courses to be off their game (accuracy and strength).
Death rolls: several steep hills provide an opportunity for long (200 ft.) rollaways.
Other Thoughts: Not all courses can get away with a pay-to-play model, but this course is worth paying to allow the park administrators to continually improve on a great course. Disc golf has grown up with a culture of "free-to-play" but a sustainable model of disc golf as a professional sport will require an increasing number of courses to charge.
I don't recommend flying in the night before from sea level and play Conifer and Phantom Falls in the same day; I had nothing left to give Conifer but it sure was beautiful. To really enjoy the course, I think you need to plan to play it several times over several days.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 I like!

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: vagabond
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. You won't get bored. A lot of tight shots between trees, shots up hill, on side slopes etc. It honestly reminds me a lot of Hanson Hills, in Grayling Michigan which is another excellent course. The terrain and shot variety is very similar. Nice benches at every tee, and good signage.
Cons: Not really any cons to this course in my opinion.. Its not really a "mountain course" It is in the mountains, but its really just built around some hills.
Other Thoughts: Their is a ban on all outdoor burning in Colorado right now, yet I still saw a lot of cigarette butts along the course. WTF is wrong with smokers??

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 conifer

5+    8/20/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: epic course, no roads or people for miles
big throws and big elevation
bring all of your shots
Cons: not for beginners
better be in shape
Other Thoughts: man do i wish we had more of these!!
tough all around course with great scenery, how can you go wrong....well worth the trip in you live in the city

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2-4    4/8/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: SnowBlind
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2012
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy to follow pin to tee. The signage includes pictures and maps. Beautiful country. No shot is the same. The challenge here relies more on opsticles and elevation change than distance.
Cons: It's a drive from denver. Can be made unplayable by snow. Long walk in.
Other Thoughts: Wear good shoes, perferably hiking boots. Water recommended. Hole 1 and 2 are the steepest. PACK IT IN PACK IT OUT, help keep this course beautiful.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 win some and loose some

2-4    12/17/2011   3/9/2012
Review By: atlskw
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Great course if you like to hike a little. You will get a workout. The signage is great showing a picture so you can find the basket. I will play this one alot soon as snow goes away. When we played this there was snow and its a little challenging then.
Cons: Lost 2 disc's (surely it wasn't the snow on the ground) but I found 1 so not bad!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Golf

1    1/27/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: rbnorris32
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.6 Years
7 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Like Phantom Falls, this course was phenomenal. And again like PF, this is not the most difficult course, but it is very scenic and rugged. If you like hiking in addition to disc golf, play Beaver Ranch. All of the holes were fun and challenging. The signage was great and really helped with navigating the course.
Cons: Some of the holes were a little short. But after playing PF my arm was tired anyway.
Other Thoughts: Would give it a 4.25 if possible. I prefer this course over PF mainly because of the environment. I think they should both be played regularly though! On 1/27/12 there was snow on a majority of the course. It only affected the tee pads and in a couple of places it was deep and powdery (around hole 16 and 21). For the most part you disc will stay on top of the snow. Don't be a fair weather golfer and get out there!

7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/16/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: gund
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, scenery, use of topography. I have no problem dropping $3 every time I visit to support this wonderful course.
Cons: looking forward to the cement t pads
Other Thoughts: why do tobacco smokers think butts are not litter?

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Dg at it's finest

5+    9/26/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2011
29 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Where to start? Absolutely amazing scenery abounds on every hole
-Amazing use of elevation with uphill, downhill, and sidehill shots everywhere.
-Navigation is easy with logs bordering the paths around the entire course. Hole 5 is the only trick, requiring you to backtrack down 4 to find the path.
-Baskets are in great shape throughout the entire course.
-The signs are some of the best I've seen with photos of the holes and basket positions clearly marked on each.
-Multiple pin positions ensure that you'll want to come back... Well, you'll want to come back anyways.
-A workout! I consider this a pro. You will know you played a round by the time you're finished. Bring good footwear, and snacks/drinks. Thankfully there are beautiful benches at nearly every tee.
-Every hole is a signature hole. Seriously. This is my first five-star rating, and most of it is due to the smile that hits my face at every single tee pad. You just can't wait to see what the course has in store for you next.
-Many holes have a great potential for roll aways... LONG roll aways, so the club has taken the time to build "log-dams" on the hillsides to prevent discs from rolling back to downtown Denver.
-There is a restroom on 14
-Great hole length variety. 20 plays out to 700', while 7 leavs you with a 177' downhill ace-run. You will use drivers, mids, and putters off the tees here.
-Hole 17. It needs to be mentioned. The pictures of course do it no justice. You will be glad you brought your backup drivers for the tee shot, but playing the long basket will also leave you an upshot worth locking in your memory bank for those long days at work.
-On a mountain course, there's always a chance of losing discs, but this course is pretty clear, and the club has done a fantastic job of making sure your plastic gets back into your bag. The upkeep is second to none.
-There's a teepee on 4. No course is complete without a teepee.
Cons: -Natural tees. They're in good shape however, and concrete pads are on the way.
-I hate to even put it in the cons, but to many it's a deterrant. Beaver Ranch has gone to a pay-to-play course. For a meager $3, you get to play a mountain disc golf paradise. The money is going directly into the course, with concrete tees, and a proposed second eighteen hole course on the way. Pony up, it's worth it.
-The walk to one. From the parking lot, there's a half mile walk to the first tee. Personally, I'm about to walk a few miles in some rugged terrain, so a warmup walk on a level, clear path doesn't bother me. Locals will drive further up the road to a traihead that lets you start on hole 12. For me, the start at hole 1 is part of the experience. Staring up an almost vertical hole lets you know what you just signed up for. I also believe the parking will be closer once the new course is layed out.
Other Thoughts: -This is mountain discing at it's finest. The few gripes listed are in the process of being fixed, and another 18 holes are on the way. There seems to be constant improvement here, and the club deserves a ton of credit.
-I've brought beginners here, and even though their scores were high, they were in awe of the course the entire way through.
-I've played some of the better courses in the country, and Beaver Ranch truly deserves to be listed with the best. It is an experience that will tickle your brain until you make the trip to play it again.

29 of 32 people found this review helpful.

  It's a workout

5+    9/9/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: SalsaBear
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: altitude changes and long distances have this course challenging any player. nice views of the mountains and easy to navigate through the trees

altitude changes and long distances have this course challenging any player. nice views of the mountains and easy to navigate through the trees
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: none

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.