Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #8
3 / 315ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Short Tee



Reviews: 154
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15 16
  Beaver Ranch is Bomb

5+    10/2/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: weylins disc club
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: The trails are clean and well maintained. They recently added new benches and plaques. the boxes are dirt but well maintained. There is no crowd or wait on week days. Privacy and beautiful weather is abundant. The clean and crisp mountain air makes it easy to throw and helps lifts your mood when you are lucky enough to view the sunset. Stop at the teepee and chill if you are tired.
Cons: On the occasional throw discs can roll all the way down the hill or get stuck in the pines. it is time consuming if you play the whole course. But try to avoid the first three holes if you can, as they are virtually straight uphill.
Other Thoughts: Bring your whole bag of discs as you will want them for hole 17.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 If were smart, you'd play this course

1    10/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tight, Open, elevation changes, very imaginative, easy to navigate, great signs at every hole with distance and multiple placements, beautiful scenery, friendly people, Great variety; You might throw every shot in your bag, very challenging. Even though it's heavily wooded, it's not hard to keep an eye on your disc. Lots of debris from trees on the ground to keep your disc from rolling alllll the way back down the hill. Sometimes you're not so lucky :)
Too many goods things to say about this place.
Cons: The drive to get there??
I guess the only thing I could do without is the strenuous elevation changes. The first two holes will make you want a power nap. But in all honesty it's not that bad. Just tough it out!
Other Thoughts: Look, if you are an intermediate or advanced player, you will love this course, hands down. Beaver Ranch is the epitome of colorado disc golf. In the mountains hiking around, lots of trees and elevation changes. Tight tunnel shots followed by narrow tee offs into wide open meadows. Aspen and Pine trees. Fun Fun FUN!!

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the USA

1    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: thumb
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Unbelievably beautiful... difficult... and strenuous on the body. I am a great hiker, runner, biker. I have climbed 14ers and this course wears me out every time, which is what I like.
Cons: Some silly mandos but I really only hate them because it makes me change my throw.

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Bea-very Careful

1    9/18/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: ChevyChevelle
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For those that are first time players to this course, know that it is very well marked and easy to navigate to the next and upcoming holes. This is an advanced course, with plenty of challenges ahead. Dog legs left and right and straight shots required. Great course to shoot your backhand and forehand shots. I personally loved hole 17 and found myself climbing back up to the top to reshoot. Plenty of benches in this course to rest after a hike up some of the steeper trails. Which is great if you are used to lower altitudes or you are not in the greatest of shape? Outhouses are available in a couple of different areas and are kept pretty clean. The very tall pines throughout the park not only provide a player challenges, but also provide a nice break from the heat of the day. On your way in from the parking lot to the first tee off there are stretching stations. Plenty of time to stop and stretch out, if you had a long drive up to this highly recommended beautiful course. There is a first bench at the end of your walk to the first tee off to rest up before you get started.
Cons: It is quite a walk up to the first tee off.
Other Thoughts: If you are an intermediate or advanced player, I would highly recommend this course. It would be well worth your trip, to this beautiful place.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    8/20/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: HAWKSNEST1979
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome wooded course. Kind of place you would go just to hike. Entire course is technical shots and pretty well maintained.

This entire course is through the woods but almost all of the holes you have a clear throwing lane.

Restrooms available about half way through. there's some tough uphill shots and some fun downhill shots.
Cons: Only thing keeping me from giving this course a 5 is the that there is a 1/4 to 1/2 mile hike to get to the first tee, and depending on the time there may be a wait or parking can be difficult. Hike to first hole is not too bad except the first 3 holes are straight up the side of the mountain. (don't let this stop you from playing the course cause its awesome)
Other Thoughts: Ranks right up there with the best courses around and its not too far from denver. (30min depending on area) This is going to be a signature course in Colorado and is a must play course.

There are benches you can chill after some of the tougher up hill hikes which seem to be in just the right spots.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Fun

1    8/21/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: ragecrage
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The beautiful mountain setting made this course worth the drive from Colorado Springs. The holes are well marked making it easy for a first timer to the course to locate the tee boxes and pins. Tee boxes are wide and well maintained with seating to rest up after climbing the hills. That being said.....
Cons: Extremely mountanous! although I found the hilly terrain fun and challenging, somone from lower elevations or not in shape might want to allow plenty of time to cover this one. Also, trees lining the fairways made for tight, sometimes frusterating, tee shots.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a must for all Colorado disc golfers, or the bravest flatlanders, looking for a great day in the Rockies!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great hike ... disc golf an excellent bonus

1    8/6/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to begin? Fantastic use of elevation change. Mix of open and wooded, long and short, left and right. Multiple pin placements. Incredible new signs with pole-hole-shaped bag hooks and beautiful log benches. Lots of opportunities for memorable shots. Paths lined with tree limbs to guide you to the next tee. And, of course, gorgeous scenery. Everyone I ran into was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Long hike to / from parking lot. No concrete tees (yes, I know this would be difficult, but I can't give a course five stars without them).
Other Thoughts: Those like me who live at an elevation of less than 1000' and are not necessarily in great shape will wish they had oxygen tanks, but the course is definitely worth the pain. The first few holes take you straight up the hill, with #1 having a large set of stairs directly in front of the tee. The middle dozen or so holes are generally played on the "flat" (in relative terms) and more open top of the hill, although a couple of them (especially #11) drop you back down into a valley and require a hike back up. Take some photos between the 9th and 16th fairways, and get ready for the memorable drive down into (or across) the valley on #17. The last three holes bring you back down to the bottom. I couldn't see that the basket on #20 was in the middle placement, so what I thought was an unlucky break hitting a tree branch saved me quite a throw and hike back up the hill. All in all, one of the best courses I've ever played. Well worth the drive and hike.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ahhhh Yea

5+    5/10/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Big Gun
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This is the coarse to go out of your way for. It is so bad a##. Bring a group and just tear it up. Every hole could make or break your round. Best coarse in Co.
Cons: Long walk in
Other Thoughts: This is the coarse, It's indescribable, the pictures do it no justice.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Dalisllama
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: The setting is just great! The layout is big time fun! State Champs was here recently and the Pin placement is great. Bring your A game and plan on some hiking. Great variety of long and technical throws, lots of trees and open spaces, up hills, down hills, and across hills.
Cons: some branches could be trimmed.
Other Thoughts: This is a must PLAY! stop what you are doing and grab your discs and drive to conifer.

Thanks to Rodney and staff at Beaver Ranch!

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 We are Lucky

5+    7/24/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We are lucky to have such a beautiful course so close to Denver/front range. Great variety of holes and pin-placements. Unreal setting. Great flow in the course. Easy to navigate. Improvements are always happening to the course. Also certain pin-placements on holes drastically change the difficultly of the holes (ie #9 adding 110ft of extra uphill carnage).
Cons: In certain pin-placements it is easy to confuse the baskets with other holes (mainly on #4). Played it once on easier pin-placements and thought I wasn't half-bad, played it later on much harder pin-placements and cried myself to sleep that evening.
Other Thoughts: The short walk-in/walk-out is perfect for stretching the legs after driving in the car; it takes almost no time and is not a problem. Almost all the photos on the website are really dated and don't show how great the new improvements are.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15 16

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.