Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #8
3 / 315ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Short Tee



Reviews: 151
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15 16
 Bea-very Careful

1    9/18/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: ChevyChevelle
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For those that are first time players to this course, know that it is very well marked and easy to navigate to the next and upcoming holes. This is an advanced course, with plenty of challenges ahead. Dog legs left and right and straight shots required. Great course to shoot your backhand and forehand shots. I personally loved hole 17 and found myself climbing back up to the top to reshoot. Plenty of benches in this course to rest after a hike up some of the steeper trails. Which is great if you are used to lower altitudes or you are not in the greatest of shape? Outhouses are available in a couple of different areas and are kept pretty clean. The very tall pines throughout the park not only provide a player challenges, but also provide a nice break from the heat of the day. On your way in from the parking lot to the first tee off there are stretching stations. Plenty of time to stop and stretch out, if you had a long drive up to this highly recommended beautiful course. There is a first bench at the end of your walk to the first tee off to rest up before you get started.
Cons: It is quite a walk up to the first tee off.
Other Thoughts: If you are an intermediate or advanced player, I would highly recommend this course. It would be well worth your trip, to this beautiful place.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    8/20/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: HAWKSNEST1979
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome wooded course. Kind of place you would go just to hike. Entire course is technical shots and pretty well maintained.

This entire course is through the woods but almost all of the holes you have a clear throwing lane.

Restrooms available about half way through. there's some tough uphill shots and some fun downhill shots.
Cons: Only thing keeping me from giving this course a 5 is the that there is a 1/4 to 1/2 mile hike to get to the first tee, and depending on the time there may be a wait or parking can be difficult. Hike to first hole is not too bad except the first 3 holes are straight up the side of the mountain. (don't let this stop you from playing the course cause its awesome)
Other Thoughts: Ranks right up there with the best courses around and its not too far from denver. (30min depending on area) This is going to be a signature course in Colorado and is a must play course.

There are benches you can chill after some of the tougher up hill hikes which seem to be in just the right spots.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Fun

1    8/21/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: ragecrage
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The beautiful mountain setting made this course worth the drive from Colorado Springs. The holes are well marked making it easy for a first timer to the course to locate the tee boxes and pins. Tee boxes are wide and well maintained with seating to rest up after climbing the hills. That being said.....
Cons: Extremely mountanous! although I found the hilly terrain fun and challenging, somone from lower elevations or not in shape might want to allow plenty of time to cover this one. Also, trees lining the fairways made for tight, sometimes frusterating, tee shots.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a must for all Colorado disc golfers, or the bravest flatlanders, looking for a great day in the Rockies!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great hike ... disc golf an excellent bonus

1    8/6/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 103  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to begin? Fantastic use of elevation change. Mix of open and wooded, long and short, left and right. Multiple pin placements. Incredible new signs with pole-hole-shaped bag hooks and beautiful log benches. Lots of opportunities for memorable shots. Paths lined with tree limbs to guide you to the next tee. And, of course, gorgeous scenery. Everyone I ran into was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Long hike to / from parking lot. No concrete tees (yes, I know this would be difficult, but I can't give a course five stars without them).
Other Thoughts: Those like me who live at an elevation of less than 1000' and are not necessarily in great shape will wish they had oxygen tanks, but the course is definitely worth the pain. The first few holes take you straight up the hill, with #1 having a large set of stairs directly in front of the tee. The middle dozen or so holes are generally played on the "flat" (in relative terms) and more open top of the hill, although a couple of them (especially #11) drop you back down into a valley and require a hike back up. Take some photos between the 9th and 16th fairways, and get ready for the memorable drive down into (or across) the valley on #17. The last three holes bring you back down to the bottom. I couldn't see that the basket on #20 was in the middle placement, so what I thought was an unlucky break hitting a tree branch saved me quite a throw and hike back up the hill. All in all, one of the best courses I've ever played. Well worth the drive and hike.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ahhhh Yea

5+    5/10/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Big Gun
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This is the coarse to go out of your way for. It is so bad a##. Bring a group and just tear it up. Every hole could make or break your round. Best coarse in Co.
Cons: Long walk in
Other Thoughts: This is the coarse, It's indescribable, the pictures do it no justice.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Dalisllama
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: The setting is just great! The layout is big time fun! State Champs was here recently and the Pin placement is great. Bring your A game and plan on some hiking. Great variety of long and technical throws, lots of trees and open spaces, up hills, down hills, and across hills.
Cons: some branches could be trimmed.
Other Thoughts: This is a must PLAY! stop what you are doing and grab your discs and drive to conifer.

Thanks to Rodney and staff at Beaver Ranch!

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 We are Lucky

5+    7/24/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: andylibrande
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We are lucky to have such a beautiful course so close to Denver/front range. Great variety of holes and pin-placements. Unreal setting. Great flow in the course. Easy to navigate. Improvements are always happening to the course. Also certain pin-placements on holes drastically change the difficultly of the holes (ie #9 adding 110ft of extra uphill carnage).
Cons: In certain pin-placements it is easy to confuse the baskets with other holes (mainly on #4). Played it once on easier pin-placements and thought I wasn't half-bad, played it later on much harder pin-placements and cried myself to sleep that evening.
Other Thoughts: The short walk-in/walk-out is perfect for stretching the legs after driving in the car; it takes almost no time and is not a problem. Almost all the photos on the website are really dated and don't show how great the new improvements are.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Made it up there finally

1    7/20/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course will be one of the most gorgeous courses you have ever seen,and if not I'm wish listing the course you know of thats better.Tocabaga's jungle in St.Petersburg Fl,and Sipipu in New Mex are the only others of such beauty.Actually the courses in the foothills west of Ft.Collins are pretty scenic as well but not quite as nice.
Cons: I wished the course would have been a bit tougher don't get me wrong there are some epic like holes(2-3).Shorter holes aren't too boring but why not stretch them out if you can.Playing in such a beautiful area I really wish the shorter holes were a bit tougher.
Other Thoughts: Definitely the better course in the Denver area since all the courses around there are so F'n easy to shoot par or under.As far as my scores go Sakuna Pines in the Black Forest is still harder but this course will make you throw more then a 65 thats for sure.21 holes

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing!!

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: tandren
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Dynamically technical holes that require a varying array of shots.
Amazing scenery.
Great baskets/signage.
Cons: Some steep hills can run away with your discs.
Other Thoughts: If you find a Yellow Discraft Buzz on Hole 20 with the name Travis Andren on it...please message me or call the number on the disc. I'll come get it. Reward $

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Risk/reward at altitude

2-4    7/25/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a few great pros for this beautiful course:

1. Risk/reward. This course epitomizes risk/reward. Nearly every hole has several routes to the hole of varying difficulty (see the Other Comments below). Most of the baskets are situated on some sort of slope, so putting is never completely safe. Do you trust yourself to sink that 25-foot putt? You know you can't lay up, but it wasn't rare to see one of us clang an uphill putt and then watch helplessly as it rolls past us 50 feet downhill. Which leads to…
2. Scoring spreads. I don't usually pay attention to this, but I noticed how great it was playing with friends and never having any lead safe. On a lot of courses if you're ahead by 2 strokes after 14 or 15 holes, you're going to win. Not here. If you go the difficult route and make it, there are definitely holes here with birdie potential. But if you screw it up, you could be looking at a double bogey. I imagine this is a great place for tournaments for this reason. Also because…
3. Challenge. You probably won't be shooting par here if the baskets are in the long positions like they were when I was there (shortly after the Colorado State Championships). Most of the fairways are, well, fair, but they don't have a lot of room for error.
4. Scenery. It's on a mountain. It's pretty. You know how it goes.
5. Signage. The signs are excellent. There is a photograph of the fairway with the basket positions overlaid. There is also a bird's eye graphical depiction of the fairway, along with distances to each position. Nice work.

Holes 16 and 17 might be the signature holes (long downhill bombs…try the long basket on 17 for a real challenge), but I think 13 is the best. The tee shot is an uphill tunnel shot opening to a open area. Then it's a hard dogleg right about 225 feet to the hole. The basket is on a natural mound surrounded on three sides by steep slope and on the other by a big pit (think sand trap). If you don't land it within 15 feet, you have a very risky putt. I love this hole.
Cons: There aren't a lot of major cons, but there are a couple. The tee pads are all dirt and gravel. Obviously concrete pads would be impractical on this sort of course, but perhaps rubber pads are possible one day. Although it didn't rain while I was in town, several pads had standing water. I'm sure the course is a mess after heavy rain or the spring melt.

The fairways for #5 and #16 are adjacent, and it can be tough on #16 to throw a good shot and completely avoid the fairway of #5.

When I was there, we counted six or seven dogleg right holes and only one dogleg left. I like to see basket positions that are a bit more even in that regard.
Other Thoughts: An example of the risk/reward nature of the course: On hole 19, my first time I threw a high S shot over the top and landed 10 feet from the hole. The next round I tried the same shot, turned it over a bit, and ended up down the hill to the right and got a 5. The next two rounds I played it safe, throwing straight ahead under the trees and got a 4 and 3. Four rounds, four different scores on the hole, and I deserved every score I got. Point being, this is just one hole, but there are a LOT of holes like that on this course.

A couple holes have multiple baskets or multiple tees, but only a couple. I'm glad to see them improving an excellent course, and I look forward to seeing the progress on my next visit. From what I understand, they are building another course near hole 20. Wow. This could really become an elite disc golf destination.

This is the most fun course I have played.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15 16

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.