Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: nicfit Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Basket is in position A (short)



Reviews: 151
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16
So glad I played

1    8/16/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: LeftyMcGee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Eveything. I have really only played wide open courses. This was such a great challenge. I'm a beginner/intermeduate player and this challenged me and the friends I played w on every shot. Great hike. Great course design and challenging layout. Never had to second guess or walk the hole to find the pin No litter. Friendly people. 1st time playing a mountain course, and I'm hooked!
Cons: It's a mountain course...I rolled over a 2 hour old new disk on hole 3 and it went down the hill and couldn't be found.
Other Thoughts: With a course of this caliber so close to denver (and the other great courses nearby that I've heard about) I'll definitely be burning the gas and spending a lot more time here!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Baptism by altitude

1    8/14/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: Rowick
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First of all beautiful!! when Katharine Lee Bates wrote America the Beautiful atop (relatively) nearby Pikes Peak this is the kind of landscape she was looking at. Just one amazing mountain view after another along with wildflowers, majestic pines and aspen, and wildlife (I saw a two point buck right by the parking lot after my round)

Challenging!! Both in terms of disc golf skill and cardiovascular endurance.

Secluded!! great place to find your own personal disc golf heaven!! To be fair I was there at 9 AM on a Thursday but I did not see another human until hole 12 and did not see any other disc golfers until I was almost done (they were behind me)

Its less than an hour by car from downtown Denver

Tee pads were very nice most holes had nice benches which even with out anyone else on the course I used these a time or two to catch my breath and just take in the world around me
Cons: Physically demanding you will be going on a mile hike over rugged, hilly terrain at 8000+ feet above sea level that's not a con for a lot of people but just know what you're getting into

Numbers on the pins would have been helpfull
Other Thoughts: you play a few round and your local park course and you par a few holes and you think "I'm pretty good at disc golf" this course showed me that I have a lifetime of learning ahead of me

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Trees galore and elevation change to boot.

2-4    8/8/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: himPickle
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Complete signage, 23 concrete tee pads, lots of mulch spread out in wet areas makes walking the course pleasant, lots of trees to throw trough uphill tunnels and some open and long double mando holes. Great day of play by any ones standards. 9 hole putting game course at base will test the best. Try your hand at an ace run for $1 entry fee gets you two throws, and an ace gets you $40 pro shop credit. Friendly pro shop for food, beaver ranch stamped discs, all your disc golf essentials. Right off the main hwy 285s.
Cons: No night golf, Mountain Loins the size of small ponies have been spotted on the course around dusk.
Other Thoughts: This place is a must play, you will not be disappointed.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

JUST DO IT

5+    7/26/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: MIkeyMikeCO
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: JUst go play the course. It is worth every penny.
Cons: The only con I can think of is I wish my legs could handle playing 2 rounds back to back.
Other Thoughts: What a great course and full of all the stuff that make spaying for a course worth it. Just do it!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

You will not be dissapointed

5+    7/20/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow, just wow. If you live near here, or are traveling through, you owe it to yourself to play this course. I've had the pleasure of watching the course mature over the years into the 23-hole mountain challenge it is today. All tee pads are concrete, and none of them are at an angle (that's saying something for a mountain course). Signage is kept up to date, and in general is helpful for first timers on the course. All tees have bag hooks and brooms to keep them tidy. Many tees have benches and trash cans. Very challenging for all skill levels, but I would not recommend bringing a beginner here, it's for those who are comfortable playing city courses and want something more challenging. Course now has a "pro shop" and a little outdoor lounge. They also added a putting game you can kill time playing while waiting for tee #1 to open up. You get a killer hike in. Bottom line, this is one of the most amazing course I have ever played, go throw it already!
Cons: If anyone here dares to complain about the $5 fee to play this course I refer them to the above Pros that I stated. Seriously, it is so worth the $5, support the designers so they continue building more courses in the foothills! Okay, so if I had to list a con I guess it would be the Zip-Lines in the same area; when in use the sound is very distracting when trying to focus on a putt.
Other Thoughts: Unlike Bucksnort and Phantom Falls, you can just roll up on Beaver Ranch when you are ready to play. Bailey could become the next version of Beaver Ranch, once they put concrete tee pads in that is.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Course!

1    6/23/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This well maintained course has everything you could ever want from a mountain-based course. The layout was very well done; taking advantage of the intense elevation changes and the wonderful pine forest. It's also the only course in this little area of Colorado you don't need to book a tee time to play.

The key elements to the course are all in great shape: the cement teepads, the baskets, the manicured fairways. It's all good. Each teepad has incredible maps and pictures that show the multiple pin locations and the current pin location. Also there is a broom and bag hook at most, if not all of the holes.

The course is designed to challenge you on every hole, requiring many technical shots to be performed. Hopefully you're good with playing in some gusty winds, it can really tamper with your flights.

I suppose I should mention the scenery as well. You'll find yourself taking pictures or hanging out on one of the many benches just to take it in.

Also, there is what appears to be a fairly new feature at the pro shop: there is a 7 hole Putting course. There are rules explaining the game, but basically it's 3 putts at each basket from 3 different spots, each spot is worth different points. If you don't want to play for points, it makes for some excellent warm up putting before tackling the course.
Cons: VERY minor cons...

A couple holes had teepads/ fairways close to each other, but when I was there the course was fairly barren so it wasn't an issue.

Not really a con, but be mindful that you are playing on a mountain and there are a few holes with HIGH roll away factors. The second to last hole especially, the hillside is quite steep and if your disc gets rolling you might just want to kiss it bye-bye.
Other Thoughts: I have a few thoughts to share...

1) Wear good shoes! Preferably hiking shoes. This course is quite long and has TONS of climbs and descends to make. Which brings me to thought #2....

2) Take it slow and easy! This is not a course to rush through. Enjoy nature and take breaks if need be. Don't forget, you are playing a course that is at over 8000 FEET in elevation. Unless you live here and are acclimated, there is less oxygen and it will tire you out quicker.

3) BRING WATER! I drained almost 2 liters of water just playing one round, if it was any warmer I'd have been a thirsty dog.


I LOVED this course and will definitely be back on my next trip to Colorado. I would do nothing to change it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/23/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: Zedrijan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained mountainous course. Variety of challenges requires you to use every disc and every shot in your bag. Tee sign posts have a map of the hole, a picture of the hole highlighting the baskets and hole info. Most of the tees have benches and several have trash/recycle bins. They've thought of everything, brooms and custom made bag hooks at most of the tees as well.
Cons: Hard to find con's with this course. Physically challenging, expect to winded regularly if you aren't in shape. And it's not in my back yard, if it was it would be perfect.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Comparison to Bailey

1    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: RDHan
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Visiting from Illinois we had a chance to play Beaver Ranch and Bailey this week.
Here are some hints if you can only choose one to play.

First off they are both great courses. Two of the best I have ever played. In terms of the actual courses they are both a ton of fun and well designed and laid out. Bailey has more consistently longer holes, however, so much greater need to be able to drive longer distances. This was a bit frustrating for my wife who found herself skipping more holes just because they were so long. Both courses can be strenous with lots of uphill and downhill. You will find the need for lots of different types of shots and discs at both courses. Though it is possible to lose a disc, for the most part neither is so overgrown that even in errant disc cannot be found with a little searching. Both had holes that required accuracy but it was alway clear that there was a line to take to the whole (unlike some courses where you sometimes feel your only option is throw and pray it can find a way through). Both course are very worth the $5 donation and it is obvious those donations are going back into the courses to continue to make improvements. Both courses are in beuatiful locations with great scenery.

With that said, at this point Beaver Ranch would probably be the best choice. Beaver Creek has Concrete Tee pads (and even brooms if they need to be wiped off). It has benches at the start of the wholes. It has a disk shop at the beginning and relaxing chairs there to rest after you get through (you will need it especailly if you plan for a second go around). It has water to wash your hands. It has a little putting course. At this point Bailey has no one to welcome you, just a box for donations and a couple chairs out in the open. It has dirt tee pads. They are hoping to bring these improvements to the course in the coming year, however. The lack of these things did not decrease the fun or challange of the course for me (but if it is after a large rain the tee pads might not be so easy to use).
Cons: In terms of Beaver Ranch I cannot think of any except perhaps the following (though some will see this as just another opportunity to strategize to make sure shot lands short and flat. At both courses there are a few holes where even a "great shot" can turn out horrible after it roles a mile down the hill, but this is a much great danger at Beaver Ranch.
Other Thoughts: Another recommendation. If you are not as in shape make sure to get a map at the beginning of each course. Each course has an extreme downhill shot followed by a few holes where you have to climb all the way back up. If you refer to your map, however, these holes can be bypassed which will help save legs.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course I've played

1    11/30/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: JustinJStew
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Hooks for you bags on every hole, picture of where the pins are located, brooms for most of the tee pads.
Cons: Closely located zip line causes you to hear some screams, which may be mistaken for possible hole in ones.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing this course, paid $5 and was allowed to play multiple times in the same day. Great scenery, with awesome course design . Excited to play this course again when the snow is gone.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely gorgeous

1    11/10/2013   11/25/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has been changed for the better; hole 1 is no longer a hike it starts off right behind the trailer. The 5$ fee is well worth it; you get what you pay for. Concrete tee pads are excellent and baskets are well maintained. Great variety of shots, you will use every disc in your bag. Very challenging course even to veterans. Tee pads and baskets are marked well and signage is very present. Quality baskets that catch pretty well; I had a 200' bounce out shot on hole three. Absolutely love this course. They have also set up a precision putting game right in the front of the course; fun little game to get you in shape for the course. Lots of hiking, exercise and beautiful views, would play here again whenever I get a chance.
Cons: This course has very little flaws, even the drive out there from denver is beautiful. The only con I can really think of is that there could be a lot traffic in the peak seasons; please watch out for other players in fairway. Some shots require you to traverse the steep hillside; don't shoot down the hill your disc will roll down.
Other Thoughts: This course is scenic and filled with wildlife; saw a bunch of deer when we played. Late in the season there were less people on the course but still had to wait at a few tee pads for other players to clear out. The fee is well worth it and supports the course, please don't sneak onto the course. Love this course, wish I lived in Denver so I could play here all the time. Please support this course, phantom falls, magic meadows, bucksnort as they are all the same group of guys trying to push the sport of DG. Enjoy!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.