Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #16
3 / 350ft.   3 / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Tee



Reviews: 148
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 14 15
 Wow

1    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: runninlikebarry20
Played: 102  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery is amazing along with the overall challenge of the course. Insane use of the elevation changes going up and down. The course tested many shots in my bag and never left me doubting what the course designer had in mind. A very physical challenge as well as a precision oriented challenge. The tee signs were the most detailed and beautifully crafted that I have ever seen. The flow was great and had no problems navigating around. Just an overall amazing experience. Coming from Michigan I had never played anything as physically demanding, but loved every second of it.
Cons: The only con that sticks out to me is the fact you must park what felt like a mile away from hole 1, but I am being picky about that small detail and would have gladly walked several miles to hole 1 if that was what I needed to do to experience this course.
Other Thoughts: I don't see myself playing a course that was as physically and technically challenging as this one and am grateful for the experience I had. I recommend this to any disc golfer that is in or going to be in the Denver area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!!!

5+    5/15/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: HappyGilmore
Played: 111  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the best mountain courses around. A lot of thought and effort has been put into this course, from the different types of shots right down to the benches and disc golf themed bag hangars at each hole. Short shots, long shots, tight shots, open bombers, bring your whole bag.
Cons: The walk to and from the course is a pain (well worth it though). Hopefully one day they will put in a closer parking lot.

Not really a con, but the first 3 holes will punish you unless you are in Olympic shape. They go straight up a steep hill (it does even out after that though).
Other Thoughts: Long live the stump!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tops in Colorado

2-4    5/15/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: bkunited
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1. Creative and challenging holes.
2. Good mix for challenges for backhand and sidearm throwers.
3. Pure beauty - deer running through the course at times, beautiful aspen and evergreen trees.
Cons: 1. Wish there were another 10 holes on the property
2. Lack of practice basket or warm-up space
3. Distance from parking
Other Thoughts: A must-see stop in Colorado.
Top public course I in CO I have played to date.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 An Amazing Mountian Course

1    5/10/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 70  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
24 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We played this course on the recommendation of almost every disc golfer we met while in Colorado. Boy are we glad we did!! It was truly the highlight of our trip (and was even more fun than skiing at Arapahoe Basin!).

We printed and took the map on the Links page but ended up needing it only for hole #20.....by following the signs from #19 you'll end up at #3 and will need to veer right and continue down the trail to the next tee box.

It appears that the tee posts and signage have been replaced since ERicJ took pictures of the course as all tee boxes are now graced with stunning painted 4x4's, at least 1 custom basket-shaped bag hook, and full color tee signs that are a combination of a tee pad view photograph and an illustration showing all possible tee and pin combinations, including well-marked Mandos in a couple of spots. This combination of photo and illustration made deciphering pin position a breeze. Each sign listed all pin distances, showed the next tee direction, and had a cute saying on the bottom left as well. In addition, many holes sported stunning log benches for well needed breaks.

Tee boxes are filled with a well-packed sand/dirt/clay combination and were almost all completely flat and solid when we were there. The alternate pin positions, when unused, are covered by nice PVC drainage caps keeping trip hazards from them at a minimum.

The baskets are custom-made and are just beautiful! Most of the holes where a bad putt would get ugly quickly have log barriers 30 or so feet from the hole. While the barriers don't usually stop a rolling disc completely, they do pretty effectively slow the disc down on it's way down the hill.

The fun on this course starts with a bang on the very first hole, a steep, tight uphill with stiff penalties for discs that don't land flat. There's a partial staircase that was very well built and was indicative of the quality of the rest of the furnishings on the course. The uphill fun continues through #3, then the course undulates gently to allow you to catch your breath. Beware the evilly sideways tilted #11 and #12 as downhill rolls will kill you here! Take a break and visit at the top of the hill between #13 and #14 as the course then gets hilly again in earnest at the huge, downhill, #17. Avoid the disc-eating pine on the right near the bottom of the hill - it's a looooong way up there if your disc gets stuck! The sharp left on #18 looks like a no-brainer, but miss the putt and watch your disc roll all the way to the bottom of the hill with a final plop into the stream. My shot for deuce turned into a 6+OB! #19 and #20 have more disc-eating trees (there were 2 more besides ours in one tree that we couldn't get down), and you'll want to send a spotter down to the blind basket on #20. While there's not a ho-hum or gimme hole anywhere on the course, these are the ones that stand out in my mind 3 weeks later.

Every imaginable fairway type and basket placement is represented on this course! There's tight and heavily wooded, up hill and down hill, sweeping and sharp right and lefts, blind baskets, and even some side hill action. Even the wide open, big-arm holes pose added challenge with guarded, tree-lined sides, between-tree mandos, or blind/guarded basket placement. We looked for the alternate pin placements while we played and I have to say that the longer placements added serious challenge to the layout, not just bigger distances. This course in the long positions would KILL me.

This course is so well thought out and designed, they even routed the trails using switchbacks in areas of steep descents to maintain trail viability and avoid erosion problems. To keep things sustainable, please don't short-cut these switchbacks!
Cons: The 1/2 mile hike into the course is a little ridiculous, but it's understandable given the location of the fitness trail, the shape of the property, and the marsh land/swamp/creek along the road from the parking lot to the #1 tee.
Other Thoughts: While this course doesn't have the homey feel of Flip City, it rivals or exceeds FC in almost all other ways. This is an amazing course!

While there are porta-johns and pit toilets available both in the parking lot and at the 13/14/16 junction, there is no potable water that I saw. This is a strenuous, true mountain course, so bring plenty of water and snacks. Sturdy tennies or hikers are also highly recommended.

24 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic!

2-4    5/8/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My first 5/5 rated course! All aspects of this course are perfect in every way. As you stand on the teepad of hole 1 and look straight up the mountain at the basket, you know this is going to be good. Bring your hiking boots with you. Extreme elevation changes occur throughout the course adding to the difficulty and being at 8300 feet, creats a workout. Mainly a heavily wooded course with some open areas. The large pine trees are found everywhere on the course creating for some very technical shots. Bring your accuracy with you here because some of the fairways are tight. Enough of a balance in hole design so that it really doesn't favor a right or left handed player. Straight, short, long and right and left holes are all found here. Each hole really feels unique from the one before so you just can't get bored. Awesome baskets that are in brand new condition. Not a single mark on them and they catch very well. The teesigns are beautiful pictures of the hole with locations of pins and distances, each one mounted on a sturdy post with unique bag holders as well. Well done benches that are on most of the holes, again in perfect condition. The teepads are dirt which normally I don't like, but these are in great shape as well and a cement teepad would definately feel out of place on this course. This course just blends into the natural surroundings. It is quiet and secluded, giving you a chance to really enjoy nature at its best. Bathrooms at hole 14.
Cons: Not too many to mention here. As many others have said, the long walk to hole 1 is not ideal, but it does get you warmed up for the challenge ahead. No trash cans on the course, however the course is absolutely spotless!
Other Thoughts: This course does not dissapoint! I love heavily wooded courses and this is the best I have played. Every detail is perfect. A lot of thought went into making this course the best that it can be. This feels like talking a hike through the woods and having a disc golf course just appear like a dream. I am still shocked how clean this course is. I found only two pieces of trash on the entire course, a wrapper and a cig butt, of which I picked up. The benches and baskets are in prestine condition. This is a testament to other disc golfers who care about having a clean course. I drove 1.5 hours to get here just to play and it was certianly worth it. Seriously, the best course I have played, period.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

2-4    4/28/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: tahoeanj
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Quiet, great scenery, challenging but do able, great tight lines, fun as hell
Cons: Nothing I found except the walk in but even that is a good little hike.
Other Thoughts: A must play, need to add this one to your played list.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Additional Info

2-4    2/5/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: ShazzyDGA
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Each hole has a unique mountain related obstacle like trees, hills, and rough terrain. The mountain has legitimate challenges that make you think about your best strategy. I found working on various shot options before throwing the disc was helpful. The baskets are great, and in great shape. Tee boxes where clean and marked properly. All of the other reviews paint a good picture of the glory of Conifer Park. Please try this course, you will fall in love with it.
Cons: Works your cardio, so you may be using the abundant amount of benches available. Some tees can be hard to see from the baskets, so use the map to get in the proper direction. That is mostly due to the trees and seasonal snow fall.
Other Thoughts: Don't use discs that are rollers or tend to roll easily on the steep terrain baskets. You may be chasing your disc a long ways down the mountainside. Holes 10, and 11 for example can roll several extra feet from the basket. I threw a bad disc choice and went for a hike. My discs rolled with ease and built up speed down the incline. Also I would work on learning several different throwing techniques, and this will help with the trees.
Please support this course, it is amazing.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/23/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 4th stop on my Denver tour.....where to begin..
After walking down the icy trail I made to hole #1, absolutely the nicest tee set-up I've seen to date, custom log bench, snapshot photo signage with a disc golf basket shaped bag hook, then I look up and to see the first hole, holy sh#t, after a couple practice tomahawks one stayed up there. Once I made to #5, the course seemed to flatten out a bit. This course offers up-hill, down-hill, tight tree path and up-hill angled shots, as well as a few mandos; extra nice benches, signage and tee boxes throughout. Has to be one of the beautifulest courses out there. I enjoyed it so much I didn't want to leave, but my sea legs and lungs said it was time to go after 20 holes. If you're in the Denver area, don't miss out on the super sweet course, can't wait to go back to play this course after I play Paul's Phantom Falls course in Pine...
Cons: Didn't get to play it twice...
Other Thoughts: When throwing in snow and you have a good spot on where your disc went in at, go straight to it and never blink; or you'll be digging in the snow like I was. Denver/Conifer locals are good people, to help a southern Texan out on the disc golf slopes..

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Truly One of a Kind

5+    10/25/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: lburns13
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful Course. There are both long and short holes making an opportunity for good shots. the hills make it a lower and upper body workout. There's always the chance of seeing beautiful wildlife like deer, elk, fox, and bear.
Cons: If your not use to the altitude then it will be very tiring. the course is 8300+Ft.
Other Thoughts: On beautiful sunny days this course is brilliant with color. but its at its best near the end of september when the aspens are changing and the days are a little cooler. Playing when its cold, snowing, and 25 degrees is a real experience.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Mother of all courses

5+    10/25/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: shortstack
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Mostly the fairways are tight and unforgiving making for a degree of technique which is challenging but not overwhelming. There are a few exceptions which really let you "rip it". Also big natural tee-boxes and multiple possible pin locations on "every" hole.
Cons: Even living at this elevation the first few holes get you on the climb. For the most part straight-away fairways. Only a couple narrow S fairways and few "fading" ones.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course typically takes 2.5 hours to play with 3-4 people. There's a reason it's rated as a top course, you'll have to experience it for yourself.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.