Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #17
3 / 435ft.   3 / 435ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Baskets



Reviews: 155
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16
  best course around

5+    6/6/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: nickonov
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course location is awesome, being both close to and far enough away from Denver to allow for a leisurely round. From the hike in to the hike out, it's an all-immersive disc golf experience! The layout is excellent, offering a variety of pin locations to challenge any player. Holes range from wide open to very tight, and the order is suited to both rotating the discs in your bag and varying the required throws.
Cons: The locals have done a lot of work on the course, but it could use a (bear-proof) trash can.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course many times, waiting a while before giving it an official review here. It's definitely the best all-around course in the area. This spring's maintenance has been very impressive: teebox restoration, slash pile removal, signage, etc. I know some of the people involved, and have every reason to believe that this course will only continue to get better.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Tough, yet satisfying

2-4    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2009
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start that has not already been mentioned... Well each hole is unique and makes you work on different shots. Most holes, if played well, have birdie potential. Wrong shots could roll down hill and cost you some strokes. The course is clean and well kept up. Thank you volunteers! Each hole is easy to get to from the previous so a map is not necessary to play. Even if the wind is blowing you have a lot of trees to keep you protected. Hole 13 was a favorite shot as well as hole 7, 17 and 18. This is a course to play if you love both hiking and disc golf. You will get to experience both during your round. The handmade benches at a few of the holes were beautiful and made a nice place to rest before the next hole. Each hole is separate enough that you can enjoy a round peacefully.
Cons: This is where everyone else says: "The walk to one sucks," but it is forgotten quickly in to the round (mostly because the hike to basket #1 is almost a 45 degree angle).
Other Thoughts: You will burn off some calories playing this course so plan on bringing some snacks and water. If you are coming from Denver plan the trip to play one round through to take about 4 hours (45 mins up, 15 min hike to tee one, 2 hours to play, hike and drive back). This is a must play for me as often as I can get a chance. It seems as though only dedicated disc golfers will make the trek up to this course so litter, fires and graffiti seems to be non existent. Observe the pack it in, pack it out rule because there are not trash cans on the course. There is a bathroom near hole 15, but it is hard to really qualify it as a bathroom so make sure your affairs are in order before you dedicate 2 hours to some mind blowing disc golf. Enjoy the scenery of this course. This is a very nice example of how eco-friendly disc golf is. The natural tees help add to the ambiance. Overall this course is one of the best in the country for a reason.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

  this is the best course ive played

5+    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: tristan
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this course is excellent. first of all, the scenery is beautiful. the guys who built and maintain this place are the best. thanks to them for making this course possible. Hole #1 is almost overwhelming when you walk up to that teebox for the first time. One of the steepest uphill holes ive ever seen... hope she dont roll back at ya! holes #1,2,and 3 my friends and i have dubbed "Cardiac Hill" it is straight up a mountain. Hole #5 makes for the perfect first "break" hanging out inside the scrap log teepee. i love playing this course and you should too.
Cons: most people complain about the long walk to the 1st tee, or the fact that the tee boxes are dirt. i say, suck it up. for one the walk is a great way to stretch out before the round. as for the dirt tees, all natural is the way to go here. such a beautiful place needs natural tees
Other Thoughts: PLAY THIS COURSE! ive played quite a few courses around the country and thgis is my favorite.... and its close to home

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Banff springs of disc golf

2-4    5/19/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is beautiful and well laid out.Bring a good camera because every hole is incredibly scenic!
With the exception of between 7-8 the paths are well laid out between holes.The dirt tees while not perfectly flat are perfect for the course.I would actually protest concrete tees on this course.
There is not one hole that seemed unfair in it's lines or pins.If you hit your lines you will score good.If you don't you will pay.I was +1 after 11 and had hit all my lines except for hole 4.I missed my lines on 12 and 13 and ended up with double bogies.I ended up +7 for 20 holes which is about my avg score.
Teeing off on 17 is a blast!!If you've never thrown a drive to a basket 200 feet below you,you should.17 is my fav with 14 coming in a close second.14 has two hyzer paths to the hole with both being aceable.
Cons: I can't really think of any cons,I guess I'd have to put the fact some baskets are hard to see from the tee.But that is it.
Some people would say the walk is a con.It's to beautiful a walk to list it as a con in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: If your anywhere near the Denver area do yourself a favor and play this course!You won't regret it.
This is my new home away from home course as my future in-laws live two miles down the road.I will be playing this course every time we visit.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 deffinately worth it

1    5/8/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: shmizzak
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 5/20/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Myself and 2 other friends from KC went to Colorado to see "The Dead" and do some Disc golf. the first course we got to was Beaver Ranch, and it was spectacular... a great mix of tight and technical with a few shots that let you really open it up. i am planning a trip back to Co. soon and the Beaver is on the agenda. Awsome views and an outhouse at top of course make life easier.
Cons: Big Hilly course , thigh burner at first. eat good breakfast drink alot of water.
other than the 1/2 mile walk to pad 1 thereare no cons

Other Thoughts:

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  What mtn dg is supposed to be...

5+    8/2/2008   4/4/2009
Review By: nanook
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course provides the best of what Colorado has to offer in the way of mountain-style disc golf and only a short drive from the Denver/metro area. Quiet, scenic, & challenging. I love this course for the way it kicks my butt if I'm not focused & on top of my game. Hiking this course with your full bag is pretty darn good exercise too!
Cons: OK, so there aren't concrete tee pads. But don't be dissuaded by natural tees, this course is routinely maintained by dedicated locals. I have NEVER had a problem on these tees.
Other Thoughts: This course could very well be the best in the state and it continually gets better. There are some very dedicated people responsible for this course and many willing volunteers in the local dg community. Improvements occur at regular intervals. As others have said; good footwear and ample fluids are a must. Go up and play a morning round and then stop for lunch at some great eateries in the Conifer area!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 *wheeze...huff...huff*

2-4    3/22/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This in one of the best courses in Colorado. You will know what you are in for when looking up at basket #1 from the tee. 20 Holes and each is unique in its own way. Plenty of trees and elevation changes, bring your A game. Multiple tee/pin placements keeps the course fresh. After three holes of hitting every tree in sight, you will thread one through the lane and be feeling like a rock star for the rest of the day. There is usually a log-lined path, log tee box and benches which give it that truly-mountain feel. This course is always improving, thanks to the donation box at the trail head. Nice benches and baskets with permanent signs hopefully coming soon. There If you are like me and play for the sport AND for exercise, this course if for you.
Cons: The sign posts, for now, are just laminated paper that can blow away and leave you searching for the right tee. This is a hefty hike to finish the course, not for the recreational golfer. Some of the holes could use a more defined lane for the drives, but I could just be bitter for hitting almost every tree in sight. If you are slower on your feet or out of shape you can and will get outpaced by faster moving groups. Surprisingly busy on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: Look out for this course to be 5 star in the near future. Some permanent signs and a little more tree trimming will make all the difference. Make sure to eat a big breakfast, bring plenty of water and a snack.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Conifer Park

1    3/12/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: ghova
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in the mountains of Colorado. This course just feels right, there is a little bit of everything. The first hole warns you right away that it means business with a pin that is up a steep hill through a narrow fairway. It is not an extremely long course, but it is very fair. You will usually have a decent shot unless you go way off line into the woods. Overall it is a wonderful design using elevation, trees, and slopes to make all the holes uniquely challenging.
Cons: The course itself does not have any cons, and is by far the best i have ever played. There is a long walk to the first hole from the parking lot, but it goes by quickly due to excitement. There are no permanent signs yet, but i am sure that with enough donations there will be soon, and what they have now is perfectly adequate to know where to go and where to throw. Also the tee boxes were a little messy, this is probably due to it being so early in the season and they will probably dry up. I considered rating this a 4.5 until they put in concrete tee pads but on second thought that might take away from the overall charm of the course.
Other Thoughts: This course also has some of the coolest baskets i have ever played on. The top rim is angled in so occassionally a putt that would miss on a normal basket will find its way in. Saved me a stroke during the round. I had a smile on my face the whole round except when i was out of breath from the hikes this course takes you on. Be ready for a workout and one of the best disc golf experiences of your life. I cant wait to go play conifer park again.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: Fliker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2009
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Awesome mountain course, technical yet open and fun. You have watch the roll on the side on the slopes! Wind can be a factor on some holes where its open.
Cons: The walk to the 1st pin sucks, but the course is worth it.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for recreational players too

5+    2/20/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: HRPufinstuf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the nice thing about this course for recreational players is that you don't have to throw 600 feet to score. it forces you to work on control and approach strategy. many choices to make on this course - so it makes you a smarter player.

Its a serious workout - especially for a flatlander - so be prepared for the elevation and short steep hikes from one hole to another. Take your time and enjoy the views.

When you do score well you feel like you earned it. I am typically a bogie golfer - so when I get a round of 10 over - I am thrilled. Its all relative. You will enjoy this course no matter your skill level.
Cons: While I love it and live close by so am acclimated you must bring water, good shoes and a sense of humor. This is a physically demanding course. Especially for recreational players. Missing a shot will often mean a serious short hike down and back up.
Other Thoughts: If you are local and see a notice for a work day - come out and help. then when you play it again you will feel that much more a "part" of the whole Beaver Ranch Experience.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.