Conifer, CO
Beaver Ranch/Conifer Park Share
Uploaded By: ponto11 Hole #4 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket (Short Position) looking back towards the tee



Reviews: 143
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
 Does it really get much better?

2-4    11/20/2008   2/26/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great mountain course with easy access from the city. It is very difficult with tight shots through trees and many uphill throws. It demands respect from the beginning with possibly the hardest hole on on the very first tee. Straight uphill with a very narrow fairway between two walls of trees. Every hole requires a unique type of throw. This is a nature lover disc golfers paradise. Beaver Ranch Inc. who maintains the larger property, offers tent and cabin camping and lodge rentals, in addition to restroom facilities at holes 15/16.
Cons: Still getting updated on signage, pads etc... so bring course map.
Other Thoughts: I recommend primarily sticking to mid-range/multi-purpose discs on this course. (Roc/Buzz) The risk/reward factor for long range drivers is not worth it except on 5, 9, 16 and 17 which are simply fun holes to unleash on. You are better off 40 feet short with a longer unobstructed birdie shot than 15ft away with a wall of trees to get around. Plus, there is a better chance than not that your driver won't end up 15ft away when it is done rolling or hits the tree ten feet from the tee box.

Also, be sure to use mother nature to your advantage. There are a few holes where you can tightrope a drive directly at the basket and if you miss, the trees and slope of the mountain will stop the disc. On 16 and 17, be sure to throw a disc that plays well with the prevailing wind near the basket. The holes seem long with the trees in the way, but it is really an average course in regards to length considering many of the longer holes are downhill.

Bottom line, this is a treasure of a disc golf course. We need to ensure it stays that way. Figure out how much you spend on entertainment like going to a movie, concert etc... After you finish your round, consider how much more of a great experience you had playing this course, then dump a crap load of cash in the donation box on the way out.
If you truly love playing disc golf, that long walk back to the car will be full of stories of great shots, close calls, tired limbs and a sadness that you are walking in the wrong direction. .

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver Ranch

5+    1/5/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: discaholic
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is great. It will use every shot in your bag to maintain any chance of a par. I usually average +3-5 on the course. It has many tight shots, many open shots. It goes up hill and downhill. Bring good footwear when playing. The views are awesome. The course is marked pretty well. There are new signage coming soon. The facilities at Beaver Ranch are perfect for tournaments. There is a main lodge for groups, camping, restaraunts close by and easy access to the city. The flow of the course play is good also.
Cons: It is a slight hike to the 1st hole. The tee pads are dirt.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 can be a tough throw if a line is not followed. You need to bring a snack and water for sure.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Best Course Period

5+    1/8/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: DUrich
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2012
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A true mountain course where you *will* get a workout. The natural outdoor beauty is another plus. It will try every shot you have in your bag, so really stay focused on your game. Gotta think technically because of all of the trees. Its a special moment when you park that one shot next to the pin avoiding all of those obstacles. You can't play this course once, you'll want to come back for more knowing that you can improve somewhere rethinking that one contour on the course. My favorite course...period. Other attractions at Conifer Community Park include a playground, bark park, plenty of hiking trails and even overnight camping facilities. Not that remote, very close to Conifer - good food, gas and lodging.....plus its less that a half hour from the Denver metro area.
Cons: Yes hole #1 is a bit of a hike, but we also have the hole 12 access point. It could be a tough course to navigate in sandals, bring good footwear. I can play the course in a little over an hour and a half alone, but the average player needs to set aside at least 2. Pack in and out all of your trash, so that others can enjoy the natural wonders of Colorado. Concrete Tee pads are in the works and I'm sure another awesome event on the horizon.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking shoes/boots and some warmer gear in the off season. Food, snack and water is also a good idea. This is a small town Community Park - be thoughtful of others using all of the amenities that it has to offer. Often there are other great events and festivals. Also check out our annual tournaments as they are a great fundraiser for the course & park. Be sure to give back to the park/course with a simple donation placed in the box at the course trail entrances. Or you can pay the park caretaker Jon directly.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME DG COURSE

5+    3/30/2013   2/13/2009
Review By: paulrothley@msn.com
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2013
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a true mtn. course. It will force you to use every disc in your bag. The downhills are crazy, and the uphills will bust your lungs. The new starting point by the main lodge, and the addition of the new hole #1, and #2 are a dream come true. No more long walk to get to hole #1. The new Destination Disc Pro-Shop, and Concession stand are an excellent bonus, and the DGer's lounge, fire-pit, and grill are such a cool addition to your DG day. Every tee pad has been re-done in concrete - WOW. This course is well worth the drive to conifer. Bring some cash for the pro-shop, concession stand, and to play, as this is a pay-for-play DG course (a steel at only $5 a day).
Cons:
Hole #1 updated (no walk)- Awesome!!
Concrete tee-pads - Awesome!!
Pro-Shop & Concession Stand - Awesome!!
DG Player "lounge", fire-pit, and grill - Awesome!!
Cons?? What Cons!!
Other Thoughts: This is a manditory Pay-For-Play course, if you "poach" you will be cought by the ranger and asked to leave. It's a steel at $5 per day, just pay it, and enjoy the course that so many have given so much to make possible. Please do NOT litter, and please do NOT be a DG poacher. You should allow 3 hours to play the course.
This area is a DG'ers paradise, you should also play the Phantom Falls DGC, Bucksnort DGC, Magic Meadows DGC, and the Bailey DGC, all within 14 miles of each other. This would be a excellent DG vacation with 5 awesome courses so close together.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course I've played...Hands Down!

5+    10/13/2008   2/13/2009
Review By: mbponiat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Think of every cool hole you've played on courses across the country.....now put them all on the same course! There are gripper n' ripper holes, tight holes, uphill holes, downhill holes, short, long, multiple tees on almost every hole. Also, it's a great workout, great scenery and very well maintained.
Cons: The only con I would say is that it is a mountain course, so you will get a workout. To me, I think this is a HUGE plus. Just bring water and a small snack and anyone young and old will enjoy this course.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been, get there and check it out. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy beautiful colorado while enjoying one of it's great sports, DG!

9 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome mountain course

5+    1/6/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.9 Years
16 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a bit of everything and then some. It's a true mountain course with plenty of elevation change. It offers a variety of shots (tight, wide-open, up, down, forced left, forced right). Heavily wooded with open valley at top of course. Several benches installed throughout course.

This course will test all aspects of your game and requires accurate shot execution to score well.

Several pin positions for virtually every hole. A few holes have multiple tee positions.

Baskets are beautiful PDGA rated Disc-In baskets made locally in CO.
Cons: There is about a 1/2 mile walk to hole 1 but hey, it's a mountain course! It's a good opportunity to get the blood flowing before hole 1. Tee boxes are natural.
Other Thoughts: Course features have not been completed but plans are to complete this summer. Updates will include permanent signage, permanent sponsorship info, and improved tee boxes.

There's a donation box at the Valley Trail trailhead. All proceeds go towards course improvements. This course is NOT funded by Conifer Community Park so all donations are greatly appreciated.

As others have noted, bring plenty of water.

Course can be played in 2-3 hours depending upon size of group. Snow may be present during winter months, especially on north-facing holes. Course is open year round.

Go to www.milehighdiscgolf.org for the latest on course happenings.

16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 The BEST mtn. course close to Denver!!!

5+    11/20/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: J-TRU
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.7 Years
9 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very well maintained mountain. Lots of NEW pine benches aroiund the course to rest on. and a wide variety of shots.(uphill, down hill,narrow gaps, wide open big arm shots...and more)
Cons: The parking lot situation is a joke, you have to park and walk like a half mile to hole one. Does not make for a fun walk back after 20 holes of hiking up and down the course.
Other Thoughts: BE PREPARED!!! This is a great great course if you prepare for it. Wear the right shoes and cloths. Bring extra water and some snacks. this isn't a course you want to rush through. If your not from CO. just know the altitude. the air is thin.

9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic course!

1    8/21/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2009
33 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Where to start on this fantastic course?! One of my favorite courses I've played.

The scenery is absolutely gorgeous. The elevation is huge. The baskets are beautiful custom-made double chain shining silver works of art that are nice and visible from afar. The baskets were numbered and had flags on top enhancing the visibility.

Multiple pin positions on almost every hole should keep things interesting. Four holes have multiple tees with the alternate tee on #8 being a ridiculously tough shot.

The course was easy to navigate and the online map is very well done too. You will do a decent amount of hiking on this course. There's a bathroom at hole #16.
Cons:
Sweet new tee signs installed in July 2009 eliminate the only major con of this course which was the laminated paper tee signs; they looked cheap and temporary. The new signs are awesome.

You will do a decent amount of hiking on this course. It would be nice if something could be done about the long walk between the parking lot and the first/last holes.
Other Thoughts:
The tees are dirt boxes bounded by logs. While this is attractive in a rustic way I wonder about the long term durability and would prefer to see concrete tee pads for playability. (But that would be a lot of concrete to get up a mountain.)

The basket on hole #7 was in the short position when I played, but I would have loved the challenge of trying that long position. That raises the point that the scoring on this course will probably vary widely depending on which pin positions are active. The 'B' pin position on #16 is great, it's a small forest of trees around the basket. The course finishes with two easy and two tough holes to help make or break your round.

This is a fantastic course that I enjoyed playing immensely. If you haven't played it yet add it to your DGCR Wish List now.

33 of 34 people found this review helpful.

 Squeeze Play

1    11/1/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a very beautiful place and is extremely challenging. At the same time it is so much fun to play. As it is a relatively new course the baskets are in great condition. There are multiple pin locations on every hole. I noticed that holes 17 & 20 had two baskets set up so that you could challenge yourself or take it easy. There are a few holes with alternate tees as well. Manditory Objects are well marked and described on the sign by the tees.
Cons: I would venture a guess that it is impossible to play this course without hitting trees all over the place. The tee boxes are dirt and very make shift at this point though I also happen to think that the logs used to mark the tee boxes on most holes adds to the character of the course.
Other Thoughts: I tried playing this course without a map and it was rather tricky. Some of the early tee boxes made me feel like I was throwing from in a hole but I began to view that as a challenge. I nearly lost a disc after hitting a tree on one hole but had help to find it. There is a bit of a walk to the first tee but I thought it was nice. If you want to avoid the walk to the first tee, you can drive up beyond the parking lot where you are supposed to park and find the second trail that you can see on the course map and take that up to hole 11 or 12 and start there.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the mountains

2-4    8/6/2009   10/19/2008
Review By: Fritz
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2009
5 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Great views, some great holes and a great challenge. The pin placements are amazing and they did a good job of making holes that are challenging, but not a clowns mouth.
Cons: Tee pads need work, which is why I can't give this course a 5 rating. When I played the course, I almost rolled my ankle in the soft teepad dirt.
The walk from the parking lot kind of long.
Other Thoughts: Love this course. If you want to play good mountain golf, you must play this course.
But be careful with the natural teepads.

5 of 25 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.