Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 8/2008)
Warning: Bears & Mountain Lions



Reviews: 151
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16
Fun and challenging mountain course

5+    8/16/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course design and this course will require a lot of shot making. A good mix of short ace holes and a few bomber holes. This used to be my favorite course and has potential to be even better than it already is.
Cons: The tee boxes are poorly maintained, who am I kidding they aren't maintained at all.

There's an often less than chipper ranger that will hunt you down for your $3, even if you've already paid he'll want to check.
Other Thoughts: A good course and the design is awesome. However, whoever is collecting the money on this course is NOT putting it back into the course.

I recommend going down the road to Bailey DGC or Mountain Meadows DGP. At both the fees are put directly back into the course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful and challenging

1    8/18/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: joeharker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: great mountain view
very well kept
excellent layout
clear where to find next tee
diverse challenges
from tree dodging, to open long bomb, to crazy elevation challenges
Cons: missing the fairway can cause some brutal rollers down the hills

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course, huge tee pads, great signs that show alt positions, distance and maps. The course has the best variety of shots I've ever seen. Huge distance shots and tight tree shots, huge elevation change. Huge course that makes you feel like your in a different world.
Cons: Theres about a 3/4 of a mile walk to the first tee pad. I would like to see some stairs put in on some of the steeper parts. I really wish they had concrete or rubber tee pads.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've ever played, they just need some practice baskets along the hike in to make it feel a little more accessible.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best Mountain Course

2-4    8/4/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is where its at. Super steep inclines, narrow techincal shots, steep cliffs for your disc to roll down half the mountain on, and just extremely fun in general. The Tees are all well maintained, same with the baskets. Most holes have a bench and tons of shade around to relax as u wait for others to throw. Hole 17 is the long bomber hole even if you go for the Amatuer tee. You will want to empty your bag at it. Same with 20. Coming off the mountain headed back toward hole 1's tee is an amazing site.
Cons: Hole 10!! Dont over throw this hole!! Your disc will disappear off a cliff right at the edge of the tree line and be swallowed by the mountain.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best and toughest course I have played. If you havent checked it out, its time for a road trip!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Mountain Course

1    8/7/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has anything you may want out of a massive mountain course. Given its built on a mountain most holes use that built in challenge accordingly. A lot of short to medium range precision shots using the trees well. 10 has a zip line near the end of the hole. It's an easy roll to get down to where they are but it would be a long overthrown to hit them above the ankles. 17 and 18 were my favorites. 17 is a hillside to hillside shot that is also the longest drive of the day. It has two pins, amateur and pro. The pro pin goes half way up the hill across from the tee. Its a hell of a shot even if you can drive the valley. More to the point the view is phenomenal. 18 is also a great view. Much shorter hole but similar design.

As a whole the course uses the landscape to its advantage extremely well. Great amenities around the course. It has a few holes that clearly have that wow factor and none that fail to fit within the flow of the course.
Cons: The first 3 holes are just straight up. I feel like its nitpicking but its a hell of a way to start a round. Honestly the only reason I felt like this course wasn't a clear 5 was someone wasn't there to offer a short course tour before the round began like Phantom Falls offers, and the 3/4 mile walk into the beginning of the course. The walk there didn't seem nearly as bad as the one back to the trailhead after we finished.
Other Thoughts: Bring water (some of the 4 legged ones as well). Its long and dry. A camera is a good idea too. Other than one hole this course doesn't have a long hole on it, but the 300' holes are challenging enough for most players as they often require very precise shot shaping.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Beaver Belongs In The Top 10!

1    7/12/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2012
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I don't know where to start? The amazingly beautiful mountain scenery. The variety of elevation used with the uphills, downhill and across the mountain throws required. Or the top of the line amenities everywhere on the course. The great wooden benches on most holes complete with sponsors name and business information. Solid tee signs with pictures of the hole and all the other info you need. The alternate tee positions. Only the niftiest bag hangers ever. Not just hangers but custom made bag hangers looking like little bags. The pads are natural and in almost every case were smooth and provided as much run-up as needed.
The scattered pine forrest is just the perfect terrain for a disc golf course. It's lovely, it's easy to find errant throws and it smells just like a pine forrest room air freshner.
There's a wooden shelter built on # 4 to get out of the elements if needed, kind of like a tepee, I guess.
# 10 plays right next to a zipline . Nice to take a break and watch the folks go flying down the mountain on their zipline. Don't overthrow 10 though, you could conk a zipliner before they zipline. They might zipline down the mountain without a zipline! A disc-line!
The 8000' elevation will have you feeling it on some of the climbs especially the first couple of holes.
Cons: The 3/4 mile walk in and out after the grueling 20 holes in not something I was looking forward to. I solved part of that problem by walking up to the road and hitching a ride back to the ranger station.
There are no epic 500'-600' throws here. I'm sure some of the big arms might miss that. I thought # 16, 17 and 20 were all pretty awesome downhill throws. The overall challenge probably isn't here for the advanced to pro player. They might think the course is a little tame.
Other Thoughts: Man, I go back and forth between a 4.5 and a 5 on this course. The long walk-in and walk-out and the over-all challenge concern me. But in the end, if I was I was an advanced player, I'd much rather come here and shoot minus 8 in this spectacular mountain paradise then shoot par at a more challenging course that's not nearly as visually stimulating. I gotta go with 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Conifer / Beaver Ranch

2-4    6/22/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of technical and challenging holes. You don't get a lot of heavily forested holes down in Denver, so this entire course is a treat.

Beautiful environment. Good signs. Benches at every hole. Really a quality experience.
Cons: In a few places, if you put a disc on edge, it might roll hundreds of feet down the mountain!

If had to choose a legitimate con, there were some uneven dirt tees that you could slip on.
Other Thoughts: This course was really fun. I checked it out on a weekday afternoon, and couldn't wait to bring my buddies up here to see it. A totally different experience than the courses in the city.

Some people might consider the steep climbs and occasionally difficult terrain a con, but I think it just adds to the experience. Bring good shoes.

Also, make sure to bring cash to pay for the required daily tags.

Both times I've played have been a blast. Highly recommended.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A little hiking never hurt anyone

1    6/12/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: MapsFly
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.1 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find driving.
For a mountain course there is only a moderate chance of losing a disc.
Scenery is beautiful; most holes follow the broad ridgeline therefore, once you have climbed the ridge (holes 1-2), then the rest is less extreme hiking.
Good mix of hole length, elevation change, fairways, and pin placements.
Nice signage and benches which this course definitely needs to let players rest.
Cons: Tee pads: Natural tee pads; you need concrete to allow the full array of advanced and pro player shot possibilities; it is also a safety issue when grip is insufficient.
The Walk: Flat but long walk from parking lot to beginning and end of the course. Reduce non-course walking in the spirit of having fun and being at your best when playing disc golf. Throwing after a long walk and big uphill on #1 may cause some players not used to mountain courses to be off their game (accuracy and strength).
Death rolls: several steep hills provide an opportunity for long (200 ft.) rollaways.
Other Thoughts: Not all courses can get away with a pay-to-play model, but this course is worth paying to allow the park administrators to continually improve on a great course. Disc golf has grown up with a culture of "free-to-play" but a sustainable model of disc golf as a professional sport will require an increasing number of courses to charge.
I don't recommend flying in the night before from sea level and play Conifer and Phantom Falls in the same day; I had nothing left to give Conifer but it sure was beautiful. To really enjoy the course, I think you need to plan to play it several times over several days.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 I like!

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: vagabond
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. You won't get bored. A lot of tight shots between trees, shots up hill, on side slopes etc. It honestly reminds me a lot of Hanson Hills, in Grayling Michigan which is another excellent course. The terrain and shot variety is very similar. Nice benches at every tee, and good signage.
Cons: Not really any cons to this course in my opinion.. Its not really a "mountain course" It is in the mountains, but its really just built around some hills.
Other Thoughts: Their is a ban on all outdoor burning in Colorado right now, yet I still saw a lot of cigarette butts along the course. WTF is wrong with smokers??

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 conifer

5+    8/20/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: epic course, no roads or people for miles
big throws and big elevation
bring all of your shots
Cons: not for beginners
better be in shape
Other Thoughts: man do i wish we had more of these!!
tough all around course with great scenery, how can you go wrong....well worth the trip in you live in the city

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.