Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #18
3 / 226ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 151
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 6 7 8 9 10 ... 15 16
 

2-4    4/2/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: J-Hits303
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Friendly locations for baskets. Precision shots through groves of trees. Hole #17 is great for bombing discs off the tee pad, bring multiple drivers just for fun. Must play at least once.
Cons: After hole #10 you can easily skip up to #13 if your not paying attention. There is a loose railroad tie on some of the tee pads. On hole #11 i slipped on an unattached shorter tie.
Other Thoughts: breathtaking view.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  beaver ranch in conifer, co

5+    4/1/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: slugwater
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of elevation changes and crafty basket placement. Nice signs and benches on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Played this course on April 1, 2011. The course is in great condition. No snow on any of the tee boxes or fairways. Go get em!

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 One hell of a good time!

1    6/5/2010   3/30/2011
Review By: petsounds85
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: You're in the mountains disc golfing! Plenty of trees, elevation changes, hiking... this course is a real treat- a must play.
Cons: They only complaint I have is how tired my legs and arms were by the end of the day!

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

1    3/10/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: +Great course where you must decide to thread the needle, or go around. Or better yet, can't go around. You must throw straight
+Accuracy is rewarded
+it wasn't very crowded for us, and this course is so large even if their were more people would not have been a problem
+A scenic course and full of smells of pines
+2 600 ft+ holes.
Cons: - It kicked my butt, not a horrible thing. But, your calves will burn
- the .5 mile hike to hole 1, on the walk out I assure you it feels like a mile
Other Thoughts: I think it's worth the drive, one of the best i'v played on. Watch where your discs go, spent 30min looking for two discs... And tip.. DO NOT follow the road, we missed the first 3 holes walking up the road. once you cross the river, tee one is near a wooden bench..

We went and it was icy and hole one was covered in snow. Bring hiking boots, and lots of WATER! Do not skip water folks

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Hilly, and Challenging.

1    3/5/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: skammah
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course set in a hilly and wooded park setting. There seem to be regular upgrades. We passed by a maintenance team today who told us they had just completed up upgrades to the outhouses. All of the tee boxes have nice benches and bag hangers. Even the pictures of the holes posted on this site are out of date. The tee markers have all been updated and are very nice. There are hole maps and photographs of pin location on every tee sign.
There are multiple tee locations at every hole which make for a dynamic course experience.
The course map available in the links/files section of this review page is very good. I downloaded it to my smartphone in case we needed it. The course is so well laid out that we only had to refer to the map once.
Cons: Hilly and challenging. Coming from an elevation of 1000' made the course even more difficult for me. This is not a criticism of the course as much as a warning.
The walk from the parking lot to the fist/last hole is about .5 miles. After a day on the course, this seems much longer.
It can get very windy in the afternoon. Since this course is on the top of a hill, the wind can make for some interesting and exciting flight dynamics. Plan accordingly.
Other Thoughts: We lost a yellow and black Yin/Yang disc in a large wood pile. It probably won't last too long there as there is a scheduled burn planned for next week.
Course takes 2 - 2.5 hours to play all 20 holes.
We played on a Saturday and only saw one other group. However it was cold and windy.
This course will kick your butt. However, you will love it. This course really is phenomenal.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Well designed with technical holes

5+    2/20/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: Hibbz
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Technical course that will use a lot of your shots, has some good "tree" holes that will test your accuracy and head, and holes to show off your long drive. One of my favorite courses I've had the chance to play. I would recommend making a day out of it and throwing a couple rounds.
Cons: the .5 mile walk to the first tee or worse to the parking lot after throwing a couple rounds. But well worth it.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 what a workout

1    11/13/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: chopz33
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
21 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: where to start...played this course on the way back from Seattle to DFW....read lots of good reviews for this course and we were really looking forward to playing it...we played Phantom Falls about an hour before this one. Being from Texas, i was not used to the elevation changes and the weather. It was snowing and almost impossible to get through the first 3 holes. Once to hole 4 the holes begin to level out. However there were still major elevation changes. The views are absolutely amazing. Saw a few locals and they pointed us in the right direction for a few holes, but other that, the course is fairly easy to navigate. There was a rest area that had bathrooms and some picnic tables to rest...take advantage of that...all in all the course is amazing and if you are in the area its a must play. might as well play Phantom Falls after this one...both together are considered the "dirty 50"
Cons: tee boxes we natural and had some fairly worn in divots, so be careful
if your not familar with the course try to print out a map or find a local to point you.
the walk to the first box is a joke. rumor is said that you can drive up to hole 12 and skip the walk
the first 3 holes are bascically uphill
Other Thoughts: if there is snow on the ground, dont throw a white disc
make sure to wear hiking boots and not tennis shoes
overall being from Texas, i wasnt used to the whole mountain course and next time i will be better prepared

21 of 46 people found this review helpful.

  Beaver Ranch is Bomb

5+    10/2/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: weylins disc club
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: The trails are clean and well maintained. They recently added new benches and plaques. the boxes are dirt but well maintained. There is no crowd or wait on week days. Privacy and beautiful weather is abundant. The clean and crisp mountain air makes it easy to throw and helps lifts your mood when you are lucky enough to view the sunset. Stop at the teepee and chill if you are tired.
Cons: On the occasional throw discs can roll all the way down the hill or get stuck in the pines. it is time consuming if you play the whole course. But try to avoid the first three holes if you can, as they are virtually straight uphill.
Other Thoughts: Bring your whole bag of discs as you will want them for hole 17.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 If were smart, you'd play this course

1    10/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tight, Open, elevation changes, very imaginative, easy to navigate, great signs at every hole with distance and multiple placements, beautiful scenery, friendly people, Great variety; You might throw every shot in your bag, very challenging. Even though it's heavily wooded, it's not hard to keep an eye on your disc. Lots of debris from trees on the ground to keep your disc from rolling alllll the way back down the hill. Sometimes you're not so lucky :)
Too many goods things to say about this place.
Cons: The drive to get there??
I guess the only thing I could do without is the strenuous elevation changes. The first two holes will make you want a power nap. But in all honesty it's not that bad. Just tough it out!
Other Thoughts: Look, if you are an intermediate or advanced player, you will love this course, hands down. Beaver Ranch is the epitome of colorado disc golf. In the mountains hiking around, lots of trees and elevation changes. Tight tunnel shots followed by narrow tee offs into wide open meadows. Aspen and Pine trees. Fun Fun FUN!!

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the USA

1    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: thumb
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Unbelievably beautiful... difficult... and strenuous on the body. I am a great hiker, runner, biker. I have climbed 14ers and this course wears me out every time, which is what I like.
Cons: Some silly mandos but I really only hate them because it makes me change my throw.

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 6 7 8 9 10 ... 15 16

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.