Pawhuska, OK 
The Lodge - Island Course Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton   (Taken 5/2009)
A friend we found on the front nine.



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The Lodge = 2 for 2

1    11/29/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another gem on this ranch. Definitely the more fun of the 2. I guess it's the more technical of the 2, but not frustratingly so. Lots of cool looking shots that are fun to throw. Again, I could go on forever about the while scene out there, but this course just adds to the list of reasons to take a trip here.
Cons: Not many. I had a bad round here, but I'm not blaming the course for that.
Other Thoughts: Dont let that island hole fool you, its short but the surrounding water is shoulder deep. Just call and camp here instead of looking for a hotel. Lots of fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

1    6/7/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: utahjap
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots to test your skills. Nice terrain variation as well. Multiple tee locations for the faint of heart.
Cons: Some tees were hard to find, and the stated distance was often misleading. This made navigation much more difficult than the sister course.
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water. I played this one second and was exhausted. It was very hot, though.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not as sweet but still bad ars!

1    10/3/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another beauty on the same land. I dont know if I would have rated this a 4.5 if I played this one first but its still a GREAT course. Once again the elevation here is used just about every place it can be ranging from the fairways to the greens. There are the same shots here as the other course but this side didn't look as well taken care of as the other side. Both courses are very friendly to both lefty and righties. There are good discatchers here and concrete pads as well. The blue tee signs have a picture of the hole but the whites do not. The course is easy to follow as well except hole 7 which is to the left of hole 6 and before you go downhill to hole 8. And if you need help finding the tees look at the painted rungs on the basket and they will lead you to the tee that you are playing. There are some sweet "canyon" shots where you are throwing down cleared tunnels they used to set up telephone lines like hole 9. The island hole is worth every penny. The first thing I thought when I walked up was hole 17 at TPC Sawgrass and after reading the reviews I see I'm not the only one that thought this. Hole 18 is a sweety as mentioned before as well. The 3 sets of tees change it up and playing them all, you can make a day out here.
Cons: The grass was tall in areas. The pond on 17 is nasty and any disc in there is gone. (I have 3 in there because I can honestly say I was scared for a second) Neverr saw the red tees but they say their out there, but I think they would be too short anyways.
Other Thoughts: Man what a great mix of 2 courses. Highly recommended to anyone that lives close or just wants to make a road trip. I went up here on a wim and man was it worth it. Say hey to Jim and thank him for everything. These are 2 of the greatest courses Oklahoma has to offer, and I hope you enjoy them as much as I did. You can camp here and make a whole weekend out of it.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 North-central Oklahoma gem

1    5/24/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.6 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Three sets of tee pads that offer wildly varying degrees of difficulty. Lots of times you'll see a second set of tees that were added as an afterthought; that's not the case here.
- Unique custom tee signs. Signs at both white and blue tees.
- Excellent use of elevation changes while at the same time not offering long hikes between holes. Well laid out in this regard.
- It's hard to put your finger on any one thing, but the piece of land offers a lot of natural beauty. You'll see plenty of wild flowers, rock formations, and lizards sunning themselves.
- Good variety of first shots from the tee. There are a couple of wide open prairie holes, a few intimidating water shots, and a some trees to maneuver around.
- If you're not going to have a map, painting a rung on the basket signifying the next tee is always a good replacement. The Lodge actually takes this one step farther and has a different color of paint on three rungs corresponding to where that color of teepad is. Nice touch.
- Although the course is situated next to highway 99, you'll think you're severely isolated for the vast majority of your round. It was almost a shock to see the highway again near the end of the round. This is as far from a city park course as you're going to find.
- Camping on grounds. Someone had a tent pitched near hole 11 and 12. There was also a camper parked near the entrance.
- I imagine it gets mighty hot here later on in the summer, however there is a fair amount of shade on the course and plenty of flat rocks to relax on.
Cons: - A couple of the teepads could have been better thoughtout. The white teepads on 15 and 17 end with steep dropoffs. The red teepad on 15 appeared to be closed due to erosion underneath the tee (it had a pallet with a red X over the top of it when I played). If you take a second to think about the fall you'll take if your X-Step overshoots the teepad on these holes your shot will be altered. This is a big deal when it means throwing your $15 driver in the drink. If you aren't a pro, you might want to consider teeing off on level ground instead of using the teepad in these cases.
- No water source or restroom that I could find. Make use of the gas station about 5 miles north of the course before playing. I'm betting that the Pro Shop/Lodge that's referenced on their webpage would have taken care of this negative, but it didn't appear to be open when we played on a Sunday morning. I can only judge the course as I found it, so the fact that there were no amenities cost the course a half disc in my rating.
Other Thoughts: - As a RHBH, hole 15 scared the crap out of me. There's a fairway, but if you're even a little off to the left you'll go in the water.
- Hole 17 reminds me a lot of hole 17 at TPC. You ball golfers will know what I'm talking about. It's the kind of hole that won't make your round, but if you go in the water it'll definitely ruin your round. I made the mistake of overshooting it... remember that even from the long tee it's only 185 feet away. A straight throw with your trusty midrange should get on the green easily.
- Hole 18 might have been my favorite on the course. You're throwing over water, but it doesn't really come into play unless you shank your drive. It was a great feeling to make that final walk up the hill and come out near the parking lot after rattling the chains.
- This is a great course, and with another 18 holes on the same site there's no reason not to make the trip here if you live in the midwest. I know that my wife and I will be back at some point to play the other course.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.