Pawhuska, OK 
The Lodge - Island Course Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton Hole #5 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 300ft.   4 / 460ft.   3 / 540ft. Par / Distance:
A nice flat rock to rest on before the 5th hole.



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The Lodge at Taylor Ranch

5+    3/15/2015   3/19/2015
Review By: Avery Jenkins
Played: 632  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: These Disc Golf Courses located at the Lodge at Taylor Ranch are both considered to be the Top 2 courses in the state of Oklahoma.

The Island Course is the original course at the Lodge designed by Oklahoma Pro, Kevin McCoy in 2007. It's experienced a solid break in period throughout the years with the increasing number of players coming through on Disc Golf Road Trips as it's the #4 Top Rank Disc Golf Destination according to DGCourseReview.

It's also been the host to the 2009 Green Country Open PDGA National Tour Event and countless other local events and tournaments. Many of the best players in the US have gotten the opportunity to play these courses as they are conditioning very nicely.

The Island Course offers a solid mix of Open and Wooded Holes as well as some elevation and water on a few of the holes. It's a Pro Level Course that offers long and short tee pads on every hole that makes it adaptable for even recreational skill levels. There's even a few holes with Gold Teepads for extra difficulty on Holes 9 & 18. This course offers many longer and challenging Par 4's that usual take a long drive off the tee and a long upshot from the fairway to the basket. It might be a few longer drives for some players to complete and finish the hole, but don't be intimidated by the length as it's still a very entertaining round of Disc Golf.

It's a very challenging course that's going to test every facet of your game from both backhand to sidearm, you must have both if you want to really score well. The addition of wind which is very prevalent in Oklahoma can kick up the difficulty of this course at least a notch or two.

There's a practice area available with a pair of baskets and a huge driving range to warmup on before starting your round, that's always a plus at any course that you go to.

There is also camping, RV hookups and a Cabin for rent for those players that want to come out to make for a Disc Golf Weekend at the Lodge. Please call (918) 724-3121 for more information and availability.

Hole #17 in which the course is named is very much a resemblance of the Island Hole #17 at TPC Sawgrass, it's a Do or Die (Risk/Reward) Shot that can determine the final score and tournament outcome as players are coming down the stretch to the last hole.

All in all, this course offers a wide variety of holes that challenge even the best in the world but a course that can be dialed back to be sought after by all skill levels that want to play it. These are courses that a little off the beaten path but well worth the drive to have an experience that can't be offered at many of the city park courses, it's a rugged country course at it's best. Come on out and chaco out the Lodge, it's a definitely a course that should be on your Wishlist!
Cons: There is a tremendous amount of work needed to maintain this course throughout the year including the collection of fallen debris and cutting of the grass fairways. This is a big course and lots of manual work is required to keep this course in tip top, playable shape.

Team Jenkins spent several months and countless hours cutting down limbs & trees, clearing away brush and maintaining the beautiful holes out here. I only wish that I was able to put in more time into maintaining these courses because there is always a lot of work to be done.

Very thick rough off the fairways on some of the wooded holes where it's possible to take a shot or two to get back out, keep it in the fairways and you'll be just fine.

Very rough terrain on some of the holes along the back side of the property and the creek...dirt, rocks and possibly snakes. It's going to beat up your plastic if you're not keeping your discs in the fairway and close to the basket.

No bathroom amenities on the courses...yet.
Other Thoughts: These 2 Disc Golf Courses are listed as #1 and #2 in the state of Oklahoma and the Lodge Facility #4 in the Top Ranked Destinations on DGCR: http://www.dgcoursereview.com/top_ranked.php

"Come here once, you're a friend...come here again, you're family" - The Taylor Family

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Oklahoma Gem

1    6/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: Dan Ensor
Played: 56  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I played alone, and had never seen the course before. I never got lost, and never felt the need to walk the holes before playing. There were only 2 throws I would change playing again. It's very easy to navigate. The signs are accurate (other than one pin that had been moved recently) and very helpful.
-There seem to be chairs at every pin! Not benches. Chairs. That you might sit and bs with your friends at for a while, because this place is so beautiful!
-It's private property.
-The "fun factor" was exceptional for me. Lots of hole variety, etc. It punishes errant throws. I was very pleased playing placement golf and scoring just a few over par (I'm 910 rated).
-Peaceful and secluded. Other than the first and last holes, and a couple of holes playing along the highway, I could have forgotten other people existed for the day.
-Well maintained. The rough was rough, but the fairways were prisine.
Cons: The "cons" are barely cons.
-I wish there was a course map available (as I said, though, I had no issues with navigation)
-If you go off the fairway, it can get a little rough. There are some brush piles, etc.
-No other golfers. Seriously ... WTF Oklahomans? Get out and play some good golf! I very much expected to be able to join a group and have a guide, even without making plans with anyone. The more I played, the more I was shocked that wasn't the case.
Other Thoughts: I don't particularly enjoy reviewing courses, but I'm so happy that private courses like these, with wonderful people, wonderful golf, and wonderful scenery, are available, I must say something publicly. I doubt my review is helpful to someone preparing a bag for the course, but hopefully you can see what an amazing time I had here, and what a wonderful place this is even without a golf course.

While trying to find this course, I found two dissenting locations. So I called Jim to ask for directions (after I had missed a few turns). Who ended up being one of the nicest, most helpful people I've ever spoken to. The course is easy to find with proper directions.
I had heard there might be snakes about, so I was very cautious. It certainly looks like a great place for snakes to chill. I never saw a snake, though. I did see several newts/salamanders, turtles, hawks, and my first wild lizard! That alone made the trip a pleasure :) I would make a $5 donation to go on a nature walk here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    9/1/2013   1/1/2014
Review By: dontbl1nk
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with any shot you could ask for. Water hazards, elevation, tight wooded lines, wide open bombers and even a hole on an island in the pond. There are several nice concrete tee pads for each hole for all skill levels. The Taylor family is extremely welcoming. You won't find a better course, or set of courses I should say, anywhere nearby. Plus it's free! (but leave a donation in the box for their hard work)
Cons: no public restroom (although I'm sure the Taylor's would let you use their bathroom) and the location.
Other Thoughts: If you are ever in the area STOP HERE!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome. Worth The Trip

1    10/19/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So much fun
Good concrete tees (on white and blue)
Good tee signs
Multiple tees.
Good for different skill levels
Great baskets
Plenty of parking
Not crowded
Great shot variety
Uses every shot in your bag
Some tight technical, some bombs
Love the rough country
Great views
Pretty well kept
We were there right after a rain. Ground was solid everywhere. No problems
Great workout. Loved the hike
Great use of water
Great elevation changes
Wonderful use of the trees and land/ rocks.
And to top it off: another awesome course on site.

Favorite Hole(s): #3, #6, #8, #15, #17
Every hole was fun in its own right. No repeats
Cons: Need directional signs
Tee signs should have layout
Rough walking between holes (not a big deal for me but you might take a RTV or ATV of some sort)
Could use concrete on the other tees
Just not very many cons
Other Thoughts: We loved this course. Well worth the trip (3.5h drive). This is a must play if you are anywhere near the area. They don't charge a set fee to play, but, any disc golfer should be willing to donate for the priviledge of playing these two courses. Call ahead and camp on site. You are guaranteed to have a blast if you stop in.
You would be well served to have a guide.

All in all this is one of the most fun courses I have ever seen. Would have been a 5 but, I have to reserve that for the "perfect" course with no cons.
If it was only based on fun I would give it a perfect score.

Stop in, you won't regret it. Stay all day for both courses. Or two days, or three...

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Amazingly fun course!!!

1    10/19/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is my very favorite course, without question. The fun factor on this course is just unbelievable!

This course uses water hazards very well. Several holes play around or over water. Hole 17 obviously gets the most attention, but water comes into play on several holes. Hole 17 should get the most attention due to its absolute awesomeness.

A very good mix of length, elevation, and direction makes every hole an adventure. No boring holes here!

Joe the dog!!!! He retrieved several discs for us during the day.

The pads and baskets are in good condition.

Jim let our friend Kenny (our guide) use his Rhyno to save ourselves a lot of walking - the course is huge.

No one else was there, so we had the course to ourselves.

Also liked the practice basket and driving range.
Cons: No amenities.

Signs were inadequate. Only had distance from the pad.
Other Thoughts: A must play for anyone in the area. This course alone is great, but with two courses here it's a no-brainer.
Make sure you contact the Lodge because you will need a guide. Not a course for the weak or disabled. It takes stamina to complete this course!

If I was rating only my experience, it would be a 5+. Outstanding course!!!!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/11/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course while in town and was able to compare it to some of the other Tulsa area courses. One of the things I loved about it was how well elevation was used throughout the 18 holes. Most of Tulsa is much more flat than this and that really sets it apart.
The teepads were excellent with plenty of length and concrete pads for two sets of tees. Some of the ponds were dried up with was a bummer, but there was still plenty of water on the course which added some nice risk/reward for shots. We actually played the white tee's which made for enough length without being brutal for an intermediate player. I still think there is enough challenge to be fun for an advanced player from the whites, but the blues take it to the next level. Tee shots were very thought out and there are some fantastic pin positions.
Navigation was quite easy as there were arrows pointing you wherever you needed to go and the course flow was very logical. I don't recall any spots where people were throwing into each other--the land is large and used well.
Jim is an awesome dude and it is obvious that he and his wife have put a ton of the passion, blood, sweat, and tears into this course which is an incredible blessing.
Cons: Much more than Moccasin Creek, The Island beats you up walking between and during holes. Even though it is the older course, there are plenty of areas that feel like they are "under development" with lots of jagged rocks and spots to roll your ankle, so wear good shoes.
Tee signs left quite a bit to be desired from an information standpoint.
It felt like the course heavily favored lefty's with lots of left to right tee shots, which got a bit old---and it felt like there was a 7 hole stretch where things were a bit redundant in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This course is fantastic and I couldn't be more thrilled to have played it. The island hole was a treat and I always have wanted to play a proper island hole. Lots to love here with just a few gripes, but a no-brainer to play if you are in the Tulsa area. Besides Blackhawk, there aren't any other courses in Tulsa near the caliber of the Lodge. Special thanks to Jim for how accomodating and friendly he was to us.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome variety

1    4/15/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 818  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a great secluded property with lots of fun elevation. Many of the shots play with tricky uphills and fun downhills, with a few cool rollaway greens. Water is definitely in play, with a couple ponds adding some cool looking shots with risk/reward decisions required. The island shot is a very cool green, and with elevation and wind adding to the challenge there's high pucker factor if you go for the island off the tee.

Several of the holes play through tighter woods. There is enough brush off the fairways to punish errant shots, and the lines get pretty technical in spots. There is a good variety of left and right turning shots, and with a great mix of hole lengths you'll need every shot you have to score well.

The white and blue tees have good concrete pads. They offer two very different looks at most holes, with more pinch points, tougher lines and more distance from the longs. The whites often offer easier landing zones on the water shots. The tee signs that were there had hole length, and the ones that were missing were due to a recent storm so I'm sure they'll be replaced.
Cons: Navigation is tricky in a couple spots, though the painted basket spokes usually help quite a bit. The tee signs could use hole layout, there are some blind shots where knowing where to throw off the tee would be helpful. There are some areas with tall grass, especially on the more open holes, I'm not a huge fan of prairie grass as it adds frustration rather than disc golf challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast, and would be worth a stop on it's own, when you add in another phenomenal course on the same property it's worth going out of your way to play here. Beginners might find a fun set of shots from the red tees, though I didn't look at them closely. The whites and blues are pretty tough with some length and lots of tricky water hazards. Experienced players will find some great challenge and variety, the whites are enough to test intermediate to advanced players and the blues will test even the best players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Lodge = 2 for 2

1    11/29/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another gem on this ranch. Definitely the more fun of the 2. I guess it's the more technical of the 2, but not frustratingly so. Lots of cool looking shots that are fun to throw. Again, I could go on forever about the while scene out there, but this course just adds to the list of reasons to take a trip here.
Cons: Not many. I had a bad round here, but I'm not blaming the course for that.
Other Thoughts: Dont let that island hole fool you, its short but the surrounding water is shoulder deep. Just call and camp here instead of looking for a hotel. Lots of fun.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Lodge . . .I'm making another reservation!

1    1/7/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 839  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 3 sets of tees makes this course accessible by all and challenges everyone from any level of play.

2) Signs located in the parking lot to help direct you to each course . . . even though the only time you would be there is when the owners were around and able to help you out . . . still worth mentioning as a positive.

3) Driving range is available along the road . . . it may have been intended for golf but it works for disc golf too!!!

4) Practice basket is always a welcome site on a course.

5) Dual concrete tees on this course . . . plus turf tees for the shorter recreational red tees. This is about all you could ask for.

6) Elevation is used very well on this course . . . not massive peaks and valleys but good rolling elevation changes. There also are a couple mountainous like holes. Any given hole might range from 0-50' of elevation change, but the total course might reach up to 100-200' of elevation change which is pretty good . . . especially for Oklahoma.

7) Some garbage cans available on site to rid yourself of the waste you brought in . .. unfortunately I would much rather see pack in pack out but it just doesnt always happen.

8) You want to practice in the wind . . . well come here. I am sure all of Oklahoma has wind from time ot time . . . but I would surely like to come back there when there is no wind . . . just to se how I would do.One of our rounds it had to be blowing 35 MPH and the other calmed down to about 30 MPH sustained winds.

9) This course reminds of of Bracketts Bluff . . . Ocala Greenway . . . and a few others in terms of the uniqueness of some of the holes. So many courses have holes that could be found all over the country . . . not here these are all pretty unique. Those courses are no slouch to be compared with!!!

10) Incredible property with dropoffs . . . water, elevation, rolling terrain, prairie grasses . . .it has it all in my opinion.

11) Nice dog (JOE) . . . followed us for the first 8 or 9 holes . . . in fact he followed us until the hole where the owners found us . . .It was awesome to meet them and we enjoyed having the dog follow us around.

12) Awesome property owners . . . we spent a total of almost 2 hours with Jim including a brief time with his wife. Jim is such a nice cool guy, he would give you his shirt of his back if you lost yours on the course. His wife is really sweet too.

13) #3 is a classic golf design . . . the redan. . . hole where tees work there way from long to short and it changes the angle of the throw from each tee.

14) Bring all your shots and a multitude of discs so you have all your weapons. You will need everything.

15) Incredible variety in hole distance on the entire course and even on each hole depending on which tee you play. 80' all the way up to 790'.

16) #17 at TPC Sawgrass . . . I am sure this is what everyone thinks when they play this course . . .It's a great risk/reward hole.

17) Clubhouse for big tournaments is an asset and we hung out in Jim's office for quite a while just chatting away. I definitely could see myself coming out for a tournament and spending the entire weekend on the property.

18) Camping available and a cabin for rent . . . what's not to love!

19) Headstone looking tee signs with all the info Hole #, Par, Distance from all tees, but no map. Maps were available on some of the tees on a seperate sign.

20) #15 is a great risk/reward shot with water in play, the slope going down to the water with skips possible. You better execute a good shot here.

21) As beginner friendly as a course like this property can be . . .the shortened holes makes it playable by all, but it still will challenge the beginner.

22) Discatchers in good shape and were the right choice for this property so the yello wband can make them easier to find from some of those tees . . . they could easily get lost and blend in with the rocky outcropping and prairie type grasses.

18)
Cons: 1) Rocky soil in spots can lead to injured ankles if you aren't careful . . . nothing that can be done about this because I am sure the rocks just keep coming to the surface.

2) The course is still a little work in progress and I am sure keeping up with maintenance is tough . . . its a lot of land and it isnt always accessible by trucks and/or equipment.

3) Tough to navigate in a few places . . . more directionals would help in a couple places . . . or more obvious directionals as they may have been hidden in spots.
Other Thoughts: I just cannot find much fault with this course . . . it is rough but it is supposed to be that is the natural land. I would say their maintenance would be the toughest thing to handle and I played it in the off season so it wasn't bad at all, but when everything is growing I could only imagine.

I was so excited to play this course and I was so excited to meet the owner and play a round on the other course with him. He has a long history of the property which makes it all the more fun to play along with him.

I want to give this course a 5 because of just how awesome the disc golf is . . . but I cannot without mention of the maintenance issues on site. They do alot of work it is clear but I can only imagine what it is like when everything is growing. I know the course is a work in progress and if he ever is able to make some money I can imagine the details will be figured out. I dropped him $20 for my wife and I to play and he was thankful, but he also gave me a hat, beer coozy, a disc with his custom stamp on it.

I hope this course can survive and he can make some money on the property because it would be a shame to lose this gem in the middle of Central USA.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

1    6/7/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: utahjap
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots to test your skills. Nice terrain variation as well. Multiple tee locations for the faint of heart.
Cons: Some tees were hard to find, and the stated distance was often misleading. This made navigation much more difficult than the sister course.
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water. I played this one second and was exhausted. It was very hot, though.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.