Disc Golf Store
Phoenix, AZ 
Conocido Park Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac Hole #11 (Taken 12/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Not very safe

1    9/21/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice neighborhood park with well-maintained grass and scattered trees. The limited obstacles are used fairly well to force a couple low ceiling shots and protect a few of the pins. There is a pretty good mix of lengths, with mostly reachable shots and a few longer holes. The tees are concrete and plenty adequate, the baskets are in fine shape.
Cons: The safety issues here are pretty atrocious. The two 9 hole loops play to the same baskets from different directions in different orders. Even within each of the loops there are crossing and overlapping fairways. This course seemed reasonably popular, with 6 groups playing when I visited, meaning that there were discs flying in from random directions unexpectedly.

Navigation isn't very easy without maps, the tees are inconsistently labelled, and with 9 baskets and 18 tees crammed in such a small area along with some long walks past other tees to get to the next hole it can get confusing. The park is pretty flat and open, so there isn't a whole lot of challenge or variety.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the shots here very approachable, though the safety issues will be magnified with less accurate players. More experienced throwers won't find a ton of interesting line shaping challenges, it's mostly just a dangerous birdie fest. I wouldn't bother with this one unless you just want to check a course off your list, it doesn't have a lot going for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/1/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I went during the weekday in the morning. There was only one group there. It was my first time playing the course. It seemed like there was more lineshaping and different throws needed(obviously not to people who play in densly wooded places, but the baskets were placed in a way to make it more of a challenge.
Cons: Luckily there was only one other group on the course today. I can see it getting downright ugly if there are lots of groups on the course at the same time. There are a lot of fairways that cross over each other. A map is helpful for navigation purposes.
Other Thoughts: It was a different course than I am used to. I will come back and play sometime. I don't live close, and I have better courses to choose from. If I am in the area, or if I want to play another round after Buffalo Ridge, I wouldn't hesistate to play it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A better course in the west valley

5+    6/5/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: ejlopez
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What i like about this course is it's the only good course that west of the I-17 and the better one. It's good for beginners as a challenge but It's easy for pros, however it's a challenge for left handers on the 11 and 17th basket.
Cons: It's mostly open and flat. Sometimes it gets really busy on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Overall, i do like this course because it's the only good one that's west of the I-17 freeway. Sometimes it gets busy but if you go during the week when everyone is working, it'll be empty most times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Conocido Park...

1    12/30/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the kind of course I think of when I hear "Park Course". The fairways are grass! And even in the winter, they're fairly green. The course utilizes the few trees it has very well. Many of the pins are protected by trees. Tee pads are concrete and are big enough. Baskets are in very good in conditions and catch well. Hole distances are very beginner friendly. The tee signs were very informative. They showed other tees, trees, all the pin positions. This would be a good course to show a beginner.
Cons: 9 baskets are shared by 18 holes so you can run into some safety issues. There's a few design flaws here. Several crossing fairways. Hole 10 plays to hole 8's basket, so if you have a group behind you, you might be playing toward the same basket. There's some navigation issues to. Sometimes there can be 3 or 4 tee pads near the same basket. Course floods very easily. There's a walking trail that basically becomes a canal after a big rain (which doesn't happen very often) and you have to jump over it several times. There just weren't any special holes. Most of the course is a hyzer (RHBH) shot with a few anhyzer holes. There's not very many long holes which is good for a beginner, but a big arm would get very bored very fast.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a nice neighborhood course, but there's nothing special. When it rains, you can get quite a bit of casual water. There was a group playing in front of me that was really annoying, but they were respectful and let me play through. Then I threw a terrible 250 ft. and they said, "Thats twice what I can throw!"

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quickie in the Park

5+    12/21/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, well maintained park with good signage and great tee pads. The course is in a fairly small park, but the layout has used the space wisely.
Cons: Nothing that you can blame on the course design or layout, moreso just the fact that it's restricted being a small neighborhood park.
Other Thoughts: There are a great group of locals that are at this park all the time. If you're from out of town, you are sure to find someone to give you a tour.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun beginner course

5+    9/28/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Korrupted
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well maintained and is beginner friendly. It seems to always have at least one other golfer there. I see a lot of good players and everyone is really friendly. Can't imagine loosing a disc here, but bring a baseball to retrieve stuck discs in trees. Can play it backwards to make it 18. Multiple hole locations that are changed maybe once a month can change up the difficulty quit a bit.
Cons: This course can be busy everyday of the week. I am a new player and I bring my 7 year old son with me, so sometimes we are overrun with other golfers. Since you can play 18 backyards there can be a lot of cross traffic. Me and a friend played a round of night golf and the park was filled with teenagers hiding in the dark. At one point we had kids on bikes sitting near our basket. Wasn't sure if they were gonna try and grab my light on the basket or our discs as we threw them. During one whole during the day had a teen grab my driver on the fairway and threw it as if it were his. Course can be frustrating with pedestrians that will walk through your tee off, play catch near baskets and walk their dog along the course. The park seems to be more increasingly filled with "Land Mines" from dogs. I had a disc land on some and now I carry hand sanitizer to clean my disc and hands.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course played and I play it 2-3's a week. The first tee is right off the parking lot entrance/street. There are league nights there on Monday and Wednesday afternoons. Fun course to play a quick 9 or 18. There are plenty of trash cans along the course. There is a water fountain near tee one. There is no restroom during the week. But a port a poty is setup in the parking lot by Friday afternoon for the weekend then removed. There is also a nice covered playground next to hole one, so you can let your kids play while you practice your shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Deceptive Park Course

5+    8/20/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 134  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide Open and long. For a arm like mine (350 avg distance) this course plays pretty long when set up in the long position. There is a good mix of left and right holes. Makes best use of the minimal amount of trees. A few Ace runs.
Cons: Park course, so sometimes can be crowded. In the summer the watering schedule is during the morning hours when it's "comfortable" to play.
Other Thoughts: If you have a big arm this course can be an easy course. For those of us with smaller arms, it can play long and leave you with some long up shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and open

5+    9/1/2006   7/22/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.5 Years
Pros: Easy to find and easy to play. Very open. If you want to grip and rip this is the place for you. Local club is in process of planting more trees to make the course more challenging. Good park for rollers. Again the locals are great and easy to approach for assistance finding the back 9.
Cons: Multi use park so sometimes the soccer people get in the way. Course can get really I MEAN really windy. Only 9 holes. No restrooms.
Other Thoughts: Another course I only lived a few miles from and played oftten.

 Flat and grassy

5+    6/29/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally a course in Phoenix with grass! Long open course with good teepads/signs. Baskets are well placed to use either distance or trees to add in the challenge. Practice your long drives here. Seems to be a popular place for disc golf as there were quite a few there when I played and all were friendly and helpful. Park is clean and well kept unlike other courses in the area. The pins are moved on regular basis. Not a whole lot of trees here, but what is there is used to the best of the designers ability to create more of a challenge. If you need a place to throw that new high speed driver, then come here as there are a few longer holes to let them rip. Easy parking right next to first tee.
Cons: Hardly any elevation changes here. Most of the shots are wide open and accuracy just isn't much of a requirement here. Few trees are fairly easy to throw around. Layout is confusing and with shared baskets and fairways, it is difficult at times to play. If it is at all busy, then you have to wait for the other players throwing from the opposit direction or risk hitting others.
Other Thoughts: This course is definately a change of pace then the other courses in the area. Open course that uses what it has to provide the best challenge. Friendly people and a clean environment definately are a plus for this course. Just enough of a challenge and enjoyment that would make me want to come back and play a few more rounds here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/10/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of limited space. Great for rollers. Quite a few fun holes!! #2 is an SOB, but it's cool. Multiple pin locations. There really aren't very many trees on the course, but what trees there are are utilized extremely well. They sure as hell get in my way!!
Cons: Usually windy. This course normally kicks my ass--I guess that would just be a "con" for me!!
Crowded on most days.
Other Thoughts: It is a 9 basket course, but it is set up well. Many of the shots are repetitive, but that is more a reflection on the park then the course designers.
Depending on the pin placements (and wind) this course can range from not too tough, to "Holy crud!! Was my score really that high?"
In Phoenix, I prefer Buffalo Ridge, but Conocido is very nice change of pace.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.