Phoenix, AZ 
Conocido Park Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac Hole #14 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Designed well considering site limitations

1    5/2/2015   5/12/2015
Review By: josephreese
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2015
Pros: This course is located in a large grassy field that is part of a suburban park. Considering the relative lack of space and the scarcity of trees, the course designer did an admirable job of implementing 18 holes. The course has 9 baskets and 18 tee boxes, but everything is arranged to offer different basket protection and challenges.

When I played in May the grass was green and well tended.

Some of the concrete tee boxes were textured for extra grip. See cons for the reason I appreciated this.
Cons: The baskets are not numbered. Even with a course map I would have had a tough time navigating the course without the help of a friendly local player.

Wayward drives are not really punished.

The tee boxes were a bit short, and the worn-out grass at the back of the box made it clear many people start their run-up from off the back of the box. Not a really big deal, but with recent watering the ground was very slick.
Other Thoughts: For a small neighborhood-park course, I thought it was great. If I lived nearby I'd play it often.

Not many forced paths to the basket, which might be a pro or a con you. I was driving terribly when I played the course, so it gave me a chance to work on my approaches, heh.

just an average park

5+    3/9/2015   4/4/2015
Review By: Kilocakes
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty good course to learn or practice on. Lots of birdie chances. Can use different shots but not forced to. Baskets and tee pads are in good shape. Everything is well marked.
Cons: Can get really congested. People will just be walking through the holes all willy nilly. Same for the police, they have been known to drive through the park. No bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: It does get really busy most of the time. There is a league on Wednesdays at 430, great way to learn new things.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ice Up Your Arm But Course Is Short On Challenge!

1    3/15/2015   3/15/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 736  Reviewed: 686  Exp: 37.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Conocido Park is a fairly large, flat, nicely green (at least it's green here in mid-March) city park. There are some scattered mature trees but they provide little in the way of obstacles. The course starts and finishes right at the parking lot. I wouldn't call this park lovely and pristine but then there aren't any signs of vandalism or grafitti. The DGA baskets are fine. Same thing with the signs. There are sometimes four basket positions, A-B-C and D, but no way to really tell which position the basket is currently in. As my partner and I were both playing the course for the first time, we were both often times not sure of which of the many baskets off in the distance we should be throwing at.

Those of you with big arms will like the ops to show off your big guns here as there are plenty of wide open holes of 450-550 feet with little standing in your way.

I was actually get more than a little bored with open 450 foot holes across open lawns when I arrived at # 18. What a revelation for this course! A hole that actually forces you to think about your shot shaping. With 2-3 large trees directly in front of you, anyone with an average type arm (300 foot drive) has to consider an alternative drive on 18. Perhaps a roller! Perhaps an annie! My brain had turned to mush on the first 17 holes!
Cons: The lack of obstacles/imagination/creativity really holds this course back. Too many holes are too similar, that is long, flat with almost nothing think about but grip it and rip it.
The lack of a system to identify which basket position the basket is currently in is a personal peeve of mine. On this course, this could easily be fixed by simply drilling holes on the signs through the A-B-C-D basket letters. Then if the basket is currently in the A position, insert a short screw through the sign with a colored washer on the front of the sign indicating which position the basket is in. The mid-night teenage thugs could only vandalize these if they're carrying a wrench and screwdriver and if they do, simply buy another screw and washer.

My local first time playing partner, Aric, was quite put off by different groups playing to same basket from different directions and also by the crossing fairways. This really didn't bother me a bit as this course is so wide open, you can easily see and avoid anyone or any situation well ahead of time.
Other Thoughts: It's nice to find another green park in the Phoenix area to play. I was more than a little disappointed with the lack of creativity with the design. I realize there is no water, no elevation and not much in the way of trees/bushes. I just wish I could add another 100 feet on my drives when playing here. It might make the experience more rewarding.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

We call it Marconi but anyways...

5+    2/2/2015   2/9/2015
Review By: DaRk CReePs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: At first i didnt care for the layout, but overall this course has helped with my low laser drive game. I've also met some cool people out there.
Cons: The lack of a restroom-pads are wet and slippery in the morning.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Conocido

5+    12/1/2014   2/3/2015
Review By: brooksinphx
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This grassy course is placed smack dab in the middle of an elongated park, and the layout was very well thought out to place 9 baskets with 18 tee pads within it.
This course is regularly monitored by the disc golf community and the baskets are moved in one of three positions monthly or bi-monthly.
The signs have been updated recently, and were in good repair last time I was there.
Baskets are mostly within view at the tee pad, and little guess work is needed.
Some benches are available, and a few trash cans in various locations.
Cons: Because of the layout within the park, each basket is used twice. there might be times where players dont even realize that someone is going for the same basket from another angle.
Some holes tee off on or near walkways and could require players to mind pedestrians more than the usual course.
The City did not place a restroom at the park, at the City is in constant battle with course players that decide to utilize the nearest tree when nature calls.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for beginners and offers a great day of disc golf in Phoenix. get ready for some nice drives.
The City put in a Port-a-Potty for a while, so that curbed people from using the trees. But the City took it away (for reasons unclear) and now the problem is back. Please be respectful of the residents.
Also, there is a soccer field that is OB within the park. Beware that children watching local soccer games have no clue what disc golf is and will most likely think your disc is a frisbee that was left and start playing with it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not very safe

1    9/21/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice neighborhood park with well-maintained grass and scattered trees. The limited obstacles are used fairly well to force a couple low ceiling shots and protect a few of the pins. There is a pretty good mix of lengths, with mostly reachable shots and a few longer holes. The tees are concrete and plenty adequate, the baskets are in fine shape.
Cons: The safety issues here are pretty atrocious. The two 9 hole loops play to the same baskets from different directions in different orders. Even within each of the loops there are crossing and overlapping fairways. This course seemed reasonably popular, with 6 groups playing when I visited, meaning that there were discs flying in from random directions unexpectedly.

Navigation isn't very easy without maps, the tees are inconsistently labelled, and with 9 baskets and 18 tees crammed in such a small area along with some long walks past other tees to get to the next hole it can get confusing. The park is pretty flat and open, so there isn't a whole lot of challenge or variety.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the shots here very approachable, though the safety issues will be magnified with less accurate players. More experienced throwers won't find a ton of interesting line shaping challenges, it's mostly just a dangerous birdie fest. I wouldn't bother with this one unless you just want to check a course off your list, it doesn't have a lot going for it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I went during the weekday in the morning. There was only one group there. It was my first time playing the course. It seemed like there was more lineshaping and different throws needed(obviously not to people who play in densly wooded places, but the baskets were placed in a way to make it more of a challenge.
Cons: Luckily there was only one other group on the course today. I can see it getting downright ugly if there are lots of groups on the course at the same time. There are a lot of fairways that cross over each other. A map is helpful for navigation purposes.
Other Thoughts: It was a different course than I am used to. I will come back and play sometime. I don't live close, and I have better courses to choose from. If I am in the area, or if I want to play another round after Buffalo Ridge, I wouldn't hesistate to play it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A better course in the west valley

5+    6/5/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: ejlopez
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What i like about this course is it's the only good course that west of the I-17 and the better one. It's good for beginners as a challenge but It's easy for pros, however it's a challenge for left handers on the 11 and 17th basket.
Cons: It's mostly open and flat. Sometimes it gets really busy on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Overall, i do like this course because it's the only good one that's west of the I-17 freeway. Sometimes it gets busy but if you go during the week when everyone is working, it'll be empty most times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Conocido Park...

1    12/30/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the kind of course I think of when I hear "Park Course". The fairways are grass! And even in the winter, they're fairly green. The course utilizes the few trees it has very well. Many of the pins are protected by trees. Tee pads are concrete and are big enough. Baskets are in very good in conditions and catch well. Hole distances are very beginner friendly. The tee signs were very informative. They showed other tees, trees, all the pin positions. This would be a good course to show a beginner.
Cons: 9 baskets are shared by 18 holes so you can run into some safety issues. There's a few design flaws here. Several crossing fairways. Hole 10 plays to hole 8's basket, so if you have a group behind you, you might be playing toward the same basket. There's some navigation issues to. Sometimes there can be 3 or 4 tee pads near the same basket. Course floods very easily. There's a walking trail that basically becomes a canal after a big rain (which doesn't happen very often) and you have to jump over it several times. There just weren't any special holes. Most of the course is a hyzer (RHBH) shot with a few anhyzer holes. There's not very many long holes which is good for a beginner, but a big arm would get very bored very fast.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a nice neighborhood course, but there's nothing special. When it rains, you can get quite a bit of casual water. There was a group playing in front of me that was really annoying, but they were respectful and let me play through. Then I threw a terrible 250 ft. and they said, "Thats twice what I can throw!"

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quickie in the Park

5+    12/21/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, well maintained park with good signage and great tee pads. The course is in a fairly small park, but the layout has used the space wisely.
Cons: Nothing that you can blame on the course design or layout, moreso just the fact that it's restricted being a small neighborhood park.
Other Thoughts: There are a great group of locals that are at this park all the time. If you're from out of town, you are sure to find someone to give you a tour.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.