Mount Vernon, WA 
Bakerview Park Share
Uploaded By: Hix375 Hole #7 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Basket is in the small cluster of trees straight ahead



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun little course

5+    5/24/2014   5/31/2014
Review By: Hix375
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short 9 hole course loop, located in local park. nice variety of long and short holes, a few shots with trees to add difficulty. well-maintained. new baskets. new teepads coming soon. impossible to lose a disc. redesign of course is so much better (mostly an expansion on holes 5-9).
Cons: Some holes are a little repetitive, not a lot of difficult shots. no real obstacles. Can sometimes have other park goers on the course with the volley ball and baseball diamonds. if it has rained a lot recently the grass does not drain well and creates a swampy course, BRING WATERPROOF SHOES!
Other Thoughts: The new baskets are great. It does not dry out until about May.
A fun course, great for practice. Also great for new players and kids. easy to play safari disc golf at. when the new teepads come in it will be great and will help when it rains to prevent slipping after teeing off. The park has some small hills and light elevation, most trees are right around baskets.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Local, introductory course

2-4    3/2/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: kidtree
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Real baskets! Bakerview has been upgraded with real baskets, the 4x4 posts a thing of the past. Bakerview is handy for the locals and easy for kids or beginners. If you have a friend or a kid who can toss a Frisbee, this is a beginner-friendly place to introduce him/her to disc golf.
Cons: Wet. Downright soggy in winter, even several days after the last rain. Seriously consider wearing boots until Summer is in full swing. No tees, as of March, 2014, just laminated paper signs staked in the soggy grass.
Other Thoughts: If Skagit County was thick with excellent disc golf courses, this one could fade away, but that's not the case. Locals need a place to play, and this one is within easy bicycling distance for a lot of kids and adults. If you're on a road trip on Interstate 5 and due for a break, pull off at the College Way exit, grab some grub, and scoot east a couple of miles for a picnic and a quick fix for your disc golfing habit.
When you have the time and the arm for something more serious, NSRA is just a dozen miles or so away, east of Sedro Woolley.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I guess if I lived here...

1    9/23/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: b-mart
Played: 44  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: When I first played here (and wrote a review), it was a fun little pole course. The flow was simple, it was a great course to introduce beginners, and the 9 post was right by the tee for 1. There was a lot of potential here and it was a great community disc golf course (albeit too easy for most).

Fast forward to today. They've done a redesign, done away with the poles, and brought in real baskets. The redesign is the biggest pro. Gone are the stupidly easy holes like number 5, which was about 80' and downhill. It was fun to play just for the laughs, but that was about it. Now they've lengthened the course and made it more enjoyable for anyone better than a rec level player.

Cons: Unfortunately, the redesign is incomplete and this really cripples the course. I'll gladly raise my rating when they're done, but as it is now it's nearly unplayable. On this site it states that the course is "well marked". This statement is outdated. The old layout was well marked. The new one isn't marked at all. Some of the baskets have number plates, but the majority of them are blank. The only markings are tape on each basket that points to absolutely nothing. Add in the fact that this site doesn't even have a map available, and you wind up having a bunch of baskets randomly strewn throughout a field.


Other Thoughts: This course still has potential. It will never be anything like it's big brother up the street in Sedro Woolley, but it will be a great place for mid and putter practice as well as a place to introduce new players. And of course you can warm up here on your way to Sedro. It's also a good place to stretch your legs between Seattle and points north. But as it stands now, it's only a safari course. That's great for local players, but as a destination it falls far short.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

There is hope

5+    7/21/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: jawildey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No chance of losing a disc here. If you're tired of digging your discs out of the blackberry bushes in Sedro Woolley, come here to practice your short game. The course makes decent use of natural obstacles to add some interest. Can also be a good spot to do some safari golfing (ie. make up your own tee off locations) since there aren't any tee pads anyway. Also, nice place to see if you can get that illusive Ace.
Cons: No tee pads and posts instead of baskets.
Other Thoughts: Rumor has it that baskets and tee pads are in the works. Hope to see some upgrades as well as a better layout by end of the year.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/8/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a family friendly and fun little course. Great use of some extra space. The fairways are clean and grassy, with no underbrush, with some trees and stumps for obstacles.
Cons: As others have stated, there are no tee boxes, and no baskets, only posts. It is short, and can be played rather quickly.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a standard DGC, this is not the place for you. If you want to get some "pitch and putt" in, and have some fun, then this is a great place to do it!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Something Other than a Post

1    8/19/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: richey.kyle.i
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Perfect for teaching little kids how to play disc golf.
One of the holes is actually pretty tactical.
Cons: The longest hole is 120 feet.
You are throwing at posts and not baskets.
There is no direction to find the first post
No T-Pads
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to practice putting. Also fun to play as fast as you can with your friends to see who can finish all 9 the fastest.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhhh...

5+    1/3/2012   1/3/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great to introduce a player to the game
Big fields to toss in
Cons: Short
Muddy
Weak pins, chains are really the only way for me.
No real genuine disc golf experiance to be had here . You could easily put up sticks at a park and make a better course.
Other Thoughts: A baby course with no real authentic experaince to be had....wish it wernt so!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet?

1    8/13/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 95  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - ACE RUNS!
- Interesting pin placements
- Well maintained park
- Good place for beginners
Cons: - No baskets, only wooden posts
- No teepads
- Not very challenging
Other Thoughts: Bakerview Park Disc Golf Course doesn't really have a whole lot to write home about. 10 posts make up the course as they double as both teepads and targets. All except two holes are under 250ft and require minimal line shaping to shoot well. It is a fun place to take some psuedo ace runs, yet, hitting a post just isn't as cool as smashing chains from the tee pad.

If you are looking for a serious round of disc golf, this is not the place. There is fun to be had if you are introducing a beginner to the game or playing a (very) casual round with a goofy bunch, but in order for this course to get rated higher it would need a complete overhaul. It is worth the experience once if you are in the area and must play disc golf. Otherwise I would skip it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ok if you live REALLY close.

2-4    10/19/2010   6/19/2011
Review By: Dadio
Played: 74  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Park, well maintained. Course easy to follow. Designers make ok use terrain and trees.
Cons: Very short, no tees or baskets. Wet grass sux to tee off from.
Other Thoughts: My Mom lives in Skagit Valley, and I will go practice in a field and pick random trees to throw at rather than drive here. Good example of what you can do with limited money and space @ a local park but if I'm going to drive I'll go to Sedro Woolley.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I want more post courses!

2-4    6/19/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: DubsAndDiscs
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great layout and variety of holes here! It's the 1st pole course I've played since I've been spoiled by the 4 great courses near my home. Since I was just down the road and needed to kill some time, I took the 2 mile detour to check this course out and I'm glad I did. Beginning and ending with par 4s, with a nice, tricky par 3s and a short par 2 in the middle, I liked the course so much I went another round right away. Why complain about no teepads and baskets? You'd only get maybe 3 holes max in this amount of space - the only thing you're missing is being able to throw a 300ft bomb... Taken for what it is, essentially the approach and putt part of DG, it was a great little course. If you click the link for the local club, you'll also find an alternate course listed, but if you're out there alone you can really choose to throw at any post from anywhere you'd like and have dozens of choices. You could start at #1 (or #9 or #2) and throw to, then back from, each of the posts and have a nice 18 - there are so many options with this course!
Cons: This course isn't close to where I live! I'd love to work on my short game on a course like this if I could. I can see problem if there's ball games going on nearby, or a family reunion taking place on #9, but sometimes you gotta share...
Other Thoughts: It's a shame there's so many who bad-mouth little courses like this, especially since there are 1000s of parks out there that are capable of hosting a course like this, compared to a small percentage that could accommodate a basket course. Also, for the cost of ONE basket and teepad you can put 18 posts in the ground in just about any moderately sized park ( or 9 in two different small parks). I'd love to see alot more DG courses out there, of any size, and if more were willing to accept posts, you probably would have them. I'm inspired now! I may have to get proactive and try and get a course going around here....

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.