Mount Vernon, WA 
Bakerview Park Share
Uploaded By: Hix375 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Basket is straight and to the right underneath some trees



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Small simple Course

1    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Ewb46
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean with no litter.
little to no obstacles
No chance at loosing a disc.
Cons: Very short course. No baskets
Several holes that were less then 50'
Did I mention you are throwing at posts rather then baskets.
Other Thoughts: Although this course is short it is nice to have to work on some fundamentals, and would be a good course to take a newbie or younger kids to learn how to throw the disc. I was working a job in Mt Vernon so I was in the town to play. Although I would not suggest going out of your way to play this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but short

1    3/17/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This DGC is in a very clean park in a very nice area. Finding the next hole is easy and fast. Not crowded at all.
Cons: First off it doesn't have baskets which is a drag. Some of the holes have good length, about 200-250 feet or so but most of them are around 50 feet, yes feet not yards.
Other Thoughts: In a quiet area with lots of parking and in a wonderful park but your throwing at wood posts. It has too many holes that are really, really short and it's not far from the course in Sedro Wooley, so I would recommend going there instead, but if you want to get the whole family out and play this is a easy walk for everyone and the park is in great shape.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quick stop on the tour

1    5/5/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was easy to follow, once you found the first hole. Not crowded today (of course it was a Tuesday in May around 1pm). NO chance of losing any plastic.
Cons: Short, post hole course. If you have nothing else to do and wanna practice your pitch and putt stuff for 20-30 minutes, worth stopping by, I suppose.
Other Thoughts: As I am currently trying to work my way through all the Washington state courses, felt I should stop by and play a round, and it was quick and painless, at least. The course isn't as short as it appears from looking at the printed out scorecard. It shows hole distances in YARDS and not feet, so if you are expecting a 29 foot hole, its not quite as bad as you might have first thought. I updated the hole distances on this site with the correct distances, in feet.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bakerview Park

1    1/16/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful city of Mount Vernon, this multi-use park has plenty to do including multiple baseball fields, sand volleyball courts, and BBQ pits which are perfect for picnicing. Bakerview Park offers easily accessable bathrooms, parking, and plenty of grass to lay out on.

Bakerview Park DGC offers a 9 hole object course that is easy to follow, and allows you to start and end near the parking lot. The posts are labeled including distance which is nice when wanting to knonw how far you will need to throw your putter!!! The course is perfect for children and novice players, or.....someone who wants to get some short range practice while waiting for their child to finish up little league practice at the ballpark.

Cons: There were several things I had issues with on this course starting with the fact that hole 9's post was lying on the ground rather then being stuck in the ground. Being that it is a multi-use park, the course is almost impossible to play all the way through in spring and summer because of all the other sports that are played here (including all those who are lying out or having a picnic). The DGC has no distinct teepads and most of the holes range anywhere from 40 feet (about 5 of the holes) to just about 200 feet (2) leaving the other 2 somewhere in between with very few obstacles along the way.

I appreciate the effort that went in to this course but feel a redesign of this nine hole course including baskets and "official" teepads would truely help this course.
Other Thoughts: Rather than waste your time here I would highly recommend skipping it, and go play NSRA DGC in Sedro Wooley or Mossy Roc DGC in Bellingham just 20 minutes away. Both of those courses are much more challenging, and truely give you a taste of what NW DGing is all about!

I have heard that there could possibly be a redesign of this course in the making, including teepads and baskets but due to this sinking economy those plans were put on hold. I do hope that they pick up where they left off so that the city of Mount Vernon as well as all traveling DGers could benefit from it. Only time will tell I guess. For now I would just keep your head down and keep driving past Mount Vernon to play some real disc golf.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bring On The Baskets!

1    10/10/2008   10/11/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a nice, clean, little city park with volleyball courts, ballfields and soccer fields. The section where the course is slightly away from other activities. There is enough room here to squeeze in a 9 basket pitch and putt course. Instead, there is a miniscule pole hole course with holes ranging from 60 to maybe 200 feet. The signs on the poles give the distance in yards. For you math majors, multiply by three to get the normally accepted disc golf distances in feet. You can play a round in under 15 minutes but who would really care to.
Cons: There are no baskets. There are no tee pads. There are almost certainly no players.
Other Thoughts: Notice to Mt. Vernon Parks and Recreation Department officials. Spring for some baskets. Rough out some basic teepads and you would have a decent little 9 hole pitch and putt here.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not Worth the effort

3/20/2008   3/20/2008
Review By: sk8architecture
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The grass is nice! So are the trees!
Cons: 9 holes and I believe the average hole length is 20 yards or so!!!!! Just bring the putter for this one.
Other Thoughts: Not worth driving to, even if you live in Mount Vernon. Its a nice Park but the course needs a major overhaul. However the city of Mount Vernon might better serve to have a course somewhere else. Disc Golfers unite and lets get a course somewhere in town.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.