Lexington, VA 
Washington and Lee University Share
Uploaded By: Ryan P. Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
-- / --   3 / 337ft.   4 / 547ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Blue Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice little course

1    12/28/2013   12/28/2013
Review By: skidtank
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of open vs wooded holes. There is a basket for each hole. Fair challenge from white tees for average golfer. Most holes could be birdied with the right drive.
Cons: Lot of underbrush. Needs direction signs to next tee.
Other Thoughts: Course needs to be played more.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun stuff

1    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: Chris Carpenter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 9/25/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice variety of holes- open to tightly wooded
-Nice signs in good condition
-Course map available near first tee
Cons: -Some holes get rather close to buildings, practice fields, and W&L facilities and occasionally cross roads.
-Some holes are sorta difficult to find
-Woods holes can get a little overgrown in spots
-No ladies tees
Other Thoughts: Overall fun and interesting. All 18 holes now have their own individual permanent basket.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: Dudly
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: -surprisingly fun short course (12 holes)
-mostly easy to follow path through the course with good signage.
-two sets of tee pads, nice variety as a result
-nice mix between wooded and open
-the wooded holes will force you to work on accuracy, and most likely, recovery shots
-walking distance, from downtown Lexington and a couple minutes off of I-81
Cons: -dirt tee pads, not really that bad overall, with the exception of hole 3 which is on a gravel road that has rocks about the size of child's fist. It's also one of the longer holes so it's a bummer to have to worry about footing.
-some of the wooded holes are under 200 ft, I'd almost say 4, 5, 7 should be par 2s, though I don't mind the birdies...
-if you're new to the course it isn't obvious where hole 9 is after you finish 8. You have to walk behind the baseball diamond, cross a parking lot, and look around in the pine grove for the sign and tee pad.
-the W&L baseball team warms up in the field the hole 2 & 8 use, if they're there it's hard to play either hole. At least one guy on the '11 team is a smart ass.
-only 12 holes, I've only played the course in this format but it seems like there's plenty of land for another 6. Don't want to be overly critical though because it sounds like the course was shaved down to 12 from 18 and it was an improvement.
-hole 6 grows some intense knee level ground cover during the warm months, spotter required
Other Thoughts: I travel to Lexington on a weekly basis for work and this course is a nice active lunch break. It isn't perfect or incredibly groomed but it is fun to play and I'm glad it's there.

 

1    6/18/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
Pros: I never played the course before they changed the design, but based on reading previous reviews, I would say that the designers took the suggestions to heart and greatly improved the course. As of June 2011, the course has 12 holes, each clearly marked with a sign showing the location of the blue and white tees and the basket. Also, each basket has a blue stripe of paint on it pointing the way to the next hole. Most holes are fairly easy and straight forward, while some offer a challenge. It is a great course for beginners on the white tees while offering a nice challenge for experienced players on the blue tees.
Cons: The tee boxes are still just wood markers and sometimes gravel. A couple holes in the woods are overgrown during the summer, making for a difficult search for your disc, even with a good throw. The fairways in the woods could use some maintenance.
Other Thoughts: Overall an enjoyable course. There is a course map at the beginning of the course which is also a plus!

 NEW COURSE DESIGN 2012

5+    12/12/2012   11/22/2010
Review By: outingclub
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/12/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some great new holes back in the woods and the long ones by the historical Liberty Hall Ruins are back. Have replaced most of the temporary baskets with permanant ones.
Cons: During the summer months it is still pretty high with grass in the woods- we are working on it.

Natural tee pads
Other Thoughts: Some difficult holese designed by Terry West...come try them. Phase 4 of a 5 phase project here on campus....

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 oasis

1    5/1/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: devious_imp
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lots of potential aces, its disc golf
Cons: not easy to navigate. course overlaps overflow parking for sporting events
Other Thoughts: along with the other reviews, we played this when there was a party at the house by the entrance as well as during a lacrosse game. several of the fairways (12,14,15,16) were all being used as parking lots which made for some very dangerous shots.
Many of the baskets are portable and seem to be arbitrarily place. hole 6 is less than 3 feet from a gravel road in the brush. Nothing cleared around it. several other holes were set up the same way, weeds grown up around them. hole 15 especially there is a nice mowed lawn, and the basket is 4 feet into a thick weedy field. definitely take a map, and hopefully run into the guy who designed it to get you through the back nine. also watch out for cars and buildings.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Where 13 equals 18

1    4/11/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Wide variety of distances, ranging from #17 at 145' to #7 coming in at 516', average being about 260'.

Nice views of mountains from basket 13/16 and nearby.
Cons:
Thirteen unmarked mobile baskets serve eighteen tees. Holes 2+9, 3+7, 10+18, 11+17, 13+16 share a basket. Holes 1+2, 4+5, 6+7, 14/15+16 share crossing/same fairways.

Grass tees marked by two small concrete squares, listing hole number and distance.

Several holes play near buildings and/or parking lots. Front nine feels very jammed in at places.

Long walk from #16 to #17. Mostly flat course.
Other Thoughts:
Map/scorecard at http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../2f41ad80.pdf proved very useful in navigating the course. Note that the building pictured in the lower left of the front nine is the same building barely seen in the upper right corner of the back nine.

If you enter the campus from the entrance all the way at the top of the hill (about 1/2 mile past the main entrance), the course is easier to find, and will be on your left.

Seasonal/random obstacles, such as trailer hitches and mounds of mulch! :-)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 needs a lots of organization

1    10/19/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 437  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2008
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has some baskets
Cons: baskets not numbered, Fairways cross, use the same basket for multiple holes, tees really close to baskets.
Other Thoughts: I fumbled my way through the first couple holes because there are no maps or numbers on the baskets so it's kinda a guess. I couldn't find threes basket because i think the distance was deceiving. then got to a field that had a bunch of crossing fairways and shared baskets. Luckily i ran into someone that had played the course and informed me of the shared baskets, and kinda drew me a map. I found the tees to be to close to the baskets of the last hole and often times in the way of the basket because of the sharing factor.I think this course has a ton of potential but they need to get on the same page and revisit the layout.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.