Fayetteville, GA
McCurry Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #10 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good course!

1    3/14/2014   3/17/2014
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very good disc golf course. It plays fairly long and has a good mix of wooded and open holes. In my opinion, the back 9 has a more creative hole design (wooded, open, elevation changes… etc) than the front 9.
Cons: This course probably deserves a rating of 4/5… but on several holes we stumbled around trying to follow the map by the tee pad only to realize that the baskets were mislabeled. I'm guessing this course has been recently redesigned but someone needs to go through and match up each basket with its correct number. A few locals also told us that there was a map of the course layout near hole 1 but we could not find it.
Other Thoughts: We are not locals.. we were just passing through the Atlanta area. We would definitely play this course again next time we are in town.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 McCurry in a hurry

1    1/1/2012   1/1/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 193  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: McCurry park has an expansive 18 hole disc golf course that makes nice use of available space around a community park. Starts with two wooded holes with skinny fairways, opens up with some longer driving holes for a while, and a few more wooded fairways are sprinkled in the back nine. The often present pine straw makes for big skips or weird bounces. The long holes tend to have open fairways, and shorter as the density of the woods increases. I got a couple of birds, but left some shots out there on bad approaches and putting in (or out of) the wind. Some moderate elevation changes add flavor on several holes.

Overall a fun course with nice tee boxes and baskets, signs with a bag hook on the long boxes. Most holes had a shorter pin as well. I think there was a total of 4 mandos on the course, none of them too imposing. Multiple restrooms, and pavilions with trash cans.
Cons: There are trails where occasionally pedestrians will cause delays. Some of the holes were wide open crush drives, overkill for new players. The layout was a little funky, but not too bad. Creek is on boundaries or crossing fairways on a few holes, careful not to splash your plastic in the trenches, I got one O.B. penalty.
Other Thoughts: A good course well worth the visit, but not an instant favorite. There is nice terrain and trees, with a challenging course that got the best of me on a couple of spots, but I got a few good shots in for sure. Had a good time, the first round of New Years day, and was joined by two locals who were relatively new to the game, and nice enough to join us around the fourth hole and guide the remainder of the round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix

1    4/22/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with some nice elevation changes. There are a couple holes with steep hills, otherwise most of the holes use the rolling hills well to add a little challenge. There's a nice mix of holes that play through mature trees and more open shots. Most of the wooded holes don't have much underbrush, but there are enough trees that you have to be a little creative to recover if you miss your line. There is plenty of length here, with long open holes and some long holes through the trees, but there are also a few shorter holes mixed in for variety.

Though there are a lot of open holes, you'll need to shape some different lines through the trees to score well. The tighter holes have a nice balance of left and right turning holes. The concrete long tees are in nice shape, and have good tee signs with hole distance and layout. It seemed like the alternate basket positions would change up some of the holes nicely, I don't know how often they're moved.
Cons: The course plays a little too open for my tastes. I like a little more punishment for errant shots and fewer grip n rip holes. There are some safety issues here, with walking paths and pavilions in play on several holes. The current pin positions aren't indicated, so you don't always know the location or distance, a little frustrating on some of the longer holes. The short tees were natural and not in great shape. They weren't well marked, so I doubt they get much play, too bad since they make the course much more approachable for newer players.
Other Thoughts: There are some nice holes here, and it's always fun to have a chance to open up and throw some drives. I would have liked to see more wooded holes, and it would be nice if the layout could have avoided some of the other park uses. Beginners will find the course pretty long, though the lack of thick rough makes it less frustrating. More experienced players will need to accurately place long drives to score well, and you'll need to capitalize on the shorter technical holes for your birdies.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course with some flaws

1    7/4/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is in an enormous, beautiful park. The grounds are maintained well and it's a great walk through lots and lots of tall Georgia pines. There is very little schule and almost no chance of losing a disc.

The track is a very solid blue level, par 58 challenge. There's good variety in the holes in length and shape. A decent amount of elevation change comes into play as well.

A few of the holes are very, very good. Hole 8 is a solid short par 4 at around 550 ft. The ideal tee shot hugs the OB creek on the right to set up for a 200-ish straight tunnel second shot, while playing a more conservative line off the tee leaves a slightly longer, more obstructed second shot.

The cement blue tees, baskets and tee signs are in good repair.
Cons: The routing could be better. The course does not loop back to the parking area after 9 holes, even though it would have been easy to design it that way. The course needs "next tee" signs at many points. Courses need to be designed and have adequate signage for first time players to be able to navigate them easily.

Most of the holes have two pin placements, but it is difficult to tell from the tee which placement they are in and the distance must be guessed on many occasions.

The course has several significant safety concerns. One shot (hole 4?) is a big drive off a hill that crosses a park road with a blind spot. Several holes are too tight on park pavilions, particularly with the chance for tree deflections. Hole 7 features a long, open tee shot over the crest of a hill to an area adjacent to a park pavilion that is used by families playing soccer, etc.

There is a set of red "tees" that are natural and marked with cement blocks. The short tees are appropriate for the majority of course users and the longs are appropriate for the minority of course users. If the budget only allows for one set of tees, the shorts should receive the cement and the longs should be natural.
Other Thoughts: I greatly enjoyed the beauty and challenge of this course, but was frustrated by the routing and safety issues mentioned above.

The course is pretty far (about 30 minutes) from I-75. May not be the best for a "quickie" on a road trip.

Don't be a dirty discer! Leave the course cleaner than you found it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 McCurry Park

1    5/15/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: rocinron
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mixture of open and wooded holes, course flows nicely, and for the most part, the par 4's were legitimate. Baskets and teepads were all in good condition. Park was maintained very well.
Cons: lots of pedestrians, but thats to be expected anyways. pin locators on tee signs for the current positions could be useful for first timers.
Other Thoughts: I may put this course in my top 10 of courses played.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course

1    10/22/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Psalman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the best layout I've played so far. The designer obviously knows what he's doing.

To score well requires a good arm and a good assortment of shots and discs.
Cons: The course is being remodled. Several tee boxes and pins have been moved. The upgrades will be nice when they are done, but it can be frustrating trying to find the next hole since the map is outdated espeicially when the tee box is marked by a 1 foot tall stake.

There is a lot of non disc golf pedestrian traffic. Old people walk SLOW!!!!

I won't complain too much about their shortcoming, because I'm hopeful the remodeling will fix this. Stay tuned.
Other Thoughts: I created an updated scorecard and course map. Until the remodel is complete, who knows what it will look like, but for now it will help find your way around. #2,6,9&11 are being significantly changed.

#2 is the Golfers Hole from Hell. There is absotely no way through the trees. IMO, skip it and give yourself par.

#4 has an amazing elevated tee shot.

#6 has an elevated green that makes the approach shot challenging and fun.

#10 has a pin hidden behind a fence and some trees and is very nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long fun course

1    3/30/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 88  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a long challengeing course. The big arms will love this course. Very good mixture of both open and wooded holes. Also a nice mixture of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Some holes required a choice of between multiple lines possible. While being long this course also requires the ability to shape shots.
There is not a lot of elevation change available here but maximum use was made of what is there. A small creek comes into play on a couple of holes and some side hill lies are used. It will take skill to score well here. The tee signs and white plastic poles were nice and stood out well. The bag hooks were a nice touch also.
The park itself is very nice with restrooms close by and they are large enough to change clothes in comfortably. Park is well maintained, I saw the marshal three times while playing so it should be very safe. The park was extreemly clean, the only trash I saw was by the walking path not on the disc course. I especially liked the swings as benches. I saw a few alternate tee boxs spray painted on some holes. This may or may not signal a perminate change. These would be welcome to newer players that do not have the distance this course requires.
Cons: Some holes cross walkways and even the road in one case, be carefull.
Without a map it was a little difficult navigateing some of the holes. Direction arrows to next tee would be helpfull. The tee signs did not seem to have any convention as to the direction they faced. This caused some confusion finding some baskets. It took me a while to find the basket for hole #8.
The tees were all natural but this did not cause me any trouble inspite of all the receint rains.
Other Thoughts: This park is a multiple use facility. so you will encounter other people. There were very few people there when I played. However, I can see this park being very busy on the weekends.
Others have noted the tight nature of holes #1 and #2, I did not see these as problems. Both are difficult holes but I though playable.
This course is definitely geared to experienced players and will challenge all that play it.
Play this course if you have the oppertunity! I hope to come back.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/9/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There is a good mix of short, long, wooded and open holes.
-Fairly easy to navigate with a map, and all tees were clearly marked with signs and maps. Parking is close and very available.
-My favorite hole was #8 (Tight hole even without leaves on the trees)
-Most of the holes were decent distance. I really enjoyed cocking back and just letting it fly on a few holes (#12).
-A few of the holes were straight shooters (Like #13) which is a challenge my home course doesn't offer (I really put my new Champion Beast to work- held those lines great).
-Not too many options for high hyzers or Hammers, I was forced to work on technique.
Cons: -Dirt Tee Pads, were not too bad, but I can imagine they would be rough during a rain.
-Somewhat of an issue finding hole #1 once I got into the park.
-As other reviewers have stated Holes #1 and #2 are ridiculous (#2 especially). No fairways or approach shots to be seen.
-The basket was missing on Hole #12 (Just a pile of Sticks with the receiver). I walked up and down the fairway for 5 minutes to find it. This is a potential ace hole that really needs the basket back.
-Lots of Walkers and Runners! An issue on holes #10 and #11. I eventually just threw and yelled fore.
-Signs are oriented differently on each hole. Typically when you are facing the sign you are looking down the fairway.
-Flow from hole to hole was not obvious, but the signs are clear.
Other Thoughts: I played better on the back nine than the front. I think the front is long and open (With the exception of #1 and #2) but with wind it can be a challenge to get close enough for makable birdie putts. I did enjoy the course and my arm didn't hurt as bad as after JP Moseley. I look forward to playing with leaves on the trees.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 McCurry Park

1    9/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course, just about every type of hole you can think of. Lots of power needed to score well on this course. Not very beginner friendly, a good variety of wooded and open holes. Lots of elevation changes. Very well maintained park, but can be busy at times. They have park security that patrols the area so it seems like a pretty safe park.Good signs at every tee that shows the lay out of the hole, as seen in the pics. They do have maps provided by Play it Again Sports. Great course to work on your distance and with some tailwinds you can really get some good distance.
Cons: Very hard to navigate unless you are playing with someone who has played there before. The first 2 holes are in my opinion the worst holes on the course, they are very wooded with no fairways and are very difficult to find. A map is definitely needed to play this course. Since it is a multi use park there is a lot of traffic, especially with picnickers that seem like they are everywhere. Has dirt tees which everyone who has played knows that they always aren't in usable shape.
Other Thoughts: Very good course, a must play if you are in the metro ATL area! Just watch out for other people on the course and watch out for cars as some holes play along a pretty busy road.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 long, some hills and OB

1    11/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and tough in the wind. Some big hills to shoot off and one basket on a slant. Rollers can be used. Well mowed and clean. Well marked- tee signs large and nice, maps in box and online. Doesn't interfere with other park users too much. Some tight and long holes in the beginning and end make good practice for powerful accuracy shots. The large more open holes allow everyone to wail on a disc so it's fun. Some OB.
Cons: -Dirt tees
-Hole #2
-Nothing else really
Other Thoughts: -Needs cement/gravel/rubber tees and supposedly eventually will.
-Hole #2 needs a complete re-design as it's pointless and without a fairway.

Definitely a must-play in the ATL metro.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.