Fayetteville, GA 
McCurry Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #11 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee: Short pin position



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very fun course

5+    1/3/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of heavily wooded and open holes. Many elevation changes and some challenging mandos/ob's. Mainly well manicured and the locals are usually quite helpful if you need direction.
Cons: Plays very long for beginners on the front 9, but not too bad. This is a park of many uses so be mindful of the pedestrians and people attending sporting events.

The area around the football field gets filthy after games, occasionally spoiling the look of the normally excellent park.
Other Thoughts: Starts out with a couple of short and heavily wooded holes. Moves to a series of more open and very long holes for a bit.

Back 9 has tons of mid distance holes with ace chances. Very good course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

My First Love

5+    1/5/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: heartman
Played: 57  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The first course I ever played and where I honed my craft.

- Well manicured multi-use park. Grass height is never an issue.

- Discatcher baskets are in overall good condition with multiple pins on a handful of holes (with plans for more alt pins I believe).

- Concrete tees on every hole in overall good condition ... not too grippy, not too slick

- Hyzer holes, anny holes, multishot holes ... all of the above!

- Front 9 plays longer and more open. Back 9 plays shorter through mature pine forest with zero undergrowth and a handful of ace runs.

- Excellent use of available elevation (4, 10, 11) and interesting greens (6, 12, 17)

- 3 true par 4's (5, 7, 8) requiring some degree of thought. 5 and 8 require placement shots off the tee, while 7's drive is more of a Max D shot before trying to skip to the green on your second shot.

Cons: - It's not the easiest course to play blind. Definitely bring a map if you've never played out here before. Next tee signs or stickers on poles showing what direction to go would be great.

- Tee signs are not the most accurate (I believe they were from the original design ... some holes/distances are ever so slightly different)

- Hole 1: It's a tight shot and a rough hole to begin on, no doubt. I personally lopped several branches back in November that improved it slightly ... but it can still be depressing. Gotta execute right from the start. (there is an alternate Hole 1 being experimented with during weekly action: teepad is to the right of the concrete and slightly back throwing down a wide funnel to a pin ~50' from the road ... never played it, but it looks like a good hole)

- Hole 2: Ahhh, the number one complaint of this course by basically all of Metro ATL. Technically Hole 2 is a par 4 from the poured concrete tee with tee sign, however us locals play par 3 from the old picnic table concrete slab directly to the right of #1's pin. The par 4 pad is a great idea, however with the overgrowth on the left gap it is not really a viable option (and the pavilion does somewhat come into play).

From the par 3 pad: It's a tight gap, no doubt about it, but it's also very easy to sneak through (and yes it's incredibly easy to ricochet off a tree 100'+ in the wrong direction too). There are 3 trees that if removed, would greatly improve this hole: the two trees that intrude on the right side of the fairway (one of which defines the gap which taken out would widen the first gap that must be hit by ~3', and then the tree directly behind it on the right side ~50'-75') ... as well as the skinny little dogwood? on the left just about where you want to start hyzering to the left pin (and the left pin is the better pin IMO and is rarely in the right pin)

... however, to be able to take the 3 trees out that I would like to, the county said that 3 trees must be planted elsewhere in the park. And as the club has no money currently, doing so is not an option.

- Personally I feel that the tee on hole 6 is about 3' too short. The tee is in good shape, just a weird length ... and the ground behind it does not allow for a smooth transition between natural --> concrete with ~4" difference in height

- Hole 14 is kinda a poke and pray to get through the tree line ... would be nice to have a more defined fairway.

- There are short tees scattered throughout the course, but not clearly labeled and typically only used for tournaments. The course overall is not really beginner friendly (but if you play it a lot starting out, it will force you to get better quick)

- As it is a multi-use park there are lots of people not necessarily aware of disc golf ... in the fall, sometimes football/cheerleaders are in the fairways some weekends (specifically 5 and 10). Pedestrians have right of way (be sure to check on 4 for any walkers), just wait, take a sec and rest, and then throw.

- Not many trash cans around the course oddly enough for this type of park: put it in your bag till you see one. (not that big of a con)

- Swings scattered throughout near some tees, but no benches at every hole (not that big of a con as I carry a stool)
Other Thoughts: - To score well, being able to accurately throw 300'+ is a must ... ideally 350'+

- High replay fun factor

- Bathroom available near Hole 14's pin. If winterized than Porta John usually in loop parking lot by playground

- There are talks of making Hole 6 the new #1.

- Like 'Fayette County Disc Golf' on facebook for latest updates on when action is going on (usually dubs in Sundays at 10am, and I believe a singles league started on Saturdays at 11am)

- Am I slightly biased in my review? Probably, but I did try to be as objective as possible and try and highlight the pros/cons as I see them.

- I can see how people who only play it once, would rate it lower due to the cons that I listed, but as a local and as I know the various nuances of the course, I truly think it deserves a 4 Disc rating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

McCurry Park Disc Golf Course

5+    12/6/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: smokfraglerock
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays around and through a large multi-use park. Both park and course are well main-tained year round. Grass never gets too long in summer and underbrush never gets out of control.
The park is safe for families with two playgrounds near the disc golf course. Park features pavilions for picinics. Great place for a family outing.
The course itself has a good variety of holes and does not repeat itself. The baskets are solid DiscCatchers. Each hole has a concrete teepad and most have a level area for longer run-ups. OBs increase difficulty without being unfair.
Mandos are well placed to increase safety on the course.
Signs are fairly accurate and show alternate tee postitions.
Trash cans are all around the park so you don't have to carry trash for long stretches.
Local regulars are friendly, helpful and will point you in the right direction if you get lost.
Course has a mix of open and techincal holes.
Open holes have some technical challenge. I.e. 6 and 10 have the baskets on small hills, and 7 and 11 have the baskets guarded by trees.
Cons: The course does not have forward tees. Beginners may find this course too challenging because of the length of some holes.
The course gets really crowded at peak times. Other park activities can spill over onto the course, making some holes unplayable at times. The course plays close to other park activities, the playgrounds, and walking paths.
Walkers will probably slow down your round but they have right of way so bring your patience.
There are few benches on this course and none at the tee pads.
Navigation of this course can be confusing the first time. Bring a map or play with someone who knows the course.
Other Thoughts: Holes one and two play through trees. Three brings you out of the woods but trees are the dominant feature of this course. Four is an elevated tee to a basket guarded by small trees. Five through seven are pretty open. The basket for six is on an island hill. Downslope on two thirds of the green. Seven is a long par 4 made more difficult because the basket is thirty feet in the trees. Eight is wooded. Nine through eleven are open. Basket for ten is on a hill, basket for eleven is in trees. Twelve through sixteen are shorter and in more trees. Seventeen and eighteen are longer and the basket for seventeen is on a slope.
Coming from Highway 19-41 Lovejoy use the first park entrance and park at the second playground. Hole one is across the park road by the bulletin board.
Coming from GA-54 Fayetteville use the second park entance and follow the above directions.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great course

5+    10/20/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: friskydiscy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: challenging course, fun and open holes as well as technical shots, good location to Fayetteville food/shops,
Cons: Maybe add some easier pars for those who aren't as experienced? some of the pars are a bit much and can intimidate newer players
Other Thoughts: love it!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Serious course

5+    6/1/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 31.2 Years
Pros: With the signs and maps now in place I can't see a whole lot to improve on the course. This is about as good a course as could be designed for this park. Well manicured. Plenty of variety. Wooded and open holes. Medium to long. Options for ultra-long holes. I really enjoy this course. Just wish it was closer.
Cons: Can get a little crowded in places. Have to watch for and sometimes throw around kids around playground, specially on #4. Haven't played when soccer and baseball games were going on but I imagine it gets even more crowded then.

 Greatness

1    7/23/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: DrumPhil
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of challenging holes throughout the course, keeps it very interesting. Great play for intermediate to pro players.
Cons: None that I noticed
Other Thoughts: There are TWO practice baskets about 150 feet from each other, so it really makes it enjoyable to warm up with putts and mid-range shots before starting.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First of the day,and the best.

1    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 71  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No two holes the same.
Excellent use of elevation
A large variety of shots are required,I used backhands,annys,hyzers,flicks and more.
Very fair,but can punish you if you make an errant drive.
Nice,large teepads.
A nice mix of open and wooded holes,including some of my favorites that tee off with elevation,down into woods,11 is a perfect example,and probably one of my favorite holes,along with 4.
Cons: I can see that if you were to play this by yourself,it might be slightly interesting to navigate,fortunately we had a group with a couple locals from the forum.
I'm not sure,but I didn't see any bathrooms in the park,I didn't need to use one,but its something I looked for on the way through the loop.
There were a couple holes that came pretty close to walking paths and roads,the shot on most of them would have to be pretty errant for the most part,and I do remember there was a hole that went over the path,it's about 80 feet in front of you,so you can definitely see everything in your surroundings,still not the best design in that situation.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course of four on that day,so we were definitely most fresh for this one,and I enjoyed it the most out of it,ERP,Wills & Alexander,and Redan which we played today.

Definitely make time for this course,I think it's pretty underrated,and it has a pretty high fun factor which is always a plus,lots of great birdie chances when you earn them.

I really want to give this a 4.25,but I can't,and I can't justify giving it a 4.5 just because of that,so a 4 will have to do,definitely check this course out,it's incredible.

Thanks to Heartman for waking up early to come play this one,we had a great time.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Innova DISCatchers, great condition. Variable placement on Holes 2,4,5,7,10,11,14,&18.
-Tee Pads: Large, level tee pads (Pro), Natural (Am)
-Tee Signs: Nice signs on all holes that show distance, par, layout.

General Course Design and Layout:
-Par: 56Pro/58Am
-Length: Approximately 6915ft Total/384ft avg (Pro), 5660ft Total/314ft avg (Am). -Varies based on current course configuration (8 Holes w/Variable Pin Placements)
-Fairways: Technical (6), Semi-Technical (8), Open (4)
-Fairway Variety: Straight (14), Left>Right (3), Right>Left (1) - [this will be explained in more detail…]
-Elevation: Minimum to Moderate
-Elevation Variety: Uphill (6), Downhill (3), Flat (9)
-Hazards: Road/Walking Path throughout the park plays OB


The disc course at McCurry Park offers a mostly semi-technical layout that makes a single continuous loop from start to finish. From the pro tees, the course averages nearly 385ft with a good mix of longer/shorter holes and everything in between. The fairways present a good technical variety that give the player a lot of choices off the tee. I listed in the information above that there are 14 holes that I consider straight, by this I mean that the basket is pretty much straight off of the tee, no defined right or left fairways. Most of these holes are lined with a number of trees and require you to hit some type of line to clear the fairway and access the pin. Although these lines are not fully defined, there are typically multiple lines that can provide a look at the pin. The minimum and moderate elevations throughout McCurry Park were used effectively in the design. The road and walking paths that wind throughout the park play OB and certainly increase the challenge of the course.

Course maintenance was superb, this was one of the nicest, most well-kept courses that I have played. The area parks in general, or at least the ones that I went to were all very well cared for, it was very nice to see. Navigation was relatively simple and straight-forward, but there were a few issues that will be discussed in the cons section.
Cons:
-Safety Concerns: This is my biggest issue with the course. This park offers a wide variety of activities and is very busy. There are walking paths, parking lots, pavilions/picnic areas, and playground equipment throughout the park that can potentially come into play. Use caution and keep an eye out for others before throwing!

-Navigation: Although navigation was pretty straight-forward, there were several holes with long walks between them where multiple tees/baskets were visible. The direction to the next tee was not always obvious, and on my first time through, I actually ended up having to back-track several times to find the correct tee. Next tee markers on the signs or at the baskets would be a big help.

-Tee Signs: The tee signs are very nice, but are missing some information. I've only played the course, so I apologize if this is incorrect, but as far as I remember (and from looking back through course photos), the Am tees and alternate pin positions are not noted on the signs.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course at McCurry Park was a very positive experience. The course offers a fun and fair layout that is very clean and well-kept which makes for great visual appeal.
The park itself was pretty crowded and busy, but the course was not on this particular day. I really liked this course a lot and would consider McCurry Park a pretty solid 3.75 disc course that is more deserving of a 4 than a 3.5 (in my opinion). If you are in or near Fayetteville, this course is definitely worth checking out.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A very impressive Gem southeast of ATL.

1    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful DGC in a beautiful setting, McCurry Park was a pleasant suprise in my visit to the Atlanta area. The park along with the course appear to be very well taken care of, clean and enjoyable, offering plenty of ammenities as well.

The course is outfitted with large concrete tee pads, with level ground to each's rear for those who have a lengthy runup. Tee signs are excellent, with map depicting hole, distance, par. Signs mounted on white poles, which make them easier to find.

Baskets in excellent condition, DISCatchers with double layered chains and deep baskets, very enjoyable to shoot at. Multiple pin locations on some holes, also depicted on signage.

Course uses some minor elevation. Tee pad on hole #4 leaves you shooting a downhill shot at the basket, and hole #6's basket located on a small hill.

Grass seems to be manicured. No areas of dense grass or undergrowth on any holes except for #8, so very minimal chance to lose a disc.

Holes vary greatly in distance, but didn't include a true "ace-run" hole. Shorter holes littered with trees, adds a bit of difficulty. Good shots may still pay the price.

Locals who frequent the course are very friendly and courteous, offering direction and assistance if necessary. A few of them claim McCurry Park hosts one of the nicest courses in the state of Georgia. Not sure if its local or home course bias, but I will vouch that it is a very nice course.
Cons: There are a few cons to the course, but none would steer me away from McCurry Park DGC.

There is a lack of trash cans that are dedicated to the course, although there are some scattered about the park. This con isn't quite obvious because the course is very clean, not a trace of litter.

A few more benches scattered along the course would be a nice addition, as the front 9 plays fairly long and a sitdown break would be nice.

The park includes picnic pavilions, some of which come somewhat close to the course. An arrant shot could come close to an ongoing funtion, or could force you to play a safer route which is sometimes a better idea.

This is a multi-use park. Plently of people use it for sports practices and walking/jogging. Playing rounds during peak hours of the park could make a round sluggish. But remember, pedestrians have the right of way. Keep a look out and be mindful.

First timers to the course may have some difficutly locating the next tee, but shouldn't be a problem in future rounds.
Other Thoughts: My experience at McCurry Park DGC was enjoyed. This course is a legitimate par 58 due to distance. Most holes are not difficult if you can throw a disc 250' or farther.

This course is a little open for my taste, but I may just be used to the wooded courses of the Charlotte area. Holes 1 and 2 are gauntlet style, with trees littered everywhere. No areas of dense trees take away alot of the risk/reward on this one, but still takes good throwing to shoot par.

It was a pleasure playing here, and would play the course again. I would say it's worth the drive to experience this course. If you have time, play Village Green as a warmup. Just don't expect anything even close to what McCurry Park offers.

If travelling from GA-54, use second park entrance. Follow the one-way drive, park between Pavilions 3 and 2. Tee pad for hole #1 located by the bulletin board kiosk across the drive.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Course Update

5+    11/24/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: aj29036
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First allow me to introduce myself. If you have played out at McCurry we have probably met. My name is Andrew and I have been overseeing the redesign project. Thanks to all for the positive reviews and patience. Stay with me as I am on schedule to complete the final design by the end of the year!

This course, IMO is finally reaching its full potential. ALWAYS well manicured, and a good mix of tight, moderately wooded, and open holes. Elevation comes into play throughout the course, often in very subtle ways, and dramatic at times.
Cons: I have approached this project with 3 basic factors weighing my choices...safety, scoring spread, aesthetics...prioritized in that order. I wanted to maintain the integrity of the original design and did not want to change too much, getting involved any kind of total overhaul (flow change, hole relocation etc). That being said I have tried my best to reduce them, but some of the pedestrian issues will remain.

pssst...if you can make it out on a weekday morning you'll have the place to yourself.

Other Thoughts: Par is now 58.

Trees have been cut on Hole 2 creating a R to L to R approaching fairway. Tee has been backed up and it is now a par 4. There is a concrete "short" tee which is a par 3. Great hole from either location.

Hole 5 has a new 600' par 4 position.

7 is a better par 4

Hole 8 tee backed up and is now par 4

11 had the tee moved closer and a new pin installed and is now a par 3.

Concrete tees are finished and very nice.

All the final touch-ups are scheduled to be complete by 5/8/10.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.