Disc Golf Center
Fayetteville, GA 
McCurry Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #9
3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Really Fun

1    3/22/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes. great mix of open and wooded holes. The wooded holes were very fun to play because the woods were primarily large pines. Most courses I play there is a lot of shrubbery in the woods, so not dealing with that was fun.

Several nice long holes. I'm not the best driver out there, but I am getting close to the 400 mark on flat land, so it was great being able to actually really launch some drives. One hole was 720 ft, you can barely see the basket, it was awesome.

Lots of opportunity for shaping your shots, I used all my discs, incredibly fun.
Cons: Got lost a lot. It's hard to figure out what hole is next sometimes. and some of the baskets aren't labeled correctly, even some of the tee off signs have the wrong number on them. There are no next tee signs, and this course needs them desperately on several holes.

We couldn't find 12 after playing 11 and just skipped to 14 since it was close by. Then later we found 12 and 13 when we were on our way to 17. Evidently, after 11, you have to walk waaaay down through several holes to get to 12 and 13, and there was no way to know this. No path or signage.

Lot of pedestrians there on Saturday. Some kids picked up my disc at one point and started throwing it around. A fellow golfer was kind enough to tell them not to for me, since I was several hundred feet away unable to do anything.about it myself.
Other Thoughts: If this was my local course, I would know it well and would not need signs, and I would rate it a 4 disc. But I live 3 hours away and was slightly disappointed that it was not in better shape when I arrived.

Number the baskets correctly, and put in some next tee signs and this course would be great. Like I said, it was extremely fun, and I really want to go back today since we are still in the area, but probably won't be able to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good course!

1    3/14/2014   3/17/2014
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very good disc golf course. It plays fairly long and has a good mix of wooded and open holes. In my opinion, the back 9 has a more creative hole design (wooded, open, elevation changes… etc) than the front 9.
Cons: This course probably deserves a rating of 4/5… but on several holes we stumbled around trying to follow the map by the tee pad only to realize that the baskets were mislabeled. I'm guessing this course has been recently redesigned but someone needs to go through and match up each basket with its correct number. A few locals also told us that there was a map of the course layout near hole 1 but we could not find it.
Other Thoughts: We are not locals.. we were just passing through the Atlanta area. We would definitely play this course again next time we are in town.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very fun course

5+    1/3/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of heavily wooded and open holes. Many elevation changes and some challenging mandos/ob's. Mainly well manicured and the locals are usually quite helpful if you need direction.
Cons: Plays very long for beginners on the front 9, but not too bad. This is a park of many uses so be mindful of the pedestrians and people attending sporting events.

The area around the football field gets filthy after games, occasionally spoiling the look of the normally excellent park.
Other Thoughts: Starts out with a couple of short and heavily wooded holes. Moves to a series of more open and very long holes for a bit.

Back 9 has tons of mid distance holes with ace chances. Very good course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

My First Love

5+    1/5/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: heartman
Played: 57  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The first course I ever played and where I honed my craft.

- Well manicured multi-use park. Grass height is never an issue.

- Discatcher baskets are in overall good condition with multiple pins on a handful of holes (with plans for more alt pins I believe).

- Concrete tees on every hole in overall good condition ... not too grippy, not too slick

- Hyzer holes, anny holes, multishot holes ... all of the above!

- Front 9 plays longer and more open. Back 9 plays shorter through mature pine forest with zero undergrowth and a handful of ace runs.

- Excellent use of available elevation (4, 10, 11) and interesting greens (6, 12, 17)

- 3 true par 4's (5, 7, 8) requiring some degree of thought. 5 and 8 require placement shots off the tee, while 7's drive is more of a Max D shot before trying to skip to the green on your second shot.

Cons: - It's not the easiest course to play blind. Definitely bring a map if you've never played out here before. Next tee signs or stickers on poles showing what direction to go would be great.

- Tee signs are not the most accurate (I believe they were from the original design ... some holes/distances are ever so slightly different)

- Hole 1: It's a tight shot and a rough hole to begin on, no doubt. I personally lopped several branches back in November that improved it slightly ... but it can still be depressing. Gotta execute right from the start. (there is an alternate Hole 1 being experimented with during weekly action: teepad is to the right of the concrete and slightly back throwing down a wide funnel to a pin ~50' from the road ... never played it, but it looks like a good hole)

- Hole 2: Ahhh, the number one complaint of this course by basically all of Metro ATL. Technically Hole 2 is a par 4 from the poured concrete tee with tee sign, however us locals play par 3 from the old picnic table concrete slab directly to the right of #1's pin. The par 4 pad is a great idea, however with the overgrowth on the left gap it is not really a viable option (and the pavilion does somewhat come into play).

From the par 3 pad: It's a tight gap, no doubt about it, but it's also very easy to sneak through (and yes it's incredibly easy to ricochet off a tree 100'+ in the wrong direction too). There are 3 trees that if removed, would greatly improve this hole: the two trees that intrude on the right side of the fairway (one of which defines the gap which taken out would widen the first gap that must be hit by ~3', and then the tree directly behind it on the right side ~50'-75') ... as well as the skinny little dogwood? on the left just about where you want to start hyzering to the left pin (and the left pin is the better pin IMO and is rarely in the right pin)

... however, to be able to take the 3 trees out that I would like to, the county said that 3 trees must be planted elsewhere in the park. And as the club has no money currently, doing so is not an option.

- Personally I feel that the tee on hole 6 is about 3' too short. The tee is in good shape, just a weird length ... and the ground behind it does not allow for a smooth transition between natural --> concrete with ~4" difference in height

- Hole 14 is kinda a poke and pray to get through the tree line ... would be nice to have a more defined fairway.

- There are short tees scattered throughout the course, but not clearly labeled and typically only used for tournaments. The course overall is not really beginner friendly (but if you play it a lot starting out, it will force you to get better quick)

- As it is a multi-use park there are lots of people not necessarily aware of disc golf ... in the fall, sometimes football/cheerleaders are in the fairways some weekends (specifically 5 and 10). Pedestrians have right of way (be sure to check on 4 for any walkers), just wait, take a sec and rest, and then throw.

- Not many trash cans around the course oddly enough for this type of park: put it in your bag till you see one. (not that big of a con)

- Swings scattered throughout near some tees, but no benches at every hole (not that big of a con as I carry a stool)
Other Thoughts: - To score well, being able to accurately throw 300'+ is a must ... ideally 350'+

- High replay fun factor

- Bathroom available near Hole 14's pin. If winterized than Porta John usually in loop parking lot by playground

- There are talks of making Hole 6 the new #1.

- Like 'Fayette County Disc Golf' on facebook for latest updates on when action is going on (usually dubs in Sundays at 10am, and I believe a singles league started on Saturdays at 11am)

- Am I slightly biased in my review? Probably, but I did try to be as objective as possible and try and highlight the pros/cons as I see them.

- I can see how people who only play it once, would rate it lower due to the cons that I listed, but as a local and as I know the various nuances of the course, I truly think it deserves a 4 Disc rating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

McCurry Park Disc Golf Course

5+    12/6/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: smokfraglerock
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays around and through a large multi-use park. Both park and course are well main-tained year round. Grass never gets too long in summer and underbrush never gets out of control.
The park is safe for families with two playgrounds near the disc golf course. Park features pavilions for picinics. Great place for a family outing.
The course itself has a good variety of holes and does not repeat itself. The baskets are solid DiscCatchers. Each hole has a concrete teepad and most have a level area for longer run-ups. OBs increase difficulty without being unfair.
Mandos are well placed to increase safety on the course.
Signs are fairly accurate and show alternate tee postitions.
Trash cans are all around the park so you don't have to carry trash for long stretches.
Local regulars are friendly, helpful and will point you in the right direction if you get lost.
Course has a mix of open and techincal holes.
Open holes have some technical challenge. I.e. 6 and 10 have the baskets on small hills, and 7 and 11 have the baskets guarded by trees.
Cons: The course does not have forward tees. Beginners may find this course too challenging because of the length of some holes.
The course gets really crowded at peak times. Other park activities can spill over onto the course, making some holes unplayable at times. The course plays close to other park activities, the playgrounds, and walking paths.
Walkers will probably slow down your round but they have right of way so bring your patience.
There are few benches on this course and none at the tee pads.
Navigation of this course can be confusing the first time. Bring a map or play with someone who knows the course.
Other Thoughts: Holes one and two play through trees. Three brings you out of the woods but trees are the dominant feature of this course. Four is an elevated tee to a basket guarded by small trees. Five through seven are pretty open. The basket for six is on an island hill. Downslope on two thirds of the green. Seven is a long par 4 made more difficult because the basket is thirty feet in the trees. Eight is wooded. Nine through eleven are open. Basket for ten is on a hill, basket for eleven is in trees. Twelve through sixteen are shorter and in more trees. Seventeen and eighteen are longer and the basket for seventeen is on a slope.
Coming from Highway 19-41 Lovejoy use the first park entrance and park at the second playground. Hole one is across the park road by the bulletin board.
Coming from GA-54 Fayetteville use the second park entance and follow the above directions.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/30/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Gorgeous park setting , good mix of short and medium length holes . several really great holes .
Cons: Slightly difficult to navigate first time . A few really tight tree-lined holes . Some pedestrian interference on occasion .
Other Thoughts: One of my personal favorite ATL courses .

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

great course

5+    10/20/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: friskydiscy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: challenging course, fun and open holes as well as technical shots, good location to Fayetteville food/shops,
Cons: Maybe add some easier pars for those who aren't as experienced? some of the pars are a bit much and can intimidate newer players
Other Thoughts: love it!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Serious course

5+    6/1/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 31.2 Years
Pros: With the signs and maps now in place I can't see a whole lot to improve on the course. This is about as good a course as could be designed for this park. Well manicured. Plenty of variety. Wooded and open holes. Medium to long. Options for ultra-long holes. I really enjoy this course. Just wish it was closer.
Cons: Can get a little crowded in places. Have to watch for and sometimes throw around kids around playground, specially on #4. Haven't played when soccer and baseball games were going on but I imagine it gets even more crowded then.

 McCurry in a hurry

1    1/1/2012   1/1/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: McCurry park has an expansive 18 hole disc golf course that makes nice use of available space around a community park. Starts with two wooded holes with skinny fairways, opens up with some longer driving holes for a while, and a few more wooded fairways are sprinkled in the back nine. The often present pine straw makes for big skips or weird bounces. The long holes tend to have open fairways, and shorter as the density of the woods increases. I got a couple of birds, but left some shots out there on bad approaches and putting in (or out of) the wind. Some moderate elevation changes add flavor on several holes.

Overall a fun course with nice tee boxes and baskets, signs with a bag hook on the long boxes. Most holes had a shorter pin as well. I think there was a total of 4 mandos on the course, none of them too imposing. Multiple restrooms, and pavilions with trash cans.
Cons: There are trails where occasionally pedestrians will cause delays. Some of the holes were wide open crush drives, overkill for new players. The layout was a little funky, but not too bad. Creek is on boundaries or crossing fairways on a few holes, careful not to splash your plastic in the trenches, I got one O.B. penalty.
Other Thoughts: A good course well worth the visit, but not an instant favorite. There is nice terrain and trees, with a challenging course that got the best of me on a couple of spots, but I got a few good shots in for sure. Had a good time, the first round of New Years day, and was joined by two locals who were relatively new to the game, and nice enough to join us around the fourth hole and guide the remainder of the round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Greatness

1    7/23/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: DrumPhil
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of challenging holes throughout the course, keeps it very interesting. Great play for intermediate to pro players.
Cons: None that I noticed
Other Thoughts: There are TWO practice baskets about 150 feet from each other, so it really makes it enjoyable to warm up with putts and mid-range shots before starting.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.