Disc Golf Center
Fayetteville, GA 
McCurry Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #12
3 / 391ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice mix

1    4/22/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with some nice elevation changes. There are a couple holes with steep hills, otherwise most of the holes use the rolling hills well to add a little challenge. There's a nice mix of holes that play through mature trees and more open shots. Most of the wooded holes don't have much underbrush, but there are enough trees that you have to be a little creative to recover if you miss your line. There is plenty of length here, with long open holes and some long holes through the trees, but there are also a few shorter holes mixed in for variety.

Though there are a lot of open holes, you'll need to shape some different lines through the trees to score well. The tighter holes have a nice balance of left and right turning holes. The concrete long tees are in nice shape, and have good tee signs with hole distance and layout. It seemed like the alternate basket positions would change up some of the holes nicely, I don't know how often they're moved.
Cons: The course plays a little too open for my tastes. I like a little more punishment for errant shots and fewer grip n rip holes. There are some safety issues here, with walking paths and pavilions in play on several holes. The current pin positions aren't indicated, so you don't always know the location or distance, a little frustrating on some of the longer holes. The short tees were natural and not in great shape. They weren't well marked, so I doubt they get much play, too bad since they make the course much more approachable for newer players.
Other Thoughts: There are some nice holes here, and it's always fun to have a chance to open up and throw some drives. I would have liked to see more wooded holes, and it would be nice if the layout could have avoided some of the other park uses. Beginners will find the course pretty long, though the lack of thick rough makes it less frustrating. More experienced players will need to accurately place long drives to score well, and you'll need to capitalize on the shorter technical holes for your birdies.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 First of the day,and the best.

1    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 73  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No two holes the same.
Excellent use of elevation
A large variety of shots are required,I used backhands,annys,hyzers,flicks and more.
Very fair,but can punish you if you make an errant drive.
Nice,large teepads.
A nice mix of open and wooded holes,including some of my favorites that tee off with elevation,down into woods,11 is a perfect example,and probably one of my favorite holes,along with 4.
Cons: I can see that if you were to play this by yourself,it might be slightly interesting to navigate,fortunately we had a group with a couple locals from the forum.
I'm not sure,but I didn't see any bathrooms in the park,I didn't need to use one,but its something I looked for on the way through the loop.
There were a couple holes that came pretty close to walking paths and roads,the shot on most of them would have to be pretty errant for the most part,and I do remember there was a hole that went over the path,it's about 80 feet in front of you,so you can definitely see everything in your surroundings,still not the best design in that situation.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course of four on that day,so we were definitely most fresh for this one,and I enjoyed it the most out of it,ERP,Wills & Alexander,and Redan which we played today.

Definitely make time for this course,I think it's pretty underrated,and it has a pretty high fun factor which is always a plus,lots of great birdie chances when you earn them.

I really want to give this a 4.25,but I can't,and I can't justify giving it a 4.5 just because of that,so a 4 will have to do,definitely check this course out,it's incredible.

Thanks to Heartman for waking up early to come play this one,we had a great time.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Innova DISCatchers, great condition. Variable placement on Holes 2,4,5,7,10,11,14,&18.
-Tee Pads: Large, level tee pads (Pro), Natural (Am)
-Tee Signs: Nice signs on all holes that show distance, par, layout.

General Course Design and Layout:
-Par: 56Pro/58Am
-Length: Approximately 6915ft Total/384ft avg (Pro), 5660ft Total/314ft avg (Am). -Varies based on current course configuration (8 Holes w/Variable Pin Placements)
-Fairways: Technical (6), Semi-Technical (8), Open (4)
-Fairway Variety: Straight (14), Left>Right (3), Right>Left (1) - [this will be explained in more detail…]
-Elevation: Minimum to Moderate
-Elevation Variety: Uphill (6), Downhill (3), Flat (9)
-Hazards: Road/Walking Path throughout the park plays OB


The disc course at McCurry Park offers a mostly semi-technical layout that makes a single continuous loop from start to finish. From the pro tees, the course averages nearly 385ft with a good mix of longer/shorter holes and everything in between. The fairways present a good technical variety that give the player a lot of choices off the tee. I listed in the information above that there are 14 holes that I consider straight, by this I mean that the basket is pretty much straight off of the tee, no defined right or left fairways. Most of these holes are lined with a number of trees and require you to hit some type of line to clear the fairway and access the pin. Although these lines are not fully defined, there are typically multiple lines that can provide a look at the pin. The minimum and moderate elevations throughout McCurry Park were used effectively in the design. The road and walking paths that wind throughout the park play OB and certainly increase the challenge of the course.

Course maintenance was superb, this was one of the nicest, most well-kept courses that I have played. The area parks in general, or at least the ones that I went to were all very well cared for, it was very nice to see. Navigation was relatively simple and straight-forward, but there were a few issues that will be discussed in the cons section.
Cons:
-Safety Concerns: This is my biggest issue with the course. This park offers a wide variety of activities and is very busy. There are walking paths, parking lots, pavilions/picnic areas, and playground equipment throughout the park that can potentially come into play. Use caution and keep an eye out for others before throwing!

-Navigation: Although navigation was pretty straight-forward, there were several holes with long walks between them where multiple tees/baskets were visible. The direction to the next tee was not always obvious, and on my first time through, I actually ended up having to back-track several times to find the correct tee. Next tee markers on the signs or at the baskets would be a big help.

-Tee Signs: The tee signs are very nice, but are missing some information. I've only played the course, so I apologize if this is incorrect, but as far as I remember (and from looking back through course photos), the Am tees and alternate pin positions are not noted on the signs.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course at McCurry Park was a very positive experience. The course offers a fun and fair layout that is very clean and well-kept which makes for great visual appeal.
The park itself was pretty crowded and busy, but the course was not on this particular day. I really liked this course a lot and would consider McCurry Park a pretty solid 3.75 disc course that is more deserving of a 4 than a 3.5 (in my opinion). If you are in or near Fayetteville, this course is definitely worth checking out.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course with some flaws

1    7/4/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is in an enormous, beautiful park. The grounds are maintained well and it's a great walk through lots and lots of tall Georgia pines. There is very little schule and almost no chance of losing a disc.

The track is a very solid blue level, par 58 challenge. There's good variety in the holes in length and shape. A decent amount of elevation change comes into play as well.

A few of the holes are very, very good. Hole 8 is a solid short par 4 at around 550 ft. The ideal tee shot hugs the OB creek on the right to set up for a 200-ish straight tunnel second shot, while playing a more conservative line off the tee leaves a slightly longer, more obstructed second shot.

The cement blue tees, baskets and tee signs are in good repair.
Cons: The routing could be better. The course does not loop back to the parking area after 9 holes, even though it would have been easy to design it that way. The course needs "next tee" signs at many points. Courses need to be designed and have adequate signage for first time players to be able to navigate them easily.

Most of the holes have two pin placements, but it is difficult to tell from the tee which placement they are in and the distance must be guessed on many occasions.

The course has several significant safety concerns. One shot (hole 4?) is a big drive off a hill that crosses a park road with a blind spot. Several holes are too tight on park pavilions, particularly with the chance for tree deflections. Hole 7 features a long, open tee shot over the crest of a hill to an area adjacent to a park pavilion that is used by families playing soccer, etc.

There is a set of red "tees" that are natural and marked with cement blocks. The short tees are appropriate for the majority of course users and the longs are appropriate for the minority of course users. If the budget only allows for one set of tees, the shorts should receive the cement and the longs should be natural.
Other Thoughts: I greatly enjoyed the beauty and challenge of this course, but was frustrated by the routing and safety issues mentioned above.

The course is pretty far (about 30 minutes) from I-75. May not be the best for a "quickie" on a road trip.

Don't be a dirty discer! Leave the course cleaner than you found it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A very impressive Gem southeast of ATL.

1    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful DGC in a beautiful setting, McCurry Park was a pleasant suprise in my visit to the Atlanta area. The park along with the course appear to be very well taken care of, clean and enjoyable, offering plenty of ammenities as well.

The course is outfitted with large concrete tee pads, with level ground to each's rear for those who have a lengthy runup. Tee signs are excellent, with map depicting hole, distance, par. Signs mounted on white poles, which make them easier to find.

Baskets in excellent condition, DISCatchers with double layered chains and deep baskets, very enjoyable to shoot at. Multiple pin locations on some holes, also depicted on signage.

Course uses some minor elevation. Tee pad on hole #4 leaves you shooting a downhill shot at the basket, and hole #6's basket located on a small hill.

Grass seems to be manicured. No areas of dense grass or undergrowth on any holes except for #8, so very minimal chance to lose a disc.

Holes vary greatly in distance, but didn't include a true "ace-run" hole. Shorter holes littered with trees, adds a bit of difficulty. Good shots may still pay the price.

Locals who frequent the course are very friendly and courteous, offering direction and assistance if necessary. A few of them claim McCurry Park hosts one of the nicest courses in the state of Georgia. Not sure if its local or home course bias, but I will vouch that it is a very nice course.
Cons: There are a few cons to the course, but none would steer me away from McCurry Park DGC.

There is a lack of trash cans that are dedicated to the course, although there are some scattered about the park. This con isn't quite obvious because the course is very clean, not a trace of litter.

A few more benches scattered along the course would be a nice addition, as the front 9 plays fairly long and a sitdown break would be nice.

The park includes picnic pavilions, some of which come somewhat close to the course. An arrant shot could come close to an ongoing funtion, or could force you to play a safer route which is sometimes a better idea.

This is a multi-use park. Plently of people use it for sports practices and walking/jogging. Playing rounds during peak hours of the park could make a round sluggish. But remember, pedestrians have the right of way. Keep a look out and be mindful.

First timers to the course may have some difficutly locating the next tee, but shouldn't be a problem in future rounds.
Other Thoughts: My experience at McCurry Park DGC was enjoyed. This course is a legitimate par 58 due to distance. Most holes are not difficult if you can throw a disc 250' or farther.

This course is a little open for my taste, but I may just be used to the wooded courses of the Charlotte area. Holes 1 and 2 are gauntlet style, with trees littered everywhere. No areas of dense trees take away alot of the risk/reward on this one, but still takes good throwing to shoot par.

It was a pleasure playing here, and would play the course again. I would say it's worth the drive to experience this course. If you have time, play Village Green as a warmup. Just don't expect anything even close to what McCurry Park offers.

If travelling from GA-54, use second park entrance. Follow the one-way drive, park between Pavilions 3 and 2. Tee pad for hole #1 located by the bulletin board kiosk across the drive.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 McCurry Park

1    5/15/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: rocinron
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mixture of open and wooded holes, course flows nicely, and for the most part, the par 4's were legitimate. Baskets and teepads were all in good condition. Park was maintained very well.
Cons: lots of pedestrians, but thats to be expected anyways. pin locators on tee signs for the current positions could be useful for first timers.
Other Thoughts: I may put this course in my top 10 of courses played.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 McCurry park

5+    5/2/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautifuly maintained park. The grass is always short and there are plenty of spots just to rest. Amenities such as batrooms and water fountains are also great as well.

The teepads, teesigns, and baskets are all in good shape.

Much of the course plays under huge pines which make getting shade easy to get in the summertime.
Cons: The park itself (at peak times) can be very busy with other activities. As a result certain holes can be difficult to play because of heavy non disc golfer traffic.

On some holes it can take awhile to throw safely.
Other Thoughts: The course is best played during off peak hours. There a lots of people to thank for this course and to each one of them i say thank you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Course Update

5+    11/24/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: aj29036
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First allow me to introduce myself. If you have played out at McCurry we have probably met. My name is Andrew and I have been overseeing the redesign project. Thanks to all for the positive reviews and patience. Stay with me as I am on schedule to complete the final design by the end of the year!

This course, IMO is finally reaching its full potential. ALWAYS well manicured, and a good mix of tight, moderately wooded, and open holes. Elevation comes into play throughout the course, often in very subtle ways, and dramatic at times.
Cons: I have approached this project with 3 basic factors weighing my choices...safety, scoring spread, aesthetics...prioritized in that order. I wanted to maintain the integrity of the original design and did not want to change too much, getting involved any kind of total overhaul (flow change, hole relocation etc). That being said I have tried my best to reduce them, but some of the pedestrian issues will remain.

pssst...if you can make it out on a weekday morning you'll have the place to yourself.

Other Thoughts: Par is now 58.

Trees have been cut on Hole 2 creating a R to L to R approaching fairway. Tee has been backed up and it is now a par 4. There is a concrete "short" tee which is a par 3. Great hole from either location.

Hole 5 has a new 600' par 4 position.

7 is a better par 4

Hole 8 tee backed up and is now par 4

11 had the tee moved closer and a new pin installed and is now a par 3.

Concrete tees are finished and very nice.

All the final touch-ups are scheduled to be complete by 5/8/10.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

1    11/7/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course with a good mixture of holes. They are putting in concrete tee pads and thus the 5.0 rating. Good mix of open and wooded and open-wooded holes here!! I think I could throw either forehand or backhard on every tee shot and nearly every shot. It is hard to find that.
Cons: They could really use NexT signs here and pedestrain interference a few times.
Other Thoughts: You must play here, you'll love it. I would write a big review, but what I said is enough. Go play it, you'll see then!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course

1    10/22/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Psalman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the best layout I've played so far. The designer obviously knows what he's doing.

To score well requires a good arm and a good assortment of shots and discs.
Cons: The course is being remodled. Several tee boxes and pins have been moved. The upgrades will be nice when they are done, but it can be frustrating trying to find the next hole since the map is outdated espeicially when the tee box is marked by a 1 foot tall stake.

There is a lot of non disc golf pedestrian traffic. Old people walk SLOW!!!!

I won't complain too much about their shortcoming, because I'm hopeful the remodeling will fix this. Stay tuned.
Other Thoughts: I created an updated scorecard and course map. Until the remodel is complete, who knows what it will look like, but for now it will help find your way around. #2,6,9&11 are being significantly changed.

#2 is the Golfers Hole from Hell. There is absotely no way through the trees. IMO, skip it and give yourself par.

#4 has an amazing elevated tee shot.

#6 has an elevated green that makes the approach shot challenging and fun.

#10 has a pin hidden behind a fence and some trees and is very nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center