Fayetteville, GA
McCurry Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #14 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

1    5/27/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Eggroller99
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall, this is a good course that is very well maintained and is very challenging. The holes are interesting and long. If it didn't have the visitors and directional signs were posted, I would rate this a 4.0-4.5
Cons: Hole 1 fairway is about 15 ft wide. Although tough, a skilled drive can lead to a birdie however. Not too bad.

Hole 2 on the other hand is not well laid out. Skill can get you through the first 100-150ft on a drive, but after that it is pure luck getting through the random trees. Really long hole for not having a fairway.

The biggest problem is the layout. I went with a map and still had a very hard time finding the next teebox.

Another huge problem was the park visitors. Certain holes required me to play it safe as there were too many kids on the playgrounds to take a chance.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend it to people only if it does not take you too far out of your way. I went on a weekday at around 3:00 and it was crowded, so I don't know when the best time to go would be. If coming from hwy 54, take the second park entrance on the left.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A great course

2-4    3/29/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a little longer than the typical courses here in the metro Atlanta area. With its length totaling around 7000 feet and the longest hole coming in at a little over 700' it does require a stronger than average arm to score well. Some accurate upshots will help too. Distance isn't all you need though. It has some tightly wooded holes too, namely one and two. Some of the other holes are completely wide open and still a few with a mix of somewhat open shots with a several trees as obstacles. There is a generous mix of shots needed so hole repetition won't be an issue at all. In fact, I think this course has about the most diverse hole mixes of all the Atlanta metro courses. Lot's of the par three holes will make you work for three's. If you play this course several times I think your score will be as diverse as the course itself. There is gentle elevation changes with a couple of the holes being more pronounced but you will find that the designers used it well. Overall it is quite challenging and a lot of fun. Everyone should enjoy this course.

The tee signs are great. They map out the fairways completely with lengths and even some dotted lines that showed the most common approach to the basket. For the most part a course map is not needed although some "next tee" signs would be nice. You may have to look around a couple of times on your fist visit but after that you are good to go. The baskets are in perfect shape and are clearly marked adding to the ease of navigation. The new concrete tees pads are great and are roomy enough for a comfortable run up. There is easy parking convenient to the course, restrooms with water fountains, and a pavilion that works well for tournaments. The park itself is very clean and well maintained. Well mowed grass and lots of shade are also a welcomed addition. Hole five even has a nice swing behind the tee pad. It's also a very safe feeling park.


Cons: The park itself seems pretty popular and crowded. You will certainly be playing around some people who have no clue what disc golf is. During a tournament we had to politely ask a park user to move off a tee pad that she was sprawled out on. A few holes play near walking paths and even across them a time or two. You might have to wait to throw on a couple of holes. Additionally, a couple of the holes plays near a busy road and can be a little distracting.
One and two are a little tight and could use some selective tree removal, especially the late trees near the basket.
Truly, this is a course that doesn't have that many big cons.


Other Thoughts: The people responsible for the design tweaks and upgrades should be thanked. The course looks great and it is a pleasure to play.

I think this is one of the top five Atlanta area courses. Play it if you are in the area for sure. A little travel won't leave you disappointed either. Enjoy!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long fun course

1    3/30/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 88  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a long challengeing course. The big arms will love this course. Very good mixture of both open and wooded holes. Also a nice mixture of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Some holes required a choice of between multiple lines possible. While being long this course also requires the ability to shape shots.
There is not a lot of elevation change available here but maximum use was made of what is there. A small creek comes into play on a couple of holes and some side hill lies are used. It will take skill to score well here. The tee signs and white plastic poles were nice and stood out well. The bag hooks were a nice touch also.
The park itself is very nice with restrooms close by and they are large enough to change clothes in comfortably. Park is well maintained, I saw the marshal three times while playing so it should be very safe. The park was extreemly clean, the only trash I saw was by the walking path not on the disc course. I especially liked the swings as benches. I saw a few alternate tee boxs spray painted on some holes. This may or may not signal a perminate change. These would be welcome to newer players that do not have the distance this course requires.
Cons: Some holes cross walkways and even the road in one case, be carefull.
Without a map it was a little difficult navigateing some of the holes. Direction arrows to next tee would be helpfull. The tee signs did not seem to have any convention as to the direction they faced. This caused some confusion finding some baskets. It took me a while to find the basket for hole #8.
The tees were all natural but this did not cause me any trouble inspite of all the receint rains.
Other Thoughts: This park is a multiple use facility. so you will encounter other people. There were very few people there when I played. However, I can see this park being very busy on the weekends.
Others have noted the tight nature of holes #1 and #2, I did not see these as problems. Both are difficult holes but I though playable.
This course is definitely geared to experienced players and will challenge all that play it.
Play this course if you have the oppertunity! I hope to come back.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/9/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There is a good mix of short, long, wooded and open holes.
-Fairly easy to navigate with a map, and all tees were clearly marked with signs and maps. Parking is close and very available.
-My favorite hole was #8 (Tight hole even without leaves on the trees)
-Most of the holes were decent distance. I really enjoyed cocking back and just letting it fly on a few holes (#12).
-A few of the holes were straight shooters (Like #13) which is a challenge my home course doesn't offer (I really put my new Champion Beast to work- held those lines great).
-Not too many options for high hyzers or Hammers, I was forced to work on technique.
Cons: -Dirt Tee Pads, were not too bad, but I can imagine they would be rough during a rain.
-Somewhat of an issue finding hole #1 once I got into the park.
-As other reviewers have stated Holes #1 and #2 are ridiculous (#2 especially). No fairways or approach shots to be seen.
-The basket was missing on Hole #12 (Just a pile of Sticks with the receiver). I walked up and down the fairway for 5 minutes to find it. This is a potential ace hole that really needs the basket back.
-Lots of Walkers and Runners! An issue on holes #10 and #11. I eventually just threw and yelled fore.
-Signs are oriented differently on each hole. Typically when you are facing the sign you are looking down the fairway.
-Flow from hole to hole was not obvious, but the signs are clear.
Other Thoughts: I played better on the back nine than the front. I think the front is long and open (With the exception of #1 and #2) but with wind it can be a challenge to get close enough for makable birdie putts. I did enjoy the course and my arm didn't hurt as bad as after JP Moseley. I look forward to playing with leaves on the trees.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Atlanta?

2-4    2/7/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: The Drake
Played: 84  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 10.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was one of the best courses I've played in a while. With a great mix of shots and lots of distance to stretch out your arm you won't get bored with this course. Even The wide open shots take some strategy and skill with placement and aren't just long bomber holes for the sake of being long bombers. On top of the long open holes there are some really good tight wooded holes which truly test your accuracy. Its in a great park which when I played wasn't very busy but I can definitely see how it could be based on the quality of the park in general.
Cons: What keeps this course fro being perfect are the first two holes. Hole 1 isn't too bad simply because its very short, but the fairway is only about 30 ft at its widest and 10 non-existent within 30 ft of the pin. Hole 2 takes it a step further with a turnover/sidearm shot with literally no fairway after about 120 ft. I walked the fairway a couple times thinking maybe I'd just missed it. No, it doesn't exist. If you can make it past those two holes though the course really has a great design.
Other Thoughts: If you have time to play one course and don't mind driving a little ways (about 25-30 minutes south of downtown Atlanta) then I highly recommend playing this course. I'm not sure what the locals consider the course par to be but I would venture there are at least a few par 4s out there so I would guess somewhere around 58. Overall its a great course and I look forward to playing it again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 McCurry Park

1    9/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course, just about every type of hole you can think of. Lots of power needed to score well on this course. Not very beginner friendly, a good variety of wooded and open holes. Lots of elevation changes. Very well maintained park, but can be busy at times. They have park security that patrols the area so it seems like a pretty safe park.Good signs at every tee that shows the lay out of the hole, as seen in the pics. They do have maps provided by Play it Again Sports. Great course to work on your distance and with some tailwinds you can really get some good distance.
Cons: Very hard to navigate unless you are playing with someone who has played there before. The first 2 holes are in my opinion the worst holes on the course, they are very wooded with no fairways and are very difficult to find. A map is definitely needed to play this course. Since it is a multi use park there is a lot of traffic, especially with picnickers that seem like they are everywhere. Has dirt tees which everyone who has played knows that they always aren't in usable shape.
Other Thoughts: Very good course, a must play if you are in the metro ATL area! Just watch out for other people on the course and watch out for cars as some holes play along a pretty busy road.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 long, some hills and OB

1    11/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and tough in the wind. Some big hills to shoot off and one basket on a slant. Rollers can be used. Well mowed and clean. Well marked- tee signs large and nice, maps in box and online. Doesn't interfere with other park users too much. Some tight and long holes in the beginning and end make good practice for powerful accuracy shots. The large more open holes allow everyone to wail on a disc so it's fun. Some OB.
Cons: -Dirt tees
-Hole #2
-Nothing else really
Other Thoughts: -Needs cement/gravel/rubber tees and supposedly eventually will.
-Hole #2 needs a complete re-design as it's pointless and without a fairway.

Definitely a must-play in the ATL metro.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long... and pretty good.

2-4    8/10/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 30.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very long so you can work on your distance shots here. There are a lot of open holes and holes where you just throw as far as you can and there's not really much consequence where the drive lands. This course plays hard when there's wind as well. You can definitely work on controlling your shots in the wind. It seemed like there was a headwind on every hole. There's some nice elevation change in this park. It's not extreme elevation change but there are rolling hills. The new tee signs are very nice and it has nice new baskets.
Cons: A couple of the in the holes in the woods have no fairway. You just throw and play pinball. The course does not have tee pads and the dirt tees have roots in them in cases. This is too be expected with dirt tees but it would be really nice to have poured concrete tee pads here.

This course does not flow simply in some cases. We were searching around for holes every now and then because we didn't bring a map. The course is in a multi use park. There are picnicers, walkers and kids playing all over the place. One of the times I played the course we had to skip a hole because there was a kids cheerleading practice on it. We would have been throwing right in to a bunch of people if we had chose to play the hole. Be very careful for people on the walking paths as well.

The course could benifit from multiple tee pads. It is definitely not an easy play for a beginner. They won't lose a disc but the holes are all so long that they will be throwing a ton of shots from the current tees.
Other Thoughts: A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

5/20/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is maintained well by the Fayette Parks and Rec department. The grassy fairways have always been well trimmed. The workers go out of their way to mow away from golfers, which is an exception in government service to be sure.

The park is patrolled regularly by the Marshals, and with the volume of family traffic, the park feels very safe.

The course has a great mix of grass and wooded fairways, catering to both the power and precision drivers.

We have a number of youngsters (14 and under) who come and play with our group, and the course does not put them at a serious disadvantage as some other courses do.
Cons: Natural tees.

Lack of onsite signage. Check the files section for an overview map before visiting.

Holes #1 and #2 are poison oak bait. The ground is just covered with the stuff. Do be careful if you come to play.

Holes #2 and #8 are nearly impossible to see from the tee as there is no clearly defined fairway on either.

Because it is a busy park, walkers will cluelessly jump in front of a tee as someone is about to throw.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A great course

5+    6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: Bornabuckeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of length and technical shots

Great park, good people, maintained well.

Family and Animal friendly

Nice mix of holes.

Allows for all throwing styles

Close in proximity to Al Lambert over at Play It Again Sports Fayette, who stocks a nice selection of plastic and provides a trade in used selection as well.
Cons: Sometimes the park can be noisy, as there is always something going on. Parties, picnics, and cookouts can get in the way.
Other Thoughts: A great addition that really bolsters the south-side disc golf courses A fun and enjoyable walk and a much better choice (in the summer) if Moseley's grass hasn't been cut. Really enjoy the 18 hole walk as its easy on the legs and doesn't offer a ton of opportunities to lose a disc.

McCurry has enough bite to it to get after the real aggressive types.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.