Fayetteville, GA 
McCurry Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #1 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 A great course

5+    6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: Bornabuckeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of length and technical shots

Great park, good people, maintained well.

Family and Animal friendly

Nice mix of holes.

Allows for all throwing styles

Close in proximity to Al Lambert over at Play It Again Sports Fayette, who stocks a nice selection of plastic and provides a trade in used selection as well.
Cons: Sometimes the park can be noisy, as there is always something going on. Parties, picnics, and cookouts can get in the way.
Other Thoughts: A great addition that really bolsters the south-side disc golf courses A fun and enjoyable walk and a much better choice (in the summer) if Moseley's grass hasn't been cut. Really enjoy the 18 hole walk as its easy on the legs and doesn't offer a ton of opportunities to lose a disc.

McCurry has enough bite to it to get after the real aggressive types.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long course with promising potential

12/31/2007   6/1/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 340  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NOTE: I played the course in Dec 07, so the course was still quite new. There have already been a few changes, and more improvements will be coming.
At 7079 ft, it's a long course. IMO there are 4 Blue CR Par 4 holes: 4, 5, 7, 11, making it a par 58. If you're a long thrower or looking for a long course then this is a good place to go.
Excellent length variety: 5 of 249-299/ 5 of 300-399/ 5 of 400-499/ 2 of 538-551/ 1 of 666
Some elevation change on most holes, but most change is moderate. The greatest is a 24 ft drop. 2 Flat/ 9 Up/ 7 Down.
Good variety of wooded, open, and mixed foliage holes: 10 Woods/ 4 Grass/ 4 Mixed
Cons: When I played the course the tees were dirt and there were no tee signs, only white poles.
Eventually it would be nice to have a map of the course. Tees 4, 14, 17 were hard to find, and baskets 2, 8 were hard to see from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = Advanced (Blue)
My favorite hole was number 13. It's a flat, straight, very pretty tree lined fairway that's reachable. Overall, I rated hole 18 as the best on the course, though (7 out of 10).
In general, I thought the back nine was a little better than the front nine.
Since this course is new it's still being worked on and broken in. I rated it according to the conditions when I played it instead of according to it's future potential. Since the tees and signs were below average, I expect that the rating will improve when these are worked on.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my detailed rating notes.
You can also read more of my reviews at http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Just Found this Course

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: dgwynn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of (very) wooded and open holes. Baskets are in fantastic shape, and course is well groomed. Nice post for what I would assume are signs that are coming.
Cons: Dirt tees, and maybe just a few too many trees on a few holes. Watch out for children and joggers.
Other Thoughts: I'm pumped about the cement tees that the previous reviewer spoke of. That along with the signs that look to be coming, and this will be a very nice course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New Course, Getting Broken In

2/2/2008   2/14/2008
Review By: ndunkin
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very new course. Challenging due to trees and lots of OB's. Mostly flat, some downhill runs, and a few wide open holes for full out huking.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Cement pads coming soon. Tees not marked yet. Signs are in the works. Lots of joggers and walkers to dodge on the paths.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the holes that play along the road. Tends to freak the drivers out when a disc comes flying at them as they drive by.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.