Hardeeville, SC 
The Sarge Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #11
3 / 207ft.   3 / 327ft.   3 / 124ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Watch your step :)

1    9/12/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: WaterLogged
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great place to hone your technique. narrow tree guarded fairways.
Gators and snakes make excellent hazards for the disc golf adventurer
Cons: Narrow tree guarded fairways do not help the player that doesn't have the straightest tee off.
Long walk from 18. they should definitely put a few more holes in. it doesn't feel like walking when you throwing :)
Other Thoughts: Fun course, nice forest feel, very technical

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sergeant Water

1    2/11/2011   2/15/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 258  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Water. It's rare to get to play a course with so much water. Two of the holes require decent little water crossings, while several of the other holes either flank water entirely or have pin positions that bring water into play. We went in the water 7 times and lost 2 discs.
- Pin Placement. Several of the pins were placed in positions that maximized water hazards and/or other obstacles.
-Open Holes. The few open holes in the middle of the course really turn a standard woods course into a championship material. Beautiful Par 4 type holes with tons of danger.
- Peninsulas Fairways. A few holes had water on both sides of a strip of land, or water on one side and deep woods on the other. Being off the fairway was a non-option, making you question every throw, distance vs. accuracy, risk vs. reward, etc…
- Multiple Tee-Pads. I think every Hole had three tee-pads: gold, blue and white, giving the player the ability to adjust the course to their skill level. For example, since I was playing lefty I played the Blue's… where I would have normally played the Gold's right-handed.
Cons:
- Tee Pads. The tee-pads were just natural dirt/mud, being marked by a tee-sign and two painted wooden stakes hammered in the ground. This can be OK… but for a course of this caliber, you expect more.
- Swampy. I mean, you're playing in a swamp, so what do you (I) expect. However, so you know, besides the actual swamp, the fairways were swampy. Lots of standing water puddles all over the course and a few tee-pads. Wear water proof shoes!
Other Thoughts:
- Close to Freeway. I guess this is a Pro and a Con. It's a Pro in the sense that you can get off the freeway and play in a matter of minutes and there's a lot of food and gas options on the exit. However, it's also a Con because a few of the holes are right up against the I-95 and that makes for some considerable noise pollution in an otherwise extremely natural area.
- Overall… Championship Stuff. I would say that The Sarge would be a contender against almost any other course in terms of shot quality. There's definitely some championship golf to be played. The course opens with a water shot, continues throwing water at you sporadically throughout the round, and then finishes with a monster water hole on 18. However, without proper tee-pads and professional signage the overall disc score takes a little hit.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/7/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: Shodai
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging short course with an excellent combination of tight fairways and approaches as well as water in play on several holes. Lost a disc to hole #12 but re-teed for a straight to basket 3 and saved par. It was wet when I played but manageable. Over a fun course with variety. Good for beginners and experienced players.
Cons: Very limited elevations. Swampy at times and the gnats and mosquitoes will kill during the warmer months. Bring bug spray. Long walks if you do t like em. Tree guarded water holes can be hazardous to beginners but are playable. Wild life.
Other Thoughts: Will definately play again and our club played this course for the Border Battle with Team Savannah each year in a charity event. Worth the drive to play and it will improve your game if you play it enough.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What I image disc golf to be!

1    12/23/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of water and land, course requires a variety of shots.
Activity center that has vending machines, bathrooms, scorecards, course maps, and sells discs, most discs $9 (small selection included: PD Gremlin, PD Freak, PD MD-1, DX Cro, DX Sidewinder, DX Roc, and DX Dragon). the activity center also has a box of discs that were found and they try to return lost plastic.
Wooden bridges in the beginning of the course anticipate course flooding and mud.
A few borderline signature holes: Course starts with a stong hole with number one's basket being by the water on it's own little peninsula on the right. 9 was long and straight with a large tree in the middle of the fairway, if you kick left or right the foiliage is tough to recover from. There is also a downslope to water is just 10 feet behind the basket. 12 was a super short shot over a small pond, basket was near the bank, so if you over shoot, you have to shot right at the water again. 15 had an elevated basket on a mound to the right with lots of OB on the right side.
Pool skimmer on hole 13 helps get discs out of nasty swampy water on hole 13.
Multiple tees on most holes, some had tees missing, so you have to be flexible on what color you are playing from.
Cons: Without the map some holes are difficult to find. I could not find 16 until I stopped playing and got a map on my phone. Many of the signs were missing, some were just numbers with no hole information. Several times I just threw at the most obvious flight path and then searched for the basket before takingmy second shot. Flow was often confusing and I had to play fast to keep the person in front of me in sight so I could see where he was throwing at, when I caught him he let me play through and then I was totally lost.
There was a long walk to hole one, but I was expecting it. I was not expecting the much longer walk from hole 18 back to the park. I thought I was going to get lost in the woods and become some swamp 'fella's bride. No signage to lead you out after hole 18.
I did not loose any discs, but I was very lucky, because it was so cold I was not afraid of wading in the water after a disc, but in the summer I would have had to say goodbye to a few peices of plastic.

Other Thoughts: With such a swampy surroundings I was so glad it was cold, I can't imagine what the bugs wouldbe like in the summer.
foget buying or bringing a dragon/wahoo, 9 times out of 10 you can not get your disc to retrieve it, just bring afew dx discs you can say goodbye to.
Even though this is not nearly my highest rated, it is a must play if you are in the area, or even headed south on 95. It is very similar to the back 9 at Tom Tripplett in Pooler, GA, just a short drive south.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Sarge vs Gomer Pyle - SHAZAM!!! :D

1    6/17/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: bk_ching
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: --- soda machine in activity center containing Dasani water and PowerAde
--- the nice English woman in office at center, politely pointing out the course maps, scorecards
--- golf pencils (and even more course maps and scorecards) in mailbox next to bulletin board on Hole 1
--- isolated and virtually no golf traffic (even though on some holes you can see and hear I-95 traffic in distance)
--- two neat holes that play right over water (#1 and 12), from blue tees no longer than 180 feet - great ace runs
--- wooden walkways over muddy areas on #2 and 3
--- even if you miss fairway, there is not heavy underbrush or thorns to deal with, cut out pretty well, much more tropical
--- clean course with trash cans in many places, virtually no trash on ground
--- raised mound pin placement on #15
Cons: --- The biggest con for me was the looooooong walk from #18 back to the activity center/parking lot. You have to walk around another lake, which took at least 10 minutes. But on my way, I noticed a few picnic tables and other than that, I envisioned another 9 holes placed out there. Then a transition would be a lot more fluid from a Hole 27 to the activity center. I talked to the guy in Park & Rec truck about it the next day and he said that's something he's considering down the road.
--- practice basket in parking lot, 300' away from tee #1 across road
--- I'm sure it would be very damp to play out there after a recent rain, but fortunately for me, the ground was pretty dry
--- a few of the fairways have very narrow windows and a couple tees placed a little too close to water hazards on side (see hole 11), but overall the designers did the best with the land available
--- some of the gold tees looks like they would be workers and endanger your discs hitting water more
Other Thoughts: This is a heavily wooded, flat course playing across wetlands, lakes, and small lagoons. No elevation change except for maybe a dropoff of a few feet on a couple of holes. In fact, I believe the highest point of elevation is a homemade 4' high mound (with railroad ties as a foundation) supporting #15 basket. Nearly half the holes have water that either come into play or as a hazard on left, right, or both sides of fairway.

Precision from the tee is very important, especially with a lake on the right side of you on 4 or 5 holes. You could have the misfortune of hitting a tree off the tee with water hazard nearby and ricocheting right into the drink (such as the case for me on #11). So it is imperative to place your drives safely in order to set up your approach.

I actually lost 3 (count 'em, THREE) discs on just the Back Nine!!! All of them went into the water, one of them in the shallow lagoon on left of #13 fairway. The other two (#11, #16) were in the lake (gator food) and I just kissed them goodbye. They do have 6' metal poles with nets on the ends (as seen as on #1 and 16) to help with scooping any bottom-dwelling discs, but unfortunately, my plastic drowning victim was never recovered on 16. Note: If any of those discs had been Star plastic, I could've swiped them off the surface since they float!

All in all, a fun yet sweaty experience for me at The Sarge, despite losing 3 discs on the Back 9 (hopefully a record I will never break for one course, much more on the B9 lol). So play the holes with the water hazards on the sides cautiously. Accuracy, more than distance, is your best strategy. Also, I had no problem at all with mosquitoes, bugs, or ticks (just a couple pesky gnats, which is typical no matter where you play). Just spray down with some Deep Woods Off, Cutters (both of them have 20-30% DEET and the DWO did the job fine).

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging wooded course with lots of water. This is the kind of course more advanced players will generally love while newer players could leave discouraged and without a disc or two. There are two or three different tee locations for every hole which helps cater to players of all skill levels.

There are narrow, tree-lined fairways, water hazards, even tighter fairways and more water. The course info says there's water in play on 3 holes but it more like half the course. In my opinion, water hazards are better at scaring the average golfer rather than posing a serious threat and I found that to be true here.

There are pool nets on hole 1 and 13 with extremely long handles to retrieve discs from the water; very cool!

I don't think there's a single hole on this entire course where trees or water don't come into play. It's truly a challenge because there's always something to watch out for.

The lake by hole 1 and 2 was absolutely beautiful when I was there with its crystal clear blue water.
Cons: The course could use some tee signs with illustrations of the holes because many of pins are difficult to find from the tee. Tee pads are dirt and marked with colored posts, but I only recall having a problem with one pad that had roots close by.

There's a long walk from the parking lot to hole 1 and from hole 18 back to the parking lot. Navigation on the course was pretty easy, but it did take me a minute to get from 15 to 16.

When playing a wooded course, luck is always a factor. I think some of the holes rely on more luck than others, but I would not say any of the holes were unfair or relied too heavily on luck.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while on vacation nearby and would recommend it to any player who has some experience under their belt.

Located just a couple minutes off of I-95.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

7/24/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: volleyballnick
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well kept, the people that run it really care and put a lot of effort into it, and there are nets around most of the water hazards to get your disc if you can locate and reach it.Three tees also offer something for all levels.
Cons: Too much water, much of it cannot even be seen from the tee and serves as quite a nasty surprise.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course - very impressed

2-4    2/24/2009   7/5/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Free course in a beautiful park only 2 miles from interstate 95
*Free scorecards & full page maps at ranger station near first tee - also has nice, clean bathrooms
*3 teepads - gold, blue, white - each with unique views and challenging to skill level
*The best 1st & 18th hole I've played in recent memory. Hole 1 opens up with a water shot, making you focus and concentrate to not lose a disc. Water is short & right; you must carry 290'+ to stay dry. Hole 18 is a beast @ 700' with a tight fairway flanked by shule (right) and an OB/lost disc canal (left). I took a circle 6 & lost a disc on this hole (Perkerson Park green wraith if anyone finds it)...
*Great mix of short/long left/right/straight
*Groomed course set it beautiful pine forest
*Excellent use of natural setting - tight forest shots & plenty of water in play
*#14 is a great over water shot requiring an accurate tunnel shot off the tee then carrying 200'+ of water
Cons: *New course...so teepads are still dirt and only marked with stakes. You'd be S.O.L without a free scorecard/map combo
*Long walk b/w 18 & 1...would be a pain in the ass during tournament play
*I didn't agree with a few of the teepad placements for the gold tees...and I'm only putting these in since the course doesn't look 100% set in place yet. Specifically: # 11 (gold pad has a tree about 10' down the fairway blocking any reasonable throw at a 2 -- would be MUCH better moved just 5' right and 5' forward...and still be a super tough par 3) & #17 (gold pad has another crazy low probability line for a look at 2 - best shot now is a layup 120' straight forward playing for a 3).
*#7 doesn't have a fairway...would be much improved by taking out the pine and small hardwood directly in front of the tee, making a super tight tunnel shot an option, instead of just throwing & hoping
*Looks like it could be very swampy in season
*Bunch of weird fairway line -- like for a RH player, the most legit line off the tee is an anhyzer sidearm flex shot
*Fairway trees. it's OK to cut down trees that are in the fairway!
Other Thoughts: I just played this course again and realized that i must have been buzzing from getting away from beach week with the inlaws the 1st time i played & reviewed this course. It's fun & in a great park with top notch facilities, but i found a lot lacking in the validity of the fairways. The holes seem to have been laid on existing roads/trails whenever possible with as few trees cut as possible...so they often don't allow for true, valid lines that follow a realistic disc flight pattern. I like the course, just needs some tweaking to be a 4-star course. Lots of potential, and awesome starting/finishing holes. Tons of great holes in between. A few holes that could be slightly tweaked to go from terribly frustrating to great holes.

This course is in excellent shape and looks to be very well maintained. I can't wait to see this course when it's broken in.

One other note -- I played this in the middle of a huge statewide drought in the southeast. The course looks like it could be very wet at times; when I played it was bone dry except for permanent water in canals/ponds & heavy swamps (hole 13/14).

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Sarge in Charge

1    3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only about 20 minutes away form TTDGC in Pooler, GA makes this a great second course for the area. Tight fairways, heavily wooded, with water in play on many holes. The course has really taken shape and is a blast to play! 1st hole plays over a crystal blue mining pond. Easy to navigate. Discs availalbe in rec.center. Employees will pull discs out of water for you! Some short but difficult par 3 holes. #15, #18 signature holes.
Cons: Hole 1 and 18 are a good hike away from each other. Lacking signange and seating.
Other Thoughts: Keep the courses coming in the southeast!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.