Disc Golf Center
Hardeeville, SC
The Sarge Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #11
3 / 207ft.   3 / 327ft.   3 / 124ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Blue Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
Throwin in the Swamp

2-4    7/4/2010   12/9/2009
Review By: RussMB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2013
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "The Sarge" is located in Sergeant Jasper Park in Hardeeville, SC. It alone makes the trip well worth the ride. The wildlife and the scenery make this place a peaceful and enjoyable location. (As long as the bugs are minimal)
-Scorecards, Course maps and the restrooms are located at the welcome center (You will need to park at the welcome center. No charge to play, but you are required to sign in)
-Practice Basket in the parking lot
-The course has multiple tee boxes for varying difficulty; Blue, gold and a few white on some of the more difficult holes there are white tees.
-Baskets are Innova DISCatchers.
-Pin placement definitely made the course more interesting.
-The course is strictly a DG course, so there should be no interference with other park goers.
-The course has a nice flow, like that of a nature trail or hike, and the next holes weren't too difficult to find. Plus you can get a map of the course at the visitors center.
-The course is very challenging, narrow shots, long distance drives, as well as some risk/reward hole
-Just to keep things interesting there's even a long distance, narrow shot that can be a risk/reward. Water on both sides of the land!
- Great water hole on hole 12. It's a 177ft where the Tee is on one bank, and the basket is on the edge of the water on the opposite side! Have fun! There is a safe alternate white hole that is much easier to cross, if you are a beginner or just not quite ready to throw this type of hole
-the risk/reward holes have a safe alternative, which can be relieving for a beginner. (Beginner Tip: Just because it's safer, doesn't mean you won't risk losing your disc)
-This course will challenge all players, from beginners to advanced.
--Requires a lot of strategy shots on narrow fairways
- If you are looking for a challenge on an interesting course, this is it!
-If you are a beginner, this course can be intimidating and challenging, but do not let that stop you. The Sarge will make a better player out of you!
-The Sarge also had a great "Fun Factor" for me as well. I will be back!
-Tom Triplett Disc Golf Course in Savannah is 15 minutes down I95, which can make a great follow up, once you finish "The Sarge".
-There are a bunch of Fast Food Resturaunts right before you get to the park. (McDonalds, Wendy's, BK, etc..)
-Just spoke with a very nice lady on the phone, she said they do have a small selection of discs for sale, as well as a special edition Sarge Disc, in the Welcome Center.
-Added 07/04/10 I spoke with another gentleman today, while registering to play. He was very nice and friendly. Kudos to the whole staff here, they really enjoy what they do, and they are genuinely happy to see people coming in to play.
-They were constructing some new teeboxes, that were raised up, and had some board walks. Only a couple holes were completed, but it looked very nice.
Cons: -Dirt Tee pads (to which, I'm not going to hold against this course. I'll explain later on)
-The Sarge is very flat, no variation in elevation, but then again this is in the Low-Country of South Carolina. This type of terrain is the norm for this area. I'm not holding it against the course, just making the observation.
-Signs at the Tee box could use improvement.
-Tee pad color marked by flags. (FIXED! see pros)
-The bugs can be horrible, to the point of beyond nuisance. Now, I played on a day when it was in the 50's, and I didn't have a problem. But, mental note, BRING REPELLENT, STRONG REPELLENT!
-Be careful, there are Snakes and Alligators here.
-Water Hazards do have Gators in them, so be mindful about going after your disc in the water.
-Hole 18 could use another bridge across the water hazard. If it lands on the other side, you have to walk a long way to cross, then back to the disc, then down again to cross back over.
- It is a long walk back to the parking lot, and/or the 1st hole, if you decide to play another round. It is a nice walk though. It's on a boardwalk that crosses the lake; there are sitting areas as well.
-There are no restrooms on the course. Go before you start at the welcome center.
-Casual water can be a major factor on this course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course; it is on a beautiful lake in the Low-Country of South Carolina. I had a great time, it was a cold morning, so the bugs were nil! The place is well taken care of, and it plays like a nature trail. If you really want to get the most out of this course, take your time and enjoy it. (Provided the bugs will let you) There is a lot to take in, so enjoy it!

There are dirt Tee pads, but I will not hold it against this course. I feel that installing Cement Tee pads would take away something from natural setting. I can see why they wouldn't plop down a cement slab, when it can take away from the feel and the sanctity of this park. In fact if the park did install them, it could be an eyesore! They would need something similar to Richmond Hill in Asheville, to keep it in sync with the surroundings, but that would probably be very expensive and costly. I would prefer Teepads, I but I can understand why they haven't put them in yet.
I would recommend hiking shoes for this course; it can easily get sloppy and muddy. I would also recommend a Fat Max Measuring tape of at least 30ft. Wal-Mart also sells a Stanley equivalent. I retrieved quite a few discs out of the water with that tape measure, thank God I had it! By the grace of God, I walked away with all my discs, but you might want to bring an extra disc or two you don't mind parting with! The water hazard on 18 may not be wide, but it is deep!
One last little FYI, before you come down to Sergeant Jasper park, just remember that they offer a lot of other activities as well. If you are interested in making a day of multiple activities (i.e Canoing, Kayaking, Fishing, etc) look into it before you come.

Address for your GPS:
1458 Red Dam Rd
Hardeeville, SC 29927

Now, the GPS might be a skosh messed up. Sometimes it will take a person the long way through the residential area, making the park entrance on the left. Shortcut: When you exit off 95 Go to the East, Pass the 95 exit then turn left Just past the Exxon station on the left. This will put you on the "Old Frontage road". Turn Right on Red Dam Road. drive down and take your first right. That is where you'll register, and you'll see a practice basket in the parking lot. You'll have to walk back and cross the main road. Hole 1 is on the front/left side of the Lake. Look for the Big Sign.

UPDATE: 07/04/2010 - They have done some improvements since I played here last. They've added a boardwalk to #4, as well as a raised Teebox made out of wood on another hole. They have also replaced the Tee markers. They have also begun installing Signs, with bag hooks. At the moment, there are paper signs on the boards, but it looks like they are just temporary until permanent signs can be made. The course looked great!

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Love/Hate

5+    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenic beauty
Lots of water(see below)
Nice facilities
Challenging
Cons: Huge Radar Guided Heat-Seeking Mosquitoes
Lots of water (see above)
Tee pads are just staked out earth
Course flow from 18 to parking or back to 1 is poor.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a little beyond my level of expertise. I have lost more discs here than anywhere else, but it's because I don't play conservatively enough around water.

Water crossing mandatory on only 2 holes, 1 and 12(and then only from blue/gold tees), but several holes bordered by water.

I play the other course nearby(TTP) and lose maybe a disc every couple months. I rarely leave The Sarge with as many as I showed up with. Not the course's fault though!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging wooded course with lots of water. This is the kind of course more advanced players will generally love while newer players could leave discouraged and without a disc or two. There are two or three different tee locations for every hole which helps cater to players of all skill levels.

There are narrow, tree-lined fairways, water hazards, even tighter fairways and more water. The course info says there's water in play on 3 holes but it more like half the course. In my opinion, water hazards are better at scaring the average golfer rather than posing a serious threat and I found that to be true here.

There are pool nets on hole 1 and 13 with extremely long handles to retrieve discs from the water; very cool!

I don't think there's a single hole on this entire course where trees or water don't come into play. It's truly a challenge because there's always something to watch out for.

The lake by hole 1 and 2 was absolutely beautiful when I was there with its crystal clear blue water.
Cons: The course could use some tee signs with illustrations of the holes because many of pins are difficult to find from the tee. Tee pads are dirt and marked with colored posts, but I only recall having a problem with one pad that had roots close by.

There's a long walk from the parking lot to hole 1 and from hole 18 back to the parking lot. Navigation on the course was pretty easy, but it did take me a minute to get from 15 to 16.

When playing a wooded course, luck is always a factor. I think some of the holes rely on more luck than others, but I would not say any of the holes were unfair or relied too heavily on luck.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while on vacation nearby and would recommend it to any player who has some experience under their belt.

Located just a couple minutes off of I-95.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Half a great time

1    1/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 114  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 18.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. Back 9 is a series of terrific holes, mostly long with lots of OB and many different shots required, including big anhyzers (RHBH) and "for-God's-sake-keep-it-straight-because-there's-water-on-both-sides" holes.

Course is in fine condition and land not shared with other park users.

Right of I-95 interchange; a convenient stopover for travelers heading elsewhere.
Cons: Front 9 (other than hole 1) is a string of insanely tight, "poke & hope" shots through tall pines. More luck than I care for. Unfortunately, it's an "out-&-back" course, with hole 10 about the furthest point from the parking lot, or I'd just play the back-9 and give it 4 stars.

It's an incredibly long walk from 18 to 1 (or the parking lot)....but if you're just playing one round, it's a walk around a lakeshore, think of it as a winddown from a grueling round of golf.
Other Thoughts: Aesthetics---for those who care---are mixed. It's a generally pretty place, with mature pines and lots of lakes, and no trash or eyesores. On the other hand, it's right along I-95, so the roar of interstate traffic is a constant.

It's a suprising walk from the parking lot, through the woods and across the road, to find hole 1.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Wear waders and full bug suit.

1    4/28/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: dhspam
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.9 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: "challenging" holes. Waterx3 is bogus. Water comes into play in more like 6 or 7 holes.
Cons: Just drove freaking 40 minutes to play at this course where shortly after I put on a shit ton of 99% deet bug juice, I had to dive into gator infested water to retrieve a disc on hole 2.. then started encountering mosquitoes that had wing spans as big as a nickle or larger.. To be followed by a shit ton more water holes. I didn't lose any discs, but got covered in bug bites got dirty as hell and threw 7- over par..

The terrain pads made it hard to play in flops.. as I like casual play. The Bugs were
NON-STOP. they were not even affected by the 99%deet. They were freaking hummingbirds. I had to rush many shots because I was being swarmed.

It was not worth the drive to me coming from downtown savannah. The water is a huge annoyance.
Other Thoughts: The layout is OK. I went on a dry day. I'd hate to see this course after a rain. The staff there is really swell.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Sarge

5+    12/2/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: Jonny_Dread
Played: 60  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept challenging course. Full 18 with three tee pads for each. Free score card, "The Sarge" pencils and map at first hole. Scenic waters holes. Dedicated disc golf course. Tight wooded fairways with nice drive lines that will test your skills. Perfect Varity of hizer and an-hizer throws and distances. A lot of work went into this course and it shows. Baskets are in perfect condition.
Cons: long walk from 18 to 1. Signs have the hole number and distance but no maps of hole... needs better signs but judging by how fast this course has been moving along they should have them up in no time. Pads are natural with some mulch in place.
Other Thoughts: Course is set up for people who take this sport seriously and could be challenging for beginners but there are white tees that are a lot easier. Look for the "mosquito madness" tournie held here once a year. Saturday and sunday morning club rounds. Bring the whole bag of discs for this course!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

7/24/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: volleyballnick
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well kept, the people that run it really care and put a lot of effort into it, and there are nets around most of the water hazards to get your disc if you can locate and reach it.Three tees also offer something for all levels.
Cons: Too much water, much of it cannot even be seen from the tee and serves as quite a nasty surprise.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course - very impressed

2-4    2/24/2009   7/5/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 91  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Free course in a beautiful park only 2 miles from interstate 95
*Free scorecards & full page maps at ranger station near first tee - also has nice, clean bathrooms
*3 teepads - gold, blue, white - each with unique views and challenging to skill level
*The best 1st & 18th hole I've played in recent memory. Hole 1 opens up with a water shot, making you focus and concentrate to not lose a disc. Water is short & right; you must carry 290'+ to stay dry. Hole 18 is a beast @ 700' with a tight fairway flanked by shule (right) and an OB/lost disc canal (left). I took a circle 6 & lost a disc on this hole (Perkerson Park green wraith if anyone finds it)...
*Great mix of short/long left/right/straight
*Groomed course set it beautiful pine forest
*Excellent use of natural setting - tight forest shots & plenty of water in play
*#14 is a great over water shot requiring an accurate tunnel shot off the tee then carrying 200'+ of water
Cons: *New course...so teepads are still dirt and only marked with stakes. You'd be S.O.L without a free scorecard/map combo
*Long walk b/w 18 & 1...would be a pain in the ass during tournament play
*I didn't agree with a few of the teepad placements for the gold tees...and I'm only putting these in since the course doesn't look 100% set in place yet. Specifically: # 11 (gold pad has a tree about 10' down the fairway blocking any reasonable throw at a 2 -- would be MUCH better moved just 5' right and 5' forward...and still be a super tough par 3) & #17 (gold pad has another crazy low probability line for a look at 2 - best shot now is a layup 120' straight forward playing for a 3).
*#7 doesn't have a fairway...would be much improved by taking out the pine and small hardwood directly in front of the tee, making a super tight tunnel shot an option, instead of just throwing & hoping
*Looks like it could be very swampy in season
*Bunch of weird fairway line -- like for a RH player, the most legit line off the tee is an anhyzer sidearm flex shot
*Fairway trees. it's OK to cut down trees that are in the fairway!
Other Thoughts: I just played this course again and realized that i must have been buzzing from getting away from beach week with the inlaws the 1st time i played & reviewed this course. It's fun & in a great park with top notch facilities, but i found a lot lacking in the validity of the fairways. The holes seem to have been laid on existing roads/trails whenever possible with as few trees cut as possible...so they often don't allow for true, valid lines that follow a realistic disc flight pattern. I like the course, just needs some tweaking to be a 4-star course. Lots of potential, and awesome starting/finishing holes. Tons of great holes in between. A few holes that could be slightly tweaked to go from terribly frustrating to great holes.

This course is in excellent shape and looks to be very well maintained. I can't wait to see this course when it's broken in.

One other note -- I played this in the middle of a huge statewide drought in the southeast. The course looks like it could be very wet at times; when I played it was bone dry except for permanent water in canals/ponds & heavy swamps (hole 13/14).

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Sarge in Charge

1    3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only about 20 minutes away form TTDGC in Pooler, GA makes this a great second course for the area. Tight fairways, heavily wooded, with water in play on many holes. The course has really taken shape and is a blast to play! 1st hole plays over a crystal blue mining pond. Easy to navigate. Discs availalbe in rec.center. Employees will pull discs out of water for you! Some short but difficult par 3 holes. #15, #18 signature holes.
Cons: Hole 1 and 18 are a good hike away from each other. Lacking signange and seating.
Other Thoughts: Keep the courses coming in the southeast!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.