Vacaville, CA 
Lagoon Valley Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lagoon Valley

1    1/24/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees on some holes. Signs at most of the original 18 holes. Nice views of the lake and surrounding hills. 9 new "bonus" holes have been added to make it a 27 hole course. Almost every hole is birdie-able with a good drive. Several holes play around water, and several have good elevation change. Hole 4: nice 205' shot over water to a basket placed right next to the lake which lays behind the basket. It's a potential ace run, if you're ballsy, but throw even 10' past the basket and you can kiss your disc goodbye. Hole 6: 300' shot over water; have to throw about 265' to clear it or lay up on the right. Hole 11: 570' long left hook around a thick row of trees. Hole 16: nice uphill shot but wide open. Mix of basket types throughout the course, but many are now the new Mach 5s. The group of new bonus holes around holes 14-16 are shorter, more technical shots. Nice mix of distances and hole types. Decent elevation change on the back half of the course. The reeds that grow right along the edge of the lake do a decent job catching rolling and low-flying discs (good thing, because it gets deep quick!). Restrooms on site. Some trash cans scattered around the course and park. Lots of ducks and geese around the lake. Locals seem very friendly. Low traffic on course.
Cons: $3 pay to park. Park gate opens at 7:30AM, so if you arrive before then you'll have to walk a ways to the course, but can start on hole 12 and you won't have to pay. Some natural tees, some rubber, and some are in really rough shape. Some of the baskets are pretty old (but still function well enough). Incorrect hole numbers on some baskets. No next tee signs (this course could use a few in some spots). The map is inaccurate in spots. Most signs are illegible and some that you can read are inaccurate. No tees or signs on new bonus holes. None of the baskets are all that well protected, with the exception of one bonus hole. Quite a few of the original holes are wide open. It's a little walk between holes 9&10 and 15&16. Most tees (even the cement ones) are muddy and slippery, making full run ups pretty risky. The ducks and geese leave a ton of droppings on the first 7 or 8 holes. Hole 6's sign is laying on the ground next to the tee. Hole 3's rubber tee is about 4' long. Some holes play very close to one another. Hole 2's basket is very close to hole 8's and the tee for hole 3. Very few trash cans on back half of course. New bonus holes on front half are pretty boring but longer. Confusing layout. Even with the map it can be a little tricky to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course and I'm glad that they've added the bonus holes. They add variety and make the round overall more enjoyable. The signs are pretty weak and should be replaced, and they definitely need to put something up by the tees for the new bonus holes. I really could only find 2 worn in spots that I thought made sense for tee pads on the 9 bonus holes. Some next tee signs would be really helpful as well, as some tees on the back half are really hard to spot until you get right up on them. Some manicuring could be done in some spots too. There is a lot of tall grass and weeds in some spots so keep an eye on your disc on those holes. The $3 parking fee is pretty cheap and if you don't want to pay it all you have to do is walk a little bit - park right outside the gate that says "All Vehicles Beyond This Point Must Have Registration", or whatever, and walk that road until you see a hole on your left - that's 12, and 11 ends near by so you can just start there. Try not to throw into an area with a lot of geese. They'll likely get out of the way, but can be quite ornery when you go to get your disc.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wet and Wild

1    5/13/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of water shots on the front half
- Good variation in lengths of holes ranging from ace-able with a putter up to a par 4
- Holes range in density from tight tunnels to wide open field shots
- Nice baskets around course with blue tops and cages, with varying baskets on the extra holes
- 27 holes with the extra 5 on the front and 4 on the back
- Some elevation change around the course with some up-hills and a few nice down-hills
- Some lefts and rights with most baskets being straight ahead
- Nice views of the surrounding area from the last 2 tees
- Concrete teepads on some holes
- Friendly locals
- Realy Close to I-80
- Water fountains around on the course
- Bathrooms onsite
Cons: - Waist high weeds on some holes make finding even a well thrown disc, hard to find
- Long walks between holes would be neer imposible to figure out without a map or a guide
- Teepads are rough or non-existant
- Extra 9 holes have no signs or clearly marked teepads so finding them requires a guide
- Old baskets on the extra holes are not consistant with the rest of the course, some are as old as Mach I's
- Hole 1 is a little hard to find they need some kind of sign marking where to park and start for disc golfers
- Signs that are still there are in bad shape and could use replacing
- Pay to play (only 3$, and I'm beting it keeps some of the "riff-raff" off the course)
- Teepads are a little short for a run up
- Beginers will probably loose a disc or two to the water holes or the tall grass
- Goose poop everywhere around the front 9 making it nasty to even put your bag down.
- Heavy winds can take a normaly good shot and send it off into the drink
- Ticks abound in the high grass, keep an eye out
- Geese around on the front 9 can be realy mean so watch out
Other Thoughts: Lagoon Valley is a decent course in the bay area with lots of water around the front half and more elevation change around the back half. The front holes are mostly well mowed though the back could definatly use some work. There are quite a few holes out here with waist high weeds that make it easy to loose a disc. I was lucky enough to have a guide for my round out here, but if I didn't I would have een dependent on the map as there were some long walks between holes. I probably would not have found the extra holes that make the course into 27 if I didn't have a guide. These holes are mostly fun and make a good addition to the course, but they have no teeboxes or signs. It would be nice if they made these holes part of the course with signs and teeboxes, but the rest of the course needs help first. The signs that were around the course were looking old and beat up, in need of replacing for sure. Alot of the teepads could use replacing as well as being made longer and wider. A few signs pointing you to the next teepad would be a nice addition as well. The locals that I ran into on the course were nice and down to play a round with an out of towner. The guide I had also sold discs out of his car so if people are on the course and need a new or used disc look out for "Disc Doug".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Windy

2-4    8/9/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 68  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some well designed, more challenging holes on the back nine. Also, there are some longer holes (including one par 4) that are fun to unleash a monster drive on. Decent use of the varied terrain in the park.
Cons: Wind is always a major factor here and responsible for most of this course's difficulty. Common gusts are 25-30mph with a steady east to west 10mph.
Goose poo is still abundant on the front nine.
The tees are inconsistent and could be bigger, and the signage is getting old and faded.
The course was difficult to navigate the first time and it doesn't flow well from hole to hole.
The pond hole is not that long, but I saw at least a few discs in there. A friend of mine luckily skipped across it!
$3 for parking.
Other Thoughts: Not much of this is different from the other reviews, but I have played it a few times and I thought I should finally review it. On my way into the bay area, it breaks up an otherwise long drive.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not bad not great could be better

1    7/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: Billym
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of holes
-some long holes
-beautiful open space
-water fountains in some spots
-a few short but sweet over water holes

Cons: -a little too open on the front nine
-this time of year the dry grass and weeds were pure hell to find discs as the Star Thistle, Foxtails etc eat the crap out of your legs and ankles; were gaiters or pants! This sh*t sucked and made the course a lot less enjoyable.
-no signs on many holes, the existing signs are not great. The online map is less than adequate and needs updating.
Tee pads are random; some dirt, some concrete of varying sizes.
-goose crap all over #4, 5, 6, and 7 so gross to put your bag down or watch your disc just land in it.
-The flow of the added holes after 11/12 flow badly; maybe it was my buddy who showed me around.
Other Thoughts: Previous poster was very accurate.
This course needs love and club support ($).
tee pads, signs and maps need improving.
-The grass and weeds need to be cut or tilled over.
Don't wear shorts this time of year (July).
-With some work this course could be very worthwhile.
-If you are traveling skip it and play Napa, Stafford and Orangevale instead.
-Goose crap is nasty they need some plastic "decoy" dogs to scare them to a different part of the huge lake.
The cons kill the potential rating; no dry high weeds, no goose crap; 3.5

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Stop for I-80 Traffic Jam?

1    5/10/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course lies in a peaceful valley just off interstate 80 between Vacaville and Fairfield, where there is a large park and some potentially good places to toss discs at baskets in the passtime we refer to as disc golf.

I like the water hazards one finds on the front portion of the course, because these present a unique psychological challenge even if the holes themselves are not otherwise difficult. This may be a minus to some players, but on a course with few challenges/obstacles I savor even this kind of challenge.

Some of the course has fairly well kept tees and baskets, though this is not always the case.

There is a great hole that plays from the top of a hill in the back portion, which is very long but has a lot of elevation. In terms of topography and placement this hole would be rated a good one on any course (except for lack of a fairway and trees). If you get the right edge on your disc it can go a very long way.
Cons: I think the designers of this course did the best they could with the landscape, but the location of the course within the park is not ideal. Much of the first part is flat and the holes are short and wide open. The back portion, where some trees and a bit more challenge exists, is almost impossible to navigate unless you ask somebody who knows better than you.

When the grass at this course gets long and thick you can be within 5 ft of your disc and you won't find it. There are quite a few holes at this course that are rather hairy disc traps. Be sure to play in groups and spot for one another!
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a good course to play and you have enough fuel in your car, keep on driving to Napa Valley, Orangevale (near Sacramento), Novato, or SF Golden Gate Park (depending on which way you're headed). I would stop here in an I-80 daylight traffic jam and play a round until it dissipated, but otherwise I don't see myself returning unless there are other special circumstances.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.