Vacaville, CA 
Lagoon Valley Share
Uploaded By: Natedog565 Hole #3 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
My go-to course

5+    7/1/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: danickel0902
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Tee pads now on all the holes.
- All the tees are marked with signs.
- Rotating holes adds a bit of a change from the usual courses.
- Front 9 offers a good challenge with different terrain types. Water, trees and some hilly.
- Back 9 is mostly hills with lots of trees.
Cons: - The wind is a major drawback. The course is right in between hills, so the wind rushes through the front 9.
Other Thoughts: Bring a floating disc for the front 9, you might need it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rocking course!

2-4    3/8/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: TimZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't hesitate, just come here. This place is a full blown course and it has everything. Uphill, downhill, left turning, right turning, tunnel shot, wide open shot, water hazard, hyzer, everything. Beautiful fairways and the club now has the parks dept mowing the fairways for them!
Cons: Not many cons, the only thing is it can get a little muddy or some overgrown grass and weeds on holes. There are water shots, I know some people consider those a con. These are reasonable water shots.
Other Thoughts: Most of the poor reviews are from long ago and this place is now in tip top shape. Complete signage at all holes and tee pads on many. Great locals and comfortable course, just a great round where you'll need every shot in your bag.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed this course

1    3/8/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 28  Reviewed: 24
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course layout was really nice. Starts off with nice warmup shots, then gets challenging when you are working around the water holes. Parking was nice, people were nice and the weather was great for playing. Paying $3 to get into the park was nice too. Restrooms, carbage cans, and the back 9 with the hills and downhill Top of the World shots were awesome.
Cons: Oblivious people walking the park. I know this is a public area, but people who don't care you are throwing a plastic disc and are oblivious of you, when you are curtious of them being in your space, drives me crazy. Parents that don't monitor their children and let them run through the fairway while your disc is in mid-flight or just plain walk into the fairway as you are driving. Loose dogs that run around the park and people that just don't pay attention.
Other Thoughts: Lost a disc in the pond? Just make sure your name is on it and let Discman Dan know where you threw it and what the disc is and you will most likely get a call back. I threw my Wraith in the water on #7, told him and got a call back the next day. He will hold the disc for a few weeks and then if you don't come get it, he will sell it. I am ok with that, thank you for the chance to get my plastic back. If you do get that call and pick it up, make sure you tip the man for retrieving your disc.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lots of changes

5+    2/21/2014   2/26/2014
Review By: dbdg707
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Goon Squad, the local crew, have recently added a lot to the course. Great signage, new tees and bark around each green. Even a broom at almost every hole.

Locals are really helpful.

Back 9 has some top of the world chances.

Bonus holes now have signs too.

Usually some of mainstays out selling discs for cheap.
Cons: Water shots on 4-7. You can lose a disc with a crap throw. Or lay up if you want. Your call. Not as bad as folks say.

Randoms have been known to stroll fairways.

A few holes run along the road. On a busy day, walkers can be an issue.

Wind can be tough.
Other Thoughts: Give it a shot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice, big course on the lake

5+    2/1/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: cboucher
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big course with extra holes to make a total of 27. The course has varying terrain with a great mix of wide open, tightly wooded, and everything in between. Elevation comes into play well here (mostly on the back nine and the extra holes on that side of the course) and a few holes play near the lake (mainly 3, 4, 5, 6, and sometimes 7 depending on pin placement). The course design was well done as far as requiring a mixed bag of shots to do well (doesn't favor righties, lefties, backhanders, or forehanders). There are a couple great "Top of the World" shots on 14, 17, and 18. There has been a lot of work done to the course very recently. There are brand new tee signs on every hole, including the extra holes which were previously unmarked. Brooms have been added on holes with concrete teepads. A lot of the benches around the course have new wood for the seats. There has also been the addition of a few "Next Tee" signs in some spots.
Cons: Pay to park. Not a big deal, though. It's only 3 bucks. This is a multi-use park so there is a lot of non-discer traffic. There have been a few occasions where some holes had to be skipped due to this. One example that comes to mind was the one day we had to skip hole 12 because there was a family or little girls birthday party or something that was using the basket as a table. Hole 12 also has a walking path going right through the fairway so even if there isn't anyone camped out at the basket, you'll still probably have to wait for joggers or bike riders before you can take your shot. A couple holes have pin placements right next to the busy main road going through the park as well.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a pretty decent course. The recent work done to the course has definitely bumped it up a few notches in my opinion. Last Saturday there was a tournament held there. I would have entered had I known about it previously, but I'll be sure to enter one in the future once I get some more practice in. The locals are friendly and helpful and very supportive of newbies. I take my son with me usually and the locals are always encouraging towards him.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Out Dated

1    2/1/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: noodraider
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Friendly locals
Elevation change on back 9
Cons: Out dated
Looks like people get murdered there
Geese droppings everywhere
Front 9 in almost all water
Hard to navigate
Signs are faded
Tee pads suck
Other Thoughts: Needs community involement/help

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lagoon Valley

1    1/24/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees on some holes. Signs at most of the original 18 holes. Nice views of the lake and surrounding hills. 9 new "bonus" holes have been added to make it a 27 hole course. Almost every hole is birdie-able with a good drive. Several holes play around water, and several have good elevation change. Hole 4: nice 205' shot over water to a basket placed right next to the lake which lays behind the basket. It's a potential ace run, if you're ballsy, but throw even 10' past the basket and you can kiss your disc goodbye. Hole 6: 300' shot over water; have to throw about 265' to clear it or lay up on the right. Hole 11: 570' long left hook around a thick row of trees. Hole 16: nice uphill shot but wide open. Mix of basket types throughout the course, but many are now the new Mach 5s. The group of new bonus holes around holes 14-16 are shorter, more technical shots. Nice mix of distances and hole types. Decent elevation change on the back half of the course. The reeds that grow right along the edge of the lake do a decent job catching rolling and low-flying discs (good thing, because it gets deep quick!). Restrooms on site. Some trash cans scattered around the course and park. Lots of ducks and geese around the lake. Locals seem very friendly. Low traffic on course.
Cons: $3 pay to park. Park gate opens at 7:30AM, so if you arrive before then you'll have to walk a ways to the course, but can start on hole 12 and you won't have to pay. Some natural tees, some rubber, and some are in really rough shape. Some of the baskets are pretty old (but still function well enough). Incorrect hole numbers on some baskets. No next tee signs (this course could use a few in some spots). The map is inaccurate in spots. Most signs are illegible and some that you can read are inaccurate. No tees or signs on new bonus holes. None of the baskets are all that well protected, with the exception of one bonus hole. Quite a few of the original holes are wide open. It's a little walk between holes 9&10 and 15&16. Most tees (even the cement ones) are muddy and slippery, making full run ups pretty risky. The ducks and geese leave a ton of droppings on the first 7 or 8 holes. Hole 6's sign is laying on the ground next to the tee. Hole 3's rubber tee is about 4' long. Some holes play very close to one another. Hole 2's basket is very close to hole 8's and the tee for hole 3. Very few trash cans on back half of course. New bonus holes on front half are pretty boring but longer. Confusing layout. Even with the map it can be a little tricky to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course and I'm glad that they've added the bonus holes. They add variety and make the round overall more enjoyable. The signs are pretty weak and should be replaced, and they definitely need to put something up by the tees for the new bonus holes. I really could only find 2 worn in spots that I thought made sense for tee pads on the 9 bonus holes. Some next tee signs would be really helpful as well, as some tees on the back half are really hard to spot until you get right up on them. Some manicuring could be done in some spots too. There is a lot of tall grass and weeds in some spots so keep an eye on your disc on those holes. The $3 parking fee is pretty cheap and if you don't want to pay it all you have to do is walk a little bit - park right outside the gate that says "All Vehicles Beyond This Point Must Have Registration", or whatever, and walk that road until you see a hole on your left - that's 12, and 11 ends near by so you can just start there. Try not to throw into an area with a lot of geese. They'll likely get out of the way, but can be quite ornery when you go to get your disc.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ever changing

5+    5/5/2014   12/4/2012
Review By: LNcredible
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A little bit of everything. Uphills, downhills, water hazards, trees, brush. Great course for beginners due to the variety.
Cons: Sometimes overgrown after hard rains, and dry overgrown brush in the summer. They have been mowing more often so weeds are kept under control.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lagoon Valley local

5+    10/12/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: gda659
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only 3 miles from home and I can take my dog or ride my mountain bike on the course.
The extra holes beyond the 18 provide some interesting and challenging play, but you might need a local to show you the way. It's free if you park outside the gate. Start at 15 from the Butcher Road side or 12 from the Pena Adobe side. The baskets on the 18 holes are nice Mach 2. The bonuse hole baskets are a mix, but quite serviceable.
Holes 14 and 17 are my favorite with the elevation changes. It feels good to watch a good drive on those holes. Lately, 15 is growing on me, too.
Cons: Wear gaiters or tall, all leather footwear in the summer, the foxtail and star thistle are nasty. The map is inaccurate and the tee boxes and signage need work. It doesn't help that some of the signs have been vandalized. It's hot during the day and the wind can be awful and make the water holes especially hazardous. The ponds are foul with at least 6 to 8 inches of muck on the bottom. I've hit water on 5 different holes so far. I'm sure I'll make it 6 some day soon, especially if someone changes the basket location on the 5th. I haven't played yet during rainy season. I expect it to be very wet and muddy in places.
Other Thoughts: Better tee boxes and signage would help a lot. In this climate, it's expensive to have a nicely groomed landscape, so I can appreciate the almost wilderness park aspect, but losing your disc in tall grass and getting your shoes, socks, and shins tore up are going to be part of the experience. If Disc Doug finds your disk in the pond and you have your number on it, he'll give you a call. There are others who wade the waters and aren't so considerate.
There are lots of other park users, walkers, horses, mountain bikes, dogs, and others. They're not always cognizant of the course and how it plays. For me, I'll play it as much as possible because it's here. It may not be destination worthy, but if you are passing by, give it a try. If it's not too hot or windy, it should at least be a good time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not friendly to beginners, not that much fun for seasoned players

5+    12/23/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: miniboult
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow tee signs (except finding the back 9)
-Good course layout map posted right before hole #1
-Some easy holes for beginners
-Some challenging holes for seasoned players
-Winds can make rounds interesting
Cons: -Pay to Play
-Water hazard holes not friendly around lake
-high density of non disc golf traffic. This is a dog park as well as a hiking park.
-many hole placements too close to road traffic.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes on this course can be fun (17 and 18 are top of the world type shots, though much shorter). The layout of the course is OK, but i would have preferred more holes away from the road. several holes run right along the park main road. The water holes are not friendly to beginners, so i suggest they skip them or be prepared to lose plastic. Overall a B course grade. Some technical shots, but mostly straight driving.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.