Vacaville, CA 
Lagoon Valley Share
Uploaded By: woodstock Hole #25 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #25 Tee




$3/car parking fee" />
Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Out Dated

1    2/1/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: noodraider
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Friendly locals
Elevation change on back 9
Cons: Out dated
Looks like people get murdered there
Geese droppings everywhere
Front 9 in almost all water
Hard to navigate
Signs are faded
Tee pads suck
Other Thoughts: Needs community involement/help

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lagoon Valley

1    1/24/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 156  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees on some holes. Signs at most of the original 18 holes. Nice views of the lake and surrounding hills. 9 new "bonus" holes have been added to make it a 27 hole course. Almost every hole is birdie-able with a good drive. Several holes play around water, and several have good elevation change. Hole 4: nice 205' shot over water to a basket placed right next to the lake which lays behind the basket. It's a potential ace run, if you're ballsy, but throw even 10' past the basket and you can kiss your disc goodbye. Hole 6: 300' shot over water; have to throw about 265' to clear it or lay up on the right. Hole 11: 570' long left hook around a thick row of trees. Hole 16: nice uphill shot but wide open. Mix of basket types throughout the course, but many are now the new Mach 5s. The group of new bonus holes around holes 14-16 are shorter, more technical shots. Nice mix of distances and hole types. Decent elevation change on the back half of the course. The reeds that grow right along the edge of the lake do a decent job catching rolling and low-flying discs (good thing, because it gets deep quick!). Restrooms on site. Some trash cans scattered around the course and park. Lots of ducks and geese around the lake. Locals seem very friendly. Low traffic on course.
Cons: $3 pay to park. Park gate opens at 7:30AM, so if you arrive before then you'll have to walk a ways to the course, but can start on hole 12 and you won't have to pay. Some natural tees, some rubber, and some are in really rough shape. Some of the baskets are pretty old (but still function well enough). Incorrect hole numbers on some baskets. No next tee signs (this course could use a few in some spots). The map is inaccurate in spots. Most signs are illegible and some that you can read are inaccurate. No tees or signs on new bonus holes. None of the baskets are all that well protected, with the exception of one bonus hole. Quite a few of the original holes are wide open. It's a little walk between holes 9&10 and 15&16. Most tees (even the cement ones) are muddy and slippery, making full run ups pretty risky. The ducks and geese leave a ton of droppings on the first 7 or 8 holes. Hole 6's sign is laying on the ground next to the tee. Hole 3's rubber tee is about 4' long. Some holes play very close to one another. Hole 2's basket is very close to hole 8's and the tee for hole 3. Very few trash cans on back half of course. New bonus holes on front half are pretty boring but longer. Confusing layout. Even with the map it can be a little tricky to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course and I'm glad that they've added the bonus holes. They add variety and make the round overall more enjoyable. The signs are pretty weak and should be replaced, and they definitely need to put something up by the tees for the new bonus holes. I really could only find 2 worn in spots that I thought made sense for tee pads on the 9 bonus holes. Some next tee signs would be really helpful as well, as some tees on the back half are really hard to spot until you get right up on them. Some manicuring could be done in some spots too. There is a lot of tall grass and weeds in some spots so keep an eye on your disc on those holes. The $3 parking fee is pretty cheap and if you don't want to pay it all you have to do is walk a little bit - park right outside the gate that says "All Vehicles Beyond This Point Must Have Registration", or whatever, and walk that road until you see a hole on your left - that's 12, and 11 ends near by so you can just start there. Try not to throw into an area with a lot of geese. They'll likely get out of the way, but can be quite ornery when you go to get your disc.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ever changing

5+    5/5/2014   12/4/2012
Review By: LNcredible
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A little bit of everything. Uphills, downhills, water hazards, trees, brush. Great course for beginners due to the variety.
Cons: Sometimes overgrown after hard rains, and dry overgrown brush in the summer. They have been mowing more often so weeds are kept under control.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lagoon Valley local

5+    10/12/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: gda659
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only 3 miles from home and I can take my dog or ride my mountain bike on the course.
The extra holes beyond the 18 provide some interesting and challenging play, but you might need a local to show you the way. It's free if you park outside the gate. Start at 15 from the Butcher Road side or 12 from the Pena Adobe side. The baskets on the 18 holes are nice Mach 2. The bonuse hole baskets are a mix, but quite serviceable.
Holes 14 and 17 are my favorite with the elevation changes. It feels good to watch a good drive on those holes. Lately, 15 is growing on me, too.
Cons: Wear gaiters or tall, all leather footwear in the summer, the foxtail and star thistle are nasty. The map is inaccurate and the tee boxes and signage need work. It doesn't help that some of the signs have been vandalized. It's hot during the day and the wind can be awful and make the water holes especially hazardous. The ponds are foul with at least 6 to 8 inches of muck on the bottom. I've hit water on 5 different holes so far. I'm sure I'll make it 6 some day soon, especially if someone changes the basket location on the 5th. I haven't played yet during rainy season. I expect it to be very wet and muddy in places.
Other Thoughts: Better tee boxes and signage would help a lot. In this climate, it's expensive to have a nicely groomed landscape, so I can appreciate the almost wilderness park aspect, but losing your disc in tall grass and getting your shoes, socks, and shins tore up are going to be part of the experience. If Disc Doug finds your disk in the pond and you have your number on it, he'll give you a call. There are others who wade the waters and aren't so considerate.
There are lots of other park users, walkers, horses, mountain bikes, dogs, and others. They're not always cognizant of the course and how it plays. For me, I'll play it as much as possible because it's here. It may not be destination worthy, but if you are passing by, give it a try. If it's not too hot or windy, it should at least be a good time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not friendly to beginners, not that much fun for seasoned players

5+    12/23/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: miniboult
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow tee signs (except finding the back 9)
-Good course layout map posted right before hole #1
-Some easy holes for beginners
-Some challenging holes for seasoned players
-Winds can make rounds interesting
Cons: -Pay to Play
-Water hazard holes not friendly around lake
-high density of non disc golf traffic. This is a dog park as well as a hiking park.
-many hole placements too close to road traffic.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes on this course can be fun (17 and 18 are top of the world type shots, though much shorter). The layout of the course is OK, but i would have preferred more holes away from the road. several holes run right along the park main road. The water holes are not friendly to beginners, so i suggest they skip them or be prepared to lose plastic. Overall a B course grade. Some technical shots, but mostly straight driving.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wet and Wild

1    5/13/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 125  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of water shots on the front half
- Good variation in lengths of holes ranging from ace-able with a putter up to a par 4
- Holes range in density from tight tunnels to wide open field shots
- Nice baskets around course with blue tops and cages, with varying baskets on the extra holes
- 27 holes with the extra 5 on the front and 4 on the back
- Some elevation change around the course with some up-hills and a few nice down-hills
- Some lefts and rights with most baskets being straight ahead
- Nice views of the surrounding area from the last 2 tees
- Concrete teepads on some holes
- Friendly locals
- Realy Close to I-80
- Water fountains around on the course
- Bathrooms onsite
Cons: - Waist high weeds on some holes make finding even a well thrown disc, hard to find
- Long walks between holes would be neer imposible to figure out without a map or a guide
- Teepads are rough or non-existant
- Extra 9 holes have no signs or clearly marked teepads so finding them requires a guide
- Old baskets on the extra holes are not consistant with the rest of the course, some are as old as Mach I's
- Hole 1 is a little hard to find they need some kind of sign marking where to park and start for disc golfers
- Signs that are still there are in bad shape and could use replacing
- Pay to play (only 3$, and I'm beting it keeps some of the "riff-raff" off the course)
- Teepads are a little short for a run up
- Beginers will probably loose a disc or two to the water holes or the tall grass
- Goose poop everywhere around the front 9 making it nasty to even put your bag down.
- Heavy winds can take a normaly good shot and send it off into the drink
- Ticks abound in the high grass, keep an eye out
- Geese around on the front 9 can be realy mean so watch out
Other Thoughts: Lagoon Valley is a decent course in the bay area with lots of water around the front half and more elevation change around the back half. The front holes are mostly well mowed though the back could definatly use some work. There are quite a few holes out here with waist high weeds that make it easy to loose a disc. I was lucky enough to have a guide for my round out here, but if I didn't I would have een dependent on the map as there were some long walks between holes. I probably would not have found the extra holes that make the course into 27 if I didn't have a guide. These holes are mostly fun and make a good addition to the course, but they have no teeboxes or signs. It would be nice if they made these holes part of the course with signs and teeboxes, but the rest of the course needs help first. The signs that were around the course were looking old and beat up, in need of replacing for sure. Alot of the teepads could use replacing as well as being made longer and wider. A few signs pointing you to the next teepad would be a nice addition as well. The locals that I ran into on the course were nice and down to play a round with an out of towner. The guide I had also sold discs out of his car so if people are on the course and need a new or used disc look out for "Disc Doug".

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Day in the park

1    3/28/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: evac1599
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course played really well. Didn't have any trouble figuring out where the next hole was. There is a good variation of chalenging holes. Just minutes off the I-80.
Cons: Not all tees are concrete. Signs could use a bit of work. Plan to huck a couple in the water. It's too tempting to try to run it. All the grass on the back nine needs some cutting. You may spend a lot of time looking for a shot that you saw land. Alternate holes should have better marking. I had a local play me through the whole course. If you know where you're going, this course is a great time.
Other Thoughts: It would be cool to see this thing get finished 100%. My opinion this is one of the best courses i've played. If it were trimmed up it would be an excelent rated course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Poop Adobe

5+    3/22/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: LhDave
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a lil bit of everything regarding hole type, open, tight, up, down,left, right, tunnels, water.
Most holes offer several line options
Water fountains, Bathrooms, plenty of parking
Park has tons of other stuff to do, perfect to keep family busy or make a day of it.
Course is a little long, makes for good exercise.
Cons: Inconsistent tees, front are concrete back have natural
Signs are old and faded but a little look ahead fixes that.
Wind at times is beastly
When the grass is tall, keep an eye out
Outta shape people might not like for length and the few hills.
Previously noted there is a very small community of locals, an organization/club would be awesome.
Other Thoughts: The parking fee is enforced by the city, not because of the disc golf course. The fuzz will ticket for not paying, 40 bucks for not paying a measly 3 bucks, so pay up! !!! also if you dont pay the 40 say goodbye registration

Pond and the lagoon can be quite foul, tons of poop in there, if you retreive a disc keep it outta the bag. stink to high hell

Drinking is prohibited, keep it down or tucked in the cart

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant little gem, off an otherwise boring stretch of freeway

2-4    4/1/2011   2/14/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some of the water-lined front nine baskets will force you to "lag" your approach shots because the baskets are so darn close to the water. I loved how the front and back nines are so different from each other; almost like 2 different courses. Great elevation changes on last 7 baskets. Excellent views of the lagoon and surrounding hills from the tops, and nice woodsy feel on 12 & 13. The unique blue baskets are a nice touch. Really nice lagoon based park that I would never have discovered if not for Disc Golf. Lots of land available and used for this course. Great variety of shots implemented, and some memorable teeshots on baskets 14-17.
Cons: Longish fairway grass on 10 & 11, but not difficult to find your disc as long as you track it well. It might be worth the $3/$5 bucks to park at the middle of the park, as the walk from free parking is about 10-15 minutes.
Other Thoughts: I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this course! Lots of character and great use of natural terrain. Some of the water holes on the front nine reminded me of Aquatic Park in Berkeley. There were also at least 3-4 DGers making serious attempts at finding sunken discs near holes 6 & 7. Very fun course!
==================
Uniqueness: A- (front 9 near water; back 9 in the hills...cool!)
Difficulty: B+ (water & elevation; not too many trees tho)
Fun factor: A- (from bombs away to target shots, it's all there)
Aesthetics: A- (very pretty area; could be better kept)
----------------------
Overall: A-

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 August Is Not The Best Time To Play!

1    8/20/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 944  Reviewed: 894  Exp: 38.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lagoon Valley plays the front nine out playing along side and over the water most of the way. The front nine has smallish concrete pads. The back nine plays up and around a more rugged wilderness area with some elevation to contend with. The pads on the back nine are natural. The signs are mostly fading and are getting fairly hard to read. There is one shot over water, maybe 7 or 8, but it's easy to lay up around it and not risk going into the goose-poo infected water.
Cons: Goose poo was nasty and everywhere on the front 9. As previously mentioned, I was hestitant to put my bag down. The water was fowl and ugly! It was not water I was interested in going disc diving in. The park in August was not pretty and inviting. The front 9 along the water was just goose poo fowled and the back 9 was hot, dry, dusty and burnt. The back 9 was extremely hard to navigate, even with the on-line map we had printed. We never were sure about # 15 and quit after # 16. And the wind was blowing something fierce making every throw or putt an adventure.
Other Thoughts: I guess you could say that our experience at Lagoon Valley was not exactly a pleasant one. I'll chalk part of that to the time of the year we were here (late August). Part, I'll attribute to the geese and their nasty poo. Part to the prevailing winds. Part to the lack of signage and part to the general course design.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.