Disc Golf Store
Vacaville, CA 
Lagoon Valley Share
Uploaded By: DesignerJoe55 Hole #7 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Perfect place to stop in between Sac and SF

1    1/31/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: SuperSac916
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really fun course to play for begginers and more skilled players alike. Front 9 holes play easy but can be made very challenging by the water and wind. The course was definitely designed with begining disc golf in mind. 4 new holes in the front add an easy twist. Then the long holes start. The back 9 and 4 new holes without tee pads are awesome for big drivers. Also I love the baskets. They are well maintained and newer style. Whats awesome is that there are 26 very diverse holes that make playing the Lagoon valley course truly fun for all.
Cons: Wind and water can kill your day, take very accurate well though out shots to insure dry play. Back 9 can get tedious for beginners with short throws. 8 new holes tee boxes are dirt or worse with a flag or rock as marker. Geese are angry creatures.
Other Thoughts: First time out played an above par game but lost no discs. I think that is awesome because i watched a guy in waiters tromp around in the lake rescuing sunken discs. After talking with him he gave me a few disc to try out which made me and my friend happy because right after that he threw a disc in the drink and i happened to have just received the exact same type of disc. Keep throwing discs in the water, thats how you get better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/7/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Rescue
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having played this course multiple times.I find that although the front 13 (yup 4 new holes in the front!) can play easy. It's the wind that can turn this course into a real challenge. One of the few places I've played were a 10' putt is not a gimmie. Plus add a little water to the mix (up to 5 holes depending on placement) It can make for a long day. Now without the wind. It's a pretty basic front 13. The back 13 is like a diff. course. Trees and terrain changes make it more challenging. Once again, add the wind = long day sometimes. Baskets in great shape with 2 deep chains. If you go near the end of summer till early spring. The tall grass is not an issue.
Cons: Helter Skelter teepads. Some are cement and some are just dirt teepads. Also some teepads are very small. During mid to late spring and parts of summer (depends on when the city mows) The grass/weeds can be crazy. Up to 3' in some places. For a $3 entry fee. It should be a better maintained course. New holes are not well marked. The back 13 is also tuff to navigate, but they have a web site with an updated map.
Other Thoughts: Overall a solid course worth checking out. Once again it's the wind that can turn this course into a beast! If you put to much or to little of an angle on the disc and get it to high in the air. You could be swimming for your discs! However it is seasonal (late spring and into summer) Don't let the pictures fool you. They are old and the trees have matured since those pics. Very small disc golf community out here. Sooo it's very seldom you have any teepad backups. Even on weekends.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Stop for I-80 Traffic Jam?

1    5/10/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course lies in a peaceful valley just off interstate 80 between Vacaville and Fairfield, where there is a large park and some potentially good places to toss discs at baskets in the passtime we refer to as disc golf.

I like the water hazards one finds on the front portion of the course, because these present a unique psychological challenge even if the holes themselves are not otherwise difficult. This may be a minus to some players, but on a course with few challenges/obstacles I savor even this kind of challenge.

Some of the course has fairly well kept tees and baskets, though this is not always the case.

There is a great hole that plays from the top of a hill in the back portion, which is very long but has a lot of elevation. In terms of topography and placement this hole would be rated a good one on any course (except for lack of a fairway and trees). If you get the right edge on your disc it can go a very long way.
Cons: I think the designers of this course did the best they could with the landscape, but the location of the course within the park is not ideal. Much of the first part is flat and the holes are short and wide open. The back portion, where some trees and a bit more challenge exists, is almost impossible to navigate unless you ask somebody who knows better than you.

When the grass at this course gets long and thick you can be within 5 ft of your disc and you won't find it. There are quite a few holes at this course that are rather hairy disc traps. Be sure to play in groups and spot for one another!
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a good course to play and you have enough fuel in your car, keep on driving to Napa Valley, Orangevale (near Sacramento), Novato, or SF Golden Gate Park (depending on which way you're headed). I would stop here in an I-80 daylight traffic jam and play a round until it dissipated, but otherwise I don't see myself returning unless there are other special circumstances.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Jekyll & Hyde

5+    5/27/2008   1/27/2009
Review By: bneely
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good to great hole design for most holes after the front 9
- Pretty but not spectacular setting, with a large lagoon that's visible from most of the holes.
- Large variety in hole length, shape, with sharp elevation changes in the back 9
- Baskets are in good condition
Cons: -Mixture of tees, with better tees on the front 9 and natural/dirt tees for most of the other holes, most of which are in good shape unless it's been raining
-The wind likes to blow something fierce through the valley
-Front 9 hole design is bland
-A couple of long walks between successive holes, some flow issues
-An incredible amount of goose feces near many of the holes on the front 9, someone should start a fertilizer business out there
Other Thoughts: Of the courses I've played to date, none feature a multiple personality disorder quite like Vacaville's Lagoon Valley DGC. Beginning the course at the first tee, you'll find a quaint urban-style park, with some tended grass peppered onto a hard pan background, a man-made pond, and simple landscaping. The tee pads for this portion of the course are cement, and as another reviewer mentioned, tend to the smallish side. The holes are fairly typical par 3 distances(primarily in the 240-320' range) and three of the holes bring the man-made pond into play with partial forced carries.

If the entire course carried on in a similar manner, it would probably fall at about a 2.5 rating.

Then, after finishing hole 9- the best hole on the front, a 470 foot slightly downhill difficult par 3, you walk a few hundred feet north towards hole 10, which while only 340' presents OB on the left and a tightly tucked pin.

This is the beginning of a much stronger back 9, with some highlights being Hole 11- a 570' dogleg left par 4, with OB along the entire left side of the fairway; Hole 14, the first of two elevated tees with a sharp drop to the pin, a 380' shot down the hill with the best views on the course; and Hole 17, a massive 650' downhill hole onto a sideslope, that can be reached by a big arm with the right wind assistance.

In general these back 9 holes are more difficult and more varied than those on the front. If the entire course was similar to the back, I would probably rate it a 3.5 overall, which is how I've arrived at a rating of 3- finding the middle between the Jekyll and Hyde nature of the course design.

The local volunteers have now installed an additional 7 baskets, with one double-used to make 8 additional holes, bringing the total to 25 holes available for play. The quality of these holes varies- there are 3-4 that shine, but some of the rest seem crammed in too tightly in an attempt to over-utilize the existing space.

The wind is no joke at this place. If you're not from Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, or any other wind-dominant region, you might find the breezes a tad stiff, especially in the afternoon.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Devils kitchen

2-4    8/22/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A couple of water shots, some nice elevation shots, great chief spot inside of a bush,
Cons: its hot as hell in the summer, carry lots of water and sunscreen. can get pretty windy
Other Thoughts: When I played it, I didnt have to pay to play, but they may have changed it since then.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Dry and hot

1    10/13/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: beauzen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 36 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A variety of holes and elevation change; a little water comes into play
Cons: Confusing layout - especially the back nine. Odd numbering (12, 13, A,B,C, 14?)
Other Thoughts: I can only imagine what it would be like in the summer (85 degrees in October - It must be an oven!)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5/25/2008   5/28/2008
Review By: Jeterdawg
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty natural surroundings (mountainous hills), concrete pads on most holes, good baskets for most holes.
Cons: Many holes have a good route for a roller, but it can't be used because of the terrain and the fact that the course doesn't seem to get mowed often (if ever). I believe I found 3-4 extra holes that weren't included on the map and also didn't have signs so I wasn't sure how to play them.
Other Thoughts: Overall not bad, but nothing special. The distance is decent; except for 3-4 holes, it seemed like they all were 300+ feet and required a driver, which is about what most courses need in my opinion.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Crazy

11/2/2007   11/6/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Back nine cruse through the hills.
Cons: You have to pay to get in. The front nine are down by the pond on the other side of the park and there intermediate level.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.