Marriottsville, MD 
Patapsco Valley State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 336ft.   4 / 441ft.   3 / 396ft.   4 / 501ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Green Monsters

1    9/26/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: LukeMetz
Played: 111  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of open holes, technical wooded holes and elevation change. I was sceptical about the tee pads at first but after using them, I realized that they are perfect.
Cons: Playing the back tees to the Green baskets: all these baskets seem to be heavily guarded. a great drive left me with questionable up shots.
Other Thoughts: Its possible to 3 every hole in long locations. 2s are harder to come by.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Patapsco picnic rounds

2-4    9/18/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: LukeButch
Played: 107  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: great terrain, rolling hills and woods with some open holes. mostly par 4 holes from long tees- green baskets. 2 baskets every hole. Awesome variety of shots off the tee and upshots.
Cons: too many par 3.5 holes forcing short drives to set up 2nd shot, with no risk/reward option.
Other Thoughts: wish they opened up some of the wooded holes slightly so the tweener holes would be closer to tough par 3s than easy par 4s

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 World Class

5+    5/26/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Everything you're looking for in a par-72 course. Elevation change, open looks, tight lines - this course requires a mastery of almost every type of shot. Each hole now has 2 permanent tee pads, which are framed in and feature crushed aggregate stone. Each hole also has a short position, which are moved throughout the year, and a permanent long set up, known as the "Green Monster" as the long baskets are powder coated a flourescent green.
Cons: I've been playing this course for years, but I would imagine that finding one's way around for the first time could be rather difficult. Ticks/gnats can be annoying, so plan for them accordingly. $2 per person entry fee, but that's common for all MD state parks.
Other Thoughts: This course has something for everyone. Amateurs can play short to short, pros can play the green monster. The course is about a 40 min drive from downtown Baltimore.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course

5+    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: sheepforwheat
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course in maryland. It is extremely well kept, and the baskets stay in place so that I can compare my scores and actually see my improvement.
Cons: dogs must be leashed. Costs money to get in to the park.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Disc Golf!

5+    3/21/2010   3/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
17 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: While perhaps not a top 10 course, Patapsco in the Green Monster configuration can match up with any of the traditional powerhouse courses out there. The shorter pins and tees can make for great variety but to experience the best of Patapsco you need to see the longs; that said, my review here is specifically for the long-to-long Green Monster course.

Patapsco requires an excellent balance of course management, accuracy, mental toughness, and power to succeed (and roughly in that order). Players who possess only one or two of these three will struggle at some points during the course especially those without a flexible arsenal of save shots. As a previous reviewer mentioned, even on many of the more open holes, you'll need to accurately hit specified landing zones to get clean approaches to many of the tucked in pins. On the wooded holes, accuracy is often paramount and gaining 200' of distance down the fairway with good position can often be better than lies closer to the basket but in 'no-no' areas with brutal tree coverage. With the relentless stream of par 4's, you will (probably several times) find yourself with tough lies and even tougher lines to the pin. Those with good course management skills will recognize long-shot hail Mary's that are too long and will know when to pitch out for position. Losing one's cool and patience can quickly rack up extra strokes on these desparation shots.
Cons: The lack of permanent tee pads is the main 'con' to this course. With soooo many awesome holes, you really want to play your best golf and missing a shot due to a slip or trip can be a huge letdown! The only other drawback to the course is the lack of upkeep during the summer when the field holes are full of high grass (and lots of ticks!).

While I love the course design, there are a couple of tee/pin combinations which just aren't conducive to score/skill separation. An example of this is hole 18 in the high left pin which is a big long downhill hyzer shot into a small grassy valley inbetween two well-defined stands of trees on the right and left. Upon reaching the landing zone, the second shot is a very tight, but short uphill pitch to a pin in the stand of trees on the left. On the drive, there is very little a player can to do ensure that he/she will have a good putt for '2'. You do have the option of throwing high into the trees and hope to find a lucky lane to the basket - but this choice is simply to rely on luck and nothing else. The vast majority of players will elect to shoot down to the layup zone and will have a (too) long birdie chance/short up and down yielding an overall scoring range for advanced/pro players from the extremely rare (and lucky) two, ~75% threes, and ~25% fours either because a short putt was missed or a terrible drive/upshot.
Other Thoughts: Out of the nearly 500 courses I've played, Patapsco remains one of my all-time favorite courses. It has all of the basics (woods, fields, elevation, multiple line fairways, challenging pin positions, multiple tee/baskets, etc.) that I look for in a great course and that special character that keeps you coming back again and again.

17 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    10/25/2010   2/27/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: potapsco is a very long technical course that i love to go to. it challenges me everytime i go, well it wants me to type more so im just gonna say LOVE POTAPSCO!!!
Cons: all the trees i hit at potapsco. but i always seem to hit trees. all kinds of trees that is :)

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Go visit Baltimore disc golfers!

5+    10/22/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: Spartan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a lot of Pros. Great changes in elevation and a good mix between wooded and open holes. Tees are set for beginners and seasoned players. Holes are generally easy to find but a map can be obtained from the entrance in the parking lot.
Cons: The first time I played, it was hard finding the holes so I would suggest getting a map or printing one out from Google. The baskets are hard to find as well for first timers without a map. The closest baskets are generally in plain sight but the champion baskets (which are the ones you want to play) are almost never in sight from the tee. Hole 12 can be a little tricky for beginners and i would suggest throwing the the right of the basket otherwise you might spend some time hiking down a steep hill looking for your disc!
Other Thoughts: Over all, one of my favorite courses from Maryland or Michigan. I highly suggest playing at this course. The holes are made to be challenging for any level and also fun at any level. So go check it out! Also.....check out my group Baltimore disc golfers on this website and join if you're interested in playing with new people!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 1st Time

1    11/6/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: B Trizzle
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee boxes, multiple baskets. Green baskets are nicely placed in more challenging areas. The park is pretty wide open, not a lot of places to loose your disc. There were only 3 other players on the course and they didnt arrive untile I was on hole 17.
Cons: Not clear on parking, park in the middle otherwise its a long walk back to your car. Some holes are too direct, not much of a challenge on some of the A pins.
Other Thoughts: I played from the red tees to the A pins, it was my first time at this course and only my 3rd time playing. I'll try the blues next time and a diff pin.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 awesome in every way

5+    9/18/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: discdeviant
Played: 75  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 2 sets of tees and baskets gives throwers 4 different courses from which to choose. Punisher layout is as good as it gets.
20 foot long tees
Many elevated greens
An incredible variety of shots.
Cons: Hole 7 is a head scratcher for some players. It has grown on me however.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course I have ever played.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Top of the Line

1    6/5/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: Radarx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I will keep this short, Fantastic setting and course, variety of holes. Perfectly mix of open & wooded. Other than concrete, best tee boxes I have seen on a course. Its simply a disc golfer's paradise and a must play if you are in the area. Well groomed course. Fairly disk and beginner friendly. There is a lot of clearing around the baskets on most holes. Multiple tees and baskets make this so much more than a 18 hole course. They do give you a map at the entrance. pleanty of parking, picnic tables. restrooms.
Cons: Small wood sign at the bottom of the basket pointiing to the next hole would have been nice. Maybe its the time of year I played but the Nats drove me crazy on the back 9 after the 10th hole. Couple of holes you have to wait for traffic. I did not notice any tee signs or other indicating which postion the basket was in (A B C) I like the way Rockburn does it with the locks.
Other Thoughts: For a $2 course what more could you ask for. Just needs a hot dog stand! pro shop with disc for sale! Its a 1st class course in my opinion and can't wait to play again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.