Marriottsville, MD
Patapsco Valley State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 229ft.   4 / 482ft.   3 / 293ft.   4 / 546ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Balanced and Better!

1    8/17/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: SMOOTH FLAT CRUSHED GRAVEL TEES! Sorry for the screamer but please disregard all prior ratings that dissed this course for poor tees. Course has large perfect tees now! I was mostly impressed with the variety here. A few tight holes, A few open holes, and best of all there are 6 absolutely wonderful holes here:
#3 Starts as a field hole but after a precise drive dips into a wooded nook with trees and elevation all around
#8 A fun downhill and then uphill hyzer through the woods...a great Eastern hardwood hole
#9 A slightly downhill drive to a protected wooded bouldered green
#15 A downhill drive to a very fast green sloping fast in the woods below
#17 A wonderful woods hole that if played properly yields par but can be problematic due to the slope hard to the left.....I'd imagine a make or break your round hole.
#18 Another open field blast to a wooded area with protected hillside pin placememnts
The other holes are no slouches either...7 is a long wooded adventure,11 is a completely wide open hole that allows you to rip and play the wind, 12 and 13 have a cliff lurking to the left of fairway, all of the other holes are solid...no poor holes here. I really enjoyed the open holes after the tighter holes and vice/versa. Nice locals, Nice Park, Nice Time out there! This course provides beginners and experts with a fun time. Due to the challenge and variety I never felt bored here.
Cons: Its true 14 and 16 seem like twins. Navigation was an issue for me..there is no map on site and it's not clearly marked..I hooked up with locals thankfully. Get a map beforehand. Beware the course plays near/over access roads at some points. Pay to play, but it seems worth it for this course.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course....The variety of terrain and the improved tees put it into the elite territory for me. Certainly worth the trip from PA for me. Tee #1 is to the left of the access road and plays towards the baseball diamond...from there scout ahead and pay attention....Course really needs to be better marked.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Marvellous!

1    4/11/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous layout in a diverse terrain of hardwoods and open fields, this layout will challenge your game to a high level. Features dual amateur and pro teepads and three rotating pin placements per hole. The pins were mostly in C (long) when I played on beautiful spring day (all alone!) Fairways vary in width, but most were long enough to make for several honest par 4's to push this into the future of disc golf. Control is the key on most holes or the strokes start piling up. The park is well-maintained and very clean. And the 9th hole nicely circles back to the parking lot. Restroom facilities off hole #4.
Cons: The only things holding this course back from being absolute top notch are a few important matters.
1.) Teepads are not permanent - I played after it had been raining all day and the cinder boxes were marginally slick.
The pro tee pads were less rutty than the shorts (which frequently had puddles in them.

2.) Signage lacking/ poor navigation. No maps were available at the kiosk, and no map on the kiosk. I was lucky I had printed a map or I would have had trouble finding tee # 1 and a few other holes on the course. Some "next tee" signs would have been helpful too.

3.) Teepads had posts with the hole # but no yardage posted, and no indication of which pin placement was in. Signs would be really nice.

4.) Dangerous placement of several tee pads

Tee #2 vulnerable to a blind approach on hole #1
Tee #3 VERY vulnerable to drives from #1
Holes 14-16 all are dangerously close to the shanks from their neighbors.

I think that courses with multiple pins should follow PA course Tyler St. Park's example- put a little rotating dial which indicates which position the pin is in. It can save some walking and guessing, especially when it comes to doglegs and really long holes
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, I rated this course high, because it is very FUN, challenging and scenic. The cons are minor in comparison to these factors!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    10/21/2008   8/8/2009
Review By: GroundHog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lovely setting.
Black walnuts available for the gathering in season.
Parking convenient to midpoint & end of course.
Cons: Used to be, one could get in free on weekdays.
Disc loss potential.
Certainly a compromise could be reached for widening the mowing of high grass; perhaps a a few more meters on either side of the pertinent fairways at an in-between growth height.
Watch your step for stumplets in some spots. .
Other Thoughts: Pin location of Hole 18 can be scouted when driving Hole 10.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite local course

5+    6/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, lots of variety, pretty setting, multiple pin locations and both amature and pro tees lead to lots of replayability
Cons: Very few issues -- a few holes on the back 9 are less interesting (11 is just long and featureless, 14 and 16 are very similar, and 17 is a lucky woods hack)
Other Thoughts: Excellent course, i ahve enjoyed playing it for a decade.
A key issue in mid atlantic states is that poison ivy is ubiquitous, and a couse that does not eradicate it is a disaster to play. I have never seen any PI in Patapsaco, its maintanence is spectacular.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will be great

1    7/22/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great holes with lots of variety. Good use of elevation, tress, rocks, creeks, and everything else they could squeeze in. Woods and open fairways. Some holes that are real challenging. Bad shots can cost you.
Cons: New pads under construction. Needs signs to navigate course. Layout is a little tricky. Some holes cross each other and some backtracking required to find next hole. Back nine has a couple straight boring holes. They could use a hazard or tree to make the shot tougher. Some baskets are hard to see. Maybe something bright on basket would make it easier to see.
Other Thoughts: When new pads are done this course is easily a 4. Put some signs up and tweak a few holes and it's as good as it gets. A must play if you are in MD. Play Seneca and Rockburn also and you couldn't ask for a better day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great place!

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Lumberg
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: scenery, hilly terrain with great trees, well designed fairways with tall grass rough areas, 18 holes with multiple tee/pin placements, somewhat remote location to give you good privacy
Cons: not many come to mind...it's always difficult to navigate any first-time course, especially when you're solo. but rangers give you a great map so easy to follow the holes. some tee box posts down
Other Thoughts: as always, the earlier you play the better experience you'll have, less crowds, more privacy, etc. also seems to be RH thrower in mind / lots of dog leg lefts

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course: Tough but Fair

1    5/22/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 46  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout. Good mixture of shots needed to play this course.
Cons: Signs or arrows to next tee box are needed as well as a more accurate course map.
Other Thoughts: Loved playing the course but found it frustrating when getting to the next tee box wasn't obvious and worse was trying to find the basket to throw to.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 amazing course

5+    12/24/2008   5/24/2009
Review By: jlogflagstaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course has it all. tight fairways along with open fairways. lots of elevation along with flat areas. great baskets, two baskets to putt on before the round. two tee pads along with several pin postions per hole. you will need every shot in the bag to shoot hot on this course. great local people to show you around. picnic tables throughout course. mowed paths on each hole. well maintained.
Cons: tee sings would be nice. more trash cans too. besides that amazing course.
Other Thoughts: best course in the balitmore area. must play course. patapsco will test your game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 punisher

2-4    5/21/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: brian j
Played: 67  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very technical course with a great layout. most of the holes are in the woods and require you to hit your lines. the designer did a great job of utilizing all the elevation changes in the park.

multiple tee and pin positions for each hole. when i played all even holes where in the short pin position and all the odds were in the long position. and when the say long they mean loooooong.

the park is also very well maintained. the field holes were mowed and i don't think i saw any poison ivy which is a miracle in the mid-atlantic area in may.
Cons: as has already been mentioned concrete or flypads would be nice. i didn't encounter any mud but the tees are starting to get depressions near the front. also there is very little signage and some sort of direction to the next tee is needed. i almost quit trying to find hole 11 my first time through.
Other Thoughts: patapsco hosts a tournament called the patapsco punisher and i can see why the call it that. with better teepads and some signs this course would easly rank 4 discs. add another 9 holes (there appears to be plenty of room) and it would easly be a 5.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, could be great

1    5/19/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There's a lot of shot variety, open/wooded, and elevation variety of this course. The designers made pretty good use of the park land that was available to them. Multiple tees (blue and red) for each hole and the standards have multiple locations, though from the map it appears most holes the locations aren't all that different. Standards are in decent condition and overall the course feels in good repair.
Cons: I really don't like paying to play disc golf and this park charges a fee to enter.

No signs on the tees other than blue/red markers with the hole numbers on them. Signs with hole layouts and pointers to the next tee would be most helpful. Even with a map of the course I often had to run ahead to see where I was throwing. A couple of times I had to search a bit for the next tee, though there are not any that are too obscure (if you go make sure you print or draw the map provided in the files section). This is really what kept it from a 4/5 rating.

A couple of the holes are fairly boring straight open field style shots. This would be alright, but most of the grass in the field is uncut here so it just makes it finding your disc harder if you don't hit the small fairway they cut for you to walk on.

A couple of shots are through dense woods that feel very pitch 'n pray, though never too frustrating. 15 plays up to and 17 plays along a fairly steep downward slope. 15 I feel is okay because you can choose to risk going for it as you approach, but 17's drive has lots of trees around to hit, which can easily send your disc careening a long way down this hill. I found this a bit too punishing though the hole is a good one.
Other Thoughts: I wish the course designers had incorporated the stream behind 15 (down the slope mentioned above). The park seems like a nice place to hike, bike, or picnic.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.