Marriottsville, MD 
Patapsco Valley State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 245ft.   3 / 358ft.   3 / 309ft.   3 / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Green Monster

5+    5/6/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: DannyS
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Playing the Green Monster layout (long tees to the green baskets that are permanently in the C positions) makes this a par 4 disc golf course. This is true golf ... not your normal Drive + Putt you find at so many courses. You will rarely, if ever, reach the green with your drive. Players will need a long, accurate drive followed by a long, accurate approach, followed by a putt for a birdie-3. There is a great mix of wooded and open holes and there is plenty of elevation change throughout the course. The wooded fairways are tough but also fair. The course is currently in great shape (May '10) and they have planted a ton of new trees which will help define some of the field holes. I love playing the Green Monster!
Cons: No water comes into play on the course. This isn't really a con as you can only work with what you are given.
Other Thoughts: This rating is for the Green Monster layout only. Be prepared for a hike ... not recommended for anyone nursing an injury.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

1    4/4/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in a nice clean park. The gravel teepads are so good/level that they rival any concrete ones I've played on. Multiple pins makes this very interesting. Nice variety of open/wooded, with some water and a ravine. The scenery was great, the locals were very helpful. Lots of elevation changes, and equal amounts of precision shots and opportunities to just "air them out"
Cons: Can be a bit confusing, no map/scorecards available in the kiosk. Finding the park is a bit hard (street addresses reset so you think you're going the wrong way). Finding hole 1 is also a bit tricky, I started at 4 (without realizing) and then finished with 1-3. Shooting some of the alternate pins puts you out of the way for the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Would love to get back here someday to play the other set of pins.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    2/20/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is set in a nice park that is very large and has a lot of things to do. The course itself was very difficult to follow. As it was my first time playing the course, it would have been helpful to have some sort of map or scorecard telling us where to go. In their defense, I imagine that they might have those two things more readily available in the summer months. The course has numerous tee/basket positions which can make the course easier or more difficult. I really enjoyed the back 9 holes. I thought 12-18 were totally different from the rest and offered a more fun challenge. Number 17 I believe which is all in the woods was a neat hole where you threw alongside a hill through the woods, and you could make a good shot on the basket with a good throw. The course does force you to use a number of different shots which is nice. Overall, I liked the course but next time I will take a map with me. The tee boxes were elevated and had a good amount of space to run up on.
Cons: Poor markings telling you where to go next.

Tees were missing signs so you didn't really know how far you were going or which basket you were to throw too.

I am personally a fan of Innova Discatchers over the Mach cages.
Other Thoughts: This was a nice course settled in a cool park. I will definitely play this course again. On this day, my friend and I played this course and Rockburn Branch. I would choose Rockburn over this course any day.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Green Monster

5+    1/15/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Situated in a large, beautiful park along side the scenic Patapsco River, you can quickly forget you're actually in the suburbs of a large industrial city. Two landing strip-sized crush-and-run tees per hole. At least three pin positions and two installed baskets per hole, with one green anodized pin permanently installed in the C location allow you to tailor the level of punishment to your mood that round (the other pin floats between the A & B setting). Most fairways feel open (and long), but there are normally a few trees or obstacles that force you to shape your drive. Drive placement is important since most pin settings (particularly B & C) are tucked into pockets of trees that have a favored approach lane that you won't want to miss. All holes have some sort of elevation change or contour to negotiate, uphill, downhill, sidehill or across a ravine. No filler holes, though 14-16 do have an element of deja vu. A couple of the C pins overlook the Patapsco River. There are two nine hole loops that each return to the parking lot.
Cons: The tees, like any gravel tees are subject to pitting from wear (concrete wasn't permitted by the park). No epic downhill drive though there are some serious hills around (pretty sure they are protected areas). MD State Parks charge a $2 entry fee ($3 for out-of-state), well worth it in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: I've held back on this review as the major improvements that were carried out this year have been rumored for some time. Most of the knockoffs for this course have now been addressed. The tees, while not concrete, are enormous and allow a serious run up (you'll need it). The Park management is now very supportive of the course, even helping with the new tees. It's also reflected with improved mowing of the fairways, particularly on the back nine where it was needed. Some of the newer C pin settings are exquisitely painful. The full punishment mode from the blue tees to the green C pins is known as the Green Monster layout at over 9200'. This layout is used for the A tier Patapsco Picnic which draws some of the top pros in the country.

Favorite holes for me are #5 ( tight uphill drive through some large pines), #7, (probably the signature hole), a long rip through the woods with more turns than an episode of 24, and #8, a tight straight drive along a sidehill sloping down to your left, and #17 (very similar to #8 but with more trouble if you go left.). #18 is also a great finishing hole. Any golf trip the the DC/Baltimore corridor should absolutely include this gem.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Balanced and Better!

1    8/17/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: SMOOTH FLAT CRUSHED GRAVEL TEES! Sorry for the screamer but please disregard all prior ratings that dissed this course for poor tees. Course has large perfect tees now! I was mostly impressed with the variety here. A few tight holes, A few open holes, and best of all there are 6 absolutely wonderful holes here:
#3 Starts as a field hole but after a precise drive dips into a wooded nook with trees and elevation all around
#8 A fun downhill and then uphill hyzer through the woods...a great Eastern hardwood hole
#9 A slightly downhill drive to a protected wooded bouldered green
#15 A downhill drive to a very fast green sloping fast in the woods below
#17 A wonderful woods hole that if played properly yields par but can be problematic due to the slope hard to the left.....I'd imagine a make or break your round hole.
#18 Another open field blast to a wooded area with protected hillside pin placememnts
The other holes are no slouches either...7 is a long wooded adventure,11 is a completely wide open hole that allows you to rip and play the wind, 12 and 13 have a cliff lurking to the left of fairway, all of the other holes are solid...no poor holes here. I really enjoyed the open holes after the tighter holes and vice/versa. Nice locals, Nice Park, Nice Time out there! This course provides beginners and experts with a fun time. Due to the challenge and variety I never felt bored here.
Cons: Its true 14 and 16 seem like twins. Navigation was an issue for me..there is no map on site and it's not clearly marked..I hooked up with locals thankfully. Get a map beforehand. Beware the course plays near/over access roads at some points. Pay to play, but it seems worth it for this course.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course....The variety of terrain and the improved tees put it into the elite territory for me. Certainly worth the trip from PA for me. Tee #1 is to the left of the access road and plays towards the baseball diamond...from there scout ahead and pay attention....Course really needs to be better marked.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Marvellous!

1    4/11/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous layout in a diverse terrain of hardwoods and open fields, this layout will challenge your game to a high level. Features dual amateur and pro teepads and three rotating pin placements per hole. The pins were mostly in C (long) when I played on beautiful spring day (all alone!) Fairways vary in width, but most were long enough to make for several honest par 4's to push this into the future of disc golf. Control is the key on most holes or the strokes start piling up. The park is well-maintained and very clean. And the 9th hole nicely circles back to the parking lot. Restroom facilities off hole #4.
Cons: The only things holding this course back from being absolute top notch are a few important matters.
1.) Teepads are not permanent - I played after it had been raining all day and the cinder boxes were marginally slick.
The pro tee pads were less rutty than the shorts (which frequently had puddles in them.

2.) Signage lacking/ poor navigation. No maps were available at the kiosk, and no map on the kiosk. I was lucky I had printed a map or I would have had trouble finding tee # 1 and a few other holes on the course. Some "next tee" signs would have been helpful too.

3.) Teepads had posts with the hole # but no yardage posted, and no indication of which pin placement was in. Signs would be really nice.

4.) Dangerous placement of several tee pads

Tee #2 vulnerable to a blind approach on hole #1
Tee #3 VERY vulnerable to drives from #1
Holes 14-16 all are dangerously close to the shanks from their neighbors.

I think that courses with multiple pins should follow PA course Tyler St. Park's example- put a little rotating dial which indicates which position the pin is in. It can save some walking and guessing, especially when it comes to doglegs and really long holes
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons, I rated this course high, because it is very FUN, challenging and scenic. The cons are minor in comparison to these factors!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    10/21/2008   8/8/2009
Review By: GroundHog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lovely setting.
Black walnuts available for the gathering in season.
Parking convenient to midpoint & end of course.
Cons: Used to be, one could get in free on weekdays.
Disc loss potential.
Certainly a compromise could be reached for widening the mowing of high grass; perhaps a a few more meters on either side of the pertinent fairways at an in-between growth height.
Watch your step for stumplets in some spots. .
Other Thoughts: Pin location of Hole 18 can be scouted when driving Hole 10.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite local course

5+    6/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, lots of variety, pretty setting, multiple pin locations and both amature and pro tees lead to lots of replayability
Cons: Very few issues -- a few holes on the back 9 are less interesting (11 is just long and featureless, 14 and 16 are very similar, and 17 is a lucky woods hack)
Other Thoughts: Excellent course, i ahve enjoyed playing it for a decade.
A key issue in mid atlantic states is that poison ivy is ubiquitous, and a couse that does not eradicate it is a disaster to play. I have never seen any PI in Patapsaco, its maintanence is spectacular.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will be great

1    7/22/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great holes with lots of variety. Good use of elevation, tress, rocks, creeks, and everything else they could squeeze in. Woods and open fairways. Some holes that are real challenging. Bad shots can cost you.
Cons: New pads under construction. Needs signs to navigate course. Layout is a little tricky. Some holes cross each other and some backtracking required to find next hole. Back nine has a couple straight boring holes. They could use a hazard or tree to make the shot tougher. Some baskets are hard to see. Maybe something bright on basket would make it easier to see.
Other Thoughts: When new pads are done this course is easily a 4. Put some signs up and tweak a few holes and it's as good as it gets. A must play if you are in MD. Play Seneca and Rockburn also and you couldn't ask for a better day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great place!

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Lumberg
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: scenery, hilly terrain with great trees, well designed fairways with tall grass rough areas, 18 holes with multiple tee/pin placements, somewhat remote location to give you good privacy
Cons: not many come to mind...it's always difficult to navigate any first-time course, especially when you're solo. but rangers give you a great map so easy to follow the holes. some tee box posts down
Other Thoughts: as always, the earlier you play the better experience you'll have, less crowds, more privacy, etc. also seems to be RH thrower in mind / lots of dog leg lefts

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.