Steamboat Springs, CO 
Hillside at CMC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 233ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Nice New Baskets, but Odd Layout

1    8/1/2016   8/1/2016
Review By: markmcc
Played: 166  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It looks like the big recent improvement is nine brand new Dynamic Discs baskets. I wish that they weren't black, but they look good and catch fine.

The front nine is really short, so you have a bunch of ace runs and should expect to birdie many of these holes. The back nine uses alternate pads to throw to the same nine baskets, but the lengths are stretched out a good bit.

Decent variety of lines. I played mostly RHBH but 3-4 holes favored a RHFH drive. Many of the holes can be driven with putters or mid-ranges.

There is some good elevation out here, and all holes have some element of up or down. The trees are shortish oaks but there are some challenging basket placements. The rest of the vegetation is thick short brush, so disc finding can be a little challenging .

Easy parking in the large residence hall lot. Course starts and ends near the parking lot.
Cons: There are no numbers on baskets, no numbers on teepads, and no tee signs of any kind. These things combine to make it tough on a travelling golfer to play the course. I printed out the map and that helped a ton, but even then I had to ask locals about a couple of the back nine holes.

Teepads are three logs on the ground at best, and a wide spot on a dirt path at worst. These holes don't require much of a run-up, but some might not care for these roughed out pads.

You throw at most baskets twice, and one basket three different times. You can find yourself throwing toward the basket from one direction while someone else is throwing from another. Head's up!
Other Thoughts: I played the 18 holes shown on the DGCR map, but a local told me there are nine more tees out there somewhere. With the front nine being a short pitch-n-putt layout I can see the desire for more challenging holes, but it seems like 27 holes on this compact nine-basket layout is a little much!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ho Hum

2-4    5/30/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is hilly so most of the holes have at least some elevation
-Very quick to play. It is very easy to get 9 holes done in very little time. It is nice if you are looking for a quick round, since the other two courses in town take quite a bit longer to play.
-The course now has two baskets (Holes 7+9). This is in improvement over all tone poles and hopefully sometime in the future the course will have all baskets.
-Good place to practice your short and mid-range game and there are lots of ace runs.
-Hole 9 is a nice blind shot over a small hill and was the most interesting hole on the course.
Cons: -This course can get really muddy after it has rained.
-Tee-boxes are really small and they can be hard to find. They are just three logs set into the ground. There are supposed to be a total of 27 tee-boxes for a back nine and playing the course backwards, but without someone who has played them we couldn't find any.
-Course can be hard to navigate. There are no tee-signs. The course is also highly eroded, and there are paths heading every which way, so it can be hard to know which path to follow to the next tee-pad.
-None of the holes are very long, so if you are looking for somewhere to air it out this is not the place.
-7 of the 9 holes are tone poles.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course isn't a bad stop if you need to kill a little time, while you are in Steamboat, as it is just up the hill from downtown. I just wouldn't go out of my way to play it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Stay away

1    8/23/2013   8/31/2013
Review By: acehole88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Good view that seems to be the only good thing about this course.
Cons: No idea where to start
No baskets
Thick bushes everywhere
Other Thoughts: I nearly vomited upon arrival will never go here again. Unless you go to the school do not waste your time.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Something to do

1    4/8/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: nightwing
Played: 144  Reviewed: 32
This review was updated on 6/13/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice hilly spot right off the parking lot.
-Quick rounds-no fuss.
-Location makes for good activity for students.
-Good variety of up and down, left and right shots.
-Athletic Director called me from out of state about a lost disc. (I was impressed and happily donated it.)
Cons: NO BASKETS! At least you can work on approach shots. But with nothing long enough for a driver and no putts to Ka-Ching, it's pretty limited.
Other Thoughts: Worth a stop if you're in town/.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/14/2016   4/28/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 115  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand New Dynamic Baskets
- Fun little course on a rugged peice of land behind the college
- Great course to practice your short game, most holes are around 200 feet
- lots of elevation change for a small course
-quick play, easily play the front 9 in 25 minutes
Cons: - dirt tee pads can sometimes get choppy
- No signage
- with a back 9 that plays back at the same baskets, things can get a little dangerous when the course is busy
Other Thoughts: Hopefully this tee pads and signage will be improved upon in the near future.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun technical short

5+    4/18/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: schmo
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: HIlly with good pin placement. Short, but lots of elevation change. Not too crowded in summer once students leave.
Cons: Not maintained. Tone poles - no baskets. Vegetation can get thick in summer - use bright discs. Crowded when school is in.
Other Thoughts: Water hazard on #9 early season. It's a fun course where you can play front & back 9 under an hour easily. The course map is now available.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

5+    11/8/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: menmabassguitar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simple and easy to follow, finishes back at the first tee pad. Has a great view of Howelsen Hill.

I love being able to throw from one side of the valley to the other. They just took out the annoying barb wire fence along the far side of the course so run away discs are more accessible.

Open range shots
Trash can and bench halfway though.
Beer and smoke seem kosher.
Cons: Directly next to the dorms so sometimes you can hear whats going on down there, it can get crowded

Big water hazard on the last hole.
Other Thoughts: A great place to get your fix

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Putter course for sure

5+    4/23/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 74  Reviewed: 14
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A VERY short course that has allot of elevation change. 9 holes with most in the 125-150 range with only one hole at 200ft.
There are 9 Tone Poles but if you hook with a local, there are roughly 25-27 alternate tee pads. If you play these, realize that most of them flow against the grain of the course so make sure to give right of way to the people playing it normally.
Even though its a putter course, you still get to execute a variety of shots.
The best thing about this course is that locals get to play it early and late season - before and after Thunderhead is Open.
Cons: 1.- Tone Poles, no baskets.
2. The course is the hang out spot for the students right behind campus and they can leave an amazing amount of trash everywhere.
3. Sage Brush...its a good thing Thunderhead is open in the summer, because during peak summer time these nice smelling bushes swallow disc. More than once Ive had a disc parked within 10 and looked for 15 minutes before I could putt.
Other Thoughts: Great pre season warm up course for the locals. D not travel to Steamboat to play Disc unless Thunderhead is set up (Mid June thru November 1st) This course is not worth the trip by itself.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lost disc hell

1    8/13/2006   8/13/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 96  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Interesting hole placements with good elevation changes. Nice views. Challenging. Technical.
Cons: The course was overgrown with a thick shule. Any even slightly errant shot could be lost for good. Scary!
Other Thoughts: I played the course while on a business trip. I was lucky enough to play with some locals. Otherwise I would've never found my way around.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.