Disc Golf Store
Springfield, OH 
Buck Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #12 (Taken 12/2012)
4 / 389ft.   4 / 389ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    5/19/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Bachmann_3
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety
Moderate-low traffic
Amenities and other tourist spots located on site, (boating, camping, fishing, swimming, horseback riding, etc.)
Beautiful scenery
Fair course for all playing levels
Cons: The only critique I can make is of the heavy grass and foliage on the back nine. Can make finding your disc very difficult, but the fairways are clearly cut and easy to hit.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome! One of the most beautiful Ohio has to offer. Great view of the marina on the back nine, that you shoot alongside in the woods on the first half. Some very short holes with huge turn radiuses, followed by longer holes with crazy elevation changes. This is the course I've thrown my longest drive (over 400 ft) downhill toward the marina. Not sure why I don't come here more often but if you have the chance, play buck creek in the summer and go swimming on the beach nearby after. The water is always crystal clean.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good course, but a bit out of the way

2-4    4/9/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: AnimeJ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On the whole, the course makes excellent use of the terrain. There's good use of elevation, and the course combines technical holes early on with more open shots towards the back of the course.

Teepads are all concrete, with well made signage throughout. Multiple holes have alternate pin positions, with a few holes having an alternate teepad as well.
Cons: Some holes have very narrow or barely defined fairways. Additionally, some of the middle holes are very short and sharply doglegged which makes them somewhat less interesting. Links style holes are good, but not when they're less than 300ft in total length.
Other Thoughts: On the hole, this is a really solid course that can provide a good, technical challenge while having a few holes, most notably 14, where you can really air out a disc. The one major issue however is that it's fairly remote, with the park being well off the beaten path compared to most of the other courses in the area. It's still well worth the trip out, however.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Views!

2-4    3/15/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course boasts a great deal of variety, from woods holes, to a huge hilltop bomb, to an island green, and everything in between. The most beautiful view comes into play on the downhill hole #12 with views across the marina and lake to distract you from the sweeping left to right shot you need to execute there.

Starting at the kiosk sign in the middle of the marked disc golf parking lot, you'll find level concrete tees, trash barrels and seating where needed on the course, and you'll be shooting at Innova DiscCatcher baskets, where the large yellow band will help spot some of the blind basket positions with a short walk up those fairways.

Some of the early holes are fun temptresses, beginning with the hole 1 drop shot, which could be aced if you thread the perfect line through the tight tree gaps. The basket is up a backstop slope, so you won't run by. In fact, there are very few spots where risk/reward greens cause a huge gut-check (the obvious exception being the driveway circle island green on 17 - as played in tournaments). The summertime rough could be a disc concealer in the woods, and in the prairie grass on the later, more open holes.

An Intermediate to even Advanced disc golfer will find plenty of challenge working the variety of shots at Buck Creek. Early woods holes bring out your technical game, the breezes off the lake and the excellent use of elevation (especially on holes 11 through 14) will get your head in the game, and the bigger arms will get a chance to show off coming down the finishing stretch. There are fairways that demand very precise left to right lines (#6), and just the opposite (#8 in the uphill left pin position).

There are several signature holes here. I like the beauty of 4, 12 and 14. But one of the greatest 'pros' at Buck Creek is the beautiful scenery of this state park around an impressive lake. The wildlife drawn to this setting (deer, soaring birds, and everything in between) are wonderful to experience.
Cons: The main issue I have had here is related to the beauty of the site (weird, huh?). There are going to be nature lovers all over this park. There is a lakeside hiking trail which goes from the marina parking lot on around, along the #10 fairway, and folks are tempted to hike up the ravine used for hole 9 and earlier. This is a hazard for the right-turning, blind #9 tee shot. Folks walk up the 11th fairway from the marina lot to the picnic zone (!) on (!) the 18th fairway (an unfortunate circumstance of dual-use space). I didn't see any signs warning non-players that they were entering a disc golf course (as if that would change anything). My last time at Buck Creek, there were maybe ten people in that part of the park total, but I waited for safe clearance four different times.

I have relatively little to complain about with the course itself, except that there are now usually two detailed signs at each tee, for how the holes are supposedly laid out now, and how the 'old' layout looked. These are intended to be helpful, but I thought they were sometimes a little confusing. The tight turners like holes 6 and 8 (upper pin position) aren't at all like either picture. Don't get me wrong, these are fun, tricky holes, but might really frustrate a first-timer.
Other Thoughts: When your navigation system gets you to the park on North Bird Road / Buck Creek Lane, you've still got a ways to go: turn right on Park Road, and go (slowly: watch for deer) about a mile (half a mile past the sign for the Marina & Restaurant), to the sign for the Disc Golf Course (left). Go to the 2nd parking area on the right (that's marked for the DGC), and you'll see the kiosk at hole 1.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Course is fun and noteworthy views

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: BBQ SQUID 9
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is probably one of the hilliest in Ohio. There are some pretty views from atop the hills, #12 especially.
There are challenging left/right/straight holes that keep you entertained!
#12 easily was my favorite hole in that you could have a variety of different drives (out right come back left, vis versa, roller all the way down the hill, and even attempting straight at it).
The holes in the woods are forgiving because even if you hit a tree, you should still have a decent shot to make par since the woods holes aren't too long.
Cons: No par on the printed signs.
Printed signs quite inaccurate to the hole locations.
No next tee signs, you can get lost for a few seconds.
#18 could have been made better. It is not challenging nor is it near the hole #1 tee.
Other Thoughts: All in all makes for a fun day where shooting par is quite good for this course. Not a long course, but not terribly short either. Just about right. Not recommended for the first timer as woods holes will make for a depressing day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

1    7/22/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first pro has to be the scenery. I know this has nothing to do with disc golf but this was definitely a plus to me and my family.
-Concrete tees
-tee signs
-clean park with plenty of facilities
-hole 14 is an epic off the top of the hill shot
-great elevation changes
-great mix of wooded and open holes
This course had some great challenges in the woods but also let you air it out. This seemed to be a well maintained course and we actually met some locals doing some work to one of the holes. We drove 1 hr 45 minutes to play this course and definitely did not regret it.
Cons: Very few cons here.
-need a few more next tee signs but it did seem a few have been installed so just a couple more in certain areas would be nice. We just seemed to run into few spots that got confusing.
-rough can be tough but not to bad as we found it to be pretty thorn free
-Open holes have high grass as rough so a spotter is a good option here
Other Thoughts: This course was not on our radar at all but my wife thought it would be cool place to check out and we are definitely glad we did. This park has much to offer including fishing and boating. We will definitely make this trip again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Buck Creek

1    10/6/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great 18 hole course, with great scenery, good elevation change, though needs signs for the teepads, which were new when I went.
Cons: Only problem was no signs for where the next tees are,nor were there distance signs, but they were easy to find anyway.
Other Thoughts: Hueston Woods has some competition, with Buck Creek as the better state park with a DG course. Easy to navigate, great setup, awesome scenery.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

FINALLY HASS AWESOME TEES SIGNS

5+    9/13/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Finally got Tee Signs, and they are nice
-Practice Basket
-Concrete Tees
-Discatcher baskets
-Great Course Flow
-Great Layout
-Great Elevation usage
-Great Mix of holes
-Well maintained by locals
-Nice view over the marina and lake
-Plenty of ace runs
-Favors lefty's and righty's
-SOME multiple tee's
Cons: -Rough can be rough on front 9
-Hole 18's fairway tends to have families in it *SAY FORE*
-Casuals from camp ground can slow your flow
Other Thoughts: This course is a WOW! It is such a mix of everything you would want. Bombers off the top of a hill and tight fairway is the woods. Such a good mix of finesse and power holes, pretty well split between front 9 and back 9. Play smart on the front 9 otherwise you will be covered in bogey burrs if you take a bad hit off the trees. Bring your power for the back 9 and a video camera Hole14 is a awesome hole for and acerun!

All in All this course is worth the play and worth coming back to repeatly. But it can wear you out because is not just a flat course.

PLAY IT, LOVE IT, OWN IT!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Buck Creek

1    7/4/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 100  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent use of a nice piece of property for disc golf. The course itself is very well thought out. With a fairly good balance of hyzer and anhyzer tee shots required, slightly favoring the RHBH anhyzer shot. There are plenty of risk/reward decisions available with definite penalty for errant shots. The first nine holes are all fairly short and wooded. Accuracy is must on these holes with plenty of elevation change. There are definite lines available on every hole, but banging of off a tree can really put you in trouble. Good shots will be rewarded with realistic ace runs available for the higher skilled players. The back nine begins to open up and lengthen up, however the longest hole is 480 feet so there is nothing to challenge the truly big arms as far as distance goes. Very good job with hole design and basket placement I thought. There is some kind of challenge on every hole. With baskets placed on the side of hills, behind trees, and even elevated on a mound. The course navigates fairly easily with little need for course map. There are some next tee signs to help, a few more would be great. The few locals we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The people in the office were very nice and even provided a course map for me. There are restrooms not far and all the amenities of a state park right there.
The condition of the course was very good, even considering we were there right after the big storms. Lots of little branches down but no real damage done to the course. The baskets are Innova Discatchers and are in very good shape. The tees are concrete and there are trash cans and benches at every tee. The tees seemed a little short to me but the longer holes had longer tees so the played well. For the most part you are secluded from the rest of the park and won't have to worry about pedestrians. Except for the last few holes where picnic tables can come into play. This is a shame since there is enough property here that this would not have necessary. However we did not have any issues and it was July 4 so you would think this will be a rare occurrence. Great sign at the entrance to the course and a very nice touch is the water fountain; I wish more courses had this.


Cons: The only real con here is signs, more specifically the lack of signs. As you enter the main park there is nice big sign pointing you in the right direction. Unfortunately there is no sign telling you where to turn. Look for the picnic sign. As others have pointed out there no real signs other than number at the tees. Since many of the baskets can not be seen from the tee it would be helpful to know where the doglegs are. Unfortunately the course map did not have any information either. Every hole was shown as being straight with no distance given.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play with many challenges and shot decisions to make. I would not call this a beginner friendly course. Red tees would help in that regard. I missed the alternate tee pads except for 18. This really added challenge to this hole. It appears as though there is an active disc golf community here and they are to be commended on their work. This course is definitely a fun one to play and would be worth going out of your way to do so. I hope to have the opportunity to come back some day.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Growing Course.

5+    5/3/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: DG_Josh
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good tees with new signs being installed.
-Wonderful views of reservoir.
-Lots of trash bins and benches.
-Never too crowded.
Cons: -Fairways on the front 9 are not very clear. All for a challenge, but this course seems to be a lot of luck rather than skill. Good throws are not always rewarded.
-Brush is thick and heavy, discs are easily lost.
Other Thoughts: This course took a big step forward with new tees and signs, but then took two steps back with the new layout. Baskets were moved to odd locations that are barely cleared and some are in low brush. Challenge is an awesome thing, but at the same time, courses should offer opportunities for good, skilled shots. Many of the revised hole locations require just as much luck as skill.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    2/7/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 129  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Very challenging. Great scenic views of lake and valleys. The course is easy to follow, it flows nicely. It can be a busy course but generally you won't have trouble getting tee times. Quiet atmosphere, lots of nature. Nice elevation usage.
Cons: There are a few concrete tee pads, the others are in horrible condition. The pads they poured are small. Trash everywhere even though there are trash cans. Lots of trimming needs to be done. Doesn't seem that anyone wants to do any work on it. It looks like a run down course. Strange looking men stare at you.
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip to throw. Overall it is a nice course, it just needs someone to put some work into it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.