Disc Golf Store
Springfield, OH 
Buck Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #8 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 186ft.   3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good course, but a bit out of the way

2-4    4/9/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: AnimeJ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On the whole, the course makes excellent use of the terrain. There's good use of elevation, and the course combines technical holes early on with more open shots towards the back of the course.

Teepads are all concrete, with well made signage throughout. Multiple holes have alternate pin positions, with a few holes having an alternate teepad as well.
Cons: Some holes have very narrow or barely defined fairways. Additionally, some of the middle holes are very short and sharply doglegged which makes them somewhat less interesting. Links style holes are good, but not when they're less than 300ft in total length.
Other Thoughts: On the hole, this is a really solid course that can provide a good, technical challenge while having a few holes, most notably 14, where you can really air out a disc. The one major issue however is that it's fairly remote, with the park being well off the beaten path compared to most of the other courses in the area. It's still well worth the trip out, however.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course is fun and noteworthy views

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: BBQ SQUID 9
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is probably one of the hilliest in Ohio. There are some pretty views from atop the hills, #12 especially.
There are challenging left/right/straight holes that keep you entertained!
#12 easily was my favorite hole in that you could have a variety of different drives (out right come back left, vis versa, roller all the way down the hill, and even attempting straight at it).
The holes in the woods are forgiving because even if you hit a tree, you should still have a decent shot to make par since the woods holes aren't too long.
Cons: No par on the printed signs.
Printed signs quite inaccurate to the hole locations.
No next tee signs, you can get lost for a few seconds.
#18 could have been made better. It is not challenging nor is it near the hole #1 tee.
Other Thoughts: All in all makes for a fun day where shooting par is quite good for this course. Not a long course, but not terribly short either. Just about right. Not recommended for the first timer as woods holes will make for a depressing day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Buck Creek

1    7/4/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 100  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent use of a nice piece of property for disc golf. The course itself is very well thought out. With a fairly good balance of hyzer and anhyzer tee shots required, slightly favoring the RHBH anhyzer shot. There are plenty of risk/reward decisions available with definite penalty for errant shots. The first nine holes are all fairly short and wooded. Accuracy is must on these holes with plenty of elevation change. There are definite lines available on every hole, but banging of off a tree can really put you in trouble. Good shots will be rewarded with realistic ace runs available for the higher skilled players. The back nine begins to open up and lengthen up, however the longest hole is 480 feet so there is nothing to challenge the truly big arms as far as distance goes. Very good job with hole design and basket placement I thought. There is some kind of challenge on every hole. With baskets placed on the side of hills, behind trees, and even elevated on a mound. The course navigates fairly easily with little need for course map. There are some next tee signs to help, a few more would be great. The few locals we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The people in the office were very nice and even provided a course map for me. There are restrooms not far and all the amenities of a state park right there.
The condition of the course was very good, even considering we were there right after the big storms. Lots of little branches down but no real damage done to the course. The baskets are Innova Discatchers and are in very good shape. The tees are concrete and there are trash cans and benches at every tee. The tees seemed a little short to me but the longer holes had longer tees so the played well. For the most part you are secluded from the rest of the park and won't have to worry about pedestrians. Except for the last few holes where picnic tables can come into play. This is a shame since there is enough property here that this would not have necessary. However we did not have any issues and it was July 4 so you would think this will be a rare occurrence. Great sign at the entrance to the course and a very nice touch is the water fountain; I wish more courses had this.


Cons: The only real con here is signs, more specifically the lack of signs. As you enter the main park there is nice big sign pointing you in the right direction. Unfortunately there is no sign telling you where to turn. Look for the picnic sign. As others have pointed out there no real signs other than number at the tees. Since many of the baskets can not be seen from the tee it would be helpful to know where the doglegs are. Unfortunately the course map did not have any information either. Every hole was shown as being straight with no distance given.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play with many challenges and shot decisions to make. I would not call this a beginner friendly course. Red tees would help in that regard. I missed the alternate tee pads except for 18. This really added challenge to this hole. It appears as though there is an active disc golf community here and they are to be commended on their work. This course is definitely a fun one to play and would be worth going out of your way to do so. I hope to have the opportunity to come back some day.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: jd.mackiewicz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of Trees and Elevation Changes, Very Challenging, Mostly Short holes.
Cons: Some T-boxes in bad shape, I hear this spring they will be replaced with concrete. No Distance maps or par.
Other Thoughts: Very much enjoying this course best in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

2-4    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: lurchgriffith
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging shots, great views, baskets still have that new smell, never been too busy, not that difficult to find next hole.
Cons: If you go right your searching for your disc, if you go left you've probably lost your disc, tee boxes are difficult for proper footing, some holes are numbered at the tee box but others have worn off, course map available at ranger station is of old course before the remodel, there are men who circle the parking lot looking for you know what.
Other Thoughts: There was a group called Springfield disc golf crew (I think that's the correct name) but they seem to be gone. I would like to start this back up. I play the last four holes as par 4 due to length and because no one is there to argue with me about it. I think it's hole 11 that I play from outside the tee box because I don't want to lose a disc. You drive from behind a huge amount of tall brush into a narrow area. If I have time I will make a new map of this place and post it where I do not know.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

5+    11/20/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: whatweretheythinkin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great views of the lake. Wish it was used more. Good mix of "types" of holes. Open, tight, elevation. Has good flow through the woods. Like what they did with the redesign. Good facilities and also a practice basket!
Cons: Tee pads. I was told they are trying to get them in sometime this or next year. Also no tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Would have rated it higher, but without tee pads or signs, i could only give it a 3.5. This is a solid course with a solid challenge for all skill levels. Can't wait to play it once tee pads are installed

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course, terrible tees

1    10/11/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a corner of a nice state park with a large lake. Several of the holes have great views out over the marina and lake from the top of a hill. The first half of the course plays through tight woods with some elevation changes. There is enough underbrush to punish errant shots but not enough to really eat discs. The second half of the course opens up and uses more elevation and wider fairways with brushy rough. This makes for a really fun variety with lots of different types of holes.

There is a nice balance of tight shorter holes and open longer holes with a few that let you open up a little more. The wooded holes call for a great variety of shot shapes, with enough trouble to make you hit your lines if you want to score well. The elevation on the property s used very well to make some fun downhill shots and some tough uphill holes.
Cons: The course feels like it's still a work in progress, and definitely has some room to improve. The wooded holes still need a little clearing and cleaning up, they feel a little unfinished at the moment. The open holes have some tall grass rough, not my favorite kind of obstacle on a course when it eats discs and doesn't do a good job of making your next shot harder after an errant drive.

The tees are terrible. They are loose piles of gravel that shift under your feet and make for really awful footing. They are even poor for stand and deliver shots because they are so uneven and loose. The signage is pretty poor, and doesn't do a great job of showing where to throw or where to go next.
Other Thoughts: The design of this course is really solid, with lots of fun and challenging holes and enough variety to keep it really interesting. With a little work on the amenities, this could be a great course in a cool state park with lots of other fun things to do. Beginners might find it a little tough and punishing. More experienced players will find some really good challenges here, it's not a championship level course but it has enough variety to make it a lot of fun. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 scramble!

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great looking course
-large variety of shots
-great use of natural landscape
-great use of elevation changes
-no wait to throw
-very advanced course play
-good local dg scene
Cons: -gravel tee pads
-lots of blind shots
-no signs
-high weeds
-not beginner friendly
Other Thoughts: a very enjoyable course! very technical , i have never had to scramble so hard to get 3's on some of the holes. the gravel tee pads kind of kill it for me, they are ok in the shorter wooded holes but on several of the longer open holes i couldn't get the power i would normally use because i was sinking in to the stones. i read at the course that they are planning to add rubber tee pads and this will be a great improvement. when the pads are installed i will likely give this course a better rating. i will definatly be back to this course for future rounds

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Buck Creek

5+    5/2/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Kent18
Played: 121  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful State Park. Good mixture of tight wooded holes and open fairways that makes you hit your shots. Good use of elevation and well manicured holes. The first 9 holes have been redesigned again since 2009 and I love the changes. Before those holes were mostly luck if you made it down the non existant "fairway" in the woods now there are like 5 to 10 feet wide gaps that gives you a chance if your shot holds it anhyzer or hyzer line or s-curve.
Cons: Wish there were accurate tee pad maps and concrete tee pads vesus rubber or natural because the tee pad areas don't drain well from the rain. The fairways are well defined but if your off course just a touch there is thick overgrowth to contend with.
Other Thoughts: Because of the redesign of the first 9 holes (they added 2 holes on completely different acres of land than before and cleared out some brush on the other front nine) I now have this course at 3 1/2 rating. They could improve the signage a bit and put in better tee pads but this is a pretty great play on a sunny day as is. Very challenging fun holes in a beautiful State Park. Worth the drive out to play it for sure. After playing this course a couple more times, I think its just so important they fix the gravel tee pads because it really affects the type of game you have to throw for the holes designed here. If they do, watch out this course will really become premier.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Springfield's Only 18

11/24/2007   3/10/2008
Review By: chuckynobbs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great land, good mix of wooded and open holes, need a plethora of shots to get under par (pro par)
Cons: Raw course, needs a lot of beautification efforts. Course is going to have changes made which should create a better overall experience. No tee pads, no signs, but all of which will be taken care of later this spring

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center