Springfield, OH 
Buck Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #17 (Taken 12/2012)
4 / 420ft.   4 / 477ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/19/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Bachmann_3
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety
Moderate-low traffic
Amenities and other tourist spots located on site, (boating, camping, fishing, swimming, horseback riding, etc.)
Beautiful scenery
Fair course for all playing levels
Cons: The only critique I can make is of the heavy grass and foliage on the back nine. Can make finding your disc very difficult, but the fairways are clearly cut and easy to hit.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome! One of the most beautiful Ohio has to offer. Great view of the marina on the back nine, that you shoot alongside in the woods on the first half. Some very short holes with huge turn radiuses, followed by longer holes with crazy elevation changes. This is the course I've thrown my longest drive (over 400 ft) downhill toward the marina. Not sure why I don't come here more often but if you have the chance, play buck creek in the summer and go swimming on the beach nearby after. The water is always crystal clean.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Buck Creek

1    10/6/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great 18 hole course, with great scenery, good elevation change, though needs signs for the teepads, which were new when I went.
Cons: Only problem was no signs for where the next tees are,nor were there distance signs, but they were easy to find anyway.
Other Thoughts: Hueston Woods has some competition, with Buck Creek as the better state park with a DG course. Easy to navigate, great setup, awesome scenery.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

FINALLY HASS AWESOME TEES SIGNS

5+    9/13/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Finally got Tee Signs, and they are nice
-Practice Basket
-Concrete Tees
-Discatcher baskets
-Great Course Flow
-Great Layout
-Great Elevation usage
-Great Mix of holes
-Well maintained by locals
-Nice view over the marina and lake
-Plenty of ace runs
-Favors lefty's and righty's
-SOME multiple tee's
Cons: -Rough can be rough on front 9
-Hole 18's fairway tends to have families in it *SAY FORE*
-Casuals from camp ground can slow your flow
Other Thoughts: This course is a WOW! It is such a mix of everything you would want. Bombers off the top of a hill and tight fairway is the woods. Such a good mix of finesse and power holes, pretty well split between front 9 and back 9. Play smart on the front 9 otherwise you will be covered in bogey burrs if you take a bad hit off the trees. Bring your power for the back 9 and a video camera Hole14 is a awesome hole for and acerun!

All in All this course is worth the play and worth coming back to repeatly. But it can wear you out because is not just a flat course.

PLAY IT, LOVE IT, OWN IT!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the BEST Dayton area courses.

5+    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: douglowe
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing my first back-to-back games here at Buck Creek, I'd have to say this course rates in my top 5 or even 3 courses in the area. This course has it all. Tunnel shots, open shots, right, left, up down, water, etc. The course is challenging, without punishing you. You'll find yourself using most of the discs in your bag as you navigate through the woods, into the fields, and by the lake.
Cons: Gravel tee pads and poor signs. From what I've heard, concrete tee pads are being installed this year. If that is true, and they also ad decent tee signs (with at least hole number, distance, and par info) then this course would be a 5 disc rating for me.

EDIT: Concrete tees have been installed! This course is now one of top courses I've played. It really has a little bit of everything.
Other Thoughts: After playing another very long course in the Dayton area, Buck Creek didn't seem nearly long as I remembered. I played a game here with a friend in under 2 hours. May have been closer to 1 1/2 hours. If you are anywhere within 30+ miles from Buck Creek it's worth the drive. If you come early on a nice summer day, pack a cooler and stay for swimming at the lake.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.