Disc Golf Store
Springfield, OH 
Buck Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #18 (Taken 12/2012)
4 / 404ft.   4 / 404ft.   4 / 474ft.   3 / 474ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 'B' Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: jd.mackiewicz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of Trees and Elevation Changes, Very Challenging, Mostly Short holes.
Cons: Some T-boxes in bad shape, I hear this spring they will be replaced with concrete. No Distance maps or par.
Other Thoughts: Very much enjoying this course best in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

2-4    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: lurchgriffith
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging shots, great views, baskets still have that new smell, never been too busy, not that difficult to find next hole.
Cons: If you go right your searching for your disc, if you go left you've probably lost your disc, tee boxes are difficult for proper footing, some holes are numbered at the tee box but others have worn off, course map available at ranger station is of old course before the remodel, there are men who circle the parking lot looking for you know what.
Other Thoughts: There was a group called Springfield disc golf crew (I think that's the correct name) but they seem to be gone. I would like to start this back up. I play the last four holes as par 4 due to length and because no one is there to argue with me about it. I think it's hole 11 that I play from outside the tee box because I don't want to lose a disc. You drive from behind a huge amount of tall brush into a narrow area. If I have time I will make a new map of this place and post it where I do not know.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your Hiking Gear and Weed Whacker

1    6/11/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent use of natural obstacles.

Great workout hiking in and out of the woods.

The potential for this course is definitely there.
Cons: Tee boxes are gravel-ish and not in good condition.

Course markers are hard to find and not very helpful. Without a map, you could easily miss a couple holes.

Wooded areas are not clear of debris and grassy areas were almost three feet high with very narrow 'fairways' cut through the middle.

Spent more time hunting for discs in the grass then we did actually playing the round.
Other Thoughts: If the park maintains the course a bit more and keeps the grass trimmed, this course could be very nice. It is by far the most difficult course I have played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Help!

2-4    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great baskets, they have a yellow band around the top making them very visible. Mostly wooded so you seem like your in the shade most of the time. Large parking lot.
Cons: Tees are terrible! Almost no hole direction on the course. Some signs or arrows would be helpful. Grass is very high. Maintenance seems nonexistent!
Other Thoughts: A lot of potential here with a little work. I'm sure the weather conditions have effected the maintenance such as grass mowing and tees. Be aware that you could easily loose discs playing this course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but those pads!

2-4    5/5/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Captain Bad
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting:
The front nine is mostly set in relatively dense woods. Success here requires some finesse and a good shot placement strategy. The fairways are tight, but they're there if you look hard enough.

The back nine opens up onto a large hill with a picturesque view of the lake. The holes here are more straightforward, but are considerably longer than on the front. The elevation is used well as you trek up and down the hill. An errant shot could spell disaster on several holes as OBs come into play and as the hill drops off steeply in some areas (i.e. Hole 13).

Equipment:
All holes are equipped with Discatcher baskets that are in good shape. There is also one practice basket near the parking lot with plenty of room for putts.

Course Design:
The course tends to flow well from one hole to the next though it could be improved with better signage (see cons). The variety of holes and the shots needed to play them are a fun challenge. The fairways are tight, but they're there if you look hard enough. The course requires every shot in the bag -- touchy flicks, big hyzers, tommies/thumbers, gentle annys, you name it. The front nine requires some thought into shot selection and placement. Some out-of-the-(tee)box thinking could pay dividends. The back nine will test your wind management skills.
Cons: Setting:
The lake is beautiful, especially near sundown, unfortunately you don't get to see much of it since the front is in the woods and the back works mostly away from it.

Equipment:
And the reason I gave Buck Creek a 3 instead of a 4 should be obvious from all the other reviews: The Gravel Tees. There's so much going for this course, but the tees are an obvious black eye. It's oftentimes too deep and moves too much for good, solid footing. Maybe it's just in my head, but the tees do no instill confidence and that's a recipe for disaster on the box.

Signage is also a big problem. There are posts at each tee, but there's no other descriptors. No hole map. No distances. No par. Getting from one hole to the next can sometimes be a problem. There are some signs pointing out where to go, but they weren't the most noticeable.

All that being said, I understand that tees and signs cost time, effort, and money. I don't mean to knock anyone for their efforts and I'm grateful to have this course, but few could deny that the tees and signage are in need of some major upgrades. If and when that happens, I'd rate Buck Creek at a 4.

UPDATE -- Concrete tees were recently installed on all 18 holes! As promised, I've updated my rating for Buck Creek and now give it a 4. This is probably my favorite course in the Dayton/Springfield area.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a beautiful, challenging, and enjoyable course to play. I highly recommend you give it a visit!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

One of the BEST Dayton area courses.

5+    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: douglowe
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing my first back-to-back games here at Buck Creek, I'd have to say this course rates in my top 5 or even 3 courses in the area. This course has it all. Tunnel shots, open shots, right, left, up down, water, etc. The course is challenging, without punishing you. You'll find yourself using most of the discs in your bag as you navigate through the woods, into the fields, and by the lake.
Cons: Gravel tee pads and poor signs. From what I've heard, concrete tee pads are being installed this year. If that is true, and they also ad decent tee signs (with at least hole number, distance, and par info) then this course would be a 5 disc rating for me.

EDIT: Concrete tees have been installed! This course is now one of top courses I've played. It really has a little bit of everything.
Other Thoughts: After playing another very long course in the Dayton area, Buck Creek didn't seem nearly long as I remembered. I played a game here with a friend in under 2 hours. May have been closer to 1 1/2 hours. If you are anywhere within 30+ miles from Buck Creek it's worth the drive. If you come early on a nice summer day, pack a cooler and stay for swimming at the lake.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

5+    11/20/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: whatweretheythinkin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great views of the lake. Wish it was used more. Good mix of "types" of holes. Open, tight, elevation. Has good flow through the woods. Like what they did with the redesign. Good facilities and also a practice basket!
Cons: Tee pads. I was told they are trying to get them in sometime this or next year. Also no tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Would have rated it higher, but without tee pads or signs, i could only give it a 3.5. This is a solid course with a solid challenge for all skill levels. Can't wait to play it once tee pads are installed

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course, terrible tees

1    10/11/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a corner of a nice state park with a large lake. Several of the holes have great views out over the marina and lake from the top of a hill. The first half of the course plays through tight woods with some elevation changes. There is enough underbrush to punish errant shots but not enough to really eat discs. The second half of the course opens up and uses more elevation and wider fairways with brushy rough. This makes for a really fun variety with lots of different types of holes.

There is a nice balance of tight shorter holes and open longer holes with a few that let you open up a little more. The wooded holes call for a great variety of shot shapes, with enough trouble to make you hit your lines if you want to score well. The elevation on the property s used very well to make some fun downhill shots and some tough uphill holes.
Cons: The course feels like it's still a work in progress, and definitely has some room to improve. The wooded holes still need a little clearing and cleaning up, they feel a little unfinished at the moment. The open holes have some tall grass rough, not my favorite kind of obstacle on a course when it eats discs and doesn't do a good job of making your next shot harder after an errant drive.

The tees are terrible. They are loose piles of gravel that shift under your feet and make for really awful footing. They are even poor for stand and deliver shots because they are so uneven and loose. The signage is pretty poor, and doesn't do a great job of showing where to throw or where to go next.
Other Thoughts: The design of this course is really solid, with lots of fun and challenging holes and enough variety to keep it really interesting. With a little work on the amenities, this could be a great course in a cool state park with lots of other fun things to do. Beginners might find it a little tough and punishing. More experienced players will find some really good challenges here, it's not a championship level course but it has enough variety to make it a lot of fun. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 scramble!

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great looking course
-large variety of shots
-great use of natural landscape
-great use of elevation changes
-no wait to throw
-very advanced course play
-good local dg scene
Cons: -gravel tee pads
-lots of blind shots
-no signs
-high weeds
-not beginner friendly
Other Thoughts: a very enjoyable course! very technical , i have never had to scramble so hard to get 3's on some of the holes. the gravel tee pads kind of kill it for me, they are ok in the shorter wooded holes but on several of the longer open holes i couldn't get the power i would normally use because i was sinking in to the stones. i read at the course that they are planning to add rubber tee pads and this will be a great improvement. when the pads are installed i will likely give this course a better rating. i will definatly be back to this course for future rounds

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Buck Creek

5+    5/2/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Kent18
Played: 121  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful State Park. Good mixture of tight wooded holes and open fairways that makes you hit your shots. Good use of elevation and well manicured holes. The first 9 holes have been redesigned again since 2009 and I love the changes. Before those holes were mostly luck if you made it down the non existant "fairway" in the woods now there are like 5 to 10 feet wide gaps that gives you a chance if your shot holds it anhyzer or hyzer line or s-curve.
Cons: Wish there were accurate tee pad maps and concrete tee pads vesus rubber or natural because the tee pad areas don't drain well from the rain. The fairways are well defined but if your off course just a touch there is thick overgrowth to contend with.
Other Thoughts: Because of the redesign of the first 9 holes (they added 2 holes on completely different acres of land than before and cleared out some brush on the other front nine) I now have this course at 3 1/2 rating. They could improve the signage a bit and put in better tee pads but this is a pretty great play on a sunny day as is. Very challenging fun holes in a beautiful State Park. Worth the drive out to play it for sure. After playing this course a couple more times, I think its just so important they fix the gravel tee pads because it really affects the type of game you have to throw for the holes designed here. If they do, watch out this course will really become premier.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.