Springfield, OH 
Buck Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #4 (Taken 12/2012)
4 / 389ft.   4 / 412ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 One of the BEST Dayton area courses.

5+    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: douglowe
Played: 40  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing my first back-to-back games here at Buck Creek, I'd have to say this course rates in my top 5 or even 3 courses in the area. This course has it all. Tunnel shots, open shots, right, left, up down, water, etc. The course is challenging, without punishing you. You'll find yourself using most of the discs in your bag as you navigate through the woods, into the fields, and by the lake.
Cons: Gravel tee pads and poor signs. From what I've heard, concrete tee pads are being installed this year. If that is true, and they also ad decent tee signs (with at least hole number, distance, and par info) then this course would be a 5 disc rating for me.

EDIT: Concrete tees have been installed! This course is now one of top courses I've played. It really has a little bit of everything.
Other Thoughts: After playing another very long course in the Dayton area, Buck Creek didn't seem nearly long as I remembered. I played a game here with a friend in under 2 hours. May have been closer to 1 1/2 hours. If you are anywhere within 30+ miles from Buck Creek it's worth the drive. If you come early on a nice summer day, pack a cooler and stay for swimming at the lake.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

5+    11/20/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: whatweretheythinkin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great views of the lake. Wish it was used more. Good mix of "types" of holes. Open, tight, elevation. Has good flow through the woods. Like what they did with the redesign. Good facilities and also a practice basket!
Cons: Tee pads. I was told they are trying to get them in sometime this or next year. Also no tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Would have rated it higher, but without tee pads or signs, i could only give it a 3.5. This is a solid course with a solid challenge for all skill levels. Can't wait to play it once tee pads are installed

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course, terrible tees

1    10/11/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a corner of a nice state park with a large lake. Several of the holes have great views out over the marina and lake from the top of a hill. The first half of the course plays through tight woods with some elevation changes. There is enough underbrush to punish errant shots but not enough to really eat discs. The second half of the course opens up and uses more elevation and wider fairways with brushy rough. This makes for a really fun variety with lots of different types of holes.

There is a nice balance of tight shorter holes and open longer holes with a few that let you open up a little more. The wooded holes call for a great variety of shot shapes, with enough trouble to make you hit your lines if you want to score well. The elevation on the property s used very well to make some fun downhill shots and some tough uphill holes.
Cons: The course feels like it's still a work in progress, and definitely has some room to improve. The wooded holes still need a little clearing and cleaning up, they feel a little unfinished at the moment. The open holes have some tall grass rough, not my favorite kind of obstacle on a course when it eats discs and doesn't do a good job of making your next shot harder after an errant drive.

The tees are terrible. They are loose piles of gravel that shift under your feet and make for really awful footing. They are even poor for stand and deliver shots because they are so uneven and loose. The signage is pretty poor, and doesn't do a great job of showing where to throw or where to go next.
Other Thoughts: The design of this course is really solid, with lots of fun and challenging holes and enough variety to keep it really interesting. With a little work on the amenities, this could be a great course in a cool state park with lots of other fun things to do. Beginners might find it a little tough and punishing. More experienced players will find some really good challenges here, it's not a championship level course but it has enough variety to make it a lot of fun. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 scramble!

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great looking course
-large variety of shots
-great use of natural landscape
-great use of elevation changes
-no wait to throw
-very advanced course play
-good local dg scene
Cons: -gravel tee pads
-lots of blind shots
-no signs
-high weeds
-not beginner friendly
Other Thoughts: a very enjoyable course! very technical , i have never had to scramble so hard to get 3's on some of the holes. the gravel tee pads kind of kill it for me, they are ok in the shorter wooded holes but on several of the longer open holes i couldn't get the power i would normally use because i was sinking in to the stones. i read at the course that they are planning to add rubber tee pads and this will be a great improvement. when the pads are installed i will likely give this course a better rating. i will definatly be back to this course for future rounds

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Buck Creek

5+    5/2/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Kent18
Played: 135  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful State Park. Good mixture of tight wooded holes and open fairways that makes you hit your shots. Good use of elevation and well manicured holes. The first 9 holes have been redesigned again since 2009 and I love the changes. Before those holes were mostly luck if you made it down the non existant "fairway" in the woods now there are like 5 to 10 feet wide gaps that gives you a chance if your shot holds it anhyzer or hyzer line or s-curve.
Cons: Wish there were accurate tee pad maps and concrete tee pads vesus rubber or natural because the tee pad areas don't drain well from the rain. The fairways are well defined but if your off course just a touch there is thick overgrowth to contend with.
Other Thoughts: Because of the redesign of the first 9 holes (they added 2 holes on completely different acres of land than before and cleared out some brush on the other front nine) I now have this course at 3 1/2 rating. They could improve the signage a bit and put in better tee pads but this is a pretty great play on a sunny day as is. Very challenging fun holes in a beautiful State Park. Worth the drive out to play it for sure. After playing this course a couple more times, I think its just so important they fix the gravel tee pads because it really affects the type of game you have to throw for the holes designed here. If they do, watch out this course will really become premier.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 very diverse

5+    10/30/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 183  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide range of shots

Ranges from heavily wooded to wide open

Great elevation changes
Cons: No tee signs

Gravel "pads"

A couple wooded holes with no defined fairway
Other Thoughts: The course starts off in dense woods. Tight shots throughout the front 9. I like tunnel shots, but a couple of these holes have no defined fairway at all. I've never liked "luck" holes like these.

The back nine opens up wide. There were mild elevation changes in the front but in the back 9, you begin shooting up and down significant slopes. The distance lengthens as well here.

I love the diversity of this course. You will need a balanced game to score well. Right, left, long, short, open, tight. Its all here.

With a few more amenities (pads and signage) along with getting in the front nine with a chain saw and making a few more defined fairways - this could be a much improved course. It has the potential to be excellent.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 REVIEW

2-4    10/4/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Forces you to use every shot in the bag, backhand, forehand, overhand. There is a generous amount of uphill and downhill holes that make the course more interesting. Hole 17 is one of the most interesting holes in central Ohio and surrounding areas.
Cons: The biggest con is the GRAVEL TEES! These tees make it next to impossible to have consistent footwork. If I really stretched I could say that the course could be more clearly marked and the old tees taken out..
Other Thoughts: The first nine holes are extreme skill shots and force pinpoint placement. Even though they are difficult they are balanced with the open holes, making them a great mesh.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course some Problems

1    10/4/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 151  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Variety
Lots of Elevation Changes
Beautiful Scenery
Cons: Poorly Marked
Loose Gravel Tee Pads
Other Thoughts: The first part of the course goes through the woods and visually it's excellent. The second part is more open with some very fun elevation changes

The problem is the signs. It is not labeled well and it's easy to get lost. Also the tees are loose gravel and it's tough to get footing in. I have bad knees and I was in pain by the end and had to move off and throw from the side of the tee. Also there was and old guy playing in front of me wearing spandex. Saw much more than I wanted to when he bent over to pick up his disc bag.

It's a fun course, nothing wrong with it but it's not memorable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Buck Creek State Park DGC

1    8/22/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: yankeefanjln
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging. Front nine is wooded but very playable.
Cons: Back nine is a long, hard walk up and down a very large hill. Poor signage on the entire course.
Other Thoughts: At times there is water in play. One hole on the front nine appeared to be in the process of a redesign and we played what we thought was the right teebox only to find out it was not the right teebox. Back nine should probably have a few more par fours and the 480' hole should probably be a par five for amateurs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Buck Creek Review

1    8/22/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layed out pretty well. Course is well maintained and challenging to play. First 6-8 holes are all wooded. Challenging placements make for some great risk/reward shots.
Cons: No Signs. If you're not looking, you will miss the "next tee" signs. No real indication as to where the Baskets are so plan some time to "walk around the tee" to find where you're throwing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.